More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.83

Awesome: 3.13%
Worth A Look: 26.88%
Average30.63%
Pretty Bad: 28.13%
Total Crap: 11.25%

15 reviews, 70 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


6th Day, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Two Arnolds don't equate to double the fun."
3 stars

The 6th Day is set in the not-too-distant-future, but already, everything is so modernized or futurized, that it is beyond recognition.

Only the visual aid of the computer and concept of virtual reality are familiar, however, the ramifications and limitations (or lack thereof) are by far expanded. The opening credits disjointedly inform us that with the success of Dolly, scientists were able to clone a human. The experiment went awry and the Sixth Day Law was passed, in which it has become illegal to clone a human. (But pets are alright; thereís RePet for that.) Any clones discovered would be, so-to-say, put to sleep (like in Blade Runner), without any form of rights. Obviously clones exist, but a strict silence and hush has been kept around it, which is sure to have its cover blown off when the real Arnold Schwarzenegger discovers his cloned-self. While cloning is no alien idea to Hollywood, the concept and initiation of The 6th Day are diverting, but just because there are two Arnolds, doesnít mean that itís double the fun. The action is amplified cartoonish violence, but the staggering and unlikely happenings are at an extreme. Given the fact that itís Arnold, and how Arnold has a way of making things conducive (even when his products arenít very good, like Commando), there is still an undeniable factor of fun. The screen coughs up some interesting images and variants and thankfully, none of them try to imitate The Matrix. The 6th Day is an indulgent effects movie, with an unnecessary and immature technological feel by director Roger Spottiswoode (Tomorrow Never Dies); the lack of his style (doubly exposed shots, CGI layout sequences, banal explosions, rip-off diving scene from The Fugitive, etc.) make it at worst decadent and pedestrian, but at best venially innocuous.

With Michael Rapaport, Robert Duvall and Sarah Wynter.

[Redeemable.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4583&reviewer=172
originally posted: 11/18/00 11:00:31
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell good imho 4 stars
4/08/16 David Hollingsworth Too derivative, even for Arnold. 2 stars
7/08/14 Kat Could have been good. Wanted to like it. Sadly, it was both boring and terribly written. 2 stars
8/01/11 Chris F not one of Arnies best films 3 stars
3/23/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING FUTURISTIC ADVENTURE 3 stars
12/22/06 David Pollastrini must have sucked. I saw it but have no memory of it 1 stars
8/18/05 ES better than Total retard, I liked the way the villains kept coming back from the dead 4 stars
7/03/05 Quigley had some clever ideas, but it becomes a really forgettable film. watch T2, not this 3 stars
6/02/05 Chris Are you who you think you are? 1 stars
3/31/05 hannaho Just another Arnold film. 3 stars
3/05/05 Gloria Anderson love this movie 4 stars
3/02/05 David Tsung one of arnie's worst films 2 stars
2/28/05 Diane Stedner It wasn't so bad but wasn't so good either 3 stars
2/23/05 ALDO one of arnie's worse films...disappointing!!!! 2 stars
8/23/04 R.W. Welch Plot line is too far out to be very involving. Some snazzy F/X. 3 stars
6/09/04 Nobody I'm glad arnie went into politics, now he can't make any more crappy movies like this 1 stars
4/17/04 ALBERT H. TAYLOR JR. Not Arnold's better films! 3 stars
4/09/04 y2mckay One of Arnie's most brain-dead actioners - rent "Total Recall" . Sarah Wynter hot, though. 2 stars
4/09/04 Jack Sommersby Uninteresting, unexciting, and unmemorable. A real waste of fucking time. 1 stars
2/21/04 Stefan Halka The worst action I have ever seen in any A-level movie. 3 stars
1/29/04 stuntman A good idea ruined by poor writers 2 stars
7/01/03 Frank Lynch Decent flick 4 stars
4/20/03 Pratim Guha Biswas IT was really a waste of time which u would not normally expect from a Arnie Movie 2 stars
4/18/03 Matt Thiel An action film that tries to tell a story; but there are better examples than this. 3 stars
10/29/02 Jay Is this movie bad? No fucking way! Arnie at his best! 5 stars
8/02/02 Zefram Mann That Sim-Pal was so friggin' evil looking. 3 stars
5/26/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi when i told u to go screw urself i didnt mean it literally 3 stars
3/29/02 Evan The Critic An attempt to go back to the 'Total Recall' sci-fi action, and it hit on target! Must see! 4 stars
3/15/02 Zargo underrated 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Interesting premise. Not very exciting. 3 stars
11/29/01 The $1.98 Pyramid I had high expectations about this movie, and so I was disapointed. 2 stars
10/31/01 Connoisseur nice entertaining movie, quit carping! 4 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Lots of fun for the first hour and a half. 4 stars
6/11/01 I love movies this movie absolutely rocked the world! Arnold's best in years but his acting hasn't improv 5 stars
5/13/01 Pete Wrigley just bad 1 stars
5/09/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Christ... 2 stars
5/08/01 Monday Morning Kind of a cross between "Total Recall" and "Twins". Fun futuristic appliances too. 4 stars
5/07/01 saleh sientific 4 stars
4/16/01 The Bomb 69 interesting look at the possibilities of cloning and the potential downfalls 4 stars
4/13/01 DREDD really bad plot, must have been really big hard drives to store all those memorys 2 stars
4/11/01 Del R One of me says he liked it, the other one says he didn't 3 stars
4/11/01 Jesse L Most boring Arnie movie ever made. Thin thin plot. 2 stars
4/11/01 Spetters Arnold sucks!!! He should make a Movie with Cameron again. 1 stars
3/30/01 The Reviewer it is better than last action hero, end of days, but not as good as total recall. 4 stars
2/04/01 Avenger girl Not to bad a movie,lots of action,but Arnie movies need some new insights. 3 stars
1/26/01 Sickofshitfilms comes a close second just after 'Battlefield Earth' 2 stars
1/26/01 Diego Romero Preet good movie,believe me,Arnie will return with T3 and true lies 2 5 stars
1/17/01 The Terminator As a fan of Schwarzenegger, I enjoyed this movie 4 stars
1/15/01 Action freak Good movie, should have been a huge hit, but people don't seem to like Schwarzenegger 4 stars
12/31/00 kevin AH im a clone i have two rings under my eyelid, this movie sucked D+ 2 stars
12/21/00 owen thought provoking action flik 4 stars
12/12/00 MAXOMENOS Good premise, boring execution. Could be the last gasp of the typical Arnold flick. 2 stars
12/05/00 Charlie.X "Did you get the info, !!Arnie,!! my soul wants 2, know, du plane will land, its gonu blow. 4 stars
11/26/00 FlickChick Kinda like Total Recall meets Demo Man meets 5th Element. Fills the flick need. 4 stars
11/25/00 Blubberbot Some good parts. Some bad parts. Some exciting parts. Some boring parts. 3 stars
11/25/00 FELaPorta Great Fun - my kids and I loved it! 4 stars
11/25/00 TigerShark Could've been so much better than it was. Ah-nold was good, but the plot was stupid. Rental 2 stars
11/24/00 KoHawk I guess it was okay... Damn those lasers ruined it, though 3 stars
11/23/00 Florida Voter 2 Too close to call.........lets recount!!! 4 stars
11/22/00 Greyjack An all right movie. Not blow-you-out-of-your-seat great, but a good matinee flick. 4 stars
11/21/00 Wyatt Earp Better than I expected. Nice FXs. Acting wasn't painful 4 stars
11/20/00 Stuntman not as bad as Red Planet, but worth watching 3 stars
11/20/00 TheRock Much better than M2M and Red Planet...not in Total Recall's class though 4 stars
11/19/00 frankko it's no COMMANDO. 3 stars
11/19/00 Will it was good simple fun. 4 stars
11/19/00 Brandon Bickford not bad when arnie isn't talking 4 stars
11/19/00 Bruce Has it's problems but it is entertianing. 4 stars
11/19/00 FLORIDA VOTER This movie was great! I disagree with the reviewer, this movie is 5 stars, A++ 5 stars
11/18/00 Eve Crisp visuals, some neat twists, and Arnold is always a reliable source of fun and heroism 5 stars
11/18/00 artifact great special effects, but missing a strong storyline 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Nov-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Jan-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast