More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.39

Awesome: 21.57%
Worth A Look: 23.53%
Average33.33%
Pretty Bad: 15.69%
Total Crap: 5.88%

7 reviews, 60 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Family Man, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"It's a little late with its paralled storylines; the trend ended in '99"
3 stars

The Family Man is a generally decent winter romance that features Nicolas Cage as a corporate, Wall Street hot-shot with "everything" he could possibly want, until his world is turned upside-down when he wakes to the a glimpse of the life he would have lived, had he married long-time college girlfriend Téa Leoni.

The family, the children, the pets, the "job." In other words, it is another variation and combination of A Christmas Carol, and Run, Lola, Run or Sliding Doors or Twice Upon Yesterday or Me Myself I. Cage's initial reaction to the surreal situation seems irrational. Since he has retained all the information of his real life over, who hasn't had some sort of dream like this? Is this the way you act in your dreams? Hardly, I would think; I would imagine that it would prompt the person to do a bit of exploring, especially considering that it seemed so unreal. But luckily enough, the story builds enough to it to leave some room for margin error. The Family Man is well acted; I usually like Cage, and when he merits and demerits his perceptions in the movie, it is all justified. Leoni amazingly is natural and affecting. She comes across very equanimic and real. With its nice cast, it showers you in the romantic shards that are desirable around this time of the season. On the downside, too often, many of the characters receive an introduction and are shown functioning in a regular fashion, and then they're completely forgotten and abandoned. And the dialogue was too austere to be believable. Unfortunately, we don't speak that direct and straightforward; it's rarely the case, and director Brett Ratner (Money Talks and Rush Hour) doesn't have the strength or maturity to handle the dictum like David Mamet or Whit Stillman. Only the last quarter of an hour, when Cage realizes that the glimpse must come to an end, does The Family Man noticeable decline. Still, it's a good romantic fantasy. (One fetid diaper-changing scene provides surprising reaction, disgust and cause to look away from the screen. That's scary considering how we can tolerate heads exploding, guts being ate, and carnal, pornographic sex, and yet we get a little messy poop and it's head turning.)

Final Verdict: B.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4609&reviewer=172
originally posted: 01/08/01 11:51:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/28/08 Shaun Wallner Nicholas Cage is great in all his films. 5 stars
5/16/08 PAUL SHORTT DISPICABLE AND INSIDIOUS 1 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White Cage plays great role 4 stars
11/18/07 Cory My favorite all-time movie!!! Get it!!! 5 stars
9/01/06 Michele okay 3 stars
9/03/05 Alan Failed to make me feel pity for a lonely millionaire. 3 stars
8/12/05 ES A reverse of 'Mr. Destiny' loses stars because its unoriginal and non-funny 2 stars
1/28/05 Charlie Very Realistic, true life 4 stars
1/19/05 Jeff Anderson THE BEST FILM OF DIRECTOR BRETT RATNER'S AND TEA LEONI'S ENTIRE CAREER, PERIOD!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/29/04 Aaron Smith Sweet winter movie, check it out. 4 stars
6/14/04 Jack Sommersby Unsurpsing, with ho-hum charcters and lackluster direction. Watch "Mr. Destiny" instead. 2 stars
12/30/03 Samuel Great film! Definetly worth a look!! 4 stars
11/30/03 R.W. Welch Fey rom/com has decent script and very strong acting. 4 stars
11/01/03 Dustin Jackson Nicholas Cage is awesome in this movie. 5 stars
10/28/03 Tracie Smegelski Can't relate without having kids! 3 stars
3/18/03 Dark Barøn Téa was better than Deep Impact and cuter and hotter as well 4 stars
3/07/03 Taylor Fladgate Funny! Tea Lenoi is red hot. Definitly a date movie. 4 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 It's a good follow-up to Gone In 60 Seconds for Cage, and Ms. Leoni is very a great actress 5 stars
7/27/02 karen goldstein great movie - guy realizes that he is a typical asshole male and changes his ways! 5 stars
7/25/02 palaboy101 really good 5 stars
4/28/02 Logan Bianchi Actually, I loved this movie... very funny 5 stars
1/14/02 Flick Chick really just average - but an extra star because Nick's in it :) 4 stars
1/03/02 Bada Bing Crosby What can I say, there was nothing else on 3 stars
12/10/01 Val very sweet 4 stars
11/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) It's okay.Nicolas Cage is a kickass actor.It's the biggest reason I felt like seeing it. 4 stars
11/30/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Cage better than I expected. 4 stars
9/17/01 Bri Ok, but needed to see Tea's wet rack. 3 stars
9/17/01 juli i loved every bit of it. my husband and i grabbed each others hands more than a few times 5 stars
8/20/01 The Bomb 69 I rather enjoyed it, ending kept it from 5 stars 4 stars
8/06/01 seldom scene makes you wonder if you should chase your past or be glad you have what is now. a little pr 4 stars
8/01/01 D.R. It is so refreshing to see a movie like this. An awesome story and very entertaining. 5 stars
7/31/01 Monday Morning Wanted to see Tea and the neighbor lady nekkid, but...not bad anyway. 4 stars
7/23/01 candace he should play superman... 5 stars
6/08/01 Peter Brook I expected this to be utter crap - but it's not. Very, very elegant film, great acting. 5 stars
4/02/01 Andrew Carden I would wait until it comes out on video, unless you're desprate. 3 stars
2/15/01 viking Not Nicolas Cage's best, but still entertaining 4 stars
2/13/01 Laura You see all the good parts in the previews - very predictable! 3 stars
2/08/01 Ray It is wonderful...I love it and I love Nic...he is the best 5 stars
2/08/01 Karen It is wonderful...I love it and I love Nic...he is the best 5 stars
2/05/01 Diego Romero More of Sliding Doors than It´s a Wonerful Life 5 stars
1/15/01 Chris Drake Exquisite, despite dream device 5 stars
1/15/01 tanja great movie 5 stars
1/12/01 LA not even heart warming - heart warming crap 2 stars
1/11/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble I haven't seen this much wooden acting since Howdy Doody went off the air. 1 stars
1/06/01 Movie Freek It's not that bad. Leoni and Cage rule, but the ending really really undermines the rest. 3 stars
1/05/01 Philm Phreak Nice Ferrari 3 stars
1/04/01 Nessus Sappy, and Cage walks around in a stupor for 1/2 the movie. A good movie to bring your Mom 4 stars
1/03/01 Collegebrat19 It is a "feel good movie" with enough humor to keep entertained for the whole 2 hours. 5 stars
1/02/01 John Jurik Better than I thought it would be (based on reviews). Tea & Nic do a good job. 4 stars
1/01/01 Joe Smaltz pretty mediocre, Would you like Armani or a Bowling shirt? Come on! 2 stars
1/01/01 j joseph excellent 5 stars
12/28/00 chouck It was good and less sappy than I expected 3 stars
12/27/00 Michael Jimenez Great Date Movie - Very Sentimental for couples 4 stars
12/25/00 poetchuck Great "Its a wonderful life" clone 5 stars
12/25/00 Chris Trader THE Christmas Movie For 2000 5 stars
12/23/00 Jareth David Cuz many people don't appreciate what they HAVE and are greedy & clueless by nature. 5 stars
12/23/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble These kinds of flicks are made so poor guys like us can feel better about our crummy lives. 1 stars
12/22/00 Fellini Stupid boring movie save yourselves 1 stars
12/12/00 James Clark God-it sucks 1 stars
12/12/00 Selina Kyle this movie was horrible you were too nice to that ugly stiff leoni and money is not all bad 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Dec-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Jan-2001 (M)


Directed by
  Brett Ratner

Written by
  David Diamond
  David Weissman

Cast
  Nicolas Cage
  Téa Leoni
  Jeremy Piven
  Don Cheadle
  Troy Hall
  Josef Sommer



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast