More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.2

Awesome31.88%
Worth A Look: 15.94%
Average: 20.29%
Pretty Bad: 4.35%
Total Crap: 27.54%

2 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Yesterday by Peter Sobczynski

Toy Story 4 by Peter Sobczynski

Canary (2018) by Jay Seaver

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Shriek If You Know What I Did Last Friday the 13th
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by JustinR

"A complete ripoff, but it's really funny."
4 stars

I'm a sucker for parody, so of course I like this film, a TV movie on USA that makes fun of teen slasher movies. Ok, so the third biggest movie of the summer was based on the same topic, but it's astounding to see a film derivative of a film derivative of a genre derivative of films that are, by their very nature, derivative. GOT THAT?

I really enjoyed SCARY MOVIE. I saw it three times in the theatre. And when I saw the trailer for this film as a TV movie I thought it would suck Marlon Wayans shitty MTV Awards hosting balls. But it's funny. Really funny. Because it's cable, you don't see penises everywhere or a jizz volcano. Instead, the film's writers create a film based on what made SCARY MOVIE really funny to film fans.
1. Make the killer a pretty chill guy. After being scared shitless by the GHOSTFACE for three films, it was so cool to see him smoke a blunt and do WAAASSSSSUUUP in scary movie. In SHRIEK, he is even better grabbing people in broad daylight, and at one point running after a girl on the track and eventually RACING alongside her, drinking KILLERADE of course.
2. NonStop Sight Gags. This film is loaded. Froma clever spin on the "I Know" films to a constant fun with a guy whose last name is Boner. (although Meet the Parents was more successful at this).
3. A Self Aware Parody?? Scream was great because it was the first self aware horror film. In SHRIEK, the characters know they are in a parody, and at one point a girl does a riff on the classic rant by Jamie Kennedy on surviving horror movies. It's good stuff.
I Know what you are thinking. It's on TV. How can it be funnier than the R rated Scary Movie which actually pushed the R rating. It's not as funny as Scary Movie, but it is more clever. The film doesn't always go for the easy gag. I laughed all the way through. PS: The Grease spoof is classic.

One of the best TV movies ever, but what is that really saying? I still really laughed a lot. Find it in your local listings. It's a pretty good reason to get cable.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4536&reviewer=229
originally posted: 10/19/00 09:07:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/23/09 samuel cU3DoH odfBxZakGhH3v96M2Qsk 3 stars
10/05/08 blarginbadigalnohif i love this movie!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/09/07 art AWFUL 1 stars
9/03/07 Melissa these horror spoofs are good for laughs! 4 stars
1/04/06 cody a scary movie ripoff with few laughs, l saw yesterday in movie ben for $5.50 * 1 stars
8/04/05 ^podo vciy 5 stars
5/27/05 tony this movie should be burned. ITS SO POINTLESS AND SHIT 1 stars
1/31/05 Kusand This movie was awful! How could anyone rate it decently? 1 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams dumb 1 stars
8/11/04 Francy Really funny and not as predictable as other rip-off scary movies 5 stars
3/24/04 Cheapmoviehater This scary movie wannabe is absolute crap! 1 stars
10/08/03 Double G Pretty retarded, but funny. Was this straight to DVD or something? 3 stars
10/01/03 horror_blood Pretty retarded, but funny. Was this straight to DVD or something? 3 stars
9/23/03 Marie Laidler Brilliant, and classy in it's own comparison. 5 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus Funny! , yet a lil retarded... 3 stars
3/01/03 MOVIE LOVER THIS MOVIE SUCKS MORE DICK THEN YOUR MOM 1 stars
2/20/03 Dave Cheap rip off of the hilarious and underrated Scary Movie. 2 stars
1/27/03 Andres Bayona Excelent 100000000000000000000000 times better than scary movie!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum As funny as "Scary Movie," which ain't saying much 3 stars
6/02/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well.....it's no scary movie, and wat's with boner.....but ok overall 3 stars
4/30/02 Monster W. Kung Not very funny at all. 2 stars
4/23/02 Kyle DIEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/31/02 Film Dude WHAT THE FUCK?! DID DRUG REHAB WRITE THIS OR SOMETHING?! 1 stars
3/11/02 Allan Bray Really funny movie, video version is rated R, but its not as gross as Scary Movie. 5 stars
3/09/02 Chowie there were a few laughs in this but scary movie pisses all over it 3 stars
3/04/02 ashley i think that the movie was awsome 5 stars
2/15/02 Eddie Gamez Really Funny 5 stars
1/16/02 Hagatha All i have to say is Chop Chop you fat red bastard 5 stars
1/15/02 Ai.SuK trully amazing masterpiece, nowhere near leslie nielson style comedy, but i nice try 5 stars
1/02/02 zimka The worst of the spoofs! 1 stars
1/01/02 Cookie Cutter Even worst than I predicted. 1 stars
1/01/02 Monster W. Kung Pathetic piece of crap that never brings any laugh. Looks low-budget but wasn't. 1 stars
11/21/01 Brian Jacobson one of the funniest movies I have ener seen in my life! 5 stars
9/30/01 MR AARDVARK The best thing was turning it off 1 stars
9/16/01 Mr. Hat Sometimes HILARIOUS, sometimes really stupid. 3 stars
9/11/01 RT AMAZINGLY FUNNY MOVIE 5 stars
9/07/01 darrin perrone funny?you got to be kidding."Scary Movie" was enough! 1 stars
8/07/01 ted v. why does Tom Arnold star in some of the WORST films Hollywood has to offer? 2 stars
7/07/01 King Jackass Ugh! For once, I agree with Andrew. Stay away from this movie. 1 stars
7/05/01 donald almost as good as scary movie 4 stars
6/20/01 Dylan I loved the fact that it was clever through the whole thing. I give it 2 thumbs way up! 5 stars
5/20/01 kingjackass222 your all friggin crazy! this movie sucked! WORST MOVIE EVER!!!! 1 stars
4/29/01 Bloody Utter bollocks. 1 stars
4/15/01 Mark G it was a great and funny movie that made me laugh my ass off through the whole thing 5 stars
4/13/01 LiL Just as funny and cool as Scary Movie was 5 stars
4/02/01 randiiii I rented it thinking it would suck, but it was actually more cleaver than Scary Movie. 4 stars
3/03/01 Robert Altman Hits the target 1 stars
3/01/01 HARDING This movie is amazing. It was actually completed long before Scary Movie and much funnier. 5 stars
2/27/01 Willow I love this movie, it is so funny 5 stars
2/25/01 Ryan FUCKING IT 5 stars
12/25/00 BrandenMichael A great and very funny movie, if you like scary movie u will like this, i love it!!!!! :) 5 stars
12/22/00 Michelle Laughed all the way. 20 sec into the movie, I realized I should have been taping it! 5 stars
11/28/00 Andrew Kincaid "Shriek" kicks butt! It's not as funny as Scary Movie, but it really's funny. 5 stars
11/20/00 Mitchell Daniel Rector If Tiffany Thiessen gets naked then its cool but i heard she didnt so...... 1 stars
10/27/00 Clarance Fuckin hilarious...if u liked scary movie u'll love this! 4 stars
10/23/00 Evil Twin Just as crude + idiotic as Scary Movie, but a lighter, less depressing tone. Go Tom Arnold! 5 stars
10/20/00 TheRock It was actually pretty good for a TV movie...think Scary movie with no R rated stuff 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Oct-2000 (R)
  DVD: 27-Feb-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  John Blanchard

Written by
  Sue Bailey
  Joe Nelms

Cast
  Tiffani-Amber Thiessen
  Tom Arnold
  Shirley Jones
  Coolio
  Kim Griest
  Jimmie Walker



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast