More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.78

Awesome: 9.59%
Worth A Look: 4.11%
Average: 10.96%
Pretty Bad: 5.48%
Total Crap69.86%

4 reviews, 49 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Black Knight
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"What could be funnier than a black guy in medievel times???!?!!!!!!???!!!!?"
1 stars

You're gonna LOVE this!

In "Black Knight," Martin Lawrence works at a castle-themed amusement park, and he falls into the moat, and when he comes up out of the water, he's back in medieval times! And it's all wild and crazy because, you know, he's this modern guy -- and he's black! -- and he's back in the time of knights and stuff! And of course, you know Martin Lawrence: He's so crazy all the time! And so of course the medievel people are, like, "Who's this guy? Why is he dressed so funny?" But then the amazing twist is that he uses his modern knowledge, like of football and stuff, to help his medieval friends win a battle. Can you believe it? And it's all so funny 'cause, you know, Martin Lawrence is --

Oh, who am I kidding? It's spectacularly unfunny, badly acted, and filled with so many contrivances and plot holes, you'd think the three screenwriters each wrote their chunk of the movie without looking at what the others had written.

"Black Knight" is that rare film whose trailer and commercials are perfectly accurate: It is no more or less funny than those previews. If you thought it looked funny in the ads, you'll think the movie is funny. If you didn't, you won't. I didn't, and I don't.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4638&reviewer=247
originally posted: 11/28/01 10:36:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/18/07 Stevo UK look on the bright side.... laurence's carreer is almost over due to films like this. 1 stars
5/16/06 bmac who the hell is #23 5 stars
3/24/05 Alice Colwell total crap 1 stars
10/30/04 clint lewallen i liked black knight because i was there working on the the film 5 stars
9/21/04 Naka Nope! 1 stars
6/23/04 Freeman Funny when you are really bored ! 3 stars
5/05/04 yup i wasnt feelin the thunderbolts 5 stars
5/02/04 DM What the fuck were they thinking? Oh wait, they didn't. 1 stars
4/14/04 beem i kno it was weak as hell but i kinda liked it. i watch it over and over 5 stars
3/09/04 heather it sucked 1 stars
10/01/03 Samuel Justus Nowhere as good as Advertised! 3 stars
9/04/03 Gray this movie should be watched for the same reason we watch plan 9 from outer space 1 stars
8/29/03 Double G funny in some moments but mainly stupid 2 stars
5/21/03 Cardia It is good 1 stars
4/08/03 seminoles fan Martin is funny!! He can make movies & a great sitcom. Don't be fooled by 1 or 2 bad movies 4 stars
3/26/03 Ama Wilonson I TSUCKS 1 stars
2/21/03 Evil Bob All copies of this heathen shit should be burned, then beat yourself with a club for fun 1 stars
11/29/02 Goofy Maxwell Beware, this Medieval mayhem may brain thee (side effects may include idiotic laughter). 1 stars
8/17/02 Andrew Patrick This Is Absolute Crap,this is not the best comedy,THIS MOVIE SUCKS!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/29/02 Croweater This film ought to be taken to the Nevada Desert and buried in a very deep dark hole. 1 stars
5/25/02 darkjosh@hotmail.com Someone poke my eyes out with a corkscrew 1 stars
2/26/02 Butterbean Martin got the Cosby disease: Makes a great sitcom, but make shitty moviess 2 stars
2/06/02 April This movie licks Jeremy's asshole. It's that awful. 1 stars
1/01/02 nin Oscar. "Nuff said. 5 stars
1/01/02 Roy Smith Laziest film I've seen at year, Stephen Fetchit lives! 2 stars
12/21/01 Caiphn Could someone please shoot Jeremy in the head? 1 stars
12/21/01 captain chris why do you mock me? why do people pay martin lawrence to make movies? 1 stars
12/17/01 AK47 Strap Martin to a Tomahawk missile and send him to Tora Bora. Osama will beg to be shot. 1 stars
12/17/01 John Revolta I lovingly dedicate this rating of "Sucks All Ass" to Jeremy, Mudillia, and Pauline Kael. 1 stars
12/15/01 Mudillia Abuquaribi 2 things....You guys are all cum gargling faggots and two, Martin Lawrence is DA BOMB!! 4 stars
12/14/01 Melissa in NYC AND THE RASBERRY AWARD GOES TO!!! 1 stars
12/12/01 Captain Highcrime Time for Martin Lawrence to go jogging out in 95-degree heat again. 1 stars
12/04/01 DMF A few pretenses, but mostly slightly twisted fun. 4 stars
12/02/01 wagnaard I didnt need to see this abomination to know it sucked! 1 stars
12/01/01 Mr Math Just awful. The theater was silent throughout. Four people in front of me walked out. 1 stars
12/01/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Mommy, if I eat all my veggies, will you make that evil man stop making movies? PLEASE!!!! 1 stars
11/30/01 Banky Edwards Crap rating on principle alone... commercial was so lame I'm afraid of the movie! 1 stars
11/30/01 TimmyTomorrow Best movie about medieval times since medieval times. Worth the $9.00!!! 5 stars
11/30/01 Omniscient Genius 5 Black Holes. Two thumbs up ASS. Yech. 1 stars
11/28/01 Andrew It is not that bad, but it still -----------------------> 1 stars
11/28/01 Alex May I please have the money before you waste it on a film like this next time? 1 stars
11/27/01 JustAnotherMan stupid ass storyline; it not only sucks ass, it licks the ass crack 1 stars
11/26/01 Priscilla Mack see better 2 stars
11/26/01 Loopenark Should be treated as a crime scene or toxic waste dump site. 1 stars
11/25/01 Boomshanka Damn! That was one bad movie! At least it'll put an overdue cap in Lawrence's movie career. 1 stars
11/24/01 special K The commercials alone make me angry 1 stars
11/23/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble Step'N Fetchit would be proud!!! 1 stars
11/22/01 ender this movie gets a shitty rating on principle. 1 stars
11/22/01 steve goldenbaum Martin Lawrence, comic genius. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Nov-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Apr-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast