More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.9

Awesome: 32.67%
Worth A Look41.58%
Average: 14.52%
Pretty Bad: 5.94%
Total Crap: 5.28%

18 reviews, 195 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Cast Away
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Andrew Howe

"My Island Home (is waiting for me)"
4 stars

In 1994 I expressed my concern that Tom Hanks, who had only recently turned his attention to dramatic roles, would be incapable of discharging all that was required of him in Forrest Gump. One Academy Award later, he proved that my crystal ball possessed the precognitive abilities of a dime-store snow globe.

In 1998 I entertained the notion that Hanks was not a fit and proper person to portray a leader of men in Saving Private Ryan, since his lack of charisma would make it impossible to credit his performance. One Academy Award nomination later, he proved that my misgivings were well and truly unfounded.

In 1999 I fretted that the shoes of The Green Mileís Paul Edgecombe, a character about whom I had formed certain preconceptions from reading the novel, were larger than Hanks could conceivably fill. One unassuming and deeply affecting performance later, my career as a Casting Director was placed on permanent hold.

In 2000 I suggested that Hanks, whose personality could never be described as forceful, would not be able to maintain viewer interest throughout the extended solo sequences promised by the advance publicity for Cast Away. And if you guessed that Hanks made me look like the village idiot once again, then you evidently possess greater foresight than I.

Some people, as they say, never learn. Hanks, on the other hand, has learned that there are certain roles to which he is suited, and invariably manages to pluck the gems from the avalanche of offers he presumably receives. Not that the lead in Cast Away could be considered anything less than an actorís dream Ė after all, with few other characters to distract attention from the star, you donít have to worry about being overshadowed by your support. The only thing you might end up playing second-fiddle to is the scenery, but since David Lean has retired to a place where even his agent canít reach him youíre probably on fairly safe ground.

The house that Zemeckis and Hanks built, however, was erected on ground which was anything but. A Hanks film is the closest thing to a sure thing these days, but the premise was far enough into the left field that success was by no means certain. Hanks plays Chuck Noland, a Fed Ex employee who divides his time between travel, his girlfriend (Helen Hunt), and haranguing his subordinates about the importance of time. A plane crash earns him a four-year stint on a deserted island in the middle of nowhere, and the bulk of the filmís running time is consumed by his quest for survival. It sounds more like an uninspired retread of Robinson Crusoe than the makings of a masterpiece (which it isnít, but it comes closer than most), and its success can be laid at the door of two very wise decisions: casting Hanks in the lead, and choosing a script (by William Broyles Jr, whose notable credits to date consist solely of Apollo 13) which concentrates on the emotional and psychological ramifications of the situation (as opposed to, say, turning it into a comedy or a boyís-own adventure).

Much has been made of the fact that many scenes feature no music or dialogue, concentrating solely on Nolandís efforts to eke out a living amidst his inhospitable surroundings (the island may look like paradise, but the absence of freshwater streams and other amenities ensures that, like so many things in life, its attractive exterior masks a depressingly hollow centre). These sequences arenít exactly the cinematic equivalent of a Marcel Marceau performance, but they were still a gamble (at least for a big-budget motion picture), since, outside of sketch comedy, solo performances peppered with occasional dialogue have the potential to become decidedly soporific. However, it works by virtue of viewer identification with the situation: you constantly ask yourself what you would do in a similar situation, since itís a notion anyone bred on a diet of Swiss Family Robinson and Gilliganís Island has entertained on occasion. Itís an intriguing concept, but when reality collides with fantasy it always ends in tears - do you know how to open a coconut with a stone, or start a fire with a couple of sticks? I certainly donít, and neither does Noland, and anyone who needs zero fingers to count their Boy Scout patch collection will be captivated by his trial-and-error approach to wilderness survival.

Those expecting eye-catching cinematography will not be disappointed, as scenic-postcard shots of pristine beaches and swaying palms are contrasted with Hanksí gradual deterioration. The ocean is a constant companion to the proceedings, and it appears inviting, but it is effectively Nolandís captor, and the razor-sharp coral that waits beneath its surface is yet another testament to the heartbreak caused by deceptive appearances. When itís not busy tantalising the senses, the film also provides welcome relief from the daily grind through two exceptional action sequences, one of which has few equals in its terrifying depiction of an aviation disaster (I am never taking my shoes off during a flight again).

The film is enhanced immeasurably by Hanksí performance, which is definitely award material. Despite Nolandís fanatical commitment to his job, Hanksí natural affability ensures that the early character-building scenes achieve their purpose, which is to convince the viewer that Nolandís survival is a cause for concern. Once the action shifts to the island Hanks cranks it up a notch, to the extent that you never doubt Nolandís predicament for a second. Hanksí ďtrainingĒ for the role (which appears to have consisted of running himself into the ground for 12 months) pays dividends in the form of an utterly convincing portrayal Ė some performances you admire, but others you believe, and there is no doubt on which side of the fence his efforts fall.

The supporting players are left to orbit around Hanksí brilliance, with only Helen Hunt rising above cameo status. Iíve never been a fan (like Ed OíNeill, it will be many years before she breaks free of the preconceptions fostered by her extended sojourn on the small screen) but thereís nothing to complain about with her portrayal of a willing participant in a part-time love affair, and a couple of emotional scenes prove that a few more dramatic roles may not be a bad thing.

And emotional scenes is something Cast Away has in spades. It is by no means a happy film (at times itís downright depressing), and it raises questions about the negative effects of solitude, the way in which having a single thing to believe in can be enough to get you through the night, and the bonding potential inherent in inanimate objects. It also features two powerful scenes dealing with relationships and loss, the first of which qualifies as one of the most uniquely wrenching movie moments I have ever witnessed.

The effects of isolation are obviously central to the filmís concerns, and while itís not going to be used as a case study for budding psychologists it does a fine job of charting the effects of years spent without human contact. The importance of our relationships with our fellow man cannot be overestimated, for one could argue that our ďtrueĒ personalities are submerged beneath forced conformity and the need for approval, while the fear of being alone is a feature of many a childhood nightmare. The film doesnít actually explore these issues in any great depth, but then it is hamstrung by the fact that Noland has no-one to express his feelings to. However, we donít necessarily need Noland to tell us what heís going through, because his actions and physical appearance leave little doubt as to the mental effects of his trials (in addition, the film does eventually find a way to allow him to speak, but itís so artfully conceived that itís difficult to complain too loudly). The filmís approach does have its limitations, but it still serves up ample food for thought within the constraints imposed by the premise and the scriptís admirable refusal to explore Nolandís inner torment through long-winded speeches, voiceovers, journals or other inappropriate devices.

The other aspect of the narrative which arguably warranted greater attention was the section dealing with Nolandís first year on the island. The script makes a somewhat jarring jump from the early days to the four-year mark, and while Hanksí sudden transformation ensures that it is an arresting sequence, it dilutes the weight of the years. Four years is a long time, and another half-hour depicting Nolandís solitude and enlightening us as to exactly how he filled in his time on an average day would have rammed home the debilitating effects of boredom and deprivation (having neglected to pack his desert-island books, thereís very little to occupy his mind). On the other hand, the film already runs for 143 minutes with practically no filler, so such a move may well have stretched viewer patience to the breaking point (Wim Wenders would argue that itís the price of creating a masterpiece, but thatís just him).

In any event, the film still deserves praise for its depiction of Nolandís years on the road to nowhere, especially given that he appears to achieve very little (the absence of the Professor ensures thereís no spa baths constructed from bamboo and coconut shells). I am also pleased to report that the film works its way to a truly satisfying conclusion Ė Hollywood schmaltz is definitely off the menu, and the one chance to ruin an otherwise laudable effort is deftly avoided.

Cast Away partners a fine script with a skilled actor, and the result is a film that soars above the standard big-budget Hollywood fare. It never hangs its hat on a single aspect of the story, mixing mild humour with high drama; slow-moving, meditative scenes with high-powered action sequences; and rays of hope with the depths of despair. Occasionally thought-provoking, often touching, and always absorbing, it reminds us that a simple story well-told is the cornerstone of many a fine film, and that shooting from the hip, enjoyable though it may be, is never the equal of speaking from the heart.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4493&reviewer=193
originally posted: 01/14/01 15:51:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell good but a downer 4 stars
12/24/13 Michelle O WILSON!!Hanks is now DIABETIC from the extreme weight-loss to BECOME these characters!! 5 stars
2/20/11 Ark Wilson definitely needs an Oscar for Best Supporting Actor! 4 stars
9/30/10 brian To this day I call my basketball Spalding. (I know, but I don't have a Wilson.) 4 stars
8/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper "Wilson" should have won an Oscar for his roll. 3 stars
6/16/10 ph perfect except for the ending, that was a bit blunt 4 stars
8/02/09 Samantha Pruitt absolutely riveting, Tom Hanks is AMAZING! 5 stars
4/18/09 Mena Definatly worth writing a paper about, for english class 4 stars
9/13/08 David No man is an island. -indeed 5 stars
9/02/08 Nikki Amazing how a guy and a volleyball can be so entertaining... 4 stars
8/30/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome storyline! 5 stars
8/04/08 Yoda A Hollywood movie with an excellent unHollywood-like ending. 4 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT THOROUGLY ENTERTAINING AND SKILLFULLY RENDERED 4 stars
3/28/08 Renzo Great! 4 stars
12/10/07 HANNAH WCKED MOVIE 5 stars
12/02/07 Bnorm Awesome movie...if you dont like it you're a clownshoe 4 stars
11/04/07 Guy Hoevenaars Little dialogue, yet still engrossing! 2 Toms, 1 fat and 1 bearded skinny bloke!!! 5 stars
8/22/07 wallace you wouldnt happen to have a match would you? best movie ever! 5 stars
5/16/07 R.W. Welch Hanks is good but Wilson steals the show. Enigmatic ending doesn't help. 4 stars
2/01/07 Matt Some missed opportunities, but Hanks can make any crap earn an extra * or 2. 4 stars
11/25/06 David Pollastrini an unoriginal concept turns out quite original 5 stars
8/26/06 Ryan Haha, fuck off Steve in Prague, theres no unknown islands because we don't know they exist. 4 stars
8/23/06 Quigley Incredible story that's on the road to being a classic. Hanks was superb and Wilson = Oscar 5 stars
8/05/06 nicolecrom2678 Made you think what it would be like to be stuck on an island alone 3 stars
7/13/06 EZ It's a great movie but it's kinda hard to watch the same guy by himself the whole film 4 stars
6/01/06 drydock54321 bravo tom hanks. played very well. 4 stars
5/23/06 Chuck Nolan After i bought the movie i wipped my ass with the dvd. 1 stars
4/20/06 Indrid Cold A unique, meditative experience. I found it very moving and beautiful. 5 stars
4/13/06 CWO BOBBY J. FREEMAN USN RETIRED Great opening... Tom Hanks sets the stage for this movie and he does a great job of it! 5 stars
12/29/05 CWO BOBBY J. FREEMAN USN RETIRED A real life like story second to none - Well done by Tom Hanks 5 stars
10/03/05 CWO BOBBY J. FREEMAN USN RETIRED SIMPLY A WONDERFUL PICTURE 5 stars
8/21/05 Mohsin Ali Leghari Very Good 4 stars
8/20/05 ES It's a movie about one guy trapped on a deserted island and it was great= tom you rock 4 stars
7/28/05 Quigley Tom Hanks was incredible as usual. Visual effects were good, story was good (Wilson)! 5 stars
7/28/05 Wc 10 times watch it, 10 times cry... 5 stars
7/21/05 Brandy Harrington Wilson? WILLLLLLLSSSOOOONNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...I cried. 5 stars
3/07/05 Dan Loved it. 5 stars
1/04/05 ALDO GREAT film....Especially the first time you watch it. 5 stars
10/30/04 island gurl well i didnt like the bit with the skate how he did his own dentice work that was just eeww 3 stars
10/30/04 HL Only Hanks Could Pull This Off..But Why the Ending? 4 stars
10/24/04 UMER deniro is the only other actor on this planet i could think of who could pull this roll of 4 stars
9/26/04 tao sa gubat soobrang galing!!!!!!!‹ 5 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G this movie was pretty good 4 stars
8/04/04 Katie This movie is great,but some scenes were hard to watch,like when he pulled out his tooth.Ow 4 stars
7/20/04 AlaskanReviewer I think that Tom Hanks deserved the Oscar for his performance in this movie. 5 stars
7/12/04 Daveman Such a minimalist idea is pompous when it's just a product of soulless Hollywood artifice. 2 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva worth a look 3 stars
6/12/04 Raymond Lee wow talk about survial 5 stars
5/31/04 Frazier Very creative and well executed, was very much pleased considering lack of dialogue 5 stars
5/19/04 Jack Sommersby Nothing new or particularly interesting (and the scenes with Hunt are just awful). 2 stars
5/19/04 y2mckay Or as I like to call it, "The 80 million dollar Fed-Ex commercial" 3 stars
3/10/04 ghghfhgfhf grwat 5 stars
2/19/04 john island sequences are excellent - feels completly real - entertaining 4 stars
1/07/04 your worst goddamn nightmare damn good movie... it was quiet but definitely not boring 5 stars
11/22/03 ross hendrick worth buying, if you can find it cheap enough 4 stars
10/27/03 John Bale Hanks has a remarkable range as his tour de force in this survival flick shows 4 stars
10/23/03 A. Knight I didn't care about getting popcorn. 5 stars
9/09/03 Dawn You know there's a problem when the character you feel for the most is sporting equipment. 2 stars
7/26/03 Scuba Worst 2 boobless hours ever. 1 stars
7/12/03 Indrid Cold Understanable that many find it boring, but I loved this quiet, simple-yet-profound movie. 5 stars
4/07/03 Eduardo excellent movies 5 stars
3/23/03 Winthrop J Applesmythe III why do people on this site give low reviews for a movie being "sad"? 4 stars
3/02/03 Jack Sommersby Here, here, Charles! A great skewering of a most overpraised film. 2 stars
11/29/02 Jay Hey, I Can't Swim, if you're a male, stop fucking your mother and get a fucking clue!!! 5 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Tom Hanks' Oscar is in the hands of a drunken Kiwi. 5 stars
11/10/02 moviemachine I Can't Swim can suck my ass!!! Tom Hanks is great, but he didn't win the Oscar. Sadly. 5 stars
10/18/02 Charles Tatum Manipulative trash, Hanks lost weight, big deal 2 stars
7/27/02 karen goldstein Great Flick but Helen Hunt Is a Major BITCH for not going back to him - ruined the ending 4 stars
7/27/02 I Can't Swim Justin-HE DIDN'T WIN! Know why? Cuz this was a borefest! A volleyball?! 1 stars
6/06/02 Jeremy Im sorry but this is a sad movie DONT SEE IT 1 stars
5/21/02 Veronica Foxx Yes, cannibals would have made this a thousand times better! As it is, average if that good 3 stars
4/17/02 Wilson Totally brilliant! Filmaking at it's finest. 5 stars
4/06/02 Justin I'm so glad that Tom Hanks won an Oscar! 5 stars
3/06/02 Jono SAnders An excellent survival story 4 stars
2/25/02 Jenny Tullwartz Good when out to sea; STUPID when on land 4 stars
2/25/02 Butterbean Pretty cool! Who knew that a movie about a man stranded alone would be so good? 4 stars
2/21/02 Xaver It was an entertaining and good-feeling kind of film 4 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent Ending sucked but the rest kicked ass 4 stars
1/17/02 Andrew Carden A 3-Hour Long Episode Of Survivor With A Dude Named Wilson. 3 stars
1/15/02 CI This is one of my very favorite movies! It's one of the best films I've ever seen! 5 stars
1/15/02 Sparky Polastri The perfect cure for insomnia; cringed when he kept talking to the ball 1 stars
10/15/01 ElephantShoes interesting, loved it 5 stars
9/29/01 meshaely mooore best movie I had seen in while And i am such the critic. 5 stars
8/21/01 tnt Entertaining film all the way through...beautifully acted by Hanks and Hunt 5 stars
8/17/01 hilary worth a look 4 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Original, creative, funny, & scary. Tom Hanks and Helen Hunt R great. 4 stars
8/07/01 Chance Great! If you understood that his whole experience was to bring him to Bettina 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk I'm wishing cancer on this movie! (I begin to twist my hands back and forth) 1 stars
8/06/01 badfish Great film making..Great sound..Great picture..Hanks is a real pro!! Loved Wilson!! 5 stars
7/28/01 S.Coppa Very Good...but the ending felt sort of incomplete! 4 stars
7/28/01 delmer daves very good, but i felt that the development of wilson's character was a little soft. 5 stars
7/24/01 SJKelley Script is dull and repetitive. MsAsh's review misses it yet again. 3 stars
7/18/01 Basil Did anyone else notice instead of yelling Chuck she yelled Jack at the end? 4 stars
7/16/01 Matt Taglia Tom Hanks comes out with his best performance in his career, as well as Helen Hunt. 5 stars
7/04/01 Piz Hanks was mesmerizing, a great movie idea wonderfully brought to life 4 stars
6/24/01 The Bomb 69 good stuff, no way he lasts 4 years tho, ending was kind of vague 4 stars
6/21/01 Tzila Seewald It was sucked! It's so boring! it's pretty much same everyday until the end! BORING! 2 stars
6/19/01 Monday Morning Underwhelming in spite of Hanks. Ending was incredibly heavy-handed. 3 stars
6/10/01 Turtle Tom Hanks' best performance and one of my favorites. 5 stars
6/02/01 zeitgeist by far the best fedex commercial ever made 4 stars
5/31/01 MOVIE bestes movie on all big world 5 stars
5/26/01 Connoisseur great movie folks, best of 2000! 5 stars
5/24/01 zeitgeist the most elaborate FedEx commercial ever made. Top that, UPS. 3 stars
3/25/01 bumfluff this rocked! i love wilson! 4 stars
3/24/01 Aaron Cornell One of the best Tom Hanks movies 5 stars
3/18/01 Del R I was really broken up when Hanks' character lost his friend "Wilson" the volleyball 5 stars
3/14/01 bobbuttons The resolution with Kelly is appropriate; Texas scene at the end, however, is too sappy 4 stars
3/12/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Like a 1-man Survivor without the prize money, TV crew, and BULLSHIT. 4 stars
3/09/01 Hatta Hakimi awesome film, but the ending could have been better 5 stars
3/04/01 Sytse Faber As long as you like films with good stories, which have got some comedy, this is perfect!!! 5 stars
2/28/01 The Evil Penguin this film would have been awesome, if it weren't for the ending. 4 stars
2/26/01 fabio just technical 3 stars
2/15/01 Mac I liked the end. Putting others ahead of your own feelings is becomimg unique in movies 4 stars
2/13/01 LAZY Wilson - NOOOO! HA HA HA. Tom Hanks can't act his way out of a nut sack. 4 stars
2/12/01 Richard Wright An amazing central performance. The middle act was absorbing,start and end were just O.K. 4 stars
2/11/01 charles The Biggest FedEx Advertising 2 stars
2/10/01 Bobby I Highly Recommend it, just bring a box of tissue 5 stars
2/08/01 Mitja Podgajski Very realistic and deep story 4 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Great flick. Tom Hanks at his best! 4 stars
2/04/01 Avenger girl I enjoyed this movie even though its a little unrealistic 4 stars
2/03/01 brentley very well done flick. the crash scene alone was worth the admission. 4 stars
2/01/01 ludolecorse fucking great film!!! how surprising! Don't judge what you don't even want to see 5 stars
2/01/01 looloo looloo gooog 5 stars
2/01/01 Johnny Figaro Too much product placement and a heavy-handed story. Without Tom would be just bad. 3 stars
1/31/01 Jason Holt The script and production were troubled, but the film will still have an impact unique to U 5 stars
1/30/01 S Lefebvre A close view of human perseverance at an emotional sometimes frightening level. Excellent 5 stars
1/29/01 Lori Makes one wonder what they would do in the same situation. 4 stars
1/26/01 GSammie Thought-provoking; slows viewer's pace so that personal reflection is possible. 4 stars
1/25/01 Craig wilson stole the show and helen hunt in a wet white shirt were the best things about this 2 stars
1/25/01 viking Hanks and Zemeckis steer clear of the usual desert island cliches. an enjoyable experience 4 stars
1/25/01 neil tierney uhhhh........ awesome movie! see it! 5 stars
1/24/01 Jil Mustard inspiring, frightening, loving, sad 5 stars
1/23/01 Doug Hull Why was the Texas-bound package from Russia on a flight to Malasia? 4 stars
1/23/01 Don Adcock Gilligan's Island is much better! 2 stars
1/23/01 tom coleman excellent, great special effects 5 stars
1/23/01 matthew smith Tom Hanks gives a courageous performance in what could be his third oscar 5 stars
1/22/01 Justine Hardy The was fantastic 5 stars
1/22/01 Uncommon Sense FedEx Infomercial, outbid UPS? Blown ending. What about the RING? 4 stars
1/22/01 neil bartlett brilliance for most of the way, but why the crappy ending? 4 stars
1/17/01 RAINBOW I thought it was definately worth watching!! Loved every minute of it! 5 stars
1/17/01 Matthew Bartley The crash and Island scenes were great but the ending was very weak 4 stars
1/16/01 lulany Hanks is indeed great but too much storyline missing especially toward the end. 4 stars
1/16/01 tiffany! it was a little slow but overal really good 5 stars
1/15/01 Krystal Great movie, believable rather than contrived ending 5 stars
1/14/01 RWL Hanks was good, Helen Hunt is awful, and the ending was disappointing 3 stars
1/13/01 ADJ on a 1-5, give it a "4". Hanks is a great actor, and one of a few who could carry this. 4 stars
1/11/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble I like Tom as much as the next fellow, but this movie wore out my last nerve. 2 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 Last 20 minutes kept it from being fucking awesome. Tom Hanks is superb 4 stars
1/11/01 Movie Watcher Could have been better,ending needs work 3 stars
1/11/01 Joe That's the longest fedex commercial I've ever seen. Hackneyed, boring and worthless. 1 stars
1/10/01 Tdis72 Descent movie with not much dialogue. Ending sucked but Hanks was great! Can you say Oscar. 4 stars
1/10/01 Lurch Hellaz High Quality Fosheezy 5 stars
1/09/01 Ystergarde This is worth a glut of Oscars. Some people are just unimaginitive morons. 5 stars
1/08/01 tom coleman excellent film-did he go with the new girl? 5 stars
1/08/01 fattyankles Actual title: CAST........AWAY. "I love that you missed me." Help us. 2 stars
1/08/01 Lucia Chambers See it on the BIG screen. Plane crash is worth the trip alone-5 friends rate it 5 stars too 5 stars
1/08/01 zeitgeist spectacular until the last 20 minutes or so. Get a dialect coach there, Helen. 4 stars
1/07/01 Murgatroyd Wait 'til the video 3 stars
1/07/01 Chuck Smith Fed Ex Is A Non-Union Company. No wonder Chuck was stressed. 1 stars
1/06/01 Janine Lay, RN Absolutely fantastic!!! 5 stars
1/05/01 Philm Phreak From the plane crash to the rescue- phenomenal! 5 stars
1/05/01 Kirsten Kicked my ass. Appreciated not having every moment explained to me (very rare). 5 stars
1/04/01 Rick compelling, convincing and the audience didn't talk during this one 5 stars
1/04/01 Miss Molly Good right up until the end. 3 stars
1/04/01 peachick hanks is simply an honest "actor", the oscar should go to whomever chooses his scripts. 4 stars
1/03/01 Karen Henke Pretty amazing. 5 stars
1/03/01 Tdis72 Great movie with no dialogue. Hanks was superb. Rack up another OSCAR! 4 stars
1/03/01 Collegebrat19 Great film making effort. Tom was wonderful but you can wait to rent this one on video. 4 stars
1/03/01 Nessus MUST...USE...FEDEX... 4 stars
1/02/01 joe Hanks was great on the island, but the ending was crap 2 stars
12/31/00 John Petersik Best plane crash scene I've ever seen!!! My heart was pounding so hard afterwards!! 5 stars
12/31/00 Greyjack Best new film I've seen in months. Erik spiked this one--read his review. 5 stars
12/31/00 kevin A good movie, could have been so much more. Hanks is superb in first 2 hours after it suck 3 stars
12/31/00 kgl Good flick. Hanks is a great actor, but I'm sick of Hunt. 4 stars
12/30/00 Rod Tom Hanks does a fantasitic job. 5 stars
12/29/00 Doctor Collosus well constructed, but forgetable movie. Nothing special. 3 stars
12/29/00 ZKK 1 hour of genius 3 stars
12/29/00 Brent Young Not bad --tried for Critical Awards too much. Hanks is pretty good, and Hunt is pretty hot. 4 stars
12/29/00 J Good... not great. 4 stars
12/28/00 Mike Noland Erik the Movieman articulated every one of my thoughts perfectly. Extraordinary movie 5 stars
12/28/00 TomServo pretty cool... 5 stars
12/28/00 Jules Great visuals, flawed story, but still amazing to see. 5 stars
12/27/00 Thor Aackerlund from Dallas, TX Man .. I loved this movie .. something unique and timeless about it 5 stars
12/27/00 Jenny-My-Fur hanks rocks my world, wonderful performance! amazing, killer, fantastic! 5 stars
12/26/00 Sara Thanks for not ruining the ending by resolving EVERYTHING!! 4 stars
12/25/00 poetchuck Not bad for a mostly silent film 4 stars
12/25/00 kohawk Really good movie. period 4 stars
12/25/00 Chris Trader Disappointment of 2000 1 stars
12/25/00 DŁpť Great apart from the ending. 3 stars
12/24/00 Jose Vicente Matutina Hanks dished out an Oscar winning performance 5 stars
12/24/00 Diehard Very emotionally compelling, well done movie. 5 stars
12/23/00 Mikey Good story, great analogies at the end but I wouldn't watch it again. 4 stars
12/23/00 Greyjack Just make sure you're in the mood for a slower pace. Excellent film--wow! 5 stars
12/23/00 Jose Frayed Damn good movie. What better actor can make you emotionally attached to a VOLLEYBALL??!!! 5 stars
12/23/00 Bob shomb KrApPy! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Dec-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 14-Oct-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Jan-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast