More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.13

Awesome27.35%
Worth A Look: 16.24%
Average: 16.24%
Pretty Bad: 22.22%
Total Crap: 17.95%

7 reviews, 75 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Josie and the Pussycats
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Come on, you KNOW you've been wanting a Josie movie! (OK, no you haven't.)"
2 stars

To the people who keep making movies based on cheesy old TV shows: If you’re going to persist in this, despite the fact that 95 percent of them are box-office failures, could you at least come up with a good script? Is that too much to ask?

Someone wants to make a movie out of the old comic book and cartoon series “Josie and the Pussycats”? Fine. I mean, no one remembers it, and if they do it’s not with any great degree of fondness. But still, a good movie is a good movie, regardless of its source material.

But “Josie and the Pussycats” is not a good movie. Writer/directors Deborah Kaplan and Harry Elfont apparently realized they couldn’t get by on nostalgia alone (since there’s not any) and that the film would need a satiric plot and self-aware attitude. So they put in some jokes like that and diddled around like imbeciles the rest of the time.

It begins quite well, actually, with a new boy band called DuJour (featuring an uncredited Seth Green) at the top of the pop charts. When they begin to realize there’s something fishy about their fey British manager Wyatt Frame (Alan Cumming), he causes their plane to crash. (”Take the Chevy to the levy,” he tells the pilot, in one of the film’s few smart references.) Frame promises Mega Records C.E.O. Fiona (Parker Posey, in full Glenn-Close-as-Cruella-DeVil campiness) that he’ll have a new No. 1 band for her by morning.

He finds himself in Riverdale, U.S.A., home to would-be rock girls The Pussycats: lead singer Josie (Rachael Leigh Cook), skeptical bass player Valerie (Rosario Dawson) and dumb blond drummer Melody (Tara Reid). Without even hearing them, Frame signs them to a recording contract and within a week — before they’ve even played a real gig — they’re the new sensation.

It’s all part of a master plan that Fiona has concocted with help from the U.S. government. In order to subdue and manipulate teens, subliminal messages are put on CDs. The messages not only guarantee the band’s success, but also dictate what trends, fashions and slang terms will be popular.

The musicians, of course, are mere pawns in the operation. The Pussycats have no idea what’s going on. All they know is that Wyatt is trying to shift the focus to Josie specifically and bump the other two band members out of the picture.

The boy-band satire is fairly sharp (Du Jour’s hit song is called “Back-Door Lover”), but sadly short-lived. Some of the teen-culture parody is nice, too — a girl shrieks, “If I don’t buy this CD, everyone’s going to hate me!” — but again, not enough of it. The product-placement is so rampant and obvious it must be a joke, but no punch line is given.

Instead, a lot of time is spent on Josie’s irrelevant almost-romance with local boy Alan M. (Gabriel Mann). Her sleazy manager Alexander (Paulo Costanzo) and his sister Alexandra (Missi Pyle) also hang around, only because they were in the original comic book and TV cartoon, too.

With no nostalgia to draw people in, and no compelling humor, characters or situations to keep them there, how can the film succeed? Only via marketing, which may actually be a force to be reckoned with here. The MTV crowd is being targeted directly, and that network’s lead goon Carson Daly has an amusing cameo. So just like the fictitious bands featured in the movie, the movie itself might become a success because of hype and commercialism, and not because of quality.

It’s the kind of irony the movie could have used more of.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4628&reviewer=247
originally posted: 06/22/01 06:34:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

12/17/07 SylviaP this was terribly good, and rosario dawson was soooo hot in it! 5 stars
7/11/07 Tiffany Losco I loved it. I am a big archie comics fan, and love josie and the pussycats. 4 stars
7/11/07 Tati oh my gawd! this movie is CRAP! dont even watch it, u'll be wastong ur time 1 stars
6/20/07 Amy best i've eber seen 5 stars
2/23/07 David Pollastrini All the women in this film are hot! 3 stars
5/22/06 micaja this movie is the best movie i have ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it's funny,romantic,good music 5 stars
6/05/05 Ubu the Ripper Horrid horrid scheiss. Not even enjoyable if you are paid to watch it. 1 stars
2/02/05 Jeff Anderson THIS FILM IS PUTRID GARBAGE & SHOULD BE BURNED AT THE STAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
1/27/05 PR Serious Shite. Even RLC could not save it 1 stars
9/20/04 Jessica look past all the teen marketing and you see a fairly fresh funny movie 4 stars
7/27/04 mel valentine omg this is like the best movie of all time ok don't nobody dare trash it. that's wiggedy 5 stars
7/02/04 Sora Its GREAT!!! 5 stars
6/17/04 Sarah I like the OBVIOUS sarcasm of the adverisments.... such as the target one in the very begin 3 stars
5/24/04 Butterbean Rather see this than Scooby Doo. Music sucks, but a clever plot! 4 stars
5/20/04 Akisame15 EXCELLENT!!! 5 stars
4/29/04 sarah nobody should waste any money on that film. Totaly a waste of time. 1 stars
4/12/04 Gray waste of film 1 stars
3/10/04 Rachel Furey Best movie in the world! 5 stars
3/08/04 tats nice band... 5 stars
3/06/04 Ashleigh-jane McLauchlan Hassll Grove 5 stars
3/04/04 tinka great 4 stars
12/31/03 HELLOWEEN nah...pretty crappy if you ask me. Too boring 2 stars
12/06/03 lilcutie a great film 5 stars
9/02/03 Jenna* I luved the movie so much i bought it! 5 stars
8/26/03 I Would Clever satire that suffer's from a predictable plot. 3 stars
8/07/03 tp the satire's pretty obvious, but clearly over some people's heads 4 stars
6/23/03 John Aster Habig it's actually quite funny teen pop muzak and subliminal messages by nature are funny 4 stars
6/12/03 Rach Parker its a great film, its ment to be a mick-take not as a serious feel good teenage film! 5 stars
5/19/03 C-dog toomany ads 2 stars
4/15/03 reptilesni What the fuck was that? Is there a no stars option here? 1 stars
3/17/03 Jake Makes the Misadventures Of Jason Vorhees Look Like Shakesphere 1 stars
2/02/03 Lord David Completely awesome - makes a case for individuality over mindless mass marketing 5 stars
1/11/03 sdjfsdkjf when the simpsons did the whole subliminal msgs thing, it was funny. Josie and co aint. 1 stars
12/24/02 vanessa itz a wicked movie, get ova it 5 stars
11/10/02 Charlotte Loved it. Seth Green is sooo hot. 5 stars
10/10/02 Mark Tara Reid is sooo sexy I want her to marry me even though I'm only thirteen this film rules 5 stars
9/16/02 mia i loved the movie. it was fun to watch. 5 stars
9/02/02 Akasha i luv it - seth green is sexy 5 stars
6/28/02 Kyle Painfully unfunny, every single joke except 1 falls flat, which wasn't that funny. 1 stars
5/15/02 Kakararaniniginjia Sinitraviwasanjofraz Byv mukh DIN prejkh wanwuvh Tara Reid; Dudou vaugjimh prvecch ku Rachel Leigh Cooke tuvh tu 2 stars
4/30/02 hilary Tara Reid is hilarios (AWESOME) 5 stars
4/30/02 hilary Tara Reid is hilarious (AWESOME) 5 stars
3/30/02 Hennec The characters and plot are just as two-dimensional as the comics they came from. 2 stars
3/12/02 attheback not even the people who see this movie or the people who made it will evr understand it 5 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Movies like these are the work of the gov't to invoke mass suicide and solve overpopulation 1 stars
2/12/02 Yesenia Its was hot!! 5 stars
1/20/02 Nexus6 Fun but painfully self concious, Rachael's a babe 3 stars
1/20/02 Spyguy2 Couple of good rips at the lame state of MTV sanctioned music and the dupes that listen in 3 stars
1/07/02 Stephanie good music very different from other movies 5 stars
11/23/01 Will Diamond No good. 2 stars
10/23/01 Canuck Campy, but terribly funny... worth it for the laughs. 5 stars
10/14/01 Gia Carangi It was way the hell better than Zoolander! 4 stars
10/08/01 josie I think it was a good film 4 stars
10/06/01 Amy Like cotton candy, empty but fun 3 stars
9/18/01 Bri lame 2 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean Goofy and fun! 4 stars
8/29/01 Matthew Bartley Surreal...but funny 4 stars
8/17/01 hilary worth a look 4 stars
7/03/01 luana this movie sucked 1 stars
7/01/01 aaron the movie was crap but the chicks were hot there the only reason id go see it again 3 stars
6/23/01 King of the Bros I'd do a review, but the subliminal messages told me not too. 5 stars
6/21/01 Ryan Phillippe gets hit by a car and it rules! Matt Mulcahey is insane, screw respectability, this movie rules. 5 stars
6/15/01 Breno bloody funny 5 stars
5/16/01 hania its puuuurrrfffeeeeccttt 5 stars
5/07/01 ric the inarticulate,weak and pathetic melody was ditzy&insanely sexy but not dumb..loved the songs,esp.th'bass lines 5 stars
4/26/01 Harlarla Nelly hey...it was entertaining...isnt that what is was suppose to be?? 5 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) This is the only beginning of the defaming of classic cartoons. The worst is yet to come.. 2 stars
4/23/01 siro This movie would be a total piece of shit if it wasn't for the hot chicks distracting you 2 stars
4/18/01 Darren Shea Much better than expected: Nice eye candy, decent music, and Alan Cummings is fun 4 stars
4/17/01 himanshu sexy girl's 1 stars
4/16/01 your pussycat KICKASS MOVIE~ the girls were awesome!!!!!1 5 stars
4/15/01 Mike Tara Reid always looks like a cheap crack hoe with that hacking voice 1 stars
4/15/01 Senior Choad Horrible. Plays to 13 year olds or those with IQs under 70 1 stars
4/12/01 tjwills Better than I could have hoped for. Some great satiric bits. 4 stars
4/08/01 Punk Rock Prom King Kickass amazing movie! Such great music, esp. "3 Small Words". Wish I was in a band...=^) 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  30-Jun-2001




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast