More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.17

Awesome24.07%
Worth A Look: 22.22%
Average: 18.52%
Pretty Bad: 16.67%
Total Crap: 18.52%

3 reviews, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Raja Natwarlal by Jay Seaver

Search for Weng Weng, The by Jay Seaver

Creep (2014) by Jay Seaver

Kundo: Age of the Rampant by Jay Seaver

Guardian (2014) by Jay Seaver

As Above, So Below by Jay Seaver

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bamboozled
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Belated."
3 stars

Bamboozled is Spike Lee’s newest movie since Summer of Sam, focusing on Harvard-educated black man Pierre Delacroix (Damon Wayans) who has removed all the black stereotype from himself. (More or less becoming a white stereotype with a different skin color.)

He’s a writer at an NY TV station (“Do you know what UPN stands for? You pick a nigga!”), but his work isn’t catching on. In a desperate attempt break his contract and get fired, he makes a satire of the loud, obnoxious, lazy black stereotype by reviving the minstrel show. He gets two street performers, Manray (Savion Glover) and Womack (Tommy Davidson) and turns them into Mantan and Sleep ‘N Eat (“Aren’t people going to be offended by that?”). Instead of it backfiring like Dela hoped, the new Black-Face show (“Black actors with blacker faces”) catches on wildly. Despite all the TV satires we’ve seen lately (Pleasantville, The Truman Show, Edtv) Lee increases the racial element. However, he still concedes with some elements of ambiguity. Instead of fully developing one of the storylines, he divides them up several ways which causes the individual parts to keep jumping in front of the others. The rappers’ storyline fueled some serious ideas, but by the end (an overlong two-and-a-half hours) it’s lost along the muddle. Because Lee is so quick to jump around, it leaves a lot uneven. He wants to parody (“Fuck Spike Lee, like Quentin Tarantino said, ‘nigga’s just a word’”), but he also wants to be incisive. There’s a lot of information in here, but in the end Bamboozled is like an essay you get back where the teacher says that the thesis is unclear. Certain sections are highlighted for either being awkward, or noted for being good support. I would call Bamboozled a work-in-progress; Lee was just too rushed to get this out, but therefore his true intentions are left undeveloped and unsupported. My expectations were up for this, maybe I was expecting something a little deeper. Aside from the mistake of shooting this with a digital camera — which made it look extremely ugly, with drained color and an overly grainy quality — I just wish it would have focused more on its assets rather than being so scatological and discursive.

With Michael Rapaport and Jada Pinkett-Smith.

[Redeemable.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4502&reviewer=172
originally posted: 11/11/00 11:45:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/16/11 chris Bad Melodrama, yes Spike we get it Blackface and sterotypes are not cool M'KAY. 2 stars
1/05/11 Nathaniel co-writer paul mooney,bamboozler-stand up comedy's answer to louis farrakhan 1 stars
3/30/10 Phineas Yes,Black folk,you've been bamboozled - by Left Black racists like Spite Lee & his "movies" 1 stars
8/15/09 Jeff Wilder Starts out well. But runs out of steam towards the end. 3 stars
8/28/08 bugland people who think this couldn't happen obviously haven't experienced racism in America 5 stars
7/17/08 jholloway615 this movie made me want to cry. To history repeat itself is to hard to bare. SL puts in fil 5 stars
5/19/08 jointz It's a hard film to watch, but then again nobody said the truth was pretty. 4 stars
2/03/08 Jethro Wayans "Little Man" speaks louder. 1 stars
1/19/08 Sam Poor attempt at satire, that loses any cohesiveness in the end. 1 stars
11/18/07 battlescar all those who dont learn from it are stupid! great film 5 stars
3/30/07 fools♫gold truly comedic, truly dramatic, truly depressing, truly euphoric, truly prophetic 5 stars
3/05/07 john horrible ...build a bridge and get over it and i am african amer 1 stars
12/08/05 Max Townsend This movie is an excellent example of life. How most blacks would sell themselves short. 4 stars
10/07/05 Wisamane ....it was intresting, but it kept me very bored with all that so called "artistic" shit... 3 stars
7/07/05 Isaac Baranoff Another great movie! 5 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands Not typical Spike Lee atmosphere, but it's infinitely intriguing nonetheless. 5 stars
3/10/05 Gray badly done crap 1 stars
9/23/04 Toya I thoought it was a very interesting film 4 stars
3/27/04 Jake Memo To Spike Lee: If You want an oscar nomination you should try making a good movie 1 stars
6/15/03 Jack Sommersby Overlong, badly shapen and ultimately pointless. 1 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'Fos!) Engrossing, enthralling, great directing, Wayans impressed, great script. Powerful. 5 stars
5/23/03 All ya'll haters 4given, 4 U know not what U do. But yo' (_._) gon' get play'd, cuz ya'll ain't got a clue. 5 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon It's SATIRE! But sorry, it's also CRAP. Utter crap. 1 stars
1/30/03 Ingo Entertaining. And then kicks you right in the guts... 5 stars
4/08/02 hum works 4 stars
3/27/02 Joe Arcane Surprised it was shot on video. Jada Pinkett is good. Pretty funny stuff. 4 stars
2/11/02 Andrew Carden Excellent Spike Lee Feature. Wonderful. 5 stars
10/16/01 malcolm not sure what to say,i need to wait a few days and watch again,definitely thought-provoking 3 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean Nice begining....I was tuned in in the middle...I gave the movie "the finger" at the end 2 stars
5/27/01 A.K. Hit and miss 3 stars
3/19/01 Peter Fernandez Great, what we have come to expect from Spike Lee. 4 stars
11/08/00 Jualito D. Spencer I loved this movie a whole lot. But the end threw me off as a contradiction of the message. 5 stars
11/07/00 frankko WAYANS is terrible. the ending is lame. but points for "big black africa" 2 stars
10/27/00 Peterson Toscano Tremendous. Incredible directing, hauntingly striking. Well done and moving. 5 stars
10/26/00 bart Brilliant! Should be mandatory viewing in public schools. 5 stars
10/17/00 Jack Laller Save your money for something worthwhile 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Oct-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast