More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.4

Awesome: 15.12%
Worth A Look: 10.47%
Average: 6.98%
Pretty Bad33.72%
Total Crap33.72%

4 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I Have a Date with Spring by Jay Seaver

Halloween (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

All About Nina by Jay Seaver

Lost, Found by Jay Seaver

Night of the Living Dead (1968) by Rob Gonsalves

Neomanila by Jay Seaver

First Man by Peter Sobczynski

Bad Times At The El Royale by Peter Sobczynski

Being Natural by Jay Seaver

Suspiria (1978) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Wedding Planner, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmnet

"The Wedding Disappointment"
1 stars

The saddest thing about “The Wedding Planner” is the wedding planner herself. Whatever happened to Jennifer Lopez? OK, so she now wears Chanel and goes to the Oscars but her spark has gone. She has been scrubbed so clean by the Hollywood machine that her ability to smell a stinker a mile away has been cauterised.

A romantic comedy should be a romantic comedy – not a bad collection of pointless scenes that are neither funny nor endearing. I am the target audience for a film like this but it almost made me want to remain single forever – just why exactly should I have believe in “true love” or have any empathy for the annoying Mary (Lopez – The Cell, Out of Sight) or the verging-on-unfaithful Steve (McConaughey – A Time to Kill, Contact)?

These characters have none of the charm or the spirit so aptly constructed by classic writers Ruth Gordon and Garson Kanin or directors Howard Hawks and George Cukor. Unknown director, Adam Shankman has great experience as a choreographer, but seems unable to do anything with such a badly contrived script (by Pamela Falk and Michael Ellis).

Despite some elements that Cary Grant could easily turn into gold, this film just can’t pull it together. Lopez chokes on carefully coiffed gloss as the earnest heroine, McConaughey drowns in obvious boredom as the (no doubt unintentionally sleazy) love interest, and the script screams for a good editor.

The only point of interest is Bridgette Wilson-Sampras (yes, wife of Pete), as Fran the bride-to-be, the only one at all comfortable with her part in this disappointing and predictable tale. As a vehicle designed to put Lopez into the same script pool as Sandra, Julia and Meg, I can only urge you to not only wait to see this on video, but to wait until it is a midday movie. Dare I say it, but perhaps even Sandra has a chance of Oscar if this is her competition...--Natasha Wood

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4621&reviewer=169
originally posted: 04/07/01 02:20:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/16/17 Louise AWFUL 'ACTORS', AWFUL FILM! 1 stars
1/05/11 anon I couldn't even make it to the end. This was really horrible, and I normally love romcoms. 1 stars
10/06/10 PAUL SHORTT POOR, FEEBLE AND PREDICTABLE 1 stars
1/14/09 Anonymous. it was ok...clicke, but not horrible. 3 stars
3/02/08 billy she has a big juicy fat ass in this movie wish she would have got it doggy style face down 5 stars
3/02/08 billy she has a big juicy fat ass in this movie wish she would have got it doggy style face down 5 stars
9/01/05 ES Lopez does for movies what Jaws does for a lazy afternoon at the beach 1 stars
4/27/05 Sully even JLO killer ass can't save this horrible movie...absolute rubbish 1 stars
9/20/04 angel I think Jennifer Lopez was absolutely adorable in this move! 4 stars
6/04/04 Daveman Harmless, light as bubbles rom com that won't offend anybody whatsoever. 2 stars
9/09/03 francis unbelievable plot, coupled with a mumbling leading man, and overall lacklustre acting 2 stars
8/09/03 jackie yu It was really cute except the part where she had to break the other guys heart 4 stars
6/26/03 bobo Read my lips- JLO is an untalented spick whos sucked the right cock. end of story. 1 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper This was such a painful experience. After this J-Lo should be limited to MTV only. GAG! 1 stars
4/09/03 Shadaan Felfeli Fulfils the bare essentials of a bearable flick 3 stars
3/19/03 Sophia It was a predictable but good movie 3 stars
2/20/03 Pat Making J-Lo's big ass come to life with two circles pasted on it, would be more entertainin 1 stars
12/31/02 Tam Light, cutesy romance. Loved the joke about the "I Love You" song. 4 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano The size of Jennifer Lopez's ego is exceeded only by the size of her ass in this movie. 2 stars
7/24/02 3j good movie 5 stars
7/06/02 Danielle Ophelia (L'Originale) Like a time warp made of horseshit. Every bit as smelly and farfetched. 1 stars
7/01/02 Jay This movie truly does suck all ass. 1 stars
5/28/02 hilary awesome 5 stars
4/30/02 Cindy Means Jennifer, PLEASE make more like this instead of harpy poop like ANGEL EYES and ENOUGH! 5 stars
2/01/02 Butterbean Surprisingly bad! I was expecting it to be as charming as My Best Friends Wedding 2 stars
11/26/01 Tam Just another romantic comedy, nothing special. Lopez adds charisma though. 3 stars
10/14/01 Dan Chick flick yes, but.... it was still a good movie. 4 stars
10/07/01 Tinkerbell This movie is awesome. Very light and romantic. It's worth seeing and owning. 5 stars
10/02/01 Kirk It was okay. I hated Jennifer Lopez. . . but the rest of it was fine. 4 stars
10/02/01 hilary awesome 5 stars
8/17/01 hilary awesome 5 stars
7/24/01 Monday Morning The best romantic comedy since "Cabin Boy". 2 stars
7/10/01 J I went through it just fine. This movie is a lot better than it looks actually. 4 stars
7/03/01 TLsmooth The shit my penis makes me watch to get some poon-tang is embarrasing. 1 stars
4/15/01 Cher Excellent, loved seeing my mate Jennifer on screen! 5 stars
4/12/01 Jess McConaughey was soooooooooooooooooo cute. it was great! 5 stars
4/11/01 Mikeal Yor "The Wedding Dissapointment",?!?!?! What a stupid headline!!! 1 stars
4/10/01 muneer78 Absolute garbage. There is no chemistry between the lead actors. 1 stars
4/04/01 Kathryn Engemlann I thought it was a wonderful Movie 5 stars
3/12/01 AMBER CHAMBERS I LIVE IN COLLINSVILLE ALABAMA 5 stars
3/09/01 julie cameron suck me! 1 stars
3/09/01 Dave This movie was made for 12-17 year old girls and the boys who endure this crap to get laid 2 stars
3/06/01 cokk and ballz i fukked jenifer lopez nice nice pussy jucy as hell and tight but the movie sukked 1 stars
3/04/01 Spankachu not one of the worst i've seen, but no where near the best 2 stars
2/24/01 Tara I Loved it!! It was AWESOME!! 5 stars
2/16/01 Joseph Roseberg Nothing memorable. The ending is completely implausible. 3 stars
2/12/01 gloria one of the worst movies i have seen. 2 stars
2/12/01 john d(THE DUDE) J-LO needs to get a tit job then do porn 1 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi And people wonder why I hate most chick flicks... 2 stars
2/07/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble I thought I was paying to see THE WEDDING SINGER 1 stars
2/06/01 Philm Phreak An old fashioned romantic comedy. There's a reason they don't make them anymore. 2 stars
2/06/01 Brian Barf..... 1 stars
2/05/01 jon j cute and fluffy, like a kitty cat 4 stars
2/05/01 Ddawg This was a forgettable piece of fluff, but quite entertaining and a good escape. 3 stars
2/04/01 Kevin "J-Lo" sucks ass. Her acting is almost as bad as her singing. 1 stars
1/30/01 Joe JL is famous becuz of a dress. HEL-LO & MM is a putz. 1 stars
1/29/01 Rob Jenifer Lopez sucks at everything, her ass is a better actress 1 stars
1/29/01 Stuntman not even a matinee can save this dud 2 stars
1/29/01 Nic Classic love story! 4 stars
1/28/01 R Kramer Lopez is cute but the dialogue is embarrassing! 1 stars
1/28/01 Not a bimbo Cheating hearts/Empty Souls "A Story WorthTelling"? NOT! 1 stars
1/27/01 Jacob Jones "A skipterifical movie but the wrong cast!" 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Jan-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  29-Mar-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast