More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.93

Awesome40.15%
Worth A Look: 34.75%
Average: 11.58%
Pretty Bad: 4.63%
Total Crap: 8.88%

13 reviews, 181 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bring It On
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Kirsten Dunst is the final proof of God I've been looking for."
4 stars

Although it might be hard to tell in such a lightweight little movie, Kirsten Dunst is truly a gifted young actress. She can handle comedy and drama equally well, and she offers a truly electric screen presence. Her performance alone can make turn a flimsy little cheerleader comedy into something considerably better. All that, and she's so damn cute that I wanna punch something.

Bring It On is much better than most of the teen movies of the past 3 years. Of course, that's similar to saying that pneumonia is much better than the bubonic plague, but this silly cheerleader comedy is simply five times better than it should have been. Aside from the performance of Dunst (which I believe I mentioned already), there are several components included that simply refuse to let the movie stink.

The airy and amiable tone of this movie reminded me of Amy Heckerling's Clueless, only with more <ahem> pom-poms. Long story short: Upper class white cheerleading squad has unknowingly been stealing dance steps and cheers from the East Compton team. In case you're not familiar with how Hollywood classifies the races, East Compton is 'movie-speak' for black.

When the young black girls confront the young white girls about the ass-shaking plagarism that's been going on, things get ugly. With the National Cheerleading Championships right around the corner, the white girls not only have to deal with the moral implications of their earlier performances, but they also have to learn a whole new routine.

This is not an exploitation movie. Although there are a few welcome 'brassiere' shots, the nubile young ladies are not objectified as tits and ass at all. The script infuses the main characters with some surprisingly strong moral codes, and while you'll be apt to predict a few plot turns, the movie is pretty darn refreshing overall.

In a 'cheerleader' comedy, you'd most likely expect a bunch of 'dumb blonde' gags and nasty jabs at the vanity involved in such an activity. Bring It On is not a satire, but a straight situation comedy. The tone of 'smart situational comedy' remains intact throughout the movie, which is impressive since there was ample opportunity to louse this idea up. There are a few surprisingly frank discussions about homosexuality and racism, but these scenes are offered in relation to specific charatcers, and are not used for cheap laughs.

In addition to the aforementioned Kirsten Dunst, Bring It On offers some great performances by both Eliza Dushku (as the new cheerleader in town) and Gabrielle Union (as East Compton's captain). It would have been so easy for Bring It On to be another disposable teen comedy, but these three actresses lift the movie from mediocrity seemingly on their own. Young actor Jesse Bradford deserves some praise for his truly likable and funny performance, and also for not being anything like Freddie Prinze Jr.

Yes, it's a piece of fluff. But it's a piece of fluff that entertains consistently for 90 minutes, and has some brains in its head. Nowadays, a simple 'good little movie' is more welcome than ever. This is a movie that's in a good mood, and hopefully you'll be able to join in. Especially with that Kirsten Dunst fronting the show.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4408&reviewer=128
originally posted: 09/12/00 18:08:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/22/15 David Hollingsworth not the best teen, but not the worst 3 stars
6/20/12 Jordan Kentris This movie has such a fun campy atmosphere, definitely one to watch again. 4 stars
11/20/11 cody a cool and funny movie about cheerleading, dunst gives a good performance. 4 stars
2/13/11 PAUL SHORTT PLEASANT TEEN COMEDY WITH LIKEABLE PERFORMANCES 3 stars
9/04/08 Rachel Surprisingly intellgent for a film about a sport perceived to be...less than intelligent. 5 stars
5/07/08 Regina George didn't really survive the school bus accident! Sadly typical of what Kirsten Dunst's been stuck in ever since VIRGIN SUICIDES ruined her. 2 stars
3/28/08 EY Watch this if you are into cheering 3 stars
6/28/07 gr117 Strangely adorable... 4 stars
5/28/07 fools&#9835;gold A cliched teen film that somehow proves original in that it's actually well-done and funny. 4 stars
2/09/07 David Pollastrini Kirsten Dunst is hot! 3 stars
1/14/07 abigail het is een verse film 5 stars
5/24/06 john the greatest cheerleader movie ever 5 stars
4/06/06 r.patel wicked film never seen anything like it before 5 stars
3/01/06 John Aster Habig Gabrielle Union, Kirsten Dunst, Eliza Dushku 3 hotties working out adolescent teasefest 4 stars
12/22/05 cody sexy cheerleading flick, girls girls, a ok story, cool characters,and cool music 3 stars
11/06/05 Rachel This movie was good!!! I would watch it but not alot!!! 4 stars
10/11/05 Carolyn Rathburn high energy teen film, enjoyed it 5 stars
10/07/05 Wisamane you people who liked this have very small Isolated minds, this movie was horrific. 1 stars
9/10/05 Like thats ganna happen. Jessica Bendinger! Fucking Mormon?! What ever bitch! 3 stars
8/27/05 James Odgers Not to bad for the genre 4 stars
8/07/05 Charlene Javier More than I expected. 5 stars
8/05/05 Nate Frary I, surprisingly, enjoyed it. 3 stars
8/04/05 Carolyn Rathburn definitive teen movie, lots of energy 5 stars
8/03/05 Vessela Babinova very impressive 5 stars
8/03/05 Eric Rollins A guilty pleasure. Unfortunatly settled for political correctness at end. 3 stars
2/09/05 Jeff Anderson Good show! Dunst grates, but Eliza Dushku & Jesse Bradford deliver enjoyable performances. 3 stars
12/10/04 Jason Kaul The guy fingering the chick in the pyramid, and the eye candy is the only redeeming quality 2 stars
11/20/04 gaby reyes friend 3 stars
11/02/04 princess awesome movies i love cheerleading 5 stars
8/11/04 kklynn great movie,funny,funny,funny 5 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz nice cheers 5 stars
7/22/04 sophia it is very good!!! 5 stars
7/17/04 legend Pretty girl, cheer leading what's not to like? Good movie. 4 stars
7/10/04 nicola falkingham awesome 5 stars
7/09/04 J Cadiramen Kirsten is great and gives an otherwise niche movie real appeal. 4 stars
7/08/04 Denise Duspiva cute and funny 4 stars
6/27/04 Charlene Javier Kirsten rocks! 5 stars
6/26/04 Thomas Pacheco Good family film 3 stars
6/25/04 y2mckay "It has a half naked Kirsten Dunst. What more do you want?" How about a FULLY naked Dunst 4 stars
4/29/04 Roy Again Masterbaters of the World! This is the Holy Grail! 5 stars
3/24/04 celina d capili nice film 5 stars
2/26/04 kate i think the film is the best its my fav film 5 stars
1/27/04 Chloe Brody It's perky, it's fun and now it's number 1!!! 5 stars
1/23/04 Evangelica Schnapfenschalz Another forgettable movie that now has a sequel. Rah, rah, rah! (Duh, duh,duh) 2 stars
1/12/04 HaylieSAntoro It is the Best 5 stars
1/05/04 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. For everything that it's worth Bring It On. Like Totally Wow Okay! 5 stars
1/01/04 BeBe GOOD! 4 stars
12/23/03 smallz best movie 5 stars
12/21/03 melly it was great i liked it i liked it a lol :) 5 stars
11/18/03 he a great film 5 stars
11/05/03 Claire Giles It was excellent and cheerleadrs r kewl, will green u got issues!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/18/03 ya great movie to dance 2!!!!;) 5 stars
10/15/03 abie i think it is great , its really funny and exyra funny for teenagers , it a great teen movi 5 stars
10/07/03 fern fleming the movie is brill me and me friends are all wanting to be in a squad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/20/03 Archie Macpherson Movie was OK that Eliza Dushku is soo hot.. i'd get it just to watch her 4 stars
9/20/03 cori edwards the movie was fantastic, one of the best movies around 5 stars
9/01/03 Caila Beck Cheerleading is my favorite sort and that movie is so cool!!! 5 stars
8/10/03 Will Green I CAN HEAR YOU FUCKING RADIO, YOU STUPID SHIT! 1 stars
7/20/03 amy Just prooves cheerleaders are airheads but make a good movie!!!!! 5 stars
7/09/03 natasha_theobald Dunst seems able to do anything well, great supporting cast, energy, and laughs 4 stars
6/17/03 stacey mcnab its great and funny and i'd love to an actress myself someday cause the film inspired me 5 stars
5/28/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!!!) I think my pal Daniel here agrees: Bad plot, bad script, cheesy, corny, & all synonyms... 2 stars
5/19/03 Amanda Drake It was a really great movie 5 stars
5/16/03 Danielle Jones My fave film 5 stars
3/30/03 Sully Eliza was the only thing worth watching - she's sexy as hell - movie blew 2 stars
3/20/03 CWA anyday WAR! If it involves Ms. Dunst & Ms. Union competing in uniform...Bring it on! 3 stars
3/20/03 Jin Too predictable and cheesy. Yo, Dark Horizons, Wild Things was good? Dork 2 stars
1/29/03 kerry this film is brill, i love it!!!!!! 5 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig Kirsten Dunst, will you marry me? 5 stars
12/23/02 3man Alot better than I thought. Eliza rules! 4 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Fun Stuff. Dunst delivers a Golden Globe worthy perf. 5 stars
10/24/02 Flounder Personally, not my cup of tea, but is very entertaining nonetheless 4 stars
9/25/02 Lauz It's cheesy, its's cute its absolutely great to boot! 5 stars
9/09/02 movie guy A GREAT FILM I LOVED JESSE BRADFORD 5 stars
8/26/02 Martin LOVE IT! Cute boys , Dunst and Dushku! 5 stars
8/16/02 .Choadushouse. This movie makes me smile and happies my pants!!! I love Eliza!!!! Amazing! 5 stars
8/01/02 violator well "Bob", if you'd look more closely,there are asians & latinos in the squad...nuff said! 4 stars
8/01/02 palaboy101 good movie 4 stars
7/01/02 sadia jawed greatest movie 5 stars
6/01/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi Alright, it's sweet, it's got the wit it can't be beat!!!.... 5 stars
5/16/02 Robin Jamil-Walid After VIRGIN SUICIDES fiasco, Kirsten Dunst struggles to show she's still alive. 2 stars
5/15/02 Blake The cheerleaders were awsome in this film. 5 stars
4/30/02 Phoenix Eliza Dushku Is Fucking Hot. 5 stars
4/28/02 Daryn I watched this movie 6 times in 1 & a half days, that kinda tell it all. Eliza is DEAD HOT! 5 stars
4/25/02 Butterbean That reviewer "Bob" needs to get a grip. Not a bad, it's just a standard teen flick. 3 stars
3/29/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) Cheesy and mostly stupid. Hot chicks don't quite make good flicks. 2 stars
3/13/02 Jenny Tullwartz Does for Cheerleaders what PUSHING TIN did for Air Traffic Controllers - better left undone 2 stars
3/02/02 Chowie Alright, we're sweet, we've got the wit we can't be beat, we're the best................... 5 stars
3/02/02 abigail it's KOOL!! 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee Decent, but nothing special. Eliza Dushku is hot beyond belief BTW. 3 stars
2/19/02 Alexi Bisch I really loved the movie, because it portrayed cheerleading from a non-biases point of view 5 stars
2/01/02 Geo7654 Highly uneven teen fluff. 3 stars
1/06/02 Mr adventure darcys big ass mad this movie =) 3 stars
1/01/02 Andrew Carden Such An Unfunny Way To Make A Parody Of Football Cheerleaders. 1 stars
12/18/01 Jeremy This was a really good movie 5 stars
11/20/01 Jaa It is totally cool!!! 5 stars
10/29/01 The Moorhen Pretty good. Funny too. The car wash was great! 4 stars
10/27/01 Monday Morning God, Jonny...is English not your first language or are you just illiterate? 3 stars
9/26/01 steven A bad ass must drive a 90s vw beetle as the trees must bend in the wind. 4 stars
9/16/01 peter psyche yo yo yo 4 stars
9/07/01 Jeff Eliza Dushku kicks ass, she is so hot, fun movie if you like watching 25 year olds play 15 4 stars
8/25/01 Yasmin Abdoo This movie rox! 5 stars
8/22/01 Jessica It rocks and I'm a cheerleader too!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/16/01 jonny this film is great as soon as io saw it i feel in love with jan, les and missy 5 stars
7/29/01 Cassie Sullivan I think it is the worlds best movie 5 stars
7/27/01 Gary Could've been funnier, but it's energetic enough and Dushka & Bradford were great. 3 stars
6/28/01 kris Pretty bad 2 stars
6/22/01 Tzila Seewald Bring It on! You just kick their ass! Whoo! 5 stars
6/22/01 Lane Awesome! Oh wow! Like totally freak me out I mean right on! Bring it on KICKS ASS 5 stars
6/12/01 KMK beyond god-awful 1 stars
6/12/01 Rebecca Hartnett It was a great entertaining oredictable teenybopper rainy day kind of movie. 4 stars
5/28/01 Meagan Awesome-the best! Iloved It 5 stars
5/24/01 lisa i think its the best film eva ! i luv it :) 5 stars
5/15/01 Samafa Gee THE BOMB BABY!! 5 stars
5/15/01 Will that was sorta amusing 4 stars
5/06/01 hippy like awesome, oh wow, like totally freak me out, i mean right on! toro's sure are number 1! 5 stars
5/05/01 Boby jo Kick @$$ video! 5 stars
5/05/01 MJM103171 Any movie that uses a line like "Do you speak fag?" "Fluently!" has my vote! 5 stars
5/01/01 bell esparza greatmovie 5 stars
4/25/01 X Loved when Cliff & Torrance brush their teeth while communicating w/no words 5 stars
4/21/01 Brandy Wicked movie...people say its a guy flick but totally both ways...Its a for sure "see again 5 stars
4/19/01 Megan I love the cheers, espically the opening scene! 5 stars
4/16/01 Kerry Gardiner It was a kick ass movie 5 stars
4/11/01 Gary This was a major dissapointment. Still a good movie, but not good enough. 3 stars
4/11/01 Leila Bring it on was great! 5 stars
4/09/01 alex tottally awsome movie! 5 stars
3/26/01 Nicole Rindahl That movie is the best!!!! 5 stars
3/26/01 Carla Wsiaki THIS MOVIE FUCKING KICKS ASS!!! 5 stars
3/25/01 ashley kestle kicks ass 5 stars
3/22/01 Dela What can I say? IT WAS JUST TOO FUCKIN', KICK-ASS AWESOME!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/20/01 Monday Morning A nice, feel-good film. Makes most other teen flicks look like steaming mierda. 4 stars
3/17/01 Chris Eliza is so hot! She should have been the head cheeleader. WOW!!! 5 stars
3/13/01 sara it was the best movie EVER!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/04/01 bullit17 Stunning. Breathtaking. Beautiful. And the movie was pretty good, too 4 stars
2/26/01 matt elkins fucking great 5 stars
2/18/01 The Bomb 69 extremely surprised, funny as hell and a great DVD 5 stars
2/18/01 Tom Beatty Eliza Dushku & Nicole Bilderback are really good in this flick 4 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Wasn't as vile as I thought it would be, but nothing special, either... 3 stars
2/10/01 Mark Emmett I could watch this movie over and over all day long. I love it!!! 5 stars
2/09/01 ashley browne this movie rules!!!I love tammy curry!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/05/01 Kate I wanna be a cheerleader!!! This film went off...Eliza you rock! And Nathan West..call me! 5 stars
1/30/01 Torus It is the Best movie ever! 5 stars
1/29/01 Shelbanee THE BEST MOVIE! 5 stars
1/18/01 Gary I never thought i would enjoy a movie on cheerleading but i enjoyed it from start to finish 4 stars
1/17/01 alisa brown it was so briliant i have seen it 3 times and every time that i saw it it just got better 5 stars
1/16/01 jen eliza's hair was too cool and after seeing that who wants 2 b a cheerleader? 5 stars
1/15/01 jeffrey victorino the best teenage movie in a long time... ELIZA DUSHKU IS HOT!!! 5 stars
1/15/01 Karina Chow it's the best movie. Kirsten Dunst and Eliza Dushku rocked! 5 stars
1/09/01 Natalia It was the best cheerleading movie I have ever saw. I was mind blowing!! 5 stars
1/01/01 jason yhe best chicks in the world Missi is my favourite 5 stars
12/30/00 Justine A wicked movie! 5 stars
12/18/00 Alyssa It was cool if you like that kind of stuff. 4 stars
12/16/00 A. Miller It was an ok movie with pretty girls and even some catchy tunes in it. 4 stars
12/14/00 Mr J M HARWOOD Its DROP DEAD GORGOUS on CENTRE STAGE 5 stars
12/14/00 derek deems this was total shit. i have never seen such a bad movie 1 stars
12/14/00 Mikey Not bad if you're in a goofy mood. 3 stars
11/27/00 Linda Ng It's a very good show 4 stars
11/12/00 biggun one of the worst movies I've ever seen 1 stars
11/04/00 lidi Bring it on is the dumb's American Beauty 1 stars
10/27/00 Nikki fuckin hilarious and full of cute guys, no, it sux, whatdya think ?!?! 5 stars
10/24/00 bornslippy a very funny movie, and Dushku just kicks ass! and where was Melissa George? 4 stars
10/13/00 Benjamin Lesbian Fun to watch! Seeit in the dollars though,or on video. 3 stars
10/02/00 Suzz one of the all time worst uses of celluloid in the history of western civilization 1 stars
9/16/00 Vitmore Kristen, you're beautiful! 5 stars
9/12/00 PopeFelix Not terribly deep, mind you, but a lot of fun. Worth a second viewing. 4 stars
9/10/00 MIKE IT WAS DECENT... WORTH TO SEE THE CUTE GUYS IN IT! 4 stars
9/09/00 Merripen God dammit this movie sucked! I mean, damn!!!! 1 stars
9/03/00 Loki This movie is the biggest load of __ I've ever seen 1 stars
9/02/00 Hollywood Hangover Fun, tongue-in-cheek satire of teen angst in Clueless vein 4 stars
8/31/00 Byzantine Altoid Almost as pure-hearted and delightful as Clueless. Kirsten, Eliza, and Jesse are great 5 stars
8/31/00 Jokko Stupid movie, can't decide if it's satire or drama. Maybe two good scenes. The rest sucks. 2 stars
8/30/00 DatherFrawdad eww 3 stars
8/29/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Black girls win, but the movie is still about White Chicks! 3 stars
8/29/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi You can watch the same thing on ESPN...for FREE... 2 stars
8/28/00 chuck Not bad 4 stars
8/28/00 TimmyToday Go! See! Bring it on! 5 stars
8/26/00 KAM Surpisingly good...many funny parts! 5 stars
8/26/00 **~**Persnickety**~** i am afraid to admit it, but this movie is damn good! 5 stars
8/26/00 Joe Levy This movie is a bigger hunk of crap than my brother Mikey's turds. 1 stars
8/26/00 James Vanderbee I think all the characters are sexy and i want to fuck all of them so it's awesome 5 stars
8/16/00 Faith A total blast, fun, great music, and Eliza Dushku, she's the best of the best. I'm in love! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Aug-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Dec-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast