More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 33.33%
Worth A Look: 5.88%
Pretty Bad: 7.84%
Total Crap: 17.65%

3 reviews, 33 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

Beyond Skyline by Jay Seaver

Agent Mr. Chan by Jay Seaver

Wrinkle in Time, A by Peter Sobczynski

Kill Order by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

[] Buy posters from this movie
by rotten f. milk

"It ain't Disney, bub"
3 stars

FOX attempts to be Disney and falls flat on its ass.

Don't get me wrong, they come close. They have the animation quality, star vocals, and marketing promise and other shit like that. But Disney, ultimately has a charismatic quality that FOX can't attempt to duplicate in one turn. Granted, it's a good first effort.

Meg Ryan, John Cusack all give respectable vocal performances but lack the kind of charisma that veterans to cartoon, Hank Azaria, Christopher Lloyd and Kelsey Grammar all have. In short, the leads are quite bland. Bland leads ain't a good sign, folks.

However, I've got to give them points for the animation. Just specatacular. They've probably outdone Disney in that respect, however, like I said, they just can't expect to outdo the likes of the Lion King or Aladdin just yet. Keep in mind Disney's been around for a helluva long time.

But who cares. It's a kids movie. Like they care if it's Disney or not.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 09/09/98 05:24:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/03/12 Lizzie Cute film, brings back such childhood memories. 5 stars
11/03/12 EDMOND From the director of PETE'S DRAGON,AN AMERICAN TAIL and ROCK-A-DOODLE. 5 stars
1/07/09 Bethany Cox Beautiful! Lovely songs, gorgeous animation, and excellent voice characterisations! 4 stars
5/01/07 Aaron Johnson i Love this film 5 stars
3/01/07 X "I would" You are so stupid. Anastasia was not even a ruling monarch. She isn't responsible 5 stars
2/28/07 Keystra Williams I LOVED this as a kid 5 stars
8/18/06 jess great movie, classic 5 stars
5/01/06 Emma Buchan great movie,interesting 5 stars
7/23/05 Bria I think you are wrong and it is a great movie I think! 5 stars
4/09/04 Windhi it's cool and convincin' 5 stars
1/27/04 nastya dietze i love that movie and since i'm from russia and my full name is anastasia. 5 stars
9/26/03 Alan 17 year old brutally murdered with her family -> Phony legend -> Unprincipled kid flick. 1 stars
8/09/03 I Would This is why communism happened. No wonder they wanted that bitch dead. 2 stars
6/04/03 Charles Tatum Send this to Siberia 1 stars
5/30/03 Kelli The first animated film I've loved since I was a kid 5 stars
12/24/02 Jack Sommersby A great skewering, Charles. 2 stars
12/17/02 mark samuels beauty 5 stars
10/18/02 Prince of Russian Princes Servicable story with expert animation. 3 stars
8/17/01 Dakamus Could've been better, but the crappy CGI was really distracting. And that fucking bat! 3 stars
7/19/01 Frankie Charming and Delightful Movie for all young and old 4 stars
6/16/00 Christina Lynn It is the best movie in the world! I am a helpless romantic, so my fave. part was the end! 5 stars
12/13/99 Lame-Oh this not japanese anime. go see Iron Giant 2 stars
8/12/99 Merry I could have been okay, if not for the villain (Why have a villain anyway?) 3 stars
3/16/99 Ah Dooey Mulan was better 3 stars
1/15/99 DRMJSP I forgot I was watching a fucking cartoon. Made me learn about the real Anya. 5 stars
12/19/98 Quentin Fuck Disney, this movie ruled. And it deserved to do better in the B.O. Complex subject. 5 stars
11/20/98 Evil Buffy ick. they made a kid's film out of this subject? kid's didn't even like it. bad... 2 stars
10/20/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! Not for the kiddies that much,more for 'old bags',colorful but depressing,not enough humour 3 stars
10/14/98 Chi-Fan Hu It was pretty good. Not too serious. 4 stars
9/28/98 Heather An all-star cast plus brilliant soundtrack equals a great movie experience! 5 stars
9/23/98 Jason Rosenbaum Godawful. Worst animated movie ever. 1 stars
9/16/98 Trav This has the best songs in an animated movie this decade. Go watch it again, disney-freaks! 5 stars
8/21/98 rotten f. milk tries too hard to be a disney flick. not enough humour to sustain the ADD kids. 3 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  21-Nov-1997 (G)
  DVD: 14-Mar-2006



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast