More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.86

Awesome: 7.14%
Worth A Look: 5.95%
Average: 7.14%
Pretty Bad: 25%
Total Crap54.76%

6 reviews, 48 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Arbor, The by Charles Tatum

Oculus by Jay Seaver

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

Amazing Spider-Man 2, The by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


Highlander: Endgame
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"Maybe I should have watched the first 8 or so."
1 stars

OK, so now there's this new Highlander guy who's on the TV show, and so they've now inserted him into the entire Highlander history, making him Christopher Lambert's best friend all along. I guess we just didn't notice him in all the other ones.

So, anyway, there can apparently be only one. There's all these immortal guys. They fight each other an awful lot, but they can only kill each other if they cut each other's head off. When they cut each other's heads off, they absorb the headless guy's power. Neat, huh? There's one guy who's cut off, like 600 heads. He's bad. There's two other guys who haven't cut off half as many. They're friendly. The two friendly guys fight the bad guy. Confused yet? I sure was.

This is, I think, the 4th Highlander, but there's also a TV series, so I don't know if they count as, like, half-sequels. This sequel is notable because it combines the characters from the first three movies with the characters from the TV show. Of course, in order to do this, they had to insert the main TV show guy into the whole "Highlander" history. This, of course, makes no sense, because they want us to believe that the TV show guy was the movie guy's best friend all through history, yet somehow they've forgotten to mention him through all the movies.

(The above information was obtained by my friend Craig, who has seen all the movies. He liked this movie. He's an idiot.)

I was interested for the first 15 minutes. Then the previews ended and the movie started. From that point, I was not interested. It wasn't that I couldn't follow the plot. I asked questions liberally throughout, and by the half-hour mark, I think I had the plot pretty down pat. The problem was: The plot sucked. The actors sucked. The special effects sucked. My legs were cold.

Maybe I just don't "get" the Highlander series. Maybe there's nothing to get. There's nothing to it other than swordfighting, and there wasn't even much of that in this episode. There were too many flashbacks, perhaps to establish the new TV guy as part of the series (which, as we mentioned earlier, made no sense - it's roughly the equivalent of George Lucas releasing a New Edition of Star Wars with constant flashbacks of Han Solo hanging out with Jar Jar), and neither Christopher Lambert or Adrian Paul (the movie guy and the TV guy, respectively) have enough charisma to be a supporting character, let alone a star. The villain has the acting ability of cabbage.

This movie was long, boring, and it had some nudity. But not enough.

I can only wait for "Highlander 5" with a rapping dog, who was there since the beginning. And then he fights an evil dog, because...there can be only one dog.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4435&reviewer=27
originally posted: 09/06/00 14:23:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/31/08 Shaun Wallner Very Boring! 1 stars
5/29/06 Troy M. Grzych Love Highlander but not this film. Next one should be better. 2 stars
7/24/05 C Vega please shoot me! 1 stars
12/03/04 Tom Benton A huge waste of potential that turns out to be moody and foolish, yet watchable. 3 stars
8/06/04 Andy Williams Just to Start there are so many Mistake is Endgames they are too numerous to count . 3 stars
6/07/04 tim great movie 5 stars
4/20/04 X I nearly died from brain hemorraging after watching the movie 1 stars
4/18/04 American Slasher Goddess Slighty better then 3, but still pretty bad. 2 stars
1/04/04 Kenny MacLeod It's Highlander! Who cares if it has continuity or an amateur feel! It's Highlander!!! 5 stars
12/25/03 StinkFoot Lambert has the WEIRDEST voice I ever heard, "Dere khan bee ohnlee whann" - MEGADORK! 1 stars
9/08/03 Kreg Penny Endgame was every bit as bad as Highlander 2; bad acting, and a worse story. 1 stars
1/21/03 Andy Bronson shit movie but Donnie Yen did great things with the action sequences 1 stars
9/15/02 Sugarfoot Slightly better then 2 and 3, yet still bad. 2 stars
8/16/02 KMG HOW CAN HIGHLANDER 1 BE SOOOO AWESOME AND IT'S 3 SEQUELS SUCK SO DEADLY?! 1 stars
7/25/02 CVJ Its like the first one never existed and Connor DIES in it what the fuck happened there?! 1 stars
2/15/02 Zargo the scenes between Christophe and Adrian alone make this movie worth watching 4 stars
1/24/02 Andrew Carden This Makes 1,2, and 3 Look Like The Star Wars Trilogy. 1 stars
11/01/01 Former HL fan Even the die hard fans know this movie is shit, and openly admit it on alt.tv.highlander. 1 stars
11/01/01 Gracy Lionheart Shudder...such a bad movie. I cannot begin to describe how bad it is. YUCK!!! 1 stars
8/09/01 DRS You canīt get rid of me,no one can 5 stars
7/20/01 keith langman best of a horrible series 4 stars
6/14/01 Andrew James Barnes Bile leaves a sweeter taste in your mouth than this film. 1 stars
4/03/01 Io The worst movie I have ever seen. 1 stars
3/05/01 Timothy Great Movie and Soundtrack awesome love story 5 stars
12/10/00 brad carter this movie fucking sucked faggot ass! 2 stars
11/30/00 William Bell Worst movie of the year 1 stars
11/17/00 brad carter This movie sucks fat ass. The main character can never die and her i see connor die. 1 stars
10/28/00 Beryl MacCool the scenery was quite interesting, and the movie did have a storyline. I enjoyed it. 5 stars
10/06/00 wong impossible to understand 2 stars
10/05/00 Chantal Whittington I thought Highlander 4 was a pretty good movie--but then, I like swordplay! 4 stars
10/02/00 Image i never watched Highlander before...but i have to say...i rather enjoyed the movie.. 4 stars
9/30/00 terry 2'nd worse modern vampires is the fuckin worse 1 stars
9/29/00 Ron A great movie, but only for a very specialized fanbase. I loved it. Most won't. 5 stars
9/24/00 Will There can be only one. namely, the first movie. Everything else doesn't exist in my world 1 stars
9/14/00 P.S.O.K it's not as bad as most make it out to be. the fight scenes were cool, but that dialoge.... 3 stars
9/14/00 Dipshit Dirk I never saw the 1st 3 or the show, so maybe that's why I absolutely hated it. Absolutely 1 stars
9/13/00 Lugubrious Lou An attempt to brige the movies and series since CL is showing his age. Not too shabby. 3 stars
9/10/00 LdyArdRhi There should have been only one! 1 stars
9/08/00 Spendocrat FYI: Connor is in the pilot episode for the TV series. 2 stars
9/08/00 dolomite@planetquake.com Lucid and dreamy. Not bad fight scenes. No oscars, but it didn't suck as bad as ppl say. 4 stars
9/07/00 KC Conundrum Screwed up an opportunity to pass the cinematic torch (Lambert to Paul) via a quality film. 2 stars
9/07/00 Xalt I expected better from Adrian Paul and the scriptwriters. Repetitive of the TV series plot. 3 stars
9/06/00 MC Cheese Better than 2 or 3. If you liked the series, see a bargain show. 3 stars
9/06/00 Hollywood Hangover Not even direct-to-video caliber. Someone will surely lose their head for this dog. 1 stars
9/05/00 DarkRomancer I saw it because my date wanted to. Don't make my mistake. 2 stars
9/04/00 Greyjack Go see The Art of War instead. Highlander: Endgame is *that* bad. 1 stars
9/03/00 Thor-Leo Yet another embarrassment for all concerned. 1 stars
9/03/00 Erik C. Thauvin There can be only one, that wasn't it. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Sep-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Feb-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast