More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.59

Awesome: 22.07%
Worth A Look39.31%
Average: 24.14%
Pretty Bad: 4.83%
Total Crap: 9.66%

8 reviews, 97 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Miss Congeniality
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"On par with Scooby Doo."
4 stars

Sandra Bullock vehicle (she produced as well) about a one-of-the-guys type FBI agents (proof of this: uncombed hair, snorting laugh)—“Dirty Harriet”—forced to go undercover in a beauty pageant.

***************************
Miss Congeniality. Sandra Bullock vehicle (she produced as well) about a one-of-the-guys type FBI agents (proof of this: uncombed hair, snorting laugh)—“Dirty Harriet”—forced to go undercover in a beauty pageant. This isn’t Bullock’s first foray into physical disguises if you remember back to one of her first roles in Love Potion #9, and believe it or not, but this is the harder guise to swallow. (Before she is re-made via an FBI outfitting program, her curves and beauty are already very evident.) Notwithstanding, Miss Congeniality is a pleasant, unirritating comedy that is obviously of the audience-pleasing variety, and is equipped to appeal with a universal mask. The plot isn’t that watertight, with the biggest problem being that that villain is of the weakly grown. Any incitement and explanation for the villain’s doings are something you would expect to see on Scooby Doo, and even though we don’t need/don’t want a “deep” impetus for the motives, it shouldn’t have been harder to come up with something more fun. With what the scheme we’re given, it’s a poor excuse for the shenanigans it caused. Bullock, an arriviste following Speed is generally widely accepted by audiences for the most part, but her status in Hollywood is not a very prominent one. She easily handles the girl-next-door, but the last time I remember her doing anything overtly serious was in 1996 with A Time to Kill, which she handled quite well. I don’t know if she isn’t being offered the right roles or isn’t accepting them, but I would choose her any day over Julia Roberts, the firmly rooted predecessor. Back to Bullock, she is a treat in the contexts of her dual characters (who can’t fall over with laughter as she imitates the former winners of pageants as their states are called?). Once the villain is apprehended, Bullock gets to deliver probably the funniest line in the entire movie—“Good luck running the Miss San Antonio Correctional Facility Pageant!”—but even still, one wishes the relationships/friendships she bridged with the other state competitors had been more developed and more established that just the ‘one night out’-style party. Heather Burns as the clodpate Miss Rhode Island is a charming trip unto itself and no surprise to see that she would be the blonde. One also wonders if the correlation for Miss California making it so far into the competition is because the same state happens to house the production company’s HQ—in Hollywood.

Directed by Donald Petrie. With Benjamin Bratt, Candice Bergen, Michael Caine, William Shatner, Deirdre Quinn and Ernie Hudson.

Final Verdict: B.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4616&reviewer=172
originally posted: 09/23/01 04:49:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/23/13 Jamie Loved it! Michael Cain, Bill Shatner, Candice Bergen, hillarious! 5 stars
7/23/11 art WACH the PROPOSALfrom 2009,for a better S.BULLOCK VEHICLE! 1 stars
2/20/11 Ark Not great, but cute and entertaining! 4 stars
2/21/10 PAUL SHORTT AMUSING, IF PREDICTABLE COMEDY WITH A LIKEABLE CAST 3 stars
10/08/09 Kay D. This is one of my most favorite movies. Not amazing, but not bad. 4 stars
6/30/09 art LAME! 1 stars
12/06/08 Shaun Wallner Wonderful story. 4 stars
3/28/08 EY World peace! 3 stars
1/26/08 Pamela White Best movie for Sandra she makes such a transformation 5 stars
2/14/07 johnnyfog See this is the reason a lot of us hated Bullock for a long time 3 stars
2/02/07 William Goss Lightweight yet amusing enough to tolerate. Caine helps a great deal. 3 stars
6/01/06 drydock54321 nice refreshing and fun 5 stars
5/31/06 Ashley Hinz Michael Caine is unforgettable. 5 stars
4/04/06 kenzie the greatest ever i watched it over 10 times in 2 days 5 stars
2/02/06 Alyssa Waters A great movie and has gave me the power to be what I want to be! 5 stars
11/15/05 kellie i love sandra bullock shes the bast and he movie 5 stars
8/24/05 tony It was so funny. it was very good. 4 stars
4/10/05 judith anderson story moves well. good acting. VERY funny!! 5 stars
2/05/05 goatfarmer yeah, yeah, yeah, yes! 4 stars
1/10/05 Lucas Stenz A lot of product placements; still cute 2 stars
12/05/04 kayla that movie was funny 5 stars
10/09/04 Casey Great movie! Very Funny! A must see 5 stars
8/17/04 Herolder Fun and entertaining 4 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz I liked it???? 4 stars
7/20/04 godan Wow does Sandra look great here! 4 stars
7/18/04 Jen C. funny and cute! 4 stars
7/17/04 Raymond Lee a vert funny movie 4 stars
7/09/04 Jack Sommersby Wonderfully entertaining. Bullock and Caine shine, and the film is ingratiating. 4 stars
4/24/04 J Entertaining and mildly funny! 4 stars
4/23/04 Andy Schwarz great 5 stars
3/31/04 Dani Barolo fantastic, best movie ive seen 5 stars
12/28/03 Chris Funny, Funny, Funny. Proves again why I love Bullock. 5 stars
11/16/03 John Bale Much depends on Sandra which finally wilts this modest comedy 3 stars
10/16/03 LEGALLY BLONDE Sandra Bulimic again does the cinematic form of barfing on us. 1 stars
10/05/03 Heather Purplethorne Yes, I sure do miss the congeniality that isn't in this movie! 1 stars
7/07/03 R.W. Welch Just gets by until the finale which is something of a hoot. 3 stars
5/20/03 Shadaan Felfeli Bergen looks EVIL right through the film..so much for suspence.Unintelligent yet hillarious 4 stars
3/30/03 HE great 5 stars
3/30/03 Nanc S. I enjoyed it so much, I watched the encore presentation! Anything with Bullock is great!! 5 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby Funny and, yes, heartwarming. Bullock is sensational. Only action parts are lame. 4 stars
1/20/03 Film Liker Outstanding! Fun Movie - that's all that counts! At least Sandra had real WORDS to speak 5 stars
12/21/02 palaboy101 Sandra Bullock was a perfect fit! 4 stars
11/18/02 Chris Walker i love it she is so hot!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/22/02 danielle clooney its really funny 5 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi cool 4 stars
3/19/02 Natalie Stonecipher To make sense of the title, think of "miss" as a verb. 2 stars
3/02/02 Chowie fun 4 stars
1/16/02 jessica i love this moviee 5 stars
1/14/02 Flick Chick hello? 1 stars
11/28/01 Trish Whelan I loved this movie and every other one Sandy did!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 5 stars
11/26/01 Smoogles Lighten up people, it's a funny movie!! 4 stars
11/17/01 The Moorhen Not too bad. Nice to see William "Kirk" Shatner again. Bullock should get a boob job. 4 stars
11/13/01 Bada Bing Crosby Forgotten the minute it was over. Bullock is coasting thru her (AHEM) career 3 stars
11/12/01 Gracy Lionheart Predictable + Boring? A horrible combination present in this poorly written film. 1 stars
11/05/01 CrunchyFrog Sandra Bullock? How'd she make it past the talent portion? Not to mention swimsuit... 2 stars
10/23/01 Tam Some truly funny moments, like Bullock's makeover. Loved the ending. 4 stars
10/17/01 Hum pleasant way to waiste some time 3 stars
10/02/01 Kirk Amusing. 4 stars
9/29/01 Steve Sororis the worse Bullock film ever 2 stars
9/28/01 RK Not worth the ticket. 2 stars
6/23/01 Justin Cheung Totally hilarious! Sandra Bullock does one hell of a job with this movie! 5 stars
6/09/01 Turtle I couldn't stop laughing! Sure it's but predictable, but it's hilarious! 4 stars
6/02/01 Fr Ozarks Sandy's Super! 5 stars
5/15/01 Monday Morning Sandra is a little too precious. She should take her shirt off once in a while. 3 stars
5/10/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Cute satiric take on the Miss America pageants, Bullock reminds me of me...*L* 4 stars
5/07/01 The Bomb 69 predictable but funny nonetheless 4 stars
4/19/01 Tam Loads of fun, challenged the stereotype of the shallow beauty queen 4 stars
4/11/01 Spetters The only reason that i did not fall asleep while watching this was Sandra. 2 stars
4/07/01 Kay wonderful! All Bullock Fans should see this! 4 stars
4/01/01 ~*Co_Co*~ Pretty good, predictable, but funny, Benjamin Bratt was so gorgeous! 4 stars
3/19/01 viking Sandra's best film since "While you were sleeping" 4 stars
3/17/01 fahrbot Absolutely hilarious. I was laughing basically the whole time. 5 stars
2/24/01 Marissa Hilarious 4 stars
2/21/01 Rich It's okay; Sandra carries the film. 3 stars
2/19/01 nick sandra bullock is the hottest 5 stars
2/19/01 Miss. Congeniality Sandra Bullock and the whole cast were AWESOME! 5 stars
2/14/01 whoa!!! whoa!!! 4 stars
2/13/01 Hung Sandra Bullock is so awesome...she did a great job in that movie 5 stars
2/11/01 Monique Sandra Bullock is awesome in the movie, she makes audiences love her 5 stars
2/09/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi It was a cute popcorn movie. I totally dug the "before" Sandra's attitude. >=) 4 stars
2/08/01 WORD_OF_WISDOM sandra's sexy 5 stars
2/02/01 Elladan An action comedy with no action that's not funny. 1 stars
1/29/01 Nic I don't care what anyone else says, this movie was freakin' hilarious! 5 stars
1/28/01 Gavin Moore The perfect date movie. Guys will like it too. 4 stars
1/22/01 Uncommon Sense Cute & entertaining. 5 stars
1/09/01 Kimberly C. This movie was so good and so funny. Sandra can make any movie a good one no matter what. 5 stars
1/07/01 Jenny-My-Fur it is a fun movie, total date movie 4 stars
1/04/01 Lane cool 4 stars
1/04/01 Zavon I loved it. Agood laugh all around.. 4 stars
1/04/01 Richard Schulte all the ditsy models are a great effect 4 stars
1/03/01 Paul Jensen A fun movie 4 stars
12/29/00 Seven Hysterical, light comdey. Sandra is amazing 5 stars
12/25/00 poetchuck All the best parts were shown in the previews 2 stars
12/25/00 Kevin The Movie May not be heavy writing but it made me laugh and in thats a good thing. 4 stars
12/24/00 Carter Light, fun and entertaining! Will see again! 4 stars
12/24/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble A few years ago, wasn't this movie called Miss Firecracker? 3 stars
12/23/00 Qui-Gon The radio station give away night was half empty, half of the audience left 45 minutes into 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Dec-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 15-Mar-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Mar-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast