More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.04

Awesome: 8.9%
Worth A Look: 14.38%
Average: 8.9%
Pretty Bad: 7.53%
Total Crap60.27%

10 reviews, 86 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Book of Shadows: Blair Witch 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by John Linton Roberson

"Utter, Vile Crap."
1 stars

The first BLAIR WITCH, despite all the hype, scared the hell out of me, as I've written elsewhere here. But I didn't have high hopes for this one. What I did expect was better than this. You have no idea how bad a sequel can be till you see this--unless you've seen HALLOWEEN 3. I have, and it was better and more relevant to the original than this.

I remember an album by the Cowboy Junkies that has always been a favorite, The Trinity Session. Loved that, but was disappointed at their follow-up, The Caution Horses. I wondered why. The quality of the playing and singing was undiminished, but it didn't have the same feel as the first, which had been recorded with a single mike in a church. This sounded cold and lifeless, very "studio."

That's kind of like my first objection to this one. BW1's video identity actually formed part of what made it special--I was one of those who liked the lousy camerawork, which after a time becomes the film's natural language. To do a sequel without the flavor of the original, you'd better have a better idea, as in Bride of Frankenstein or Godfather 2. No such luck. At first it seems that way. Our hero is in a loony bin, then suddenly giving "Blair Witch" tours. Why was he there? We never know. But we do get a small amount of amusing parody of the hype for a little bit.

Then after that it turns into...something quite different.

The film depends on video footage that reveals the characters doing things they don't recall doing. Somehow their cameras record everything differently than it happens. The Wiccan finds footage of herself dancing in the woods. She's shocked and refuses to believe it. If you know any Wiccans or are one yourself, this will be very funny to you, as it was to me, much in the same way as Nomi in Showgirls freaking out when asked to put ice on her nipples, after lap-dancing every guy in Vegas. I mean...As we all know, witches would never dance naked in the woods...And also, the townspeople begin mocking them as witches and asking them to leave--this when the tourist curiosity is being served by every store. Doesn't make sense for a second.

Sex happens; orgies happen--offscreen, so we don't even get sex for our money except in the briefest shots, dammit. But what we do get is lots of violent death, mostly hangings. What's really wrong about this is that the first film's power was in that you couldn't see what happened. The film took place mostly in the dark, mostly in your mind. And therefore whatever happened to Josh, say, was as nasty as your imagination. Far more involving, far more frightening. Here, it's just a lot of "Boo" with tits. And then an ending that makes absolutely no sense.

All characters are repugnant, and you want something bad to happen to them, but it doesn't happen soon enough. When it does, it's like a cheap echo of a late Twilight Zone episode.

And then when we remember the director of the sensitive documentary Paradise Lost(which I highly recommend) did this, and it becomes unforgivable, because the film actually has a quite similar story--except that here they're guilty. It makes one wonder if the filmmaker just looked at the victim in his previous film as material. But it's wasted here anyway, as I hope I'm among the only 5 who've seen this.

Hideously bad, but definitely worth renting, getting very stoned, and mocking viciously.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4528&reviewer=151
originally posted: 12/05/01 18:28:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell not bad 3 stars
8/07/14 David Hollingsworth not even worth it 1 stars
7/05/14 Dane Youssef It's just a mainstream conventional slasher version of the first. 1 stars
11/29/09 Steve I kept waiting for something to happen and then the movie ended. 1 stars
10/13/09 Caitlin I quite liked it actually. The flashes were unnessary, but it was deep. It tried... 4 stars
4/01/08 Clark Flawed, but still a lot better than many horror flicks we see today... 4 stars
9/22/06 Pritchett Not NERALY as bad as everyone says. Actually, a pretty good little horror film. 4 stars
8/09/06 Doreen I see why they stopped after this one! 1 stars
6/15/06 Garrett If you actually understand it. You will like it. 4 stars
4/25/06 Moore Meloncholy Popping bloody pimples have more fright and entertainment value then this crap. 1 stars
1/02/06 cody a movie with kinded interesting story and beliveable characters, but everthing else stunk 2 stars
9/25/05 D Buckley What the hell is going on... 1 stars
8/18/05 ES Rebecca- don't forget the wizard of OZ that's got an evil witch too! this movie stinks 1 stars
7/09/05 Rebecca I tried counting the errors and stereotypes about Wicca. I lost count and threw up. 1 stars
4/26/05 Indrid Cold A Hollywood cash grab that is notable only because it shows how great the 1st one was. 2 stars
3/13/05 Ronin Anyone who likes this crap more than the 1st BWP is a braindead 12 years old simpleton. 2 stars
9/17/04 jeff frank better than the first but still pretty bad 2 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G This movie eats shit form carl winslow's fat black ass 1 stars
7/28/04 G not as bad as 1st but still shit 1 stars
6/30/04 Mike All.you.haters.are.utterly.pathetic.this.movie.exponentially.beat.the.first.one. 5 stars
6/13/04 Jack Bourbon Dumb as it is, I like this movie. I also like the chunky girl. 4 stars
4/29/04 X They should have a bad movie burning 1 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt A wicked mindfuck! MUCH better than the awful original! This one is a disturbing blast! 5 stars
1/06/04 George great!!! 5 stars
1/03/04 J All that gore wasted this movie is retarded! 1 stars
12/10/03 redpjas a great film I got scared 5 stars
11/25/03 Thiago Not really as bad as you think. Check it out. 3 stars
11/06/03 redpjas A GREAT FILM 5 stars
10/13/03 Jim Better than the first one. At least there was a plot. 3 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus way better than the first will ever be!! 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice Well, money changes everything, this is a good example of that. 1 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Nice collection of amateur tits and ass for this one. I really dug the chunky one. 5 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby Ambitious but flat-out terrible. 1 stars
1/26/03 sam fisher it fucking rules because it has naked people in it! 5 stars
12/27/02 Charles Tatum What a dumb idea 1 stars
9/25/02 Laurian Diaconescu It made no sense. (If you wannna se my REAL rating, read this backwards! Just kidding.) 3 stars
7/29/02 Jon At least it was watchable (read: steady camera) 2 stars
7/25/02 palaboy101 much better than the first movie 4 stars
7/08/02 Croweater What the fuck...? This really, REALLY, sucked 1 stars
5/19/02 john waite i shit my pants..when i realised i payed money to go see this 1 stars
4/17/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) Wow! I've never seen a sequel fall SOOOOO far in quality from the first. 1 stars
3/31/02 Film Guy one little Fucked up movie 1 stars
3/07/02 Dave MacDougall How do you know if you have a low IQ? You like this more than the original. 1 stars
3/06/02 Brittany James Flawed by ambiguity: Do witches hafta eat, shit, and die or eat shit- and die? 3 stars
2/23/02 Jenny Tullwartz Best redeeming feature -- It's NOTHING like the original! 3 stars
1/24/02 Andrew Carden It Took The Spooky Story, Added Teen Sex and Violence, and Got This Tired Movie. 2 stars
1/23/02 chris www.midfirecords.com id have left if my girlfriend didnt make me stay 1 stars
12/05/01 john linton roberson A Wiccan is shocked that she'd dance naked in the woods. That's all you need to hear. 1 stars
10/30/01 officer412/l YOU WILL SHIT YOUR PANTS BUT FOR DIFFERENT REASONS. 1 stars
10/16/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Starts off pretty good, but it ends up making NO SENSE AT ALL! 2 stars
10/01/01 sarah hey i thought it was pretty cool 4 stars
9/09/01 Jason The freakiest stuff I've ever seen. 5 stars
8/22/01 Erica I personally didn't like the first movie, but I have to say this one had potential! 5 stars
6/12/01 Crisis Management Jesus, again... Chef ADogg, you must be a fucking retard, seriously. 1 stars
6/02/01 Mephisto Worth watching for the goddesses Erica and Kim! 2 stars
5/25/01 The Moorhen S U C K S - Say it with me boys and girls.... S U C K S 1 stars
5/17/01 Jack McBee It was fucking scary. I never wanna go to a haunted house again. 5 stars
5/08/01 Rodney Muterspaw would have been better if it wasnt the Blair Witch sequel 4 stars
4/13/01 LiL This movie was a pointless piece of shit 1 stars
4/10/01 Gary This is probably the worst and most dumb sequel ever. Not even remotely scary! 1 stars
3/27/01 Jesse L It had a few moments near the end but they were not worth it 2 stars
3/19/01 Kilroy It's not what you think it is. It's a Psychological Thriller. Excellent. See it and decide. 4 stars
3/04/01 Rico Suavea I LOVE THIS MOVIE 5 stars
3/02/01 Kook Cheap exploitation of gullible consumers. 1 stars
2/28/01 lost mind the only good part is at the end when I guy said ''Thats wong'' SOME BODY F*CKED WITH THIS 4 stars
2/24/01 Eric Leehsmine It was so much better than the first one 5 stars
2/12/01 Richard Wright An unusual horror film, scary in a different way . Panned by people with no brains. 3 stars
12/07/00 Stuntman laughably bad, makes PSI Factor look like Goosebumps 1 stars
11/25/00 frank c oooohhhh how scary@!! not!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/14/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Wasted 2 hours of my life on the first one and two more on this schlocky piece of shit. 1 stars
11/11/00 Bill Farquar Most horrible piece of shit ever made, complete waste of time and money! 1 stars
11/09/00 BW2SUCKS It's like a bad episode of the X-files 1 stars
11/08/00 Matthew Bartley Not as bad as I thought it would be although nowhere near as good as the first 4 stars
11/04/00 Dan Terrible, trashy shit. 1 stars
11/03/00 InfiL00p Was good until the last half an hour, then it just started sucking ass. 4 stars
11/02/00 JOHNNY rather take a dump then see this again... 1 stars
11/02/00 Losifer It really really sucked. The entire theater was laughing instead of shivering. Seriously. 1 stars
11/02/00 :93: I liked it, then again, I like horror movies 4 stars
11/01/00 Ground Zero Cliche, absurd, and unoriginal. Need we say more? 2 stars
10/31/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Run my pretties, Run for the exits before its too late!!!! 1 stars
10/31/00 kim boyd BW1 Formula: Trapped in Woods, Relate to their deep fears, everyone dies. BW2 misses al 3 1 stars
10/30/00 Ytsejam It had to take a lot of work to make this suck as bad as it did. 1 stars
10/29/00 finalfight this is not a real movie... it's a horror movie. Don't expect academy awards achievements 4 stars
10/28/00 bullit17 A "horror" movie with no horror and very little suspense. Very disappointing. 2 stars
10/28/00 Jeff D OK, illogical script, petulant acting. But the concept of perception vs. reality is trippy 4 stars
10/27/00 AM Radio The Hair Clit Project...this movie blows. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Oct-2000 (R)
  DVD: 13-Jan-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Jan-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast