More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.9

Awesome: 32.67%
Worth A Look41.58%
Average: 14.52%
Pretty Bad: 5.94%
Total Crap: 5.28%

18 reviews, 195 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Spy Gone North, The by Jay Seaver

Crazy Rich Asians by Peter Sobczynski

Meg, The by Jay Seaver

Island, The (2018) by Jay Seaver

Summer of '84 by Jay Seaver

BlacKkKlansman by Peter Sobczynski

Along with the Gods: The Last 49 Days by Jay Seaver

Along with the Gods: The Two Worlds by Jay Seaver

Mission: Impossible - Fallout by Jay Seaver

Stripped to Kill 2: Live Girls by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Cast Away
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"New Hanks/Zemeckis Film Casts A Spell"
4 stars

Cast Away will most likely be one of the year’s biggest box office draws. It has a terrifying plane crash sequence, a likeable leading actor, and a simple can’t-miss storyline. The fact that it comes out the same year as one of television’s biggest success stories, Survivor, poses an interesting question: As we move further into the depths of technology, do we become compulsive to also run away from it? Why do we find this premise so fascinating?

In Cast Away, Tom Hanks stars in another Oscar-worthy performance as Chuck Nolan, a devoted FedEx troubleshooter whose life has been taken over by his pager. So much so, he gets sent on an assignment on Christmas day. His girlfriend, Kelly (Helen Hunt), drops him off at the airport where they exchange Christmas gifts. She gives him a little clock with her picture in it, and he gives her (what else?) a nice, new, colorful pager. “Just kidding,” he says. He then gives her the wedding ring, they exchange goodbye’s and Chuck gives her the obligatory line, “I’ll be right back.”

Of course, his plane does a triple somersault in the ocean and he ends up being the only survivor. He washes up on a tiny remote island, where he waits to be rescued, and waits, and waits, and waits. Meanwhile, some Fed Ex boxes wash ashore. Chuck rescues them, organizes them and demonstrates true job devotion by not opening them until after a few weeks of eating barks, bugs and leaves.

“Four Years Later,” and Chuck looks like one of those homeless ex-surfer guys in L.A. who roller-skate and talk to volley balls. This may be the longest-running one-man show since Swimming To Cambodia, and only an actor of Hanks’ stature could pull it off. Steven Spielberg once said that if you turn the sound off on a movie and you can still follow the story, you have a great movie. Hanks amazingly carries this movie with his simple facial expressions right up to the final credits. Writing about them would give away more of the story than I would like to. But it has to be seen.

I would guess that most screenwriters would have opted for voiceover for such a film. Some would also just have Hanks talk to himself as a means to have dialogue. One has to give screenwriter William Boyles Jr. credit for his choice. To have Hanks talk to a Wilson volleyball for an hour says so much more about companionship—any companionship—as a true necessity for survival.

The only problem in Cast Away comes in the third act. I have no problem with where exactly the movie ended, but once the credits rolled, I still wanted to know more. How does he feel about being back on land? Does he feel out of place? Does he have a desire to learn about what he missed? Has he experienced partial brain damage from being trapped on a tiny island for four whole years? The movie gets deep into the ramifications regarding his relationship with his girlfriend Kelly. The scenes between Hanks and Hunt play out beautifully, again utilizing Hanks’ ability to communicate emotions without words in a scene that could have been just a gab-fest. But the movie sets itself up for more

Robert Zemeckis, director of the best film of 1997 Contact, has created a spellbinding, somewhat believable film (I think Hanks should have looked worse). He makes a wise choice by staying on the island with Hanks for over an hour, whereas many other directors would have cut back and forth. Zemeckis, as many of us already know, went back and forth filming this and filming the thriller What Lies Beneath, while Hanks lost some weight for the second half of Cast Away. It seems as though Zemeckis wanted to take one of the best acting moments of Forrest Gump, where Hanks learns he has a son, and stretch it out to feature length. One more project like this (or Gump) and this could be the best actor/director team since DeNiro and Scorsese.

In Bernardo Bertilucci’s The Last Emperor, one of Pu Yi’s eunuchs carries with him a grasshopper to keep him company. In the 1987 movie The River’s Edge, Dennis Hopper walks around talking to a blow-up sex doll. Both have their reasons, and neither one of them has much contact with the real world. Cast Away, starring one of America’s favorite every-men, beautifully conveys its message that if we couldn’t have it all, if we couldn’t have anything, we would have to subsist on the deepest of human necessities: Somebody to be with.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4493&reviewer=233
originally posted: 12/29/00 12:33:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell good but a downer 4 stars
12/24/13 Michelle O WILSON!!Hanks is now DIABETIC from the extreme weight-loss to BECOME these characters!! 5 stars
2/20/11 Ark Wilson definitely needs an Oscar for Best Supporting Actor! 4 stars
9/30/10 brian To this day I call my basketball Spalding. (I know, but I don't have a Wilson.) 4 stars
8/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper "Wilson" should have won an Oscar for his roll. 3 stars
6/16/10 ph perfect except for the ending, that was a bit blunt 4 stars
8/02/09 Samantha Pruitt absolutely riveting, Tom Hanks is AMAZING! 5 stars
4/18/09 Mena Definatly worth writing a paper about, for english class 4 stars
9/13/08 David No man is an island. -indeed 5 stars
9/02/08 Nikki Amazing how a guy and a volleyball can be so entertaining... 4 stars
8/30/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome storyline! 5 stars
8/04/08 Yoda A Hollywood movie with an excellent unHollywood-like ending. 4 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT THOROUGLY ENTERTAINING AND SKILLFULLY RENDERED 4 stars
3/28/08 Renzo Great! 4 stars
12/10/07 HANNAH WCKED MOVIE 5 stars
12/02/07 Bnorm Awesome movie...if you dont like it you're a clownshoe 4 stars
11/04/07 Guy Hoevenaars Little dialogue, yet still engrossing! 2 Toms, 1 fat and 1 bearded skinny bloke!!! 5 stars
8/22/07 wallace you wouldnt happen to have a match would you? best movie ever! 5 stars
5/16/07 R.W. Welch Hanks is good but Wilson steals the show. Enigmatic ending doesn't help. 4 stars
2/01/07 Matt Some missed opportunities, but Hanks can make any crap earn an extra * or 2. 4 stars
11/25/06 David Pollastrini an unoriginal concept turns out quite original 5 stars
8/26/06 Ryan Haha, fuck off Steve in Prague, theres no unknown islands because we don't know they exist. 4 stars
8/23/06 Quigley Incredible story that's on the road to being a classic. Hanks was superb and Wilson = Oscar 5 stars
8/05/06 nicolecrom2678 Made you think what it would be like to be stuck on an island alone 3 stars
7/13/06 EZ It's a great movie but it's kinda hard to watch the same guy by himself the whole film 4 stars
6/01/06 drydock54321 bravo tom hanks. played very well. 4 stars
5/23/06 Chuck Nolan After i bought the movie i wipped my ass with the dvd. 1 stars
4/20/06 Indrid Cold A unique, meditative experience. I found it very moving and beautiful. 5 stars
4/13/06 CWO BOBBY J. FREEMAN USN RETIRED Great opening... Tom Hanks sets the stage for this movie and he does a great job of it! 5 stars
12/29/05 CWO BOBBY J. FREEMAN USN RETIRED A real life like story second to none - Well done by Tom Hanks 5 stars
10/03/05 CWO BOBBY J. FREEMAN USN RETIRED SIMPLY A WONDERFUL PICTURE 5 stars
8/21/05 Mohsin Ali Leghari Very Good 4 stars
8/20/05 ES It's a movie about one guy trapped on a deserted island and it was great= tom you rock 4 stars
7/28/05 Quigley Tom Hanks was incredible as usual. Visual effects were good, story was good (Wilson)! 5 stars
7/28/05 Wc 10 times watch it, 10 times cry... 5 stars
7/21/05 Brandy Harrington Wilson? WILLLLLLLSSSOOOONNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...I cried. 5 stars
3/07/05 Dan Loved it. 5 stars
1/04/05 ALDO GREAT film....Especially the first time you watch it. 5 stars
10/30/04 island gurl well i didnt like the bit with the skate how he did his own dentice work that was just eeww 3 stars
10/30/04 HL Only Hanks Could Pull This Off..But Why the Ending? 4 stars
10/24/04 UMER deniro is the only other actor on this planet i could think of who could pull this roll of 4 stars
9/26/04 tao sa gubat soobrang galing!!!!!!!Ü 5 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G this movie was pretty good 4 stars
8/04/04 Katie This movie is great,but some scenes were hard to watch,like when he pulled out his tooth.Ow 4 stars
7/20/04 AlaskanReviewer I think that Tom Hanks deserved the Oscar for his performance in this movie. 5 stars
7/12/04 Daveman Such a minimalist idea is pompous when it's just a product of soulless Hollywood artifice. 2 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva worth a look 3 stars
6/12/04 Raymond Lee wow talk about survial 5 stars
5/31/04 Frazier Very creative and well executed, was very much pleased considering lack of dialogue 5 stars
5/19/04 Jack Sommersby Nothing new or particularly interesting (and the scenes with Hunt are just awful). 2 stars
5/19/04 y2mckay Or as I like to call it, "The 80 million dollar Fed-Ex commercial" 3 stars
3/10/04 ghghfhgfhf grwat 5 stars
2/19/04 john island sequences are excellent - feels completly real - entertaining 4 stars
1/07/04 your worst goddamn nightmare damn good movie... it was quiet but definitely not boring 5 stars
11/22/03 ross hendrick worth buying, if you can find it cheap enough 4 stars
10/27/03 John Bale Hanks has a remarkable range as his tour de force in this survival flick shows 4 stars
10/23/03 A. Knight I didn't care about getting popcorn. 5 stars
9/09/03 Dawn You know there's a problem when the character you feel for the most is sporting equipment. 2 stars
7/26/03 Scuba Worst 2 boobless hours ever. 1 stars
7/12/03 Indrid Cold Understanable that many find it boring, but I loved this quiet, simple-yet-profound movie. 5 stars
4/07/03 Eduardo excellent movies 5 stars
3/23/03 Winthrop J Applesmythe III why do people on this site give low reviews for a movie being "sad"? 4 stars
3/02/03 Jack Sommersby Here, here, Charles! A great skewering of a most overpraised film. 2 stars
11/29/02 Jay Hey, I Can't Swim, if you're a male, stop fucking your mother and get a fucking clue!!! 5 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Tom Hanks' Oscar is in the hands of a drunken Kiwi. 5 stars
11/10/02 moviemachine I Can't Swim can suck my ass!!! Tom Hanks is great, but he didn't win the Oscar. Sadly. 5 stars
10/18/02 Charles Tatum Manipulative trash, Hanks lost weight, big deal 2 stars
7/27/02 karen goldstein Great Flick but Helen Hunt Is a Major BITCH for not going back to him - ruined the ending 4 stars
7/27/02 I Can't Swim Justin-HE DIDN'T WIN! Know why? Cuz this was a borefest! A volleyball?! 1 stars
6/06/02 Jeremy Im sorry but this is a sad movie DONT SEE IT 1 stars
5/21/02 Veronica Foxx Yes, cannibals would have made this a thousand times better! As it is, average if that good 3 stars
4/17/02 Wilson Totally brilliant! Filmaking at it's finest. 5 stars
4/06/02 Justin I'm so glad that Tom Hanks won an Oscar! 5 stars
3/06/02 Jono SAnders An excellent survival story 4 stars
2/25/02 Jenny Tullwartz Good when out to sea; STUPID when on land 4 stars
2/25/02 Butterbean Pretty cool! Who knew that a movie about a man stranded alone would be so good? 4 stars
2/21/02 Xaver It was an entertaining and good-feeling kind of film 4 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent Ending sucked but the rest kicked ass 4 stars
1/17/02 Andrew Carden A 3-Hour Long Episode Of Survivor With A Dude Named Wilson. 3 stars
1/15/02 CI This is one of my very favorite movies! It's one of the best films I've ever seen! 5 stars
1/15/02 Sparky Polastri The perfect cure for insomnia; cringed when he kept talking to the ball 1 stars
10/15/01 ElephantShoes interesting, loved it 5 stars
9/29/01 meshaely mooore best movie I had seen in while And i am such the critic. 5 stars
8/21/01 tnt Entertaining film all the way through...beautifully acted by Hanks and Hunt 5 stars
8/17/01 hilary worth a look 4 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Original, creative, funny, & scary. Tom Hanks and Helen Hunt R great. 4 stars
8/07/01 Chance Great! If you understood that his whole experience was to bring him to Bettina 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk I'm wishing cancer on this movie! (I begin to twist my hands back and forth) 1 stars
8/06/01 badfish Great film making..Great sound..Great picture..Hanks is a real pro!! Loved Wilson!! 5 stars
7/28/01 S.Coppa Very Good...but the ending felt sort of incomplete! 4 stars
7/28/01 delmer daves very good, but i felt that the development of wilson's character was a little soft. 5 stars
7/24/01 SJKelley Script is dull and repetitive. MsAsh's review misses it yet again. 3 stars
7/18/01 Basil Did anyone else notice instead of yelling Chuck she yelled Jack at the end? 4 stars
7/16/01 Matt Taglia Tom Hanks comes out with his best performance in his career, as well as Helen Hunt. 5 stars
7/04/01 Piz Hanks was mesmerizing, a great movie idea wonderfully brought to life 4 stars
6/24/01 The Bomb 69 good stuff, no way he lasts 4 years tho, ending was kind of vague 4 stars
6/21/01 Tzila Seewald It was sucked! It's so boring! it's pretty much same everyday until the end! BORING! 2 stars
6/19/01 Monday Morning Underwhelming in spite of Hanks. Ending was incredibly heavy-handed. 3 stars
6/10/01 Turtle Tom Hanks' best performance and one of my favorites. 5 stars
6/02/01 zeitgeist by far the best fedex commercial ever made 4 stars
5/31/01 MOVIE bestes movie on all big world 5 stars
5/26/01 Connoisseur great movie folks, best of 2000! 5 stars
5/24/01 zeitgeist the most elaborate FedEx commercial ever made. Top that, UPS. 3 stars
3/25/01 bumfluff this rocked! i love wilson! 4 stars
3/24/01 Aaron Cornell One of the best Tom Hanks movies 5 stars
3/18/01 Del R I was really broken up when Hanks' character lost his friend "Wilson" the volleyball 5 stars
3/14/01 bobbuttons The resolution with Kelly is appropriate; Texas scene at the end, however, is too sappy 4 stars
3/12/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Like a 1-man Survivor without the prize money, TV crew, and BULLSHIT. 4 stars
3/09/01 Hatta Hakimi awesome film, but the ending could have been better 5 stars
3/04/01 Sytse Faber As long as you like films with good stories, which have got some comedy, this is perfect!!! 5 stars
2/28/01 The Evil Penguin this film would have been awesome, if it weren't for the ending. 4 stars
2/26/01 fabio just technical 3 stars
2/15/01 Mac I liked the end. Putting others ahead of your own feelings is becomimg unique in movies 4 stars
2/13/01 LAZY Wilson - NOOOO! HA HA HA. Tom Hanks can't act his way out of a nut sack. 4 stars
2/12/01 Richard Wright An amazing central performance. The middle act was absorbing,start and end were just O.K. 4 stars
2/11/01 charles The Biggest FedEx Advertising 2 stars
2/10/01 Bobby I Highly Recommend it, just bring a box of tissue 5 stars
2/08/01 Mitja Podgajski Very realistic and deep story 4 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Great flick. Tom Hanks at his best! 4 stars
2/04/01 Avenger girl I enjoyed this movie even though its a little unrealistic 4 stars
2/03/01 brentley very well done flick. the crash scene alone was worth the admission. 4 stars
2/01/01 ludolecorse fucking great film!!! how surprising! Don't judge what you don't even want to see 5 stars
2/01/01 looloo looloo gooog 5 stars
2/01/01 Johnny Figaro Too much product placement and a heavy-handed story. Without Tom would be just bad. 3 stars
1/31/01 Jason Holt The script and production were troubled, but the film will still have an impact unique to U 5 stars
1/30/01 S Lefebvre A close view of human perseverance at an emotional sometimes frightening level. Excellent 5 stars
1/29/01 Lori Makes one wonder what they would do in the same situation. 4 stars
1/26/01 GSammie Thought-provoking; slows viewer's pace so that personal reflection is possible. 4 stars
1/25/01 Craig wilson stole the show and helen hunt in a wet white shirt were the best things about this 2 stars
1/25/01 viking Hanks and Zemeckis steer clear of the usual desert island cliches. an enjoyable experience 4 stars
1/25/01 neil tierney uhhhh........ awesome movie! see it! 5 stars
1/24/01 Jil Mustard inspiring, frightening, loving, sad 5 stars
1/23/01 Doug Hull Why was the Texas-bound package from Russia on a flight to Malasia? 4 stars
1/23/01 Don Adcock Gilligan's Island is much better! 2 stars
1/23/01 tom coleman excellent, great special effects 5 stars
1/23/01 matthew smith Tom Hanks gives a courageous performance in what could be his third oscar 5 stars
1/22/01 Justine Hardy The was fantastic 5 stars
1/22/01 Uncommon Sense FedEx Infomercial, outbid UPS? Blown ending. What about the RING? 4 stars
1/22/01 neil bartlett brilliance for most of the way, but why the crappy ending? 4 stars
1/17/01 RAINBOW I thought it was definately worth watching!! Loved every minute of it! 5 stars
1/17/01 Matthew Bartley The crash and Island scenes were great but the ending was very weak 4 stars
1/16/01 lulany Hanks is indeed great but too much storyline missing especially toward the end. 4 stars
1/16/01 tiffany! it was a little slow but overal really good 5 stars
1/15/01 Krystal Great movie, believable rather than contrived ending 5 stars
1/14/01 RWL Hanks was good, Helen Hunt is awful, and the ending was disappointing 3 stars
1/13/01 ADJ on a 1-5, give it a "4". Hanks is a great actor, and one of a few who could carry this. 4 stars
1/11/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble I like Tom as much as the next fellow, but this movie wore out my last nerve. 2 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 Last 20 minutes kept it from being fucking awesome. Tom Hanks is superb 4 stars
1/11/01 Movie Watcher Could have been better,ending needs work 3 stars
1/11/01 Joe That's the longest fedex commercial I've ever seen. Hackneyed, boring and worthless. 1 stars
1/10/01 Tdis72 Descent movie with not much dialogue. Ending sucked but Hanks was great! Can you say Oscar. 4 stars
1/10/01 Lurch Hellaz High Quality Fosheezy 5 stars
1/09/01 Ystergarde This is worth a glut of Oscars. Some people are just unimaginitive morons. 5 stars
1/08/01 tom coleman excellent film-did he go with the new girl? 5 stars
1/08/01 fattyankles Actual title: CAST........AWAY. "I love that you missed me." Help us. 2 stars
1/08/01 Lucia Chambers See it on the BIG screen. Plane crash is worth the trip alone-5 friends rate it 5 stars too 5 stars
1/08/01 zeitgeist spectacular until the last 20 minutes or so. Get a dialect coach there, Helen. 4 stars
1/07/01 Murgatroyd Wait 'til the video 3 stars
1/07/01 Chuck Smith Fed Ex Is A Non-Union Company. No wonder Chuck was stressed. 1 stars
1/06/01 Janine Lay, RN Absolutely fantastic!!! 5 stars
1/05/01 Philm Phreak From the plane crash to the rescue- phenomenal! 5 stars
1/05/01 Kirsten Kicked my ass. Appreciated not having every moment explained to me (very rare). 5 stars
1/04/01 Rick compelling, convincing and the audience didn't talk during this one 5 stars
1/04/01 Miss Molly Good right up until the end. 3 stars
1/04/01 peachick hanks is simply an honest "actor", the oscar should go to whomever chooses his scripts. 4 stars
1/03/01 Karen Henke Pretty amazing. 5 stars
1/03/01 Tdis72 Great movie with no dialogue. Hanks was superb. Rack up another OSCAR! 4 stars
1/03/01 Collegebrat19 Great film making effort. Tom was wonderful but you can wait to rent this one on video. 4 stars
1/03/01 Nessus MUST...USE...FEDEX... 4 stars
1/02/01 joe Hanks was great on the island, but the ending was crap 2 stars
12/31/00 John Petersik Best plane crash scene I've ever seen!!! My heart was pounding so hard afterwards!! 5 stars
12/31/00 Greyjack Best new film I've seen in months. Erik spiked this one--read his review. 5 stars
12/31/00 kevin A good movie, could have been so much more. Hanks is superb in first 2 hours after it suck 3 stars
12/31/00 kgl Good flick. Hanks is a great actor, but I'm sick of Hunt. 4 stars
12/30/00 Rod Tom Hanks does a fantasitic job. 5 stars
12/29/00 Doctor Collosus well constructed, but forgetable movie. Nothing special. 3 stars
12/29/00 ZKK 1 hour of genius 3 stars
12/29/00 Brent Young Not bad --tried for Critical Awards too much. Hanks is pretty good, and Hunt is pretty hot. 4 stars
12/29/00 J Good... not great. 4 stars
12/28/00 Mike Noland Erik the Movieman articulated every one of my thoughts perfectly. Extraordinary movie 5 stars
12/28/00 TomServo pretty cool... 5 stars
12/28/00 Jules Great visuals, flawed story, but still amazing to see. 5 stars
12/27/00 Thor Aackerlund from Dallas, TX Man .. I loved this movie .. something unique and timeless about it 5 stars
12/27/00 Jenny-My-Fur hanks rocks my world, wonderful performance! amazing, killer, fantastic! 5 stars
12/26/00 Sara Thanks for not ruining the ending by resolving EVERYTHING!! 4 stars
12/25/00 poetchuck Not bad for a mostly silent film 4 stars
12/25/00 kohawk Really good movie. period 4 stars
12/25/00 Chris Trader Disappointment of 2000 1 stars
12/25/00 Düpé Great apart from the ending. 3 stars
12/24/00 Jose Vicente Matutina Hanks dished out an Oscar winning performance 5 stars
12/24/00 Diehard Very emotionally compelling, well done movie. 5 stars
12/23/00 Mikey Good story, great analogies at the end but I wouldn't watch it again. 4 stars
12/23/00 Greyjack Just make sure you're in the mood for a slower pace. Excellent film--wow! 5 stars
12/23/00 Jose Frayed Damn good movie. What better actor can make you emotionally attached to a VOLLEYBALL??!!! 5 stars
12/23/00 Bob shomb KrApPy! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Dec-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 14-Oct-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Jan-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast