More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.13

Awesome27.35%
Worth A Look: 16.24%
Average: 16.24%
Pretty Bad: 22.22%
Total Crap: 17.95%

7 reviews, 75 user ratings


Latest Reviews

My Beloved Bodyguard (aka The Bodyguard) by Jay Seaver

Get Out by Peter Sobczynski

Great Wall, The by Jay Seaver

Cook Up a Storm by Jay Seaver

XX by Peter Sobczynski

John Wick: Chapter Two by Greg Ursic

La La Land by Rob Gonsalves

Arrival by Rob Gonsalves

Duckweed by Jay Seaver

Safe Neighborhood by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Josie and the Pussycats
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ophelia13

"It's about time the real stars of Archie comics got their say."
2 stars

In time, all movies will be held to a high standard of intelligence, satire, and just plain good times. They will be tales of hypocritical businessmen and the mindless drones that control the American economy. They will tell of ways to overcome such trash and travesty, and all the world will open its eyes to the wonders of individuality.

Someday, this will be reality. Or so I like to think, as I sit listening to passionate musicians with all their indie cred and reading up on all the latest political causes.
I like to imagine that I'm one of the original people of the world, because I have the guts to say that I do know what's going on, and I'm still not going to do anything about it.
Unfortunately, that makes me entirely too much like Josie and The Pussycats, which seems to think that covering Iggy Pop's Wild Child and dressing like a clean cut punk are enough to make it worth everyone's while.
Josie, you see, is a brilliant musician, struggling to make it with her friends in Riverdale, USA. The band is the Pussycats, and the music? Well, the music is supposedly fairly hardcore. Josie (Rachel Leigh Cook), Melody (Tara Reid) and Valerie (Rosario Dawson) spend their time making lovable little neopunk sounds, declaring everlasting friendship, and sneering ever so delicately and the procured music of the hottest Boy Band of the moment.
The boys of that boy band, DuJour (or some other trashy phrase for "talentless") have a song called Backdoor Lover (which aside from all of the Pussy jokes, provided much of the only amusement of this waste of film). But wait! They happen to be on to a devious plot by the Nations biggest record company to make all the world dress alike and talk alike and act alike.
It's dastardly, sure; the Earth would no doubt be taken up by folks like this if we didn't have movies to tell us what was happening.
The movie tries to be too clever for it's own good, attempting satire in a format set up to appeal to the audience of Blue's Clues. It really wants to make fun of the industry and itself, and it tries so very hard to keep the absurdity within its own capabilities. Like so many bad ideas, though, Josie just manages to stab itself with its own hypocritical bias and it's penchant for product placement (there are those that claim the products were there to prove a point, but it was advertising nonetheless).
The idea was not a good one. But it tries, and our heroines really do their best with the material at hand. Reid spends much of her time trying to mug as stupidly as possible, and Dawson has a very Bitch-don't-you-mess-with-me look as they stumble through the movie. It's sort of endearing.

As the actors wade through the cardboard sets and try and prove that it's best just to be yourself, the movie's heavy handed pretend metaphor for life proves just one thing--Josie and The Pussycats should have stayed in the 70's, rocking out in outer space.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4628&reviewer=130
originally posted: 04/23/01 15:46:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

12/17/07 SylviaP this was terribly good, and rosario dawson was soooo hot in it! 5 stars
7/11/07 Tiffany Losco I loved it. I am a big archie comics fan, and love josie and the pussycats. 4 stars
7/11/07 Tati oh my gawd! this movie is CRAP! dont even watch it, u'll be wastong ur time 1 stars
6/20/07 Amy best i've eber seen 5 stars
2/23/07 David Pollastrini All the women in this film are hot! 3 stars
5/22/06 micaja this movie is the best movie i have ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it's funny,romantic,good music 5 stars
6/05/05 Ubu the Ripper Horrid horrid scheiss. Not even enjoyable if you are paid to watch it. 1 stars
2/02/05 Jeff Anderson THIS FILM IS PUTRID GARBAGE & SHOULD BE BURNED AT THE STAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
1/27/05 PR Serious Shite. Even RLC could not save it 1 stars
9/20/04 Jessica look past all the teen marketing and you see a fairly fresh funny movie 4 stars
7/27/04 mel valentine omg this is like the best movie of all time ok don't nobody dare trash it. that's wiggedy 5 stars
7/02/04 Sora Its GREAT!!! 5 stars
6/17/04 Sarah I like the OBVIOUS sarcasm of the adverisments.... such as the target one in the very begin 3 stars
5/24/04 Butterbean Rather see this than Scooby Doo. Music sucks, but a clever plot! 4 stars
5/20/04 Akisame15 EXCELLENT!!! 5 stars
4/29/04 sarah nobody should waste any money on that film. Totaly a waste of time. 1 stars
4/12/04 Gray waste of film 1 stars
3/10/04 Rachel Furey Best movie in the world! 5 stars
3/08/04 tats nice band... 5 stars
3/06/04 Ashleigh-jane McLauchlan Hassll Grove 5 stars
3/04/04 tinka great 4 stars
12/31/03 HELLOWEEN nah...pretty crappy if you ask me. Too boring 2 stars
12/06/03 lilcutie a great film 5 stars
9/02/03 Jenna* I luved the movie so much i bought it! 5 stars
8/26/03 I Would Clever satire that suffer's from a predictable plot. 3 stars
8/07/03 tp the satire's pretty obvious, but clearly over some people's heads 4 stars
6/23/03 John Aster Habig it's actually quite funny teen pop muzak and subliminal messages by nature are funny 4 stars
6/12/03 Rach Parker its a great film, its ment to be a mick-take not as a serious feel good teenage film! 5 stars
5/19/03 C-dog toomany ads 2 stars
4/15/03 reptilesni What the fuck was that? Is there a no stars option here? 1 stars
3/17/03 Jake Makes the Misadventures Of Jason Vorhees Look Like Shakesphere 1 stars
2/02/03 Lord David Completely awesome - makes a case for individuality over mindless mass marketing 5 stars
1/11/03 sdjfsdkjf when the simpsons did the whole subliminal msgs thing, it was funny. Josie and co aint. 1 stars
12/24/02 vanessa itz a wicked movie, get ova it 5 stars
11/10/02 Charlotte Loved it. Seth Green is sooo hot. 5 stars
10/10/02 Mark Tara Reid is sooo sexy I want her to marry me even though I'm only thirteen this film rules 5 stars
9/16/02 mia i loved the movie. it was fun to watch. 5 stars
9/02/02 Akasha i luv it - seth green is sexy 5 stars
6/28/02 Kyle Painfully unfunny, every single joke except 1 falls flat, which wasn't that funny. 1 stars
5/15/02 Kakararaniniginjia Sinitraviwasanjofraz Byv mukh DIN prejkh wanwuvh Tara Reid; Dudou vaugjimh prvecch ku Rachel Leigh Cooke tuvh tu 2 stars
4/30/02 hilary Tara Reid is hilarios (AWESOME) 5 stars
4/30/02 hilary Tara Reid is hilarious (AWESOME) 5 stars
3/30/02 Hennec The characters and plot are just as two-dimensional as the comics they came from. 2 stars
3/12/02 attheback not even the people who see this movie or the people who made it will evr understand it 5 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Movies like these are the work of the gov't to invoke mass suicide and solve overpopulation 1 stars
2/12/02 Yesenia Its was hot!! 5 stars
1/20/02 Nexus6 Fun but painfully self concious, Rachael's a babe 3 stars
1/20/02 Spyguy2 Couple of good rips at the lame state of MTV sanctioned music and the dupes that listen in 3 stars
1/07/02 Stephanie good music very different from other movies 5 stars
11/23/01 Will Diamond No good. 2 stars
10/23/01 Canuck Campy, but terribly funny... worth it for the laughs. 5 stars
10/14/01 Gia Carangi It was way the hell better than Zoolander! 4 stars
10/08/01 josie I think it was a good film 4 stars
10/06/01 Amy Like cotton candy, empty but fun 3 stars
9/18/01 Bri lame 2 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean Goofy and fun! 4 stars
8/29/01 Matthew Bartley Surreal...but funny 4 stars
8/17/01 hilary worth a look 4 stars
7/03/01 luana this movie sucked 1 stars
7/01/01 aaron the movie was crap but the chicks were hot there the only reason id go see it again 3 stars
6/23/01 King of the Bros I'd do a review, but the subliminal messages told me not too. 5 stars
6/21/01 Ryan Phillippe gets hit by a car and it rules! Matt Mulcahey is insane, screw respectability, this movie rules. 5 stars
6/15/01 Breno bloody funny 5 stars
5/16/01 hania its puuuurrrfffeeeeccttt 5 stars
5/07/01 ric the inarticulate,weak and pathetic melody was ditzy&insanely sexy but not dumb..loved the songs,esp.th'bass lines 5 stars
4/26/01 Harlarla Nelly hey...it was entertaining...isnt that what is was suppose to be?? 5 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) This is the only beginning of the defaming of classic cartoons. The worst is yet to come.. 2 stars
4/23/01 siro This movie would be a total piece of shit if it wasn't for the hot chicks distracting you 2 stars
4/18/01 Darren Shea Much better than expected: Nice eye candy, decent music, and Alan Cummings is fun 4 stars
4/17/01 himanshu sexy girl's 1 stars
4/16/01 your pussycat KICKASS MOVIE~ the girls were awesome!!!!!1 5 stars
4/15/01 Mike Tara Reid always looks like a cheap crack hoe with that hacking voice 1 stars
4/15/01 Senior Choad Horrible. Plays to 13 year olds or those with IQs under 70 1 stars
4/12/01 tjwills Better than I could have hoped for. Some great satiric bits. 4 stars
4/08/01 Punk Rock Prom King Kickass amazing movie! Such great music, esp. "3 Small Words". Wish I was in a band...=^) 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  30-Jun-2001




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2016, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast