More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.83

Awesome: 3.13%
Worth A Look: 26.88%
Average30.63%
Pretty Bad: 28.13%
Total Crap: 11.25%

15 reviews, 70 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hellboy (2019) by Jay Seaver

Clickbait by Jay Seaver

Her Smell by Peter Sobczynski

Under the Silver Lake by Peter Sobczynski

Chaperone, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Missing Link by Jay Seaver

Master Z: Ip Man Legacy by Jay Seaver

Hail Satan? by Jay Seaver

Diane by Rob Gonsalves

Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


6th Day, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"'6th Day is, ironically, a cinematic clone of all the other McBain films."
3 stars

Sometimes you go into a movie knowing exactly what to expect on a purely superficial level. With Schwarzenegger’s name at the top of the poster, you can count on one of two things: Guns and explosions, or a wacky high-concept comedy. So, it goes with his latest film, The 6th Day. Here, we get the standard guns, explosions, Ah-nold as the everyman trying to set his normal life back on track, and pseudo-intellectual bad guys with incompetent henchmen (plus one henchwoman).

It seems fitting that a movie about cloning would feel, well, familiar. It fells like a Xerox copy of other Schwartzee films, such as Total Recall, Eraser, The Running Man, the McBain films, and True Lies

The film opens with facts straight from today’s headlines about the progression of cloning and the discovery of DNA patterns. Then, we get the obligatory futuristic movie caption, “The near future…closer than you think.”

Ah-nold plays Adam Gibson, a helicopter pilot with a wife (Wendy Crewson) and daughter. One day, he comes home and finds an exact replica of himself celebrating his daughter’s birthday. Next thing he knows, henchmen try killing him, a car chase ensues, and Adam jumps off a bridge and lives, a la The Fugitive.

With the help of his co-worker, Hank (Michael Rappaport, who reminds me more and more of Donny Most with every movie), Adam tries to find who set him up. The man in charge of the whole cloning phenomenon, Drucker (Tony Goldwyn), orders the termination of Adam, who they cloned by mistake when they really meant to clone Hank. If anybody finds out about the two Adam’s running around, Drucker’s operation will be shut down.

The 6th Day has been mis-directed by Roger Spottiswoode, who finds it necessary to interject the story with occasional 60’s-Batman-esque scene transitions. Something like that works for a film such as Charlie’s Angels, but here it feels about as natural a choice as a commercial break right in the middle of the car chase.

The film does have some terrific art direction. I loved the cloning laboratory, where the full-grown fetus’ hang as dead bodies would on meat hooks in water-filled tanks that seem to surround the place. The bodies look truly eerie when we see them up-close toward the end of the film. That also reminds me of one of the funnier parts of the film, where Ah-nold buys a doll for his daughter that looks, sounds and feels human, but there exists such a creepy and vacant expression about it, it looks like it should be an extra in Village Of The Damned. Furthermore, it talks in a sort of monotone like the twins from The Shining.

One scene occurs in the middle where a man tells Drucker that his son will die soon of an un-curable illness. Drucker tells him that he will be able to clone his son, and have him live a longer, more fruitful life. However, the man could go to jail for 40 years if anybody found out. This scene comes and goes, and we never hear about it again. But as it happened, I thought to myself, “This would make an interesting movie.”

The film works best when it tries to dissect the ethics of cloning. Robert Duvall, who plays Dr. Weir, Drucker’s assistant, serves as the voice of reason, since his wife contracted a life-threatening illness as a result of the cloning. Casting Duvall sometimes gives a movie more dignity than it might deserve, but something tells me The 6th Day had more going for it before the powers-that-be decided it might be too intellectual for mass audiences.

Therein lies the problem: The film has a lot of ideas going for it, but it gets bogged down by cliché action sequences. Just as the story starts getting interesting, we get sidetracked with standard action-movie problems: How come the everyman knows exactly what to do in an action sequence? How come they never screw up?

How come these bad guys have such bad aim? How does one become a henchman? Does everybody in real life say something funny after they kill a person? Haven’t I seen you somewhere before?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4583&reviewer=233
originally posted: 12/04/00 02:35:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell good imho 4 stars
4/08/16 David Hollingsworth Too derivative, even for Arnold. 2 stars
7/08/14 Kat Could have been good. Wanted to like it. Sadly, it was both boring and terribly written. 2 stars
8/01/11 Chris F not one of Arnies best films 3 stars
3/23/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING FUTURISTIC ADVENTURE 3 stars
12/22/06 David Pollastrini must have sucked. I saw it but have no memory of it 1 stars
8/18/05 ES better than Total retard, I liked the way the villains kept coming back from the dead 4 stars
7/03/05 Quigley had some clever ideas, but it becomes a really forgettable film. watch T2, not this 3 stars
6/02/05 Chris Are you who you think you are? 1 stars
3/31/05 hannaho Just another Arnold film. 3 stars
3/05/05 Gloria Anderson love this movie 4 stars
3/02/05 David Tsung one of arnie's worst films 2 stars
2/28/05 Diane Stedner It wasn't so bad but wasn't so good either 3 stars
2/23/05 ALDO one of arnie's worse films...disappointing!!!! 2 stars
8/23/04 R.W. Welch Plot line is too far out to be very involving. Some snazzy F/X. 3 stars
6/09/04 Nobody I'm glad arnie went into politics, now he can't make any more crappy movies like this 1 stars
4/17/04 ALBERT H. TAYLOR JR. Not Arnold's better films! 3 stars
4/09/04 y2mckay One of Arnie's most brain-dead actioners - rent "Total Recall" . Sarah Wynter hot, though. 2 stars
4/09/04 Jack Sommersby Uninteresting, unexciting, and unmemorable. A real waste of fucking time. 1 stars
2/21/04 Stefan Halka The worst action I have ever seen in any A-level movie. 3 stars
1/29/04 stuntman A good idea ruined by poor writers 2 stars
7/01/03 Frank Lynch Decent flick 4 stars
4/20/03 Pratim Guha Biswas IT was really a waste of time which u would not normally expect from a Arnie Movie 2 stars
4/18/03 Matt Thiel An action film that tries to tell a story; but there are better examples than this. 3 stars
10/29/02 Jay Is this movie bad? No fucking way! Arnie at his best! 5 stars
8/02/02 Zefram Mann That Sim-Pal was so friggin' evil looking. 3 stars
5/26/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi when i told u to go screw urself i didnt mean it literally 3 stars
3/29/02 Evan The Critic An attempt to go back to the 'Total Recall' sci-fi action, and it hit on target! Must see! 4 stars
3/15/02 Zargo underrated 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Interesting premise. Not very exciting. 3 stars
11/29/01 The $1.98 Pyramid I had high expectations about this movie, and so I was disapointed. 2 stars
10/31/01 Connoisseur nice entertaining movie, quit carping! 4 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Lots of fun for the first hour and a half. 4 stars
6/11/01 I love movies this movie absolutely rocked the world! Arnold's best in years but his acting hasn't improv 5 stars
5/13/01 Pete Wrigley just bad 1 stars
5/09/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Christ... 2 stars
5/08/01 Monday Morning Kind of a cross between "Total Recall" and "Twins". Fun futuristic appliances too. 4 stars
5/07/01 saleh sientific 4 stars
4/16/01 The Bomb 69 interesting look at the possibilities of cloning and the potential downfalls 4 stars
4/13/01 DREDD really bad plot, must have been really big hard drives to store all those memorys 2 stars
4/11/01 Del R One of me says he liked it, the other one says he didn't 3 stars
4/11/01 Jesse L Most boring Arnie movie ever made. Thin thin plot. 2 stars
4/11/01 Spetters Arnold sucks!!! He should make a Movie with Cameron again. 1 stars
3/30/01 The Reviewer it is better than last action hero, end of days, but not as good as total recall. 4 stars
2/04/01 Avenger girl Not to bad a movie,lots of action,but Arnie movies need some new insights. 3 stars
1/26/01 Sickofshitfilms comes a close second just after 'Battlefield Earth' 2 stars
1/26/01 Diego Romero Preet good movie,believe me,Arnie will return with T3 and true lies 2 5 stars
1/17/01 The Terminator As a fan of Schwarzenegger, I enjoyed this movie 4 stars
1/15/01 Action freak Good movie, should have been a huge hit, but people don't seem to like Schwarzenegger 4 stars
12/31/00 kevin AH im a clone i have two rings under my eyelid, this movie sucked D+ 2 stars
12/21/00 owen thought provoking action flik 4 stars
12/12/00 MAXOMENOS Good premise, boring execution. Could be the last gasp of the typical Arnold flick. 2 stars
12/05/00 Charlie.X "Did you get the info, !!Arnie,!! my soul wants 2, know, du plane will land, its gonu blow. 4 stars
11/26/00 FlickChick Kinda like Total Recall meets Demo Man meets 5th Element. Fills the flick need. 4 stars
11/25/00 Blubberbot Some good parts. Some bad parts. Some exciting parts. Some boring parts. 3 stars
11/25/00 FELaPorta Great Fun - my kids and I loved it! 4 stars
11/25/00 TigerShark Could've been so much better than it was. Ah-nold was good, but the plot was stupid. Rental 2 stars
11/24/00 KoHawk I guess it was okay... Damn those lasers ruined it, though 3 stars
11/23/00 Florida Voter 2 Too close to call.........lets recount!!! 4 stars
11/22/00 Greyjack An all right movie. Not blow-you-out-of-your-seat great, but a good matinee flick. 4 stars
11/21/00 Wyatt Earp Better than I expected. Nice FXs. Acting wasn't painful 4 stars
11/20/00 Stuntman not as bad as Red Planet, but worth watching 3 stars
11/20/00 TheRock Much better than M2M and Red Planet...not in Total Recall's class though 4 stars
11/19/00 frankko it's no COMMANDO. 3 stars
11/19/00 Will it was good simple fun. 4 stars
11/19/00 Brandon Bickford not bad when arnie isn't talking 4 stars
11/19/00 Bruce Has it's problems but it is entertianing. 4 stars
11/19/00 FLORIDA VOTER This movie was great! I disagree with the reviewer, this movie is 5 stars, A++ 5 stars
11/18/00 Eve Crisp visuals, some neat twists, and Arnold is always a reliable source of fun and heroism 5 stars
11/18/00 artifact great special effects, but missing a strong storyline 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Nov-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Jan-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast