More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.52

Awesome39.43%
Worth A Look: 18.29%
Average: 11.79%
Pretty Bad: 15.45%
Total Crap: 15.04%

7 reviews, 204 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Phantom Thread by Rob Gonsalves

Vazante by Rob Gonsalves

Big Fish & Begonia by Jay Seaver

Claire's Camera by Jay Seaver

Let the Corpses Tan by Jay Seaver

Queen of Hollywood Blvd, The by Jay Seaver

Rampage (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

You Were Never Really Here by Peter Sobczynski

Gemini by Jay Seaver

Death of Stalin, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Fast and the Furious, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"Finally, a REAL drive-in B-movie"
4 stars

I can’t honestly recommend “The Fast and the Furious” the same way I would recommend “The Score” or “Planet of the Apes.” “Furious” falls into a whole other category of recommendation, that of the drive-in theater variety. It has all the signature traits of a Roger Corman B-movie: It has a ridiculous script, this one made up of all the lost scenes from “Point Break” before the re-writes. It stars an inarticulate lunkhead, this one named Vin Diesel, whom I’m guessing they cast based on the tie-in of his last name. And it has fast and furious cars, as its title promises. It has all the makings of a B-movie, and yet I had a great time watching it. Before you send me an email demanding to be taken off my mailing list, let me explain myself.

My girlfriend, Nikki, and I saw “Furious” at the world’s greatest drive-in theater, the 34 Drive-in, all the way out in Earlville, IL, the middle of nowhere. I love drive-ins for many reasons, one of which being that if the movie stinks, you can sit in the privacy of your own car and do a “Mystery Science Theater” riff on it and not bother anyone. “The Fast and the Furious,” minus its awesome car chase scenes, would be a perfect movie for that show (which, in case you don’t know, concerns a guy and his two robots sitting in a theater against their will watching bad movies and making fun of them. It hasn’t been on the air in a couple years, but you can get them on video. Hilarious stuff). And, thus, it makes perfect viewing at the drive-in.

I have one problem with drive-ins lately: They have become so family-oriented that rarely—and I mean, RARELY—do we actually see drive-in movies playing there. Since the video boom in the 80s, drive-in movies have been on the decline. Most B-movies used to play outdoors to an uncaring teenage audience more interested in the backseat of their cars than in great cinema. Now, most B-movies go straight to video or cable and owners of drive-ins try to play PG or PG-13 family-friendly movies only. We have lost the days of nudie flicks and slasher films gracing the white painted screens of the outdoor cinema.

With “Furious,” a movie about a cop going undercover with a bunch of idiots who do nothing but race fast and furious cars (Nikki kept calling this a "boys-with-small-penises movie"), the days of the 70s drive-in have been re-born. Teenagers can go to the back seats of their cars to learn the harsh facts of life and when they finish, they can enjoy a good chase scene. Film lovers, such as myself, can take off that critical thinking cap and just have a good time tearing this movie to shreds while being thrilled by it at the same time. With all its unbelievable—and I mean that in more ways than one—car chase scenes and impressive stunt work, I can see why people feel the need to do some racing of their own after the movie. You’re at a drive-in! What are you waiting for!?! (I have a 97 Geo Metro, so I could probably get away with racing a 71 Gremlin, but that’s about it).

So, does all this make “Furious” a good movie? No. It’s a bad movie, alright, but in the best possible way. It has its place, and that would be the drive-in, or any theater where a party atmosphere and drunken debauchery takes precedence over critical thinking. As bad movies go these days, this is one of the best. The summer hasn’t ended yet. See this at the drive-in while you still can and bring your funniest, wittiest date with you.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4635&reviewer=233
originally posted: 08/01/01 23:31:33
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

11/20/17 Jeff Wilder Style no substance and rips off Point Break. Diesel's good though. 2 stars
5/18/11 Phineas That's right, The Mascara Snake - Fast and Fyuuurious. 1 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner Vin Diesel is Awesome!! 5 stars
7/20/07 Thomas Kiolbassa Who the hell is this other Thomas Kiolbassa? 2 stars
7/04/07 Charles Tatum Obnoxious and cartoon-like 2 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK If cars could think, this film wouldn't have any cos they'd refuse the part 1 stars
11/14/06 MUSTAFA MUNIER AHMED I LIKE FAST AND THE FURIOUS ON DVDS 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Pay your $9 for 90 minutes of fractions of car commercials. refund please! 1 stars
3/12/06 Chris Days Of Thunder this sure as hell ain't, TOTAL AND UTTER SHIT!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
2/27/06 Anthony Feor A great one 4 stars
12/23/05 cody a cool action race car movie with decent story and cool looking babes,vinand paul are cool 4 stars
11/01/05 matt cheney great really shows the street racing scene well 5 stars
8/21/05 tony It was very good. But it still was missing the thing called A PLOT! 4 stars
8/20/05 Monster W. Kung The perfect movie, if you are an idiot. 1 stars
8/12/05 ES its bad 1 stars
6/08/05 elishia its bad 5 stars
5/03/05 Saddam Hussain SHITE!!! 1 stars
2/02/05 dustin luther this was one of the best movies that i have ever saw in my whole life 3 stars
12/18/04 kirsty fairclough loved all of em vindeisel no1 can beat im hes hard,sexy andstrong hes the best driver 5 stars
11/16/04 Stefan Halka The only film I have seen where I wanted my money back. 3 stars
9/10/04 bin ladan it stunk on ice 1 stars
8/16/04 ALDO Nice girls...nice cars......SHIT STORY 2 stars
7/30/04 RomaN Walker hot?? pFFFttt Vin takes em hands down! sik movie! 5 stars
7/29/04 paolo enea I watched this movie after reading EFC critic, I was very disappointed 2 stars
6/14/04 Daveman So entertaining and stylish that it's shallowness is something to celebrate. 3 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Would be total crap except it has some cool cars. Gone in 60 seconds was better 2 stars
5/24/04 Nikki I loved this movie, Paul Walker is such a hottie in it!!! 5 stars
5/18/04 chica Good Story Line... way better than the second 5 stars
5/17/04 matty the cars were cool 5 stars
4/10/04 David Strawderman JR it was cool 5 stars
3/13/04 kym i loved paul walker in it major hottie 5 stars
2/25/04 john is you aompare it to GONE IN 60 SECONDS it's good - if you compare it to BULLIT it's bad 3 stars
2/21/04 Monster W. Kung It was supposed to be entertaining but it's just fucking garbage! 1 stars
2/11/04 Sonia Vin Diesel is soooooooooo hot he made this movie happen 5 stars
2/07/04 Lar 15 I thought that this movie was great,thrilling,and exciting.It had an awesome cast!Loved it! 5 stars
2/06/04 c.r A good movie, vin and paul walker rock! 4 stars
12/12/03 Samuel This was good, but the 2nd sucked ass!! 5 stars
12/04/03 Jim Sanders It is the best movie ever made 5 stars
11/28/03 Della(MissyReMay) It was off the chain.It made u feel like u were really there,It was real,so go see it 5 stars
11/16/03 matt jo it was good 5 stars
10/26/03 jack botyh of the movies are great and everyone who disagrees are f***** up wheres the 10th star 5 stars
10/22/03 Ray Lamborghini the cars were sweet, they made the movie! 5 stars
10/22/03 christopher clinch This movie is really really cool!!!!!! 5 stars
8/22/03 Gray fun chase's but low morality and reality about in this shit flick 2 stars
8/15/03 Plinkis100 This is a KICK ASS MOVIE!!! Who ever says it sucks, they can suck balls. 5 stars
8/11/03 VinFan Not even diesel can save this movie. 2 stars
7/14/03 Kia Ora I've seen better film on teeth. What a crap fest! 1 stars
7/01/03 Lush Thankfully, there's a lot of style to make up for the serious lack of substance. 3 stars
6/25/03 miss moviez k vin and those cars....HOLY SHIT!! if u havent seen it see it now! guarunteed "O" haha!! 5 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'Fos!) Shallow, a little formulaic, soundtrack gets annoying, but GREAT ACTION. 4 stars
5/16/03 Piz Hey if you're gonna give me bad acting, at least give me more action 2 stars
5/15/03 Tom Fleeman Fast cars, beautiful ladies, and a bitchin soundtrack make it a great time! 5 stars
4/22/03 Eloise Would have been good as a music video...?? not enough script/acting talent for a whole film 2 stars
4/10/03 Jack Bourbon When I got into my Taurus and unwittingly tore out of the parking lot, I knew Fast was good 4 stars
4/09/03 Matt Thiel If you like cars and chase scenes, this movie is worth a rental. I repeat: A RENTAL! 3 stars
3/21/03 Jeremy Mccloud It was so cool all the cars and every girl 5 stars
3/12/03 Plimmer watch it if you like Cars 4 stars
3/12/03 Em well i was kinda ok but those women! Whoa! weirdo-crazy-lesbians!!!! hmmmm...i'd say CRAP! 1 stars
3/12/03 Priyanka I think this movie rocks but should have more to the ending 4 stars
3/10/03 P. Walker I really love this movie! 5 stars
2/27/03 RAIN BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/22/03 Meagan Garrett It's my favorite movie ever!!!! 5 stars
1/22/03 Climhazzard Yep... I fucking HATE rice-boys 1 stars
1/19/03 Pete God help me my IQ has slipped below 80! I'm officially retarded. Damn you Rob Cohen and co! 1 stars
12/18/02 N/A I loved the movie 5 stars
12/09/02 gromm Pathetic excuse for a plot. Nothing but porno for car freaks. 1 stars
11/23/02 freak gotta luv it!!!!!! 5 stars
11/20/02 Casey hey tad shuv it 5 stars
11/15/02 richie giga i know every line in the movie 5 stars
11/05/02 lykopis Vin Diesel is SOOOOOO sexy!!!! 5 stars
10/29/02 JENNY THOMPSON THE MOVIE WAS AWESOME 5 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano The "protagonist" still needs to be accompanied by an adult while driving. 2 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 Gone In 60 Seconds was much, much better. It was a good try though, Vin. 3 stars
10/26/02 Mark Bachiller Vin Diesel for President! 5 stars
10/22/02 the Grinch See this if you're of H.S. age/mentality...your Parents' insurance companies will love you! 2 stars
10/15/02 Joana plot? You don't need it. You've got cars instead 4 stars
10/09/02 Stefan Halka If people love this film then there I.Q. MUSt not be higher than 50. Really shitty script! 2 stars
10/07/02 Warlock fucking great, beste film aller tijden 5 stars
10/07/02 Butterbean Diesel makes it watchable. Otherwise, who gives a shit about racing cars. 3 stars
9/27/02 John McNew Stupid, stupid, stupid, stupid! STUPID...and relentlessly entertaining! A guilty pleasure 4 stars
9/11/02 jensen this movie is fucking awesome fuck you nicole 5 stars
9/01/02 Robbie Banfitch Wow, how much cliche and crappy car chases can you fit into one piece of shit? 1 stars
8/28/02 Hessian Can we all say "Point Break" with cars? Unoriginal, but entertaining none the less. 4 stars
8/19/02 kooler The most homoerotic film I've ever seen 4 stars
8/19/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) THE BEST ACTION MOVIE EVER!!!!! 5 stars
8/12/02 Nicole This movie SUCKS! 1 stars
8/12/02 Massive Johnson People that like this movie should be rounded up and shot. 1 stars
8/03/02 Sardukar77 The absolute dumbest movie I have EVER seen 1 stars
7/31/02 I Can't Swim Garbage, stinks from the beginning to end 1 stars
7/28/02 Skid The "tricked-out" Japanese economy cars were so pathetic it was hilarious. 4 stars
7/25/02 Ando This was an awesome movie and i loved the supra , and the nissan skyline, choice movie 5 stars
7/21/02 One Eyed Jack I'm fucking sick of the rice clones this movie spawned. 1 stars
7/16/02 Daniel Gill A Smashing film fellas! 5 stars
7/05/02 KMG Good solid popcorn flick if nothing else 4 stars
6/07/02 Interrog8 This movie sucked!!! This movie was made only for people who enjoy cheap, worthless action 1 stars
5/26/02 Kayla I think that movie rocks!!!!! The first time I got it... I watched it 8 time is a row! 5 stars
5/23/02 Piz I can deal with bad acting, but where's the action? Boring and silly. 2 stars
5/21/02 Anne R. Key A Racing movie that is really the pits. 1 stars
5/12/02 Kelly Best Car Movie 5 stars
4/20/02 Priit good lord 5 stars
4/17/02 Greg Jenkins A real good movie 5 stars
4/10/02 francis I liked it 5 stars
4/07/02 Im special I will never EVER get sick of this movie!!!!!!!! Johnny Strong is a sexy man!!! 5 stars
4/03/02 girl bad acting, no plot 1 stars
4/01/02 Joe Schulz Jordana Brewster is Hot as hell 4 stars
3/31/02 Film Dude ThE fast anD the furIOUS 1 stars
3/31/02 Film Guy Kick ass movie 4 stars
3/31/02 cheryl it was amazing!!! 5 stars
3/31/02 Weedle Awful, Just Awful 1 stars
3/29/02 Dave It was Point Break with cars instead of surf boards. Down to every last detail. 2 stars
3/26/02 betty young yeah!!! fast cars and hot boys!!!! 5 stars
3/12/02 Keith Mertens Oh, hell yes. There needs to be a Fast and the Furious II 5 stars
3/04/02 Reece Chapman this would have to be the best movie that I've ever seen 5 stars
2/28/02 walter anderson oh fuck yeah! 5 stars
2/22/02 luda hoe if there weren't hot girls and cool cars, how many people would like this movie? 0 3 stars
2/21/02 sweet_angel FUCKING BANGING 5 stars
2/18/02 The Bomb 69 well made, interesting look at street racing 4 stars
2/17/02 mike fuckin awsome 5 stars
2/17/02 jj hot chicks fast cars this movie is AWESOME 5 stars
2/14/02 Steven Brilliant 5 stars
2/12/02 Sara This movie is freakin' AWESOME 5 stars
2/12/02 Amanda Nielsen The director Rob Cohen made this movie from the point of view from street racers. 5 stars
2/08/02 Thomas Kiolbassa More technically accurate than I thought it would be. 3 stars
2/05/02 geli i loved the movie soooo much!! i just went out and bought the DVD today!! 5 stars
1/30/02 Gisselle This movie was hot as hell and everyone should see it 5 stars
1/29/02 David Shaver Movie was good only because of the Charger. 2 stars
1/28/02 Bo dumbest movie I've ever seen 1 stars
1/17/02 James LaPlante The best movie EVER!!! Vin and Paul kicked major ass along with the rest of the FAF team!!! 5 stars
1/10/02 jawsboy The most kick ass, piece of SHIT car racing movie ever!! Terrible, but entertaining. 2 stars
1/08/02 The Bomb 69 great popcorn movie, total fun, ending was predictable though 4 stars
1/05/02 Charlie Spahr One Word - FAST! 5 stars
1/04/02 Girl 9 Great action, nice cars and Vin... 4 stars
12/20/01 blas Galvan it was a kick ass movie 5 stars
12/18/01 THAI I FURIOUS 5 stars
12/13/01 uiu uuo 1 stars
12/06/01 Meinfro Please dont waste your time. 1 stars
12/05/01 James Joyce Can be good after 10 pints 1 stars
11/20/01 Brett Gagnon The theme and the cars made the movie. 5 stars
10/25/01 John Hill Tight 5 stars
10/24/01 michelle moxon I thought this movie was really good i love cars and this shit was crazy. 5 stars
10/23/01 dave mirra awesome 5 stars
10/23/01 Anders this film has it all, cars, women and some great young actors, go see it 5 stars
10/19/01 Kris Stupid crap for teenagers 2 stars
10/19/01 Tam Visually impressive, but thin on plot. Sexiest cast of extras I've ever seen though! 3 stars
10/12/01 Keeno Hm...this must be because I saw it in a double feature following a *good* movie. 1 stars
10/01/01 Phoenix At FATF remembers what it is to be a fun summer movie. 4 stars
9/28/01 chris johnson the eclipes was the best part, because that is my car 4 stars
9/25/01 Jon Jones It's 'Point Break' on wheels 4 stars
9/24/01 dAMIEN cROW this shit was tight, muhphuka, go head... 4 stars
9/17/01 Matthew Bartley I don't have aparticular interest in cars but this movie was good 4 stars
9/15/01 The Palaboy Gone In 60 Seconds its not! See this movie, now!!! 5 stars
9/11/01 Trinitron Testosterone and octane levels high? See this. 3 stars
9/11/01 mappy point break with cars 4 stars
9/03/01 Bridget I think that is movie was the best movie i had seen all summer! 5 stars
8/22/01 Brad BALL I have a street racer so i know how it is 5 stars
8/21/01 Eddie Gonzalez it was the best import movie ever made. I give it two thums up 5 stars
8/19/01 Roy Smith If you have an allegy toward adrenilin this movie will put your ass in a coma! 4 stars
8/18/01 mrs_dieselwalker this movie is so good if anyone saw it once go see it again like i did! i saw it 4 times 5 stars
8/17/01 dustin moore Its the sickest movie ever made i loved that dodge charger, also the four bangers R sick 5 stars
8/16/01 Brian Spilner It doesn't matter if you win by an inch or a mile. 5 stars
8/14/01 Dominic SWEETEST MOVIE EVER! AWSOME CARS! 5 stars
8/12/01 Melissa The Best Movie Ever! 5 stars
8/10/01 does it matter you review sucks you don't even know the names of the characters your fucking idiot 1 stars
8/09/01 DJ KONFUSION When's the sequel...I'll be first in line when the DVD comes out!! 5 stars
8/02/01 Michael McClaskey It was the best movies i saw this summer. it kept me on the edge of my seat. 5 stars
7/30/01 Drea This movie was tight(the fast and the furious) 4 stars
7/29/01 Ed Mahinay I'm from NY, and hooked up cars are just part of the scenery here. 4 stars
7/25/01 vince fucking amazing cars,story line not as good 4 stars
7/25/01 Alex Abramson Ausome movie, cars, and lots of nice lookin women 5 stars
7/25/01 ho ho the best damn movie ive seen in a while 5 stars
7/24/01 jada did people really pay full $ to see this? i was stuck at a drive-in 1 stars
7/22/01 Carly Quayle This movie is sick,the cars are all sick&tricked out,,Vin Diesal tops it all off,itda bomb! 5 stars
7/22/01 IndyAnna The cars were great, actors not all that bad, the writing was the pits 2 stars
7/18/01 outnow.ch *yikes* can someone please teach Vin Diesel at least some basic acting skills? 2 stars
7/10/01 wintermute I have seen this six times and now I've got it on VHS - WOOHOO! 5 stars
7/09/01 Thor-Leo Only one shot of Vin with his shirt off? What a rip-off! 3 stars
7/08/01 AARD7ARK 2001's Guilty Pleasure flick - hey, SOMEBODY'S watching this thing... 5 stars
7/06/01 Bailey Good Enough! Doesn't Pretend to be Something It Isn't 4 stars
7/05/01 Greyjack Porno for gearheads! Buy a big tub o' popcorn and check your brain at the door. 4 stars
7/02/01 mwildema i really liked this film 5 stars
7/02/01 Gina If you disregard the horrible acting and lack of plot, Its way cool. Dont bring your brain. 3 stars
7/01/01 Nicole I loved this film! I've seen it twice and would definitely buy it on DVD when it comes out 5 stars
6/29/01 QUENTIN CONGRES BEST THRILL RIDE OF THE SUMMER! BETTER THAN "GONE IN 60 SECONDS"! 5 stars
6/29/01 Jake LOL. What depth and originality. The dialogue is priceless. 1 stars
6/28/01 Scott Ja Rule is my new favorite actor 5 stars
6/27/01 Jeff The only real cars were the S2000, RX-7, and Dodge 5 stars
6/27/01 peter This movie was horrible. I wish I could get my money back 1 stars
6/27/01 MTV sucks This movie is for stupid mindless teenybopper idiots 1 stars
6/26/01 jessica i liked the movie alot the cars were bad and vin and paul was fine 5 stars
6/26/01 DocWatson If you have more fingers than IQ points this movie was good, for everyone else it sucked! 1 stars
6/26/01 Kesia I LOVED IT! ESPECIALLY PAUL WALKER!! :) 5 stars
6/26/01 Valerie Your Review SUCKS -- The movie was AWESOME 5 stars
6/26/01 Obi Wan Pure fun. Best Summer flick to date!! Loved it!! Thrills, chills, n spills 5 stars
6/25/01 MaG Not bad at all 3 stars
6/25/01 Sajid So gooood! 5 stars
6/25/01 malcolm Point Break w/cars instead of surfboards. i wanted more races. 3 stars
6/25/01 I Aint mad at cha Dumb but really fucking entertaining. Great stunts and chases. Best film of summer so far. 4 stars
6/24/01 Loopy Dude Definitely Worth Seeing! 5 stars
6/23/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* Either I truly enjoyed it or I was in a really good mood last night. 4 stars
6/23/01 INCUBATOR I went to see cars. I saw the whole awesome movie. 5 stars
6/23/01 My Penis is Big A car is an extension of a man's penis. These penii are obviously fast and furious! Great! 5 stars
6/23/01 Steve awesome 5 stars
6/21/01 YelloMiata@AOL.COM We need another movie to make people think a spoiler makes a race car out of a Toyota? 1 stars
6/19/01 Mr. Shmegma Genuinely OK macho nonsense 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Jun-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Sep-2001 (M)


Directed by
  Rob Cohen

Written by
  David Ayer
  Erik Bergquist
  John Pogue

Cast
  Vin Diesel
  Paul Walker
  Ted Levine
  Rick Yune
  Jordana Brewster
  Beau Holden



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast