More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.11

Awesome56.92%
Worth A Look: 16.92%
Average: 15.38%
Pretty Bad: 1.54%
Total Crap: 9.23%

5 reviews, 35 user ratings


Latest Reviews

All Is True by Jay Seaver

Fugue by Jay Seaver

Aniara by Jay Seaver

John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum by Jay Seaver

Long Day's Journey Into Night (2018) by Jay Seaver

Shadow by Jay Seaver

Be Natural: The Untold Story of Alice Guy-Blaché by Jay Seaver

Hustle, The by Peter Sobczynski

Detective Pikachu by Peter Sobczynski

Mope by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Sweet Hereafter, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by sean

"They took an incredible book and made it into a good movie."
4 stars

I remember when this movie came out ... I didn't want to see it, because I was already depressed.

I finally did see it, almost a year later. It was on the big screen, letterboxed (though it was a LD projection so, apparently, it wasn't the same ratio as the true big screen projection ... but it was close enough, eh?). And I admit, I probably wouldn't have been able to take it a year ago.
But between then and now, I read the book. The book affected me. And, reading it, I said "How can they ever make an adaptation of this?" The answer ... not too well.
Yes, it was well acted -- a particular stand-out was Bruce Greenwood, who I had only seen in "Nowhere Man" and never been overly impressed with. (Of course, I knew Ian Holm could act.) And the directing was great as well.
But taking a book written from four people's point of view and making it into one movie is hard. And, Entoyan proved just how hard it is.
The main reason to adapt a novel is to give the visual aspect of the book a truly visual ... well, visual, I guess. But, the book was *so* visually written that the movie almost seemed redundant.
This being said, it is good that the movie was made. I'm sure most people didn't read the book. I know I hadn't read it until I heard about the movie.
But to take a book told from four people's POV and make the story *more* convoluted and the narration *more* muddled [come on, what was that plane stuff except a cheesy excuse to give Ian Holm the best scene written in the book?] ... that takes ability.
A book has the liberty of telling a story in a very non-linear sense. Movies have similar liberty, but must not do so simply for the sake of doing so; rather, to have a point within the story. The movie actually had a *more* fucked-up sense of time than the book did, and never truly connected them all. Ambiguity is good, but too much makes it seem like the adapter (Egoyan as well) didn't quite get the book he read.

If you don't have time to read the book, then I guess see the movie. But make time.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=459&reviewer=18
originally posted: 10/08/98 12:53:33
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/08/14 PAUL SHORTT BRILLIANT, WELL MADE ADAPTATION WITH A GOOD STAR PERFORMANCE 4 stars
4/01/11 Rick Nichole knows the truth BUT, do we? I am not sure at all WHAT the truth is 3 stars
11/14/08 K. Sear It keeps the viewer at arms length, preventing any real connection with the characters. 3 stars
11/11/08 Lee Kayti Denham's review is spot on. A differently told movie, but nothing spectacular. 3 stars
1/30/06 Michael Twisted Canadian CBC/Liberal pathological portrayal of characters 1 stars
2/14/05 Phil M. Aficionado SLIGHTLY flawed, but mostly just remarkably well done and thought provoking 5 stars
9/27/04 alicia horribly made, horrible acting, depressing as hell, oh....and HORRIBLE acting! 1 stars
7/08/04 Stevo Not a feel good flick, but as good as it gets 5 stars
1/13/04 elizaveta so real its sickening and awful and this is a testament its excellence 5 stars
9/19/03 Jack Slower than watching water drip from the faucet. Throw me under the bus! 1 stars
8/08/02 Jack Thompson One of the best 5 stars
3/02/02 Nomargin The Spider bite story translated brilliantly from the book. Polley, Egoyan WOW!!! 5 stars
12/18/01 Nick Atom Egoyan is the best director of our time. 5 stars
8/29/01 Jim Bach Tremendous movie. Beautiful imagery, haunting story. 5 stars
7/07/01 AK Near-perfect film. Great use of a poem. I think I am in love with Sarah Polley. 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Heartbreaking and poetic. 5 stars
9/02/00 Bruce An astounding cinematic achievement 5 stars
8/16/00 Terrie Smith A real downer but well acted by the cast especially Ian Holm and Sarah Polley. 4 stars
7/13/00 Tom Sarah Polley's performance is excellent. 4 stars
10/08/99 Matt Thiel The film assumes you know the plot and the fact it's not in chronological order! WTF??????? 1 stars
9/16/99 Bornslippy easily the best film of 1997, haunting, powerful, very strong narrative. 5 stars
7/24/99 Hagbard Celine BORING. Is this supposed to be a chick flick, or what? 2 stars
1/23/99 TONY GEORGE AS INCEST MOVIES GO, THIS NEEDED BETTER JOKES 1 stars
12/04/98 Matthew J. Soucy AWESOME! EGOYAN'S LENS IS PROVOCATIVE ANS MASTERFUL. 5 stars
12/02/98 Kirgo Unpredictable, that's for certain. Holm is very good. 4 stars
11/26/98 Justin Excellant! Very atmospheric and intriguing. One of the best films of the year. 5 stars
11/15/98 dforcher Awesome movie. Also comments on detrimental effects of sin (adultery, greed) on community. 5 stars
10/24/98 Vincent A multilayered, wonderfully acted, beautiful film that should be seen by any true film fan 5 stars
10/20/98 K-Dog Well I thought it was a load of badly symbolic shite. 1 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Wow. See this movie, no matter what you like. Wow. 5 stars
9/05/98 Jon Great, but flawed, movie 3 stars
9/04/98 Badass I love this movie, but not as much as Vincent. 5 stars
8/30/98 Johny Stayed with me for days 5 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee Had some flaws, but better than most shit out there. 4 stars
8/24/98 Dutch I like school buses. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Nov-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Jul-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast