More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.1

Awesome: 11.86%
Worth A Look: 1.69%
Average: 18.64%
Pretty Bad: 20.34%
Total Crap47.46%

4 reviews, 35 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darlin' by Jay Seaver

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

Vivarium by Jay Seaver

Art of Self-Defense, The by Jay Seaver

Crawl by Peter Sobczynski

Swallow by Jay Seaver

Perfection, The by Rob Gonsalves

Luce by Jay Seaver

Last Black Man in San Francisco, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


American Werewolf in Paris, An
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Complete and utter toilet. Rabid dog chases jocks. What crap."
1 stars

Okay, so who wants to watch yet another awful sequel that borrows precious little from the original other than a passing reference in the title, designed to get you, Joe Consumer, to buy a ticket for you and your date under false pretences?

You, sir?
You, madame?

Okay, come this way and take a look at An American Werewolf In Paris.

What a steaming pile of diseased otter carcasses this film is.

You have Julie Delpy, a great French actress, playing one of the most depthless characters she's ever had the misfortune to be swindled into playing.

You have Tom Everett Scott, one of the least talented actors in America, nay the world, today.

You have a bunch of jocks who would have been passed over during the casting of Porky's 7 due to them looking like the most stereotypical jocks that have ever been portrayed. You half expect them to break out the partykeg, go for a panty-raid and call each other "dude".

And then there's the story. This script was surely written in French and then poorly translated because it was missing something.. something.. intelligence perhaps? A point? Feasibility? A semblance of reality? Humor? Gratuitous sex?

Well, at least it had special effects.

My ass it did.

Picture this. A woman jumps off the Eiffel Tower. Our jocks just happen to be getting ready to bungee jump off the tower at the same time, so one of the jocks jumps over, grabs the falling woman, places her on the ground and springs back up - smacking his head on a steel girder. So the woman is saved and our hero get's a little booboo on his head.

Treat me like an idiot and I'll fight back in kind. The producers, writers, directors and cast of this film *ARE IDIOTS*.

They wouldn't know a decent film if it jumped up, smacked them on the ass and ran around the room naked shouting "I'M A DECENT FILM! WOOOOOOO! DECENT FILM OVER HERE!".

The story goes nowhere, the cast are terrible, even Delpy, the FX are laughable, there's not a funny line in the entire flick.

Put simply, this film is a crock of shit and deserves your utter disrespect. They have blemished the memory of one of the best movies of the last twenty years and for that reason everyone involved should be hung by the spleen.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=449&reviewer=1
originally posted: 09/01/98 22:46:44
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell IT SUCKS 1 stars
1/11/10 art ONCE AGAIN,IT IS HORRIBLE!,JUST LIKE THE AMERICAN WOLF IN LONDON! 1 stars
10/22/09 art HORRENDOUS JUST LIKE THE FIRST WEREWOF MOVIE! 1 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner Bloody Boring!!! 1 stars
8/13/08 Brenda Horrid. If it didn't pretend to be a sequel to one of the best werewolf films, its ok. 2 stars
5/05/08 art IT WAS A DIASTER AVOID IT LIKE THE PLAGUE 1 stars
3/16/08 Pamela White very cool for werewolf movies 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist ABOMINATION TO LYCANTHROPE;corny werewolves&too obviously a butchery of "London" 1 stars
8/13/05 ES Misses the point and feel of the first movie, this is a money grab= no good 2 stars
3/12/05 DONNA L MILLER I THROUGHT THIS MOVIE WAS AND IS AWSOME,THE EFFECTS OF THIS MOVIE WAS VERY WELL DONE, 5 stars
8/23/04 Samuel A pretty decent film... 3 stars
4/10/04 American Slasher Goddess Decent acting,but very silly,doesn't come close to the original. 2 stars
12/23/03 Jiz Didn't see the original, but holy shit was this movie funny. 5 stars
1/12/03 Vicious Some of the worst designed werewolves ever, and everything else is just as awful. 1 stars
3/14/02 Sylvie Alice Borden Julie Delpy superb, Julie Bowen wasted, story kinda OK. 4 stars
1/01/02 Andrew Carden Pale Sequel Of The Original, but Good As Sequels Can Go. 3 stars
12/28/01 Zac IT RULES ALL WEREWOLF MOVIES!!! 5 stars
12/05/01 Michael This is one of my favorite movie ! 5 stars
9/12/01 Butterbean A lot more fun than Wolf in London. But it won't remain in your memory for long 3 stars
7/11/01 yas mina 5 stars
7/08/01 K This movie ROCKS! 5 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Joe, you stooge, we were expecting the original. This isn't even "Howling 4" quality. 1 stars
12/03/99 perpetual loser at least it isn't "I know what you did last summer"... 2 stars
5/15/99 Ah Dooey Totally f**ked up shit. See the first one. 1 stars
3/18/99 Madcap this bloated load of tripe looks like it was assembled by Ms. Barfwood's 4th grade class. 1 stars
2/22/99 julie maybe i can't give a fair review of this because i turned it off in the middle.... 1 stars
1/11/99 Joe Mama what the fuck were you people expecting, friggin Titanic? fun movie for killing time. 3 stars
11/25/98 Fred Argh!!! I wee wee on le' movie. Kill this fucker!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/12/98 Jules Hold my breasts please... Jeezes, what a shitty film... 1 stars
9/24/98 katherine it was alright i guess. i like the london 1 better. 3 stars
9/01/98 pooky the bald I can't afford to waste money on bullshit like this. 1 stars
8/29/98 Johny One or two entertaining moments in an otherwise hunk of crap 2 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress ok, i was afraid of the original, this one was just painful to watch. 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Poor Julie Delpy. What debt was she repaying by appearing in this toad? 1 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Sad. Just sad. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1997 (R)

UK
  02-Feb-1998 (15)

Australia
  02-Feb-1998 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast