More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.67

Awesome79.43%
Worth A Look: 14.89%
Average: 1.42%
Pretty Bad: 1.42%
Total Crap: 2.84%

2 reviews, 129 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Little Vampire, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Doesn't suck."
4 stars

The slightly twisted Halloween movie "The Little Vampire," based on a series of children's books, is a surprisingly enjoyable film that its young target audience will love, while their parents will find it quite tolerable indeed.

Tony Thompson (Jonathan Lipnicki) is a lonely little boy who has moved with his parents to Scotland so his dad (Tommy Hinkley) can help design an expensive golf course for Lord McAshton (John Wood). Worse than being lonely, though, Tony has had recurring nightmares about vampires ever since moving into the musty old castle.

As luck would have it, he meets a family of actual vampires, including a boy his own age named Rudolph (Rollo Weeks), who becomes his best friend. These are kinder, gentler vampires than we're accustomed to: Seems they consider being blood-suckers a "curse," which they seek to lift with a special stone and amulet that Tony has seen in his dreams, in conjunction with an upcoming visit from a comet.

Based on the visions Rudolph's dad (a deliciously dignified Richard E. Grant) and Tony have both had, they set about finding the stone, with Tony doing most of the legwork, since he can go out in daylight and doesn't look like a vampire.

All the while, a vampire hunter (Jim Carter) is pursuing them (Tony, too, since he's been seen with the family and is mistaken for one of them).

Parts of the film may scare smaller children. The first time we meet Rudolph, we haven't yet heard his policy of "we want to become humans, not eat them," and seeing little Tony in peril is not exactly entertaining. (In fact, that goes for the whole beginning sequence, with Tony being freaked out by his dreams and all. It's played as light-heartedly as it can be, but let's face it: No matter how much cartoonish music underscores the scene, it's still a little kid being chased by a vampire.)

Once the film works into its whimsical, harmless little story about fantasy and friendship, though, it's quite a lot of fun. Since Rudolph and his family -- which also includes a rebellious older brother and a younger Tony-smitten sister -- don't suck people's blood, they instead feed on cows. The result is a farmer with a barn full of vampirized cows, mooing menacingly as they scuttle away from the light of day.

There's also a marvelous efficiency about the film. We learn the whole exposition in a matter of minutes, but not with awkward "So, here we are in Scotland, and I'm having nightmares" lines, but through natural means that indicate good storytelling skills, conveying the information quickly without seeming forced. Too, once all the characters are established, no new ones are brought in: The entire mystery of where the stone is, and how to get it, is solved using the people we've got, but without being overly convenient. It's a tight, well-constructed little story.

This doesn't matter to the kids, of course; I mention it only because good children's stories are rare, and it's nice to point out the characteristics of a good one when we see it.

It's not perfect, certainly. There are one too many bodily-function jokes (OK, there's only one, but it's too many), and the whole thing about lifting the curse with the stone and a comet and a boy's unspoken wish is not quite explained. But like I said, the audience it's intended for probably won't care too much. Just don't let them imitate the movie and start sucking cows' necks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4527&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/05/03 12:09:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/13/15 jokerass lol 1 stars
4/13/15 jokerass lol 1 stars
9/23/14 Melanna welling Rudolph is the sweetest vampire I've ever seen 5 stars
11/14/09 Jhane Gregory is so cute sometime we will fall in love. 5 stars
10/20/08 Dean;s gilfriend dean is so sexy 5 stars
10/04/08 Allie Paige OMG! When I saw this i was like holy shit Dean Cook is HOT!!! I love The Littlle Vampire" 5 stars
9/23/08 k. i love this movie.dean cook and rollo weeks is so cute 5 stars
8/28/08 jessica laube Rollo weeks is sooo cute in that move 5 stars
4/24/08 Sarah Dean Cook was so hot in the movie! 5 stars
1/23/08 jessete dean cook and rollo weeks sooooooo hotttttt 5 stars
12/07/07 Samantha Mence Saw it, Watched it, LOVED IT! I LOVE ROLLO WEEKS and DEAN COOK they r well fit!!!!!! n Oldr 5 stars
11/15/07 i'm french In this film, Dean Cook is hot ! I love him but, i don't knew if he get married ? 5 stars
10/29/07 AMIE LEE I think Rollo Weeks is so cool. 5 stars
10/05/07 Rachel Ilove this movie it is so awesome 5 stars
9/03/07 elli dean cook is the hottest person ever! they make him look soo sexy and the whole ruthless im 5 stars
6/25/07 Tsukino_Digimon_Fan260 Yes....Like everybody else said....Gregory (Dean Cook) is soooooo SEXY!!!!! 5 stars
3/30/07 Allie Cyrus Dean is sooooooooooooooo hat,who the heck said you bitchs can have him?he is my boyfriend!! 5 stars
3/26/07 Hornet rollo an dean r hot in dis movie wen der vampires, an rollo is always sxc 5 stars
1/17/07 Roxy Burn dean cook is the hottest and sexyest guy in the whole freakin world 5 stars
11/20/06 jessie I love the movie but id have to say I like dean even more! 5 stars
11/13/06 Ashley I love you Dean cook! 5 stars
10/26/06 kati OMG dean cook is so HOTT! 5 stars
10/23/06 Misty Dean Cook is so Hot I love the movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/21/06 Aimee DEAN IS HOTT 5 stars
10/11/06 clare yeah honestly, the only reason girls watch this movie is because dean cook is hella hot. 4 stars
10/10/06 Kristyna DEAN AND ROLLO R HOT!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/10/06 Shelby Dean is a hottie 5 stars
10/09/06 Yvonne Iloved this movie !!!!!jonathon was soo cute but dean cook was so HOTT so was Rollo tony i 5 stars
10/09/06 sarah i only like this movie because dean cook is in it!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/25/06 alissa dean cook is soooooo hhhoooootttt!!! i love him, marry me? 5 stars
4/14/06 Jarppi Dean Cook is so hot & the movie is so good it doesnt pain to watch it over & over. 5 stars
12/05/05 Chelsi OMG!! this movie was soO cute adn funny and omg ! oO yea,, DEAN COOK IS SOOO HOTTT!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/18/05 deedee marie crawford loovvee it!!! 5 stars
11/12/05 Kelsey dean cook is so hot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!OGM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/24/05 Deedy Dean Cook AAAAAAAAHHHHH!!!!! Great movie though 5 stars
11/28/04 Robyn Awesome! This is definitely a must see film!!! 5 stars
11/22/04 Ali Dean Cook is the hottest thing ever to be made on this plannet!!! 5 stars
11/03/04 Brittany The best movie I have ever saw and it was better than anything I have seen even Gregory 5 stars
11/02/04 Kristy Billings Dean Cook is the hottest and sexyst guy on earth! 5 stars
11/01/04 hannah dean cook is as hott as hell 5 stars
10/31/04 sarah dean cook is shexy! ow-ow 5 stars
10/24/04 Jessica great show!!! 5 stars
10/18/04 Kait the movie is so sex Dean cook is hot as hell 5 stars
9/26/04 vikki crosland i love it especially rollo weeks and dean cook 5 stars
7/12/04 amy its abrill film 5 stars
6/19/04 jennifer it was good and rollo weeks is really cute 5 stars
6/02/04 Toffeechick Dean Cook is sooooo hot in this film 5 stars
6/01/04 *a nice girl* Deon and Rollo are soooo nice, Hot,Fine....everyting!!! 5 stars
6/01/04 A lady it was really good film and deon and rollo are really nice!! 5 stars
3/12/04 kelley It was the best movie ever,Deon Cook was soooooooooooooo hot! 5 stars
3/07/04 Aurora it was great and funny!!! dean and rollo r fricken hotttttt!!! 5 stars
3/04/04 *Kelley* Deon was sooooooo hoooooooooot!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/05/04 cwlg420 it's a cute movie 4 stars
1/03/04 megan I think the movie rocks. That;s all i ever watch!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/20/03 COOL PERSON I LOVE DEAN COOK IN THIS MOVIE 5 stars
11/18/03 Kayla I love Rollo Weeks and Dean Cook they are so hot and fine 5 stars
11/18/03 leelee love it 5 stars
11/16/03 Jenna Snidemiller Rollo and Dean r soooooo HOTT! and they make GR8 vamps! and the movie was great! 5 stars
11/12/03 Lizzy I think that this is a great movie and i like the actors epsely Rollo Weeks as Rudolph 5 stars
11/10/03 mellissa dean is so sexy =- ) 5 stars
11/07/03 nicole reber dean cook was so hot 5 stars
11/06/03 Jennifer It is deffinetly a must see!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/04/03 someone Dean is the shnizzel hes so sexy babe 5 stars
11/02/03 Xylia Xiong Dean Cook(Greg, Rudolph's brother) is really really hot. I wish I was in the movie too! 5 stars
11/01/03 Cherokee Thomas Gregory(dean cook) is hott 5 stars
11/01/03 Anna J. It was a cute movie 4 stars
11/01/03 vampirequeen126 Gregory (Dean Cook) Is Soooooooo HOT! 5 stars
10/31/03 Nikki He is beyond Hott he's into SEXY!! 5 stars
10/31/03 Jons2Cute i loved it! Rollo, Dean, Jonathan...its ll good. Too bad children can't appreciate it! 5 stars
10/31/03 Kelsey Wilson Dean Cook is HOT!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/27/03 Jessica Dean Cook u r soooooo cute in this movie 5 stars
10/26/03 Carla Aponte It was awesome 5 stars
10/26/03 Azia I LovE!! LiTTle VaMpIRe DeAn WhaT SO F* Hot 5 stars
10/25/03 Jordan Lee I thought 'The Little Vampire' was awsome! Dean is so hot!!!!!! 5 stars
10/25/03 Mrs.Gregory's Wife The movie is ok, but Ive seen it exacly 32 times bkus Gregory(Dean Cook)is super sexy!!!!! 4 stars
10/25/03 Tegan Dean Cook is HOT!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/24/03 Lorna Fink I love Dean cook he is so damn hott he plays really great in the movie an has a sexy voice 5 stars
10/24/03 samantha sans the little vampire was a great movie gregory (dean cook) is so hott in that movie!!! 5 stars
10/23/03 Christina Dean Cook, and all the cast in The Little Vampire are really Cool! 5 stars
10/22/03 Kate OMFG DEAN COOK IS SOOOO SEXY! AND HES MINE SO BACK OFF BITCHES!!!!!!!!!!xoxo dean <3ya babe 5 stars
10/21/03 sarah DEAN COOK IS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HOT 5 stars
10/20/03 melanie they did get a few things wrong about vampires,but Gregory (Dean Cook) is worth it ;-) 5 stars
10/20/03 Natalie Mueller Dean Cook is the hotest guy alive. he is mine! 5 stars
10/19/03 natasha Dean Cook is SO hot specially with the muzzle! I just wish there was more pics of him aroun 5 stars
10/19/03 kristen DEAN IS VERY HOTT !! 4 stars
10/19/03 akasha black its the best little kid movie about vampires ive ever seen 5 stars
10/19/03 Seleena Dean Cook is so hot and i wish he was all minebite me 5 stars
10/18/03 Catie Budney it had a good plot, but Dean Cook made it all the better. 4 stars
10/18/03 Butter Mellon Cheese is good. 5 stars
10/18/03 skitlz Dean Cook is the all time FREAKY KID!!! we LUV ur muzzle and straight jacket!!! Join R Band 5 stars
10/18/03 Niki Dude..this movie was soo great..Dean Cook n Rollo Weeks r hott. 5 stars
10/09/03 Jennifer Reeves lauren clark please Dean Cook is sooooooooooooo minnnnnneeee and back off hes mine 5 stars
9/15/03 Hollie A sucked but Dean Cook's pritty hott! 3 stars
8/25/03 Louise dean is hott i do know him and he hes so much better in person!!! 5 stars
8/21/03 shelley i know dean cook 5 stars
4/02/03 Gregoire so great!... I want Dean Cook to bite me! 5 stars
3/09/03 James Hawes I Think this film is good and Rollo is fu**ing cute 5 stars
2/17/03 Vyper It Kicks ass! 5 stars
2/01/03 Kristin Exellent 5 stars
12/16/02 WelshWitch Loved it! I watched it again and again till I half ruined my taped. Dean Cook was great! 5 stars
6/06/02 lauren clark dean cook is all mine so back off girls he loves me and only me 5 stars
3/05/02 Jessi thats 2 much. Sorry to say, but its kinda sad...how old are you all by the way? j/w. 2 stars
3/04/02 Jessi u guys don't even know dean or rollo u can say they r hot, but don't say u luv them, 3 stars
1/18/02 Ashley Dodd One Of My Favorites and Rollo Weeks Famous Wolf is awsome! He my favorite actor!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/11/02 Sarah Angel, FUCK YOU!! Rollo is my man and you cant do shit all about it so back the fuck off!!! 5 stars
12/20/01 Andrew Carden Unfortunely Sounds Good...Isn't Good In This Unfunny Kid's Comedy. 1 stars
12/08/01 Rowan Darkwater charming 5 stars
11/10/01 Kay Kelley I love Dean Cook sooooooomuch and i watch the movie 20 times a day! i love u Dean! 5 stars
10/27/01 angel brandy mccoy bitch FUCH YOU Rollo weeks is mine and no body he is mine do not touchmy baby 5 stars
10/27/01 Kay DEAN IS MINE YOU THINK YOU CAN TOUCH HIM?WELL YOUR WRONG! HES MY MAN! 5 stars
10/27/01 angel Rollo weeks is mine do not touch my man 5 stars
10/27/01 Kay i love dean cook 5 stars
8/05/01 Laura I love Dean Cook sooooo much 4 stars
7/20/01 Brandy McCoy I really liked this movie and I think Rollo Weeks is totally HOT 5 stars
6/06/01 Blythe Rollo AND Dean Did A Great Job 5 stars
6/06/01 Kimberly Hunter It totally rocked 5 stars
6/04/01 Basil Cute movie. 4 stars
6/01/01 Nicki I loved that movie.I also fell in love with Dean Cook! 5 stars
5/25/01 brittney the best ever 5 stars
5/22/01 Aldo I loved the little vampire 5 stars
5/14/01 Angela Awesome movie! I love Dean Cook soo much. Anna made an awesome appearence! 5 stars
12/05/00 Elyse Rollo Weeks was HOT in this movie!!! I went to see it four time because of that 5 stars
12/05/00 Claudine Loved it .. Strikingly refreshing kiddy movie .. & funny too 4 stars
12/03/00 anabell senalle i saw the movie twice because of [rudulph[ rollo weeks 5 stars
11/29/00 Molly Green fun and cute- good for kids and people who enjoy a nice movie with nice people 5 stars
11/23/00 Layla this movie was great, and Rollo Weeks is so cute and hot! 5 stars
11/22/00 Leah Gregory(Dean Cook) had nice hair and was the reason I saw it twice 5 stars
11/04/00 Stuntman You really want to hit someone after paying to see this shit pile 1 stars
10/31/00 Ground Zero got two words for this nonsense: phat shit! Waste your money on something worthwhile 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Oct-2000 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Apr-2001 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast