More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.4

Awesome: 15.12%
Worth A Look: 10.47%
Average: 6.98%
Pretty Bad33.72%
Total Crap33.72%

4 reviews, 62 user ratings



Wedding Planner, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Going through the motions."
2 stars

The confusingly, similar titled Jennifer Lopez (a/k/a J. Lo) rom-com vehicle that tries to milk and hump off of Adam Sandlerís hit vehicle The Wedding Singer attempts to employ the same formula, only differentiating by upping the amount of estrogen and cutesiness to match Lopezís character.

***************************
The Wedding Planner. The confusingly, similar titled Jennifer Lopez (a/k/a J. Lo) rom-com vehicle that tries to milk and hump off of Adam Sandlerís hit vehicle The Wedding Singer attempts to employ the same formula, only differentiating by upping the amount of estrogen and cutesiness to match Lopezís character. To paraphrase her characterís mottoóthose who canít marry, wed others. And so one day when Her Highness has her Gucci highheel stuck in a sewer top, Matthew McConaughey comes to her rescue before a runaway dumpster can run her over. They seem to have eyes for each other, but once Lopez finds out heís the groom of her newest client, she must remove herself from the situation, although expectedly that isnít going to happen. If you canít handle romantic comedies, than The Wedding Planner will be sickening to the stomach. But if you can tolerate the oh-so-gooey nature of this (amplified far more than Sandlerís antecedent version), all of the cutsy-putsy acronyms and references (i.e., ďN.I.D.Ē = Not into details; or ďThe F.O.B. (father-of-the-bride) is M.I.A.Ē (self-explanatory), etc.), then at least it will be patible. Lopez truly is a joy to watch, very energetic and accessible in the role, but movies like this are a dime-a-dozen, and this is equally as plain and nondescript as the rest. Itís a cold plate of leftovers only partially re-warmed by the microwave. McConaughey isnít the best choice for a male lead in this type of movie, and although he isnít a major detractor, he brings nothing to role either. The Wedding Planner doesnít have the concept of The Wedding Singer kneaded well enough, and itís closer to a helium-filled balloon always in fear of being popped.

Directed by Adam Shankman. With Bridgette Wilson-Sampras, Judy Greer and Fred Willard.

Final Verdict: C.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4621&reviewer=172
originally posted: 10/02/01 11:45:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/16/17 Louise AWFUL 'ACTORS', AWFUL FILM! 1 stars
1/05/11 anon I couldn't even make it to the end. This was really horrible, and I normally love romcoms. 1 stars
10/06/10 PAUL SHORTT POOR, FEEBLE AND PREDICTABLE 1 stars
1/14/09 Anonymous. it was ok...clicke, but not horrible. 3 stars
3/02/08 billy she has a big juicy fat ass in this movie wish she would have got it doggy style face down 5 stars
3/02/08 billy she has a big juicy fat ass in this movie wish she would have got it doggy style face down 5 stars
9/01/05 ES Lopez does for movies what Jaws does for a lazy afternoon at the beach 1 stars
4/27/05 Sully even JLO killer ass can't save this horrible movie...absolute rubbish 1 stars
9/20/04 angel I think Jennifer Lopez was absolutely adorable in this move! 4 stars
6/04/04 Daveman Harmless, light as bubbles rom com that won't offend anybody whatsoever. 2 stars
9/09/03 francis unbelievable plot, coupled with a mumbling leading man, and overall lacklustre acting 2 stars
8/09/03 jackie yu It was really cute except the part where she had to break the other guys heart 4 stars
6/26/03 bobo Read my lips- JLO is an untalented spick whos sucked the right cock. end of story. 1 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper This was such a painful experience. After this J-Lo should be limited to MTV only. GAG! 1 stars
4/09/03 Shadaan Felfeli Fulfils the bare essentials of a bearable flick 3 stars
3/19/03 Sophia It was a predictable but good movie 3 stars
2/20/03 Pat Making J-Lo's big ass come to life with two circles pasted on it, would be more entertainin 1 stars
12/31/02 Tam Light, cutesy romance. Loved the joke about the "I Love You" song. 4 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano The size of Jennifer Lopez's ego is exceeded only by the size of her ass in this movie. 2 stars
7/24/02 3j good movie 5 stars
7/06/02 Danielle Ophelia (L'Originale) Like a time warp made of horseshit. Every bit as smelly and farfetched. 1 stars
7/01/02 Jay This movie truly does suck all ass. 1 stars
5/28/02 hilary awesome 5 stars
4/30/02 Cindy Means Jennifer, PLEASE make more like this instead of harpy poop like ANGEL EYES and ENOUGH! 5 stars
2/01/02 Butterbean Surprisingly bad! I was expecting it to be as charming as My Best Friends Wedding 2 stars
11/26/01 Tam Just another romantic comedy, nothing special. Lopez adds charisma though. 3 stars
10/14/01 Dan Chick flick yes, but.... it was still a good movie. 4 stars
10/07/01 Tinkerbell This movie is awesome. Very light and romantic. It's worth seeing and owning. 5 stars
10/02/01 Kirk It was okay. I hated Jennifer Lopez. . . but the rest of it was fine. 4 stars
10/02/01 hilary awesome 5 stars
8/17/01 hilary awesome 5 stars
7/24/01 Monday Morning The best romantic comedy since "Cabin Boy". 2 stars
7/10/01 J I went through it just fine. This movie is a lot better than it looks actually. 4 stars
7/03/01 TLsmooth The shit my penis makes me watch to get some poon-tang is embarrasing. 1 stars
4/15/01 Cher Excellent, loved seeing my mate Jennifer on screen! 5 stars
4/12/01 Jess McConaughey was soooooooooooooooooo cute. it was great! 5 stars
4/11/01 Mikeal Yor "The Wedding Dissapointment",?!?!?! What a stupid headline!!! 1 stars
4/10/01 muneer78 Absolute garbage. There is no chemistry between the lead actors. 1 stars
4/04/01 Kathryn Engemlann I thought it was a wonderful Movie 5 stars
3/12/01 AMBER CHAMBERS I LIVE IN COLLINSVILLE ALABAMA 5 stars
3/09/01 julie cameron suck me! 1 stars
3/09/01 Dave This movie was made for 12-17 year old girls and the boys who endure this crap to get laid 2 stars
3/06/01 cokk and ballz i fukked jenifer lopez nice nice pussy jucy as hell and tight but the movie sukked 1 stars
3/04/01 Spankachu not one of the worst i've seen, but no where near the best 2 stars
2/24/01 Tara I Loved it!! It was AWESOME!! 5 stars
2/16/01 Joseph Roseberg Nothing memorable. The ending is completely implausible. 3 stars
2/12/01 gloria one of the worst movies i have seen. 2 stars
2/12/01 john d(THE DUDE) J-LO needs to get a tit job then do porn 1 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi And people wonder why I hate most chick flicks... 2 stars
2/07/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble I thought I was paying to see THE WEDDING SINGER 1 stars
2/06/01 Philm Phreak An old fashioned romantic comedy. There's a reason they don't make them anymore. 2 stars
2/06/01 Brian Barf..... 1 stars
2/05/01 jon j cute and fluffy, like a kitty cat 4 stars
2/05/01 Ddawg This was a forgettable piece of fluff, but quite entertaining and a good escape. 3 stars
2/04/01 Kevin "J-Lo" sucks ass. Her acting is almost as bad as her singing. 1 stars
1/30/01 Joe JL is famous becuz of a dress. HEL-LO & MM is a putz. 1 stars
1/29/01 Rob Jenifer Lopez sucks at everything, her ass is a better actress 1 stars
1/29/01 Stuntman not even a matinee can save this dud 2 stars
1/29/01 Nic Classic love story! 4 stars
1/28/01 R Kramer Lopez is cute but the dialogue is embarrassing! 1 stars
1/28/01 Not a bimbo Cheating hearts/Empty Souls "A Story WorthTelling"? NOT! 1 stars
1/27/01 Jacob Jones "A skipterifical movie but the wrong cast!" 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Jan-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  29-Mar-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast