More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.83

Awesome: 11.43%
Worth A Look22.86%
Average22.86%
Pretty Bad22.86%
Total Crap: 20%

1 review, 29 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Glass Menagerie, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Cracked glass."
2 stars

Young John Malkovich (not that young) plays Tom Wingfield in the filmed version of Tennessee Williams' famed play, "The Glass Menagerie."

Problem is, "Menagerie" isn't that good of a play to begin with (definitely one of Williams' weaker works), and it shows to be true on screen. Joanne Woodward is way over-the-top (and still projecting as if this were on stage) and her Southern dialect is quite factitious. Everything, to a point, including Paul Newman's direction (yes, the actor), and even minorly Malkovich's performance is hugely theatrical. The narration devices fail, and the abstinence from the outside world, or anything away from the chaotic house, is virulent. Karen Allen as the daughter, manages to be unannoyingly mousy, but often feels like an outsider or absentee from the production. Regardless, she had a sweet presence and decently handled her role. The movie has nice, clear photography and several nicely juiced scenes.

Final Verdict: C.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4559&reviewer=172
originally posted: 11/16/00 11:59:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/03/08 Chris The 1973 version is much better! 3 stars
1/24/08 ashtray I think it was a great movie...though the mom did get on my nerves that was what her part! 5 stars
8/01/07 Ted Savage Pretty good film, good but not great 4 stars
11/03/06 Alexandra Esser The play has amazing symbolism and touches the heart even 4 stars
6/03/05 Indrid Cold Yep, it's the Glass Menagerie all right .... zzzzzzzz 3 stars
5/13/05 Jeremy Peacock "The Glass Menagerie" is a terrible play by an outstanding playwrite. 1 stars
5/13/05 Marty okay film 2 stars
10/01/04 Kartik.S A good cast spolied by an annoying Mother! 1 stars
3/10/04 Colette Could've been much better, could've been worse 3 stars
4/04/03 Rebekah Hudson One of the best films I've seen! 5 stars
4/01/03 raymond I enjoyed it 4 stars
3/04/03 KC Too slow for me... and the mother is the most annyoing person. 1 stars
12/12/02 Bridget Griffin I thought it was great. "Truth in the pleasant disguise of illusion." 4 stars
9/18/02 Margot Economic but a very good acting . Existensialist problems. 4 stars
5/15/02 Johanna It was ok but Tom's monotonous voice really ticked me off. 3 stars
3/24/02 Butterbean English teacher made me watch this. I was moved. 3 stars
1/25/02 John Lane Terrible 1 stars
12/07/01 Rose This film really sucked. End of story. 1 stars
12/06/01 brina the mother is so annoying that it ruins the movie 2 stars
11/08/01 Carrie I liked this one better then the one with Katherine Hepburn 3 stars
7/21/01 Wanda Kind of slow, but a plus is Oscar® winning Joanne Woodward. She never fails to deliver! 4 stars
5/07/01 Alison Barnes i hate it 1 stars
2/15/01 mark mooney I thought the film was excellent. True to the soul of the play. 5 stars
1/25/01 bubba williams this movie blows just like palm bch atlantic 1 stars
1/21/01 ali inan this film is great if you know about williams' life a bit 5 stars
1/06/01 Isabella It's pretty good! The female actors portray their characters very well. Tom is good too. 4 stars
12/29/00 sarah I prefer the book! 3 stars
12/05/00 Linda Biram I think the movie was okay, yet needed a boost such as different actors. 3 stars
11/22/00 Angie Maniaci I enjoyed the parts when Laura sat by her glass menagerie. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Mar-1987 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Paul Newman

Written by
  Tennessee Williams

Cast
  Joanne Woodward
  John Malkovich
  Karen Allen
  James Naughton



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast