More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.08

Awesome: 17.33%
Worth A Look: 24%
Average: 20%
Pretty Bad26.67%
Total Crap: 12%

7 reviews, 33 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Contender, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Miscalculations"
3 stars

Iíve never lost most so much goodwill towards a film, so quickly, as I did during the last half hour of The Contender. Writer-director Rod Lurie forgets heís writing a political drama, and adds more climaxes and stop-start endings than the average action movie.

American President Jackson Evansís (Jeff Bridges) term is almost over, and he needs a new Vice President. When he chooses Democrat Senator Laine Hanson (Joan Allen), Republican Senator Shelly Runyon (Gary Oldman) leaks information about her sexual activities in college to prevent her appointment.

The script by Lurie is generally fast-paced and entertaining. We get a glossy, behind-the-scenes glimpse of White House politics and the shifting locus of power between senior politicians and the media. But Hanson and Runyon are too thinly sketched to be believable characters. Bridges gives the most memorable performance; his President is more than a political title, or a collection of empty precepts.

Whatís most disappointing about The Contender is that Lurie betrays its strongest moral principle (that itís beneath Hansonís dignity to deny or admit the charges of sexual impropriety) in the movieís final minutes. [Stephen Groenewegen]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4465&reviewer=104
originally posted: 05/05/01 15:13:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/20/09 dj waterman Silly and Fake, this movie also has a fake-out ending. Unrealistic and bombastic. 2 stars
11/25/07 Ron Patterson Best damn film I have seen all year! 5 stars
6/30/07 fools♫gold A lovable movie that I underrate about as much as I underrate the remake of The Wicker Man. 4 stars
8/18/05 ES I was honestly cheering for Hathaway, ending is a let down 2 stars
9/04/03 David Tomlin Stupid. Unsophosticated. Implausible. Good performances. Titillating sex. 2 stars
5/24/03 K.B Again This film was so bad i had to vote for it again. 1 stars
3/21/03 Jack Sommersby Purposeless, overlong, and just plain boring. Bridges and Oldman are outstanding, though. 2 stars
3/05/03 K. B Pure left-wing bullshit propaganda. I rather watch Batman & Robin again then this trash. 1 stars
1/20/03 Joesco Excellent performances from Bridges and Allen who breathes integrity 4 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Wonderful Film. Gary Oldman deserved the Oscar nod over Bridges though. 5 stars
8/05/02 KMG DUMB BITCH: YOU WANT TO KILL BABIES, BUT YOU DON'T WANT TO KILL CONVICTS?????? 3 stars
5/26/02 Jessica Davis Just a vanity project that fails to address anything about qualifications for a V.P. 2 stars
10/16/01 phil m. afficiando Good cast , acting, and premise; too narrow and contrived to satisfy. Missed opportunity. 3 stars
10/01/01 Bada Bing Crosby Has something to say about prejudice, the double-standard & Muenster cheese 4 stars
8/06/01 Bash . 2 stars
6/21/01 Jim Renwick democratic's good guys; republican's bad guys. Which one are u? 3 stars
5/12/01 DREDD it trys to make clinton look good, but it's full of shit 2 stars
4/29/01 The Jedi Droid so lemme see if I got this right...Gladiator was a better movie than this??? I THINK NOT!! 5 stars
4/16/01 The Bomb 69 never would happen in real life but a gripping political drama nonetheless 5 stars
4/02/01 Chuck D Eh, kinda preachy, I loved the "Big Lebowski" reference though, god that was classic 2 stars
3/28/01 Monday Morning Hey Godfather, try some Prep-H on those 'roids. This is good, smart entertainment. 4 stars
3/26/01 nowak Pro-Clinton, manipulative s**t. 2 stars
3/20/01 Kriperace Another thinly-disguised left wing diatribe. Typical of H'wood. 2 stars
3/17/01 Dracco Way to spell Satan Godfather. Now who's the retarded snail? 5 stars
3/13/01 Rhythm Blankenhorn The Godfather must be a right-winger. Very good movie for moderates 4 stars
3/13/01 tinsley7 Very Good Movie! If you pay attention that is. 4 stars
3/04/01 Suzz trite, predictable and boring 2 stars
2/02/01 Benway truly terrible example of Hollywood mythmaking at its worst and an insult to smart women 1 stars
11/18/00 Edward A Leonard Too Womens-Lib, also kisses Bill Clinton's Anus 2 stars
11/09/00 Patti Great performances, although a fairy-tale ending 5 stars
11/02/00 Ilie Agopian Below average script, implausible plot, Sam Elliot & Gary Oldman = good performance 2 stars
10/16/00 frankko good performances, crap-ass ending 2 stars
10/16/00 Politicsman Read Eric's Review, add two stars. Very timely, ranks with other great political films 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Oct-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Mar-2001 (M)


Directed by
  Rod Lurie

Written by
  Rod Lurie

Cast
  Jeff Bridges
  Joan Allen
  Gary Oldman
  Sam Elliot
  Christian Slater
  William L. Petersen



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast