More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.62

Awesome: 20.51%
Worth A Look41.03%
Average: 25.64%
Pretty Bad: 5.13%
Total Crap: 7.69%

3 reviews, 21 user ratings



Original Kings of Comedy, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"Classic, hilarious homeboy comedy in the Pryor vein."
4 stars

"You know you really made it when white folks come to see your show." So says Bernie Mac, one of the four entertainers in the hysterical concert film Original Kings of Comedy. And I was about one of ten white people in the audience when I saw it.

This isn't really a Spike Lee film (or "joint") in the usual sense... rather, a concert film showcasing four crazy comedians that was put together by Spike. And he does a helluva good job putting the whole thing together. Shot with digital video in Charlotte, N.C. in February 2000, the show stars Steve Harvey and also features D.L. Hughley, Cedric The Entertainer and Mr. Mac. We see them rip shit up onstage, and also see them clowning about backstage and at a radio station.

The humor is for the most part the usual Def Comedy Jam type fare: about wacky families, police harassment, R&B music vs. rap music, church, sports, and them crazy white folks. And Spike captures it all and puts it together seamlessly, so there's hardly any time to catch your breath between jokes.

One of these days... real soon, maybe... black and white will be so integrated into each other's cultures that humor comparing the races will seem antiquated, almost obsolete. We're already seeing it happen, with hip-hop-metal hitting big with white teens and an increasing number of black athletes in traditionally lily-white sports such as golf and tennis. But until that day comes, we'll always have the jokes comparing whites to blacks and vice versa. And this film should stand out as a testament to what we laughed at back in the turn of the century.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4426&reviewer=9
originally posted: 08/19/00 15:54:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/25/11 Phineas Lee can't even film comics on a stage well! Every angle worse than the last!!!! 1 stars
8/08/08 Pokejedservo Not as funny as I thought it would be but it does have plenty of good moments in the movie. 4 stars
12/17/07 SylviaP freaking hilarious! and so true!!! 5 stars
10/19/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) Mostly very funny, but I hope Mike is kidding, b/c if he's being sarcastic, he's veryright. 4 stars
10/10/03 Keaton Hilarious 5 stars
12/16/02 Mike It's not racist when black people do it........ 3 stars
1/27/02 Andrew Carden A Good, Solid Comic Team...Waiting For "Kings Of Comedy 2". 4 stars
9/21/01 OldsGuy Great! 5 stars
9/09/01 Butterbean Cedric and Bernie Mac was good, even though Mac told an old joke. The rest was tired 2 stars
3/26/01 nowak Racist, aggressive shit. And a bit tiresome. 2 stars
3/12/01 J.O. God Damn, my balls dropped an inch from laughing so fucking hard. 5 stars
9/17/00 Michael J. Johnson My jaws hurt from laughing so hard 5 stars
9/13/00 Lugubrious Lou Gee, they know how to cuss and put down bitches. How original! 1 stars
9/08/00 Tdis72 Kinda funny. Steve Harvey and Bernie Mac stole the show. Ced was ok, but DL Hughley sucked 3 stars
8/24/00 Bitva One of the funniest movies/comedy acts I've ever seen. DOWN WITH WHITEY! 5 stars
8/23/00 malcolm i've seen all these guys do better, except maybe Bernie Mac 3 stars
8/23/00 QUENTIN CONGRESS TRIPLE GREENLIGHT! FUNNIER THAN "YOU SO CRAZY" AND "LIVE ON THE SUNSET STRIP"! 5 stars
8/22/00 Obi Wan Can someone please get Bernie his own show! Almost Delirious-Like!! 5 stars
8/20/00 Steve Ginsburg When have you heard a white comedian do "those funny black people" jokes? 3 stars
8/19/00 Broyoyo Annoying. Spike Lee "you're racist/evil if you don't like my movies" indulgence crap 1 stars
8/18/00 Matt Hilarious 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Aug-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  29-Mar-2001 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast