More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.52

Awesome39.59%
Worth A Look: 18.37%
Average: 11.84%
Pretty Bad: 15.1%
Total Crap: 15.1%

7 reviews, 203 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Fast and the Furious, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"Pretty cars, Pretty people, Pretty lame, and Pretty long"
2 stars

In the wake of "Gone in 60 seconds" and "Driven" comes another big dumb car film, a B-movie made on an A-movie budget. That the budget was all poured into the cars, rather than the casting, is readily apparent from the lack of any recognizable stars. However, this may actually be one of the films few strengths.

Why is it that, no matter how many big name stars or millions of dollars they throw at it, nobody can make a semi-intelligent and truly exciting car flick? But then, think about every guy you've ever met who is completely into cars and talks about them non-stop - and ask yourself how intelligent or exciting they really were after about 15 minutes. This movie is made for that guy and all his brethern, but it just manages to be exciting enough, and provide enough eye candy, to keep the rest of us hanging on for the full two hours - though barely.

In the glamorous world of illegal street racing, a few bad apples are hijacking trucks full of DVD players and such, using the ridiculous combination of Blue Angels-like precision driving and, get this, a harpoon gun.

Enter Brian Spindler (played by Chris O'donell lookalike and Keanu Reeves sound-alike Paul Walker), an auto parts store employee with big dreams of winning cash and respect in the underground racing scene. Brian is chasing after Mia (Jordana Brewster), who just happens to be the sister of Dominic "Dom" Toretto (Vin Diesel). Subsequently, Brian and Dom end up being friends, racing and wrecking a lot of cars along the way and getting mixed up with an asian gang led by Johnny Tran (Rick Yune). The result is a lot of driving, shooting, fighting, and Vin Diesel yelling. The rest of the story is painfully predictable and follows the formula of "Point Break", i.e. cop infiltrates gang, cop befriends gang leader, cop lets friendship cloud professional judgement, etc.

Thankfully, not much time is actually spent in character or plot development (which, in this case, would be a waste of time). Instead, we get treated to a lot of fast car chases and a plenty of hot women in tight, sexy clothes, Jordanna Brewster and Michelle Rodriguez leading the pack (as Dom's sister and sometime-girlfriend, respectively). Vin Diesel, who is rapidly gaining a cult following with only a few films under his belt, delivers the only worthwhile performance, while the balding Ted Levine, going for a distintly Billy Bob Thornton look here, is almost unrecognizable and easily lost in the shuffle.

While there are some moments of humor and excitement, the whole thing just doesn't live up to its name. It isn't all that furious, and it certainly doesn't go by fast enough. The racing/chasing scenes can be fairly exciting, but really, how long can you watch that without getting bored? About as long as you can talk to the car aficionado at a cocktail party before you're making excuses to head for the can.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4635&reviewer=258
originally posted: 06/25/01 07:33:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

5/18/11 Phineas That's right, The Mascara Snake - Fast and Fyuuurious. 1 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner Vin Diesel is Awesome!! 5 stars
7/20/07 Thomas Kiolbassa Who the hell is this other Thomas Kiolbassa? 2 stars
7/04/07 Charles Tatum Obnoxious and cartoon-like 2 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK If cars could think, this film wouldn't have any cos they'd refuse the part 1 stars
11/14/06 MUSTAFA MUNIER AHMED I LIKE FAST AND THE FURIOUS ON DVDS 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Pay your $9 for 90 minutes of fractions of car commercials. refund please! 1 stars
3/12/06 Chris Days Of Thunder this sure as hell ain't, TOTAL AND UTTER SHIT!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
2/27/06 Anthony Feor A great one 4 stars
12/23/05 cody a cool action race car movie with decent story and cool looking babes,vinand paul are cool 4 stars
11/01/05 matt cheney great really shows the street racing scene well 5 stars
8/21/05 tony It was very good. But it still was missing the thing called A PLOT! 4 stars
8/20/05 Monster W. Kung The perfect movie, if you are an idiot. 1 stars
8/12/05 ES its bad 1 stars
6/08/05 elishia its bad 5 stars
5/03/05 Saddam Hussain SHITE!!! 1 stars
2/02/05 dustin luther this was one of the best movies that i have ever saw in my whole life 3 stars
12/18/04 kirsty fairclough loved all of em vindeisel no1 can beat im hes hard,sexy andstrong hes the best driver 5 stars
11/16/04 Stefan Halka The only film I have seen where I wanted my money back. 3 stars
9/10/04 bin ladan it stunk on ice 1 stars
8/16/04 ALDO Nice girls...nice cars......SHIT STORY 2 stars
7/30/04 RomaN Walker hot?? pFFFttt Vin takes em hands down! sik movie! 5 stars
7/29/04 paolo enea I watched this movie after reading EFC critic, I was very disappointed 2 stars
6/14/04 Daveman So entertaining and stylish that it's shallowness is something to celebrate. 3 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Would be total crap except it has some cool cars. Gone in 60 seconds was better 2 stars
5/24/04 Nikki I loved this movie, Paul Walker is such a hottie in it!!! 5 stars
5/18/04 chica Good Story Line... way better than the second 5 stars
5/17/04 matty the cars were cool 5 stars
4/10/04 David Strawderman JR it was cool 5 stars
3/13/04 kym i loved paul walker in it major hottie 5 stars
2/25/04 john is you aompare it to GONE IN 60 SECONDS it's good - if you compare it to BULLIT it's bad 3 stars
2/21/04 Monster W. Kung It was supposed to be entertaining but it's just fucking garbage! 1 stars
2/11/04 Sonia Vin Diesel is soooooooooo hot he made this movie happen 5 stars
2/07/04 Lar 15 I thought that this movie was great,thrilling,and exciting.It had an awesome cast!Loved it! 5 stars
2/06/04 c.r A good movie, vin and paul walker rock! 4 stars
12/12/03 Samuel This was good, but the 2nd sucked ass!! 5 stars
12/04/03 Jim Sanders It is the best movie ever made 5 stars
11/28/03 Della(MissyReMay) It was off the chain.It made u feel like u were really there,It was real,so go see it 5 stars
11/16/03 matt jo it was good 5 stars
10/26/03 jack botyh of the movies are great and everyone who disagrees are f***** up wheres the 10th star 5 stars
10/22/03 Ray Lamborghini the cars were sweet, they made the movie! 5 stars
10/22/03 christopher clinch This movie is really really cool!!!!!! 5 stars
8/22/03 Gray fun chase's but low morality and reality about in this shit flick 2 stars
8/15/03 Plinkis100 This is a KICK ASS MOVIE!!! Who ever says it sucks, they can suck balls. 5 stars
8/11/03 VinFan Not even diesel can save this movie. 2 stars
7/14/03 Kia Ora I've seen better film on teeth. What a crap fest! 1 stars
7/01/03 Lush Thankfully, there's a lot of style to make up for the serious lack of substance. 3 stars
6/25/03 miss moviez k vin and those cars....HOLY SHIT!! if u havent seen it see it now! guarunteed "O" haha!! 5 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'Fos!) Shallow, a little formulaic, soundtrack gets annoying, but GREAT ACTION. 4 stars
5/16/03 Piz Hey if you're gonna give me bad acting, at least give me more action 2 stars
5/15/03 Tom Fleeman Fast cars, beautiful ladies, and a bitchin soundtrack make it a great time! 5 stars
4/22/03 Eloise Would have been good as a music video...?? not enough script/acting talent for a whole film 2 stars
4/10/03 Jack Bourbon When I got into my Taurus and unwittingly tore out of the parking lot, I knew Fast was good 4 stars
4/09/03 Matt Thiel If you like cars and chase scenes, this movie is worth a rental. I repeat: A RENTAL! 3 stars
3/21/03 Jeremy Mccloud It was so cool all the cars and every girl 5 stars
3/12/03 Plimmer watch it if you like Cars 4 stars
3/12/03 Em well i was kinda ok but those women! Whoa! weirdo-crazy-lesbians!!!! hmmmm...i'd say CRAP! 1 stars
3/12/03 Priyanka I think this movie rocks but should have more to the ending 4 stars
3/10/03 P. Walker I really love this movie! 5 stars
2/27/03 RAIN BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/22/03 Meagan Garrett It's my favorite movie ever!!!! 5 stars
1/22/03 Climhazzard Yep... I fucking HATE rice-boys 1 stars
1/19/03 Pete God help me my IQ has slipped below 80! I'm officially retarded. Damn you Rob Cohen and co! 1 stars
12/18/02 N/A I loved the movie 5 stars
12/09/02 gromm Pathetic excuse for a plot. Nothing but porno for car freaks. 1 stars
11/23/02 freak gotta luv it!!!!!! 5 stars
11/20/02 Casey hey tad shuv it 5 stars
11/15/02 richie giga i know every line in the movie 5 stars
11/05/02 lykopis Vin Diesel is SOOOOOO sexy!!!! 5 stars
10/29/02 JENNY THOMPSON THE MOVIE WAS AWESOME 5 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano The "protagonist" still needs to be accompanied by an adult while driving. 2 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 Gone In 60 Seconds was much, much better. It was a good try though, Vin. 3 stars
10/26/02 Mark Bachiller Vin Diesel for President! 5 stars
10/22/02 the Grinch See this if you're of H.S. age/mentality...your Parents' insurance companies will love you! 2 stars
10/15/02 Joana plot? You don't need it. You've got cars instead 4 stars
10/09/02 Stefan Halka If people love this film then there I.Q. MUSt not be higher than 50. Really shitty script! 2 stars
10/07/02 Warlock fucking great, beste film aller tijden 5 stars
10/07/02 Butterbean Diesel makes it watchable. Otherwise, who gives a shit about racing cars. 3 stars
9/27/02 John McNew Stupid, stupid, stupid, stupid! STUPID...and relentlessly entertaining! A guilty pleasure 4 stars
9/11/02 jensen this movie is fucking awesome fuck you nicole 5 stars
9/01/02 Robbie Banfitch Wow, how much cliche and crappy car chases can you fit into one piece of shit? 1 stars
8/28/02 Hessian Can we all say "Point Break" with cars? Unoriginal, but entertaining none the less. 4 stars
8/19/02 kooler The most homoerotic film I've ever seen 4 stars
8/19/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) THE BEST ACTION MOVIE EVER!!!!! 5 stars
8/12/02 Nicole This movie SUCKS! 1 stars
8/12/02 Massive Johnson People that like this movie should be rounded up and shot. 1 stars
8/03/02 Sardukar77 The absolute dumbest movie I have EVER seen 1 stars
7/31/02 I Can't Swim Garbage, stinks from the beginning to end 1 stars
7/28/02 Skid The "tricked-out" Japanese economy cars were so pathetic it was hilarious. 4 stars
7/25/02 Ando This was an awesome movie and i loved the supra , and the nissan skyline, choice movie 5 stars
7/21/02 One Eyed Jack I'm fucking sick of the rice clones this movie spawned. 1 stars
7/16/02 Daniel Gill A Smashing film fellas! 5 stars
7/05/02 KMG Good solid popcorn flick if nothing else 4 stars
6/07/02 Interrog8 This movie sucked!!! This movie was made only for people who enjoy cheap, worthless action 1 stars
5/26/02 Kayla I think that movie rocks!!!!! The first time I got it... I watched it 8 time is a row! 5 stars
5/23/02 Piz I can deal with bad acting, but where's the action? Boring and silly. 2 stars
5/21/02 Anne R. Key A Racing movie that is really the pits. 1 stars
5/12/02 Kelly Best Car Movie 5 stars
4/20/02 Priit good lord 5 stars
4/17/02 Greg Jenkins A real good movie 5 stars
4/10/02 francis I liked it 5 stars
4/07/02 Im special I will never EVER get sick of this movie!!!!!!!! Johnny Strong is a sexy man!!! 5 stars
4/03/02 girl bad acting, no plot 1 stars
4/01/02 Joe Schulz Jordana Brewster is Hot as hell 4 stars
3/31/02 Film Dude ThE fast anD the furIOUS 1 stars
3/31/02 Film Guy Kick ass movie 4 stars
3/31/02 cheryl it was amazing!!! 5 stars
3/31/02 Weedle Awful, Just Awful 1 stars
3/29/02 Dave It was Point Break with cars instead of surf boards. Down to every last detail. 2 stars
3/26/02 betty young yeah!!! fast cars and hot boys!!!! 5 stars
3/12/02 Keith Mertens Oh, hell yes. There needs to be a Fast and the Furious II 5 stars
3/04/02 Reece Chapman this would have to be the best movie that I've ever seen 5 stars
2/28/02 walter anderson oh fuck yeah! 5 stars
2/22/02 luda hoe if there weren't hot girls and cool cars, how many people would like this movie? 0 3 stars
2/21/02 sweet_angel FUCKING BANGING 5 stars
2/18/02 The Bomb 69 well made, interesting look at street racing 4 stars
2/17/02 mike fuckin awsome 5 stars
2/17/02 jj hot chicks fast cars this movie is AWESOME 5 stars
2/14/02 Steven Brilliant 5 stars
2/12/02 Sara This movie is freakin' AWESOME 5 stars
2/12/02 Amanda Nielsen The director Rob Cohen made this movie from the point of view from street racers. 5 stars
2/08/02 Thomas Kiolbassa More technically accurate than I thought it would be. 3 stars
2/05/02 geli i loved the movie soooo much!! i just went out and bought the DVD today!! 5 stars
1/30/02 Gisselle This movie was hot as hell and everyone should see it 5 stars
1/29/02 David Shaver Movie was good only because of the Charger. 2 stars
1/28/02 Bo dumbest movie I've ever seen 1 stars
1/17/02 James LaPlante The best movie EVER!!! Vin and Paul kicked major ass along with the rest of the FAF team!!! 5 stars
1/10/02 jawsboy The most kick ass, piece of SHIT car racing movie ever!! Terrible, but entertaining. 2 stars
1/08/02 The Bomb 69 great popcorn movie, total fun, ending was predictable though 4 stars
1/05/02 Charlie Spahr One Word - FAST! 5 stars
1/04/02 Girl 9 Great action, nice cars and Vin... 4 stars
12/20/01 blas Galvan it was a kick ass movie 5 stars
12/18/01 THAI I FURIOUS 5 stars
12/13/01 uiu uuo 1 stars
12/06/01 Meinfro Please dont waste your time. 1 stars
12/05/01 James Joyce Can be good after 10 pints 1 stars
11/20/01 Brett Gagnon The theme and the cars made the movie. 5 stars
10/25/01 John Hill Tight 5 stars
10/24/01 michelle moxon I thought this movie was really good i love cars and this shit was crazy. 5 stars
10/23/01 dave mirra awesome 5 stars
10/23/01 Anders this film has it all, cars, women and some great young actors, go see it 5 stars
10/19/01 Kris Stupid crap for teenagers 2 stars
10/19/01 Tam Visually impressive, but thin on plot. Sexiest cast of extras I've ever seen though! 3 stars
10/12/01 Keeno Hm...this must be because I saw it in a double feature following a *good* movie. 1 stars
10/01/01 Phoenix At FATF remembers what it is to be a fun summer movie. 4 stars
9/28/01 chris johnson the eclipes was the best part, because that is my car 4 stars
9/25/01 Jon Jones It's 'Point Break' on wheels 4 stars
9/24/01 dAMIEN cROW this shit was tight, muhphuka, go head... 4 stars
9/17/01 Matthew Bartley I don't have aparticular interest in cars but this movie was good 4 stars
9/15/01 The Palaboy Gone In 60 Seconds its not! See this movie, now!!! 5 stars
9/11/01 Trinitron Testosterone and octane levels high? See this. 3 stars
9/11/01 mappy point break with cars 4 stars
9/03/01 Bridget I think that is movie was the best movie i had seen all summer! 5 stars
8/22/01 Brad BALL I have a street racer so i know how it is 5 stars
8/21/01 Eddie Gonzalez it was the best import movie ever made. I give it two thums up 5 stars
8/19/01 Roy Smith If you have an allegy toward adrenilin this movie will put your ass in a coma! 4 stars
8/18/01 mrs_dieselwalker this movie is so good if anyone saw it once go see it again like i did! i saw it 4 times 5 stars
8/17/01 dustin moore Its the sickest movie ever made i loved that dodge charger, also the four bangers R sick 5 stars
8/16/01 Brian Spilner It doesn't matter if you win by an inch or a mile. 5 stars
8/14/01 Dominic SWEETEST MOVIE EVER! AWSOME CARS! 5 stars
8/12/01 Melissa The Best Movie Ever! 5 stars
8/10/01 does it matter you review sucks you don't even know the names of the characters your fucking idiot 1 stars
8/09/01 DJ KONFUSION When's the sequel...I'll be first in line when the DVD comes out!! 5 stars
8/02/01 Michael McClaskey It was the best movies i saw this summer. it kept me on the edge of my seat. 5 stars
7/30/01 Drea This movie was tight(the fast and the furious) 4 stars
7/29/01 Ed Mahinay I'm from NY, and hooked up cars are just part of the scenery here. 4 stars
7/25/01 vince fucking amazing cars,story line not as good 4 stars
7/25/01 Alex Abramson Ausome movie, cars, and lots of nice lookin women 5 stars
7/25/01 ho ho the best damn movie ive seen in a while 5 stars
7/24/01 jada did people really pay full $ to see this? i was stuck at a drive-in 1 stars
7/22/01 Carly Quayle This movie is sick,the cars are all sick&tricked out,,Vin Diesal tops it all off,itda bomb! 5 stars
7/22/01 IndyAnna The cars were great, actors not all that bad, the writing was the pits 2 stars
7/18/01 outnow.ch *yikes* can someone please teach Vin Diesel at least some basic acting skills? 2 stars
7/10/01 wintermute I have seen this six times and now I've got it on VHS - WOOHOO! 5 stars
7/09/01 Thor-Leo Only one shot of Vin with his shirt off? What a rip-off! 3 stars
7/08/01 AARD7ARK 2001's Guilty Pleasure flick - hey, SOMEBODY'S watching this thing... 5 stars
7/06/01 Bailey Good Enough! Doesn't Pretend to be Something It Isn't 4 stars
7/05/01 Greyjack Porno for gearheads! Buy a big tub o' popcorn and check your brain at the door. 4 stars
7/02/01 mwildema i really liked this film 5 stars
7/02/01 Gina If you disregard the horrible acting and lack of plot, Its way cool. Dont bring your brain. 3 stars
7/01/01 Nicole I loved this film! I've seen it twice and would definitely buy it on DVD when it comes out 5 stars
6/29/01 QUENTIN CONGRES BEST THRILL RIDE OF THE SUMMER! BETTER THAN "GONE IN 60 SECONDS"! 5 stars
6/29/01 Jake LOL. What depth and originality. The dialogue is priceless. 1 stars
6/28/01 Scott Ja Rule is my new favorite actor 5 stars
6/27/01 Jeff The only real cars were the S2000, RX-7, and Dodge 5 stars
6/27/01 peter This movie was horrible. I wish I could get my money back 1 stars
6/27/01 MTV sucks This movie is for stupid mindless teenybopper idiots 1 stars
6/26/01 jessica i liked the movie alot the cars were bad and vin and paul was fine 5 stars
6/26/01 DocWatson If you have more fingers than IQ points this movie was good, for everyone else it sucked! 1 stars
6/26/01 Kesia I LOVED IT! ESPECIALLY PAUL WALKER!! :) 5 stars
6/26/01 Valerie Your Review SUCKS -- The movie was AWESOME 5 stars
6/26/01 Obi Wan Pure fun. Best Summer flick to date!! Loved it!! Thrills, chills, n spills 5 stars
6/25/01 MaG Not bad at all 3 stars
6/25/01 Sajid So gooood! 5 stars
6/25/01 malcolm Point Break w/cars instead of surfboards. i wanted more races. 3 stars
6/25/01 I Aint mad at cha Dumb but really fucking entertaining. Great stunts and chases. Best film of summer so far. 4 stars
6/24/01 Loopy Dude Definitely Worth Seeing! 5 stars
6/23/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* Either I truly enjoyed it or I was in a really good mood last night. 4 stars
6/23/01 INCUBATOR I went to see cars. I saw the whole awesome movie. 5 stars
6/23/01 My Penis is Big A car is an extension of a man's penis. These penii are obviously fast and furious! Great! 5 stars
6/23/01 Steve awesome 5 stars
6/21/01 YelloMiata@AOL.COM We need another movie to make people think a spoiler makes a race car out of a Toyota? 1 stars
6/19/01 Mr. Shmegma Genuinely OK macho nonsense 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Jun-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Sep-2001 (M)


Directed by
  Rob Cohen

Written by
  David Ayer
  Erik Bergquist
  John Pogue

Cast
  Vin Diesel
  Paul Walker
  Ted Levine
  Rick Yune
  Jordana Brewster
  Beau Holden



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast