More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.68

Awesome: 22.88%
Worth A Look40.52%
Average: 20.92%
Pretty Bad: 13.07%
Total Crap: 2.61%

7 reviews, 111 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Bohemian Rhapsody by Rob Gonsalves

Fireworks (2017) by Jay Seaver

Knuckleball (2018) by Jay Seaver

Roma (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Detour by Peter Sobczynski

Anna and the Apocalypse by Peter Sobczynski

Chuck Steel: Night of the Trampires by Jay Seaver

Suspiria (2018) by Rob Gonsalves

Outlaws, The by Jay Seaver

Unstoppable (2018) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bourne Identity, The (2002)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"This Boring Identity could use a little 'Os' to wake it up"
2 stars

This far fetched gorilla creature feature is a not so clever, by the book, action thriller about as original as Daniel Steele’s 15th novel. But that is not why you and millions others went to see it over the weekend. You went to see it because at 22 and 47 minutes into the film you’d get a little jolt. I timed it … 3… 2… 1… and right on the cue, the Universal publicist screamed and jumped triggering a similar response for the nervous execs that are wondering “will it make 100 billion worldwide gross?”

After some begging and pleading, I got into a screening of the film for mostly Universal folks and their interested parties. It is a film like this that supports the economy of Los Angeles – a frighteningly tight one-industry economy. So that puts me in a conundrum. Do I tell you the film is a crap ass formulaic corporate action film and watch half of LA starve when the barrel bottoms out? Or do I say, “hey, I want Matt Damon to make as much money as he can because I’ve got a good feeling about that guy and if there is someone who I want to have power and capital to enact his will on the world, he’s one of those people” and then just come up with something pithy like “IT’S A THRILL RIDE!”

Since the actors already got paid and I’m like, one step away from being blacklisted by the MPAA (unless some print pub wants me to do coverage for them – REAL coverage, not paid advertising), here’s the deelio. If Damon’s buffed bod is something you want to pay 8.50 to see, then RUN to the nearest megaplex. In a film as cheap and manipulative as the Bourne Identity, I knew at some point they would have to give us the whole package, and so precisely 38 minutes into the film, Damon does his best to do “on screen” chemistry but its so choreographed, so unnatural, I wondered how his agent ever got him cast in the role. However, he’s got a nice little ridge of muscle seperating the top of his thigh and buttocks from his well-defined abdomen and if you get turned on by Abercrombie and Fitch ads, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

Bourne the super-spy is part of a super secret black ops squad of engineered warriors. But he’s lost his memory and we get a kick out of watching him discover his almost superhuman abilities. Remember when Spider-Man first noticed the sticky white stuff oozing out of him? And I don’t mean as a young teen, but AFTER he got bit and did a “whoa” kind of thing? Well that’s Jason Bourne. His instincts are finely honed as are his fighting abilities and when cornered, like an animal, he lashes out with the most spectacular, almost Matrix-like results.

And then the rest of the film proceeds as usual. You wait for the Villain, and he appears. You wait for the Battle with an enemy that is his equal and the Hero has to use his one special, unique ability to win. For Bourne, this comes out as sheer persistance. Bourne just kicks ass. But wait, he’s also the “Bad” guy, or isn’t he? Bourne’s amnesia not only helped him forget he was an assassin but we also find out that gee, the guy’s got a heart. Oh please Mister Cinematick, I can only follow punches, not moral paradoxes. If this was an attempt to deepen the charmingly shallow waters and grab our sympathy, it falls flat. I let it work because it was “supposed to” and I’m polite like that. Smile and nod, tap the tips of your fingers together in appreciation. The expected response of the Universal friends and family audience reminded me of the court of Louis the Eighteenth. Flatter the king at any cost, never point out that he’s not wearing any clothes. How precious. Bourne had reached his level of ultimate comprisability and became a liability rather than a tool. Hey, that sounds familiar!

And now, the romantic subplot. If falling for the only girl available to you on the whole planet is romance, then yeah, this one’s SMOKIN’! Oh sure, at first she’s just convenient, a random accident just when he needed an escape route. And she needs the money, so why won’t she transport him through Europe? You know how those things go. And by an even more fortunate stroke of luck, they just happen to be attracted to each other. But there’s that whole assasin thing and being followed by the CIA and she’s not sure if she can live with that as part of the deal.

So he gives her more money. Because if you throw money at a women, you know she’s yours for life. She remains remarkably untraumatized by the ordeal. She’s got her own special qualities that outfit her to be the perfect partner for Bourne, but she doesn’t have all that fancy training, she’s just a restless drifter and that somehow gives her the ability to cope with international governmental conspiracy. You can't blame Franka Potente for the role. She creates a good character without much to do.

My advice: stop drawing scenarios out of hat when filling in the blanks in Action Adventure Script X™. Roll the dice Bernie, is the romantic subplot a wife, a girlfriend or a random accident? How invested is he in her safety? Would he do anything to rescue her? Thankfully, this film didn’t involve a damsel in distress scenario. So that’s progress. But she was still the token girl.

What I want is an action adventure film with a female lead who’s not Laura Croft (I’m working on something like that right now) or one with two male leads who also happen to be lovers. Oh yeah!

Speaking of hot man on man love action - I somehow missed Clive Owen as the professor. I watched the film didn't I? Where was Clive?

Have you seen this movie before? OF COURSE YOU HAVE! AND THEN YOU WENT TO GO SEE IT AGAIN … AGAIN … AND AGAIN … ad absurdum.

So why did you go this time? Because Universal blanketed America with a poster that stretches from sea to shining sea and just how elections are won, ubiquity of the message sealed you up in an environment of no choice and you, little sheep brained one, went. I mean, if it’s got that much exposure it’s got the be the big exciting social event of the summer and dammit if you aren’t going to be the one that didn’t watch it. What the hell are you going to talk about if you can’t talk about Jason Bourne. Thank you Universal for giving society something meaningful to live through and discuss. Our cultural identity is much enriched by your selfless, creative master stroke.

If you are going to make drivel, at least do it knowingly. Because drivel is funny. I.E. Bubble Boy. But drivel that tries to call itself a movie is just an embarassment to anyone who has ever put their name to the art.

For what The Bourne Identity is trying to do, it doesn’t even do it well. The fights are so over the top that sure, its cool to watch, but so what? The Friend as Enemy theme has got be a pretty common one, especially for people in Los Angeles and after Memento, where can you take amnesia?

I’m not a fan of the genre (for so many reasons, many of which I have to use either the words “postmodern”, “post structuralist” or “deconstruction” in any possible combination to explain and nobody wants that), but I know what’s good in the genre. This rehashed piece of junk should have taken a lesson from Sneakers or Mission Impossible – two great films it borrows most of its script from.

I think studios hang on so tightly to action films because they are so predictable in their earnings. I did like Damon’s Bourne because he had a soft edge and there was some irony in that and I found myself laughing at inappropriate times because I just wasn’t buying it. And worse, I had harassed the poor publicist until he finally relented. So I guess I deserved what I got.

And when the word gets out how I felt about The Bourne Identity, I expect to abducted by studio marketing execs under the aegis of the MPAA, shot up with rohepnol and strapped into a chair with my eyelids pried open while they screen the whole bloody catalog of Action Adventure Film X™ until I finally understand that 2+2=5. And then I’ll mysteriously find myself as the arts and entertainment editor of a metro newspaper with no recollection of the incident.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4637&reviewer=67
originally posted: 06/19/02 06:57:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell great start to the franchise 5 stars
6/08/14 The king The film that started it all 5 stars
8/26/13 DB It's OK. The classic James Bond movies are way better. 3 stars
9/03/12 Courtney A quintessential action movie. Worth a watch. 4 stars
2/07/11 Pamela White Great spy drama with thought out action scenes, a hit 5 stars
10/30/09 MP Bartley In danger of being unfairly overshadowed by the admittedly superior sequels. 4 stars
10/28/08 blah blah fucking great fuck off the rest of you losers 5 stars
7/24/08 Shaun Wallner This ones ok. 3 stars
7/06/08 James Liman and Damon deliver a tense action thriller 4 stars
7/04/08 greasy steve this film was embarassingly bad. the emperor's new clothes 1 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT WITH ITS SCRIPT PROBLEMS, ITS PROBABLY BETTER THAN IT SHOULD BE 3 stars
1/26/08 Pamela White suspense, suspense and action great 5 stars
1/03/08 Heywood Jablowme Top-shelf thriller....even though his gf looks like a dude... 5 stars
12/13/07 davidbobo20 Best action movie since 007. 5 stars
10/12/07 Charles I wish someone in the production had read more than the dust jacket... still entertaining. 3 stars
6/28/07 gr117 Incredible! 5 stars
11/04/06 becky entertaining, but not worth buying 3 stars
5/26/06 William Goss Highly enjoyable spy thriller, if only for that car chase. 4 stars
11/21/05 Quigley one of my favorite films. matt damon was awesome, and the action and story were amazing 5 stars
11/08/05 Michael An Enjoyable Movie 4 stars
8/19/05 ES Exceptional movie followed by and even better sequel 4 stars
8/12/05 Kelly amazing action scenes and story even if it doesnt follow the book 5 stars
3/26/05 Denise good 3 stars
3/24/05 Charlie Better than the second one. Awesome car chase. 5 stars
3/18/05 B. D. Cole I'm not much of an action movie fan, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one 4 stars
3/15/05 cinkcool I can understand plot deviations from the book, after the first 20 mins this is not like it 3 stars
3/13/05 Tamara Burks I've read the book so I knew the basic plot but this was an excellent update 5 stars
3/04/05 Chris Stephens One of the best action movies I have seen 4 stars
2/26/05 James Kiang Excellent addition to the spy genre. 4 stars
2/23/05 julia great movie 5 stars
2/23/05 gracecchu Awesome movie, the sequel is also good. 5 stars
2/22/05 Debora Browning Good Movie liked it alot 4 stars
2/20/05 Charlene Javier Damon is hot! 4 stars
2/19/05 Diane Stahlman GOOD 4 stars
2/19/05 april gupton first one was better 2 stars
2/18/05 Eileen Lammers I expected more... so I was disappointed! 3 stars
2/18/05 Fahad Pinto great plot, good details 4 stars
2/18/05 dian anderson IF YOU HAVE NOTHING ELSE TO DO 3 stars
2/17/05 Dusty Johnson Great movie - my wife and I both liked it! Good story line from novel. 5 stars
2/17/05 Lisa Jochelson I enjoyed this movie, it kept me on the edge of my seat and frankly Matt Damone is hot. 5 stars
2/15/05 Joshua Lenti-Jones better than the recent bond flicks 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Fast moving sequel, worth watching! 4 stars
1/07/05 Edisana Odudu I wish Julia Stiles were bare in it rather than barely in it! 4 stars
12/27/04 The Mockingbird very efficient, does everything a spy movie can, and matt is endearing or hot or something 4 stars
12/05/04 Kristina Williams Matt as a secret agent works. he's plain, unlike this flick. 5 stars
12/01/04 R.W. Welch Best Secret Agent Man pic in a while tho it gets a bit flakey towards the end. Good perfs. 4 stars
11/03/04 Stevo Better than any other spy genre out there 4 stars
8/30/04 Archanist 101 Now this is even better than another "007: Die Another Day" 5 stars
8/27/04 Aaron Smith awesome intrigue; Franka key part of movie 5 stars
8/03/04 Blair everything a movie should be 5 stars
7/24/04 Wallace_h@webtv.net The music was loud, so I stayed awake. Lots of chaos. Very little meaning. Inept. . 2 stars
7/04/04 Daveman Not worth your time, unless you're obsessed with the mundane spy thriller genre. 2 stars
5/14/04 Agent Sands Lots of fun. Good action. 4 stars
5/07/04 Ross Recommend the book, but movie is just as good. 4 stars
4/07/04 Sig Very intertaining, cant wait for the sequeal, "Bourne Supremacy" in 2004 5 stars
2/10/04 Jun Abuyen ok but it's a short movie 4 stars
2/04/04 Charles Tatum Smart thriller, 007 writers should take notes 4 stars
12/20/03 Kent okay. Not bad 3 stars
12/16/03 HorrorScribbler Entertaining spy stuff. Good supporting cast. 4 stars
9/22/03 Rinse Really good, Franka=HOTTTTT 5 stars
9/03/03 Alex Damon has the screen presence of a indoor plant + the chick was fugly 2 stars
6/08/03 jlh I liked it. Not great, but well done. 4 stars
5/21/03 djacosta Nothing special 3 stars
5/17/03 R.W. Welch Somewhat familiar plot line but smartly done. 4 stars
5/11/03 Mystique cool action-scenes 4 stars
4/20/03 Dillon I really enjoyed it & I like everyone in the cast, esp. Clive & Franka 5 stars
4/17/03 Blubberbot basic hollywood action film 2 stars
4/16/03 Maegs Hey, I liked it. 4 stars
4/12/03 me good 4 stars
3/26/03 mitchell macari good 4 stars
3/13/03 Archmage Merlin Not enough action. Needs more pyrotechnics or something 2 stars
3/01/03 Monday Morning Wish he could have hit a few of those cheese-eating surrender monkeys during car chase. 2 stars
2/15/03 Chris Nothing new. Nothing bad either. 4 stars
2/15/03 Chris Nothing new. Nothing bad either. 4 stars
2/08/03 mr. Pink The best action film of 2002! An exciting and sometimes over-the-top movie! 4 stars
2/06/03 chuck could have been a better plot. 4 stars
2/06/03 123 This movie ain't special. With its predictable boring plot i can't see anything exciting 3 stars
1/29/03 kitt4film@hotmail.com Clice Owen se he was more interesting then Matt Damon. Action Good Plot Slow. 3 stars
1/28/03 Terry Gatton & Chris Cole We give it two king ding dongs up!!! 4 stars
1/08/03 George Nedelchev Surpisingly bad 1 stars
12/31/02 Tam Damon & action scenes are good, but the plot drags towards its anti-climax of an ending. 3 stars
10/30/02 spacecowboy oh come on, whoever reckons this is shit needs to have their head checked. 5 stars
10/05/02 Matthew Smith one of the most enjoyable action thrillers of the year, great car chase 5 stars
10/04/02 MovieJunky Mediocre, but I expected it to be worse. Franka is nice. 4 stars
10/03/02 Digi interesting story, boring everything else 3 stars
9/29/02 the spacecowboy thoroughly enjoyable. 5 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Another American formula movie. Rubbish for the braindead. 1 stars
8/22/02 Jerry Predictable Ending, Puts the Crap in CRAP 1 stars
8/07/02 I Can't Swim Anything with Franka & Clive must be seen & must be fantastic..oh, Matt was okay I guess 5 stars
7/20/02 ??? matt damon did great 5 stars
7/16/02 Carl To say this film is of an outdated genre dressed in modern technology is an understatement. 2 stars
6/25/02 Mike Nothing like the book. Hopefully the Bourne Supremacy will have some semblance of a plot. 4 stars
6/24/02 Film Afficianado Stock action film, predictable from the time you figure out what is going on 1/3 into it. 3 stars
6/23/02 cleansparks not bad, a bit predictable, but kept my attention 4 stars
6/22/02 Joanne Good Matt eye candy! 5 stars
6/22/02 Obi Wan Not bad for a first Action vehicle Matt . . . 4 stars
6/21/02 Jonathan Only real complaint was that I thought the car chase was way too drawn out, awesome besides 4 stars
6/18/02 Nick2k damn this movie was good. chockful of suspense. yes, i noticed the daylight too. 5 stars
6/18/02 wintermute Did anyone notice the HUGE daylight/nighttime continuity error in the 2nd to last scene? 3 stars
6/17/02 brent young a great way to spend some cash & some time... it was fun. somewhere between 4 & 5 stars... 4 stars
6/17/02 Ben It's OK. 3 Days of the Condor and The Day of the Jackal are much better. 3 stars
6/17/02 "Yes the shit." Yes. Entertaining and fun. No horribly original but fun. 4 stars
6/16/02 Paul Taylor Definitely on the high end of "worth a look". A solid film. 4 stars
6/16/02 natasha smart, interesting, a little outside of the ordinary--well done 5 stars
6/16/02 strider3700 Actually pretty good. The car chase was well done 4 stars
6/15/02 Greyjack Good, fun, well-executed film. Enjoyed the hell out of it. 4 stars
6/15/02 john wonderful 5 stars
6/15/02 Gibbo Non-stop action - lots of fun!!! 5 stars
6/15/02 Phil M. Aficionado Production is a 5, great action; story a 2 and acting a 3+; it's fine but not memorable 3 stars
6/15/02 Human Shield I had a blast. Matt Damon should be in more action movies. 5 stars
6/15/02 gunter Some remakes should not be remade; see Memento instead 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Jun-2002 (PG-13)
  DVD: 13-Jul-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Sep-2002 (M)


Directed by
  Doug Liman

Written by
  Tony Gilroy
  David Self
  W. Blake Herron

Cast
  Matt Damon
  Chris Cooper
  Brian Cox
  Clive Owen
  Judy Parfitt
  Franka Potente



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast