More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.51

Awesome29.11%
Worth A Look: 26.27%
Average: 20.89%
Pretty Bad: 13.92%
Total Crap: 9.81%

16 reviews, 220 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Citizenfour by Greg Ursic

Women Who Flirt by Jay Seaver

Snowpiercer by Rob Gonsalves

Rosewater by Jay Seaver

World of Kanako, The by Jay Seaver

Tommy (2014) by Jay Seaver

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Vanilla Sky
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"Everything in its right place."
5 stars

I didn’t like Cameron Crowe’s “Vanilla Sky” the first time I saw it. The characters didn’t interest me much, the soundtrack (a lot of the time) felt like overkill and there seemed to be too many Crowe-isms. You know the Crowe-ism: Characters meet, have chemistry, exchange catch-phrases, argue pop culture and repeat the catch-phrase at the end as the romance comes to a close. Hardly the ideal ingredients for a thought-heavy paranoia thriller. I felt frustrated. Moments of sheer brilliance seemed lost amidst the director’s quirks and a character, because he had everything he wanted, I didn’t care about. To make matters worse, I walked out absolutely baffled. Yet, I opened my eyes the next morning compelled to watch it again, remembering that one of my Top 5 favorite films of all time, “Brazil,” garnered a similar reaction in its day.

Two days later, I saw a completely different film. More layers opened up. The characters grew on me. With the benefit of a first screening, their motivations made more sense. I also liked the ominous soundtrack infinitely more. It seemed to have more of a place this time around, instead of the feeling that first came the mix tape, then the movie. I also discovered a film of high aspirations and moral ideals, a film that looks to warp our minds while making appropriate statements about contemporary misogyny, materialism and vanity.

The movie stars Tom Cruise, an actor hell-bent on taking chances with his image, as David Aames, head of the Maxim-like magazine “Rise.” He has the Board of Directors (a.k.a. The Seven Dwarfs), his all-but-impressed best friend Brian (Jason Lee) and even Steven Spielberg falling at his feet. He has it all. He even has a lovely, blonde, though slightly obsessive, plaything named Julie (Cameron Diaz). One night, at his own birthday party, David sets his sights on Sofia (Penelope Cruz) and feels something oddly alien to him: Attraction based on respect. David likes Sofia so much, he delays the thought of sleeping with her until he can no longer hold out. For now, a kiss will do.

Sparks fly and soon David has his cake and gets to eat it too. He has the girl who loves him for his sensitive mind and Julie, the stalker/worshipper who feels shunned. One morning, Julie confronts David with one of those “You never called me” moments. We can see that David sort of enjoys this idea that he has two women fawning over him. But the fact is, he never called Julie back. With a nice-girl routine, Julie invites David in her car for a ride. Soon, the polite conversation turns to an interrogation so dangerous, even a masked “I love you” couldn’t save his soul. From there, David’s life changes tone and circumstance, as does the film. All the rules change.

Throughout this first half, David gives us a somewhat muffled narration. Everything, we learn early on, happened long ago. Now, David sits in a prison cell wearing a facemask not unlike Cruise’s disguise piece in “Eyes Wide Shut.” He tells everything to McCabe (Kurt Russell), a psychiatrist who wants to find out if David can shed any light on the root of the murder for which he has been accused. Who, we wonder, did he murder? Julie? Sofia? Anyone? Did it even happen?

To go any further would be futile. For those who haven’t seen the film, any further explanation of the plot will seem as though I just opened up the textbook on Sex and Its Relation to the Subconscious. The movie certainly has a lot on its mind and it wants the viewer to leave the theater thinking it through. I’m not 100% sure I have it all figured out. Some pieces have yet to be perfectly mended together. But the skill with which the movie expounds upon issues of love, perception, materialism and consequences had me spellbound (again, on second viewing).

At first, it bothered the hell out of me that Cruise and Crowe would re-team to create one of the world’s most boring characters. Why should we care about a guy who has everything? Because he might lose it? He doesn’t exactly come off as a total jerk either, so we don’t exactly want him to get his just-desserts. We have a film void of a hero and a villain. Upon second viewing, I realized, Cruise’s character merely serves as a model of the ultimate male fantasy where women exist as Madonna’s and Whores, with nothing in between, and every male figure wishes they could be you. You have a fast car, which renders you invincible, top of the line electronics, and no pesky parents to tell you what to do. You run a magazine with hot women on the covers. And, to top it all off, you look like Tom Cruise. We can’t exactly relate to this, can we?

(SPOILERS WARNING)
Yet we all believe that this person exists somewhere out there in the world. Here, we get to know the subconscious of such a character a little too well. The subconscious, a character later tells us, can be a tricky thing. It can rule over us when we least expect it, and it can make our lives miserable when we don’t even know it. Near the beginning of the film, David states that 99% of all questions can be answered with one word: Money. Would this same character claim money as the root of all evil? When you think about the man in the world rich enough to have himself cryogenically frozen so that he may live in an artificial subconscious where he exists as ruler of his domain, perhaps money does figure into it. The subconscious, the movie suggests, can either be God’s ultimate glitch or best practical joke, depending on how you look at it. Beneath this rich male fantasy lurks a hurt and vengeful woman who won’t stand for it any longer. Asleep or awake, dead or alive, there will always be consequences.
(SPOILERS END)

Don’t get me wrong, here. This movie doesn’t aspire to be a pseudo-feminist statement or a 2-hour and 15-minute bashing of the male mind-set. Crowe wants us to think about why we love those we love and about our selfish desires. Sure, you’ll be thinking about other things upon leaving the theater. In fact, you probably won’t even get to these issues until maybe your third or fourth viewing. I’m just speculating myself, here. I’m basically going down the long list of issues this movie deals with and there doesn’t seem to be any end in sight.

Cruise continues his run of interesting and daring performances (outside the “Mission: Impossible” contractual obligations). Here, even beneath the mask, we can feel his desperation and bitterness. We don’t always sympathize with him, but he still has us long after ‘hello.’ Cruz seems to be improving, but she doesn’t light quite the same fire Renee Zellweger did in the last Cruise/Crowe effort, “Jerry Maguire.” Diaz, the blonde, has more fun with her role as Cruse’s sex buddy out to really nail him. And Kurt Russell’s nice performance gains more notice upon second viewing. And when have you ever not liked Jason Lee?

Crowe has taken quite a leap of faith with this project. His technical skills have matured in unexpected ways over his past two films. As he did with “Almost Famous,” he continues to use pop songs to advance narrative in ways that would make Martin Scorsese mutter, “Why didn’t I think of that?” His choice of songs had me thinking, “Hey, this guy made a movie using my record collection.” (Radiohead, R.E.M., Spiritualized, Bob Dylan, U2, Beach Boys and The Monkees make the most memorable sonic cameos.) I’m guessing Crowe probably loves this part of the creative process the most, as well he should.

Many reviewers have said this material doesn’t suit Crowe’s sensibilities, that he’s in way over his head. I disagree. I think he got a lot out of his system with “Almost Famous” and would now like to be known as something other than Master of the Catchphrase. He took a great chance in writing a script in a way that, normally, doesn’t make sense. They laughed at Jules Verne, too.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4641&reviewer=233
originally posted: 12/17/01 16:56:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/23/14 ujijanik USA 5 stars
2/08/14 bchpngrh USA 3 stars
2/04/14 hxxhypuc USA 4 stars
1/27/14 Pzyuccfr USA 4 stars
2/27/11 Jody Mt favorite movie ever! You have to be smart to get it. 5 stars
1/01/10 Allen A I loved it! Awesome! 5 stars
2/05/09 Faraz J This movie damn sucked until the end when we find out what the shit is happening. 2 stars
5/28/08 PAUL SHORTT THERE'S PLENTY OF FLUFF AND PUFF - BUT LITTLE PAY OFF 1 stars
11/26/07 Dee Tucker Enjoyed Cruz a lot and Diaz some, rest not 2 much 3 stars
2/26/07 Donny M Awesome remake. 4 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday Fantastically twisty. Props to Penelope Cruz for playing the same role in both versions. 4 stars
2/11/07 Johnny P This is in my top five. Sorry if you don't get it. 5 stars
2/11/07 Fred Holmes Strange but was good 3 stars
1/22/07 Double M Terrific. Mind-blowing. If you don't/can't use that thing in your head, you will hate it. 5 stars
1/11/07 Bitchflaps Worthy remake, interesting nuances, but not satisfying enough for 4 stars. 3 stars
12/07/06 Azem One of the best movies of all time!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/26/06 David Pollastrini Brilliant with a great twist 4 stars
10/22/06 Annabelle Fantastic cinematography, dark, disturbing, brilliant soundtrack. 5 stars
10/08/06 peter balls it is an amazing film 5 stars
10/07/06 Gee Quality film. Twists you and makes you work 5 stars
9/26/06 Donny Been made before but so has every other movie. This movie is just so well done/ 5 stars
9/22/06 me If you're a playa, it will change your life! 5 stars
1/15/06 Chatty I got it the first time watching it! I knew there were twists from the publicity. Was good. 3 stars
12/30/05 Simon Spotty in purpose; constructed in a way that makes it impossible to "get" with one viewing. 3 stars
12/28/05 TA good,bizarre flick! better w/ every viewing! rcmnd to ppl who like donnie darko type movies 5 stars
10/29/05 Henry O tech support, tech support, tech support... jacob's ladder lite 3 stars
8/18/05 ES never needed to be made, why is Kurt Russel in this dog? 1 stars
6/11/05 Indrid Cold Good, but disappointing lack of improvement on the original. 4 stars
2/20/05 Alice Colwell not bad 4 stars
2/01/05 Wendy S. All time fave! 5 stars
12/05/04 ggg incredible movie 5 stars
11/23/04 Carly Austin Needs a 2nd and 3rd viewing, but well worth it. Except Penelope Cruz. 5 stars
11/22/04 John Bale Thanks to Cruz this remake upholds much of the original suspense and confusion. 4 stars
11/21/04 me Open Your Eyes -the Euro original- is a much better film 3 stars
10/22/04 doug amazing picture, like a the feeling you get from a good pop song or good movie, kicks ass 5 stars
10/10/04 Shaun Have your own opinion on the film. Dont listen to Critics, they live to talk crap... 5 stars
9/18/04 Phrase cruise is horrible. ending is horrible. 2 stars
9/17/04 Nik don’t expect it to change your life? But it does... 5 stars
7/29/04 Tracie Smegelski I'm smart and paid close attention through this whole mess. Not worth another look! 1 stars
7/15/04 TheOthersFan intelligent film if you watch it more than once, but too subversive for the common palate. 4 stars
7/11/04 Lisa This film is a K hole 4 stars
5/30/04 Rene very confusing 4 stars
5/24/04 Daveman Lame, uninteresting story with flat characters and ridiculous sci-fi hokeyness. 2 stars
5/21/04 Sardar Thought provoking 5 stars
5/20/04 Magus Bob Too challenging for many...those willing to "open their eyes" will ultimately love it. 5 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot Deserves more than one viewing,its a film that knows how to divide an audience.. 5 stars
4/20/04 ALI HBOUS a waste of time 2 stars
4/05/04 Me This was fricking horrible! WTF! 1 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Chilling 5 stars
2/18/04 Zack It Gets Better Every Time You Watch It 5 stars
1/26/04 Eric Different..I liked it....worth watching 4 stars
1/22/04 Jack Bourbon Make sure you've taken your meds before viewing this . . . thing. 4 stars
1/21/04 Atomica The ending violates the #1 rule of how NOT to wrap up a story. 1 stars
1/19/04 I Would Failed to really build on the original, Tom Cruise is miscast, nice cinematography though. 2 stars
1/14/04 Chupa Chups a waste of time 1 stars
1/06/04 beautie its too complex for ma fragile brains,undiluted bullshit 1 stars
12/08/03 Samuel a very good scripted film, and very good perfromances!! 5 stars
12/07/03 katherine one of my fav movies.it took me on an imaginitve journey i'll never foget! 5 stars
12/02/03 tatum Interesting but emotionally dry 4 stars
10/31/03 Tim Wrobel My Favorite Movie of All-Time! 5 stars
10/24/03 Josh Standlee Although VERY wierd, the movie contains scenes I will never forget! A decent film. 3 stars
10/20/03 parshia gharehgozloo worse than amenebar film .confused and very average 3 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant Tom Crusie prances around in this 'Total Recall' rip-off. He should just come out already. 1 stars
10/04/03 Josh Loved it. 5 stars
9/23/03 Speedy Jacob's Ladder for Dummies. Decent though. 3 stars
9/09/03 Pia Cruz is shit, why didn't she die? 2 stars
7/21/03 Monster W. Kung Bloated, forced sci-fi/drama about a whiner you'd punch in the deformed face repeatedly. 1 stars
7/08/03 MICHAEL LEWIS GETS BETTER THE MORE YOU VIEW IT! 4 stars
7/01/03 Kathy Ramsey Worst piece of drek I have ever seen. 1 stars
6/29/03 clifford chi see the original 1 stars
6/11/03 FLiK I hated it in theaters, but when saw it the second time, I loved it. 4 stars
6/11/03 Jim Botched attempt at mind-screw telegraphs the ending well in advance, but still interesting 4 stars
6/07/03 Gina Ingenious, I was surprisingly riveted, one of the most interesting movies I've ever seen. 4 stars
4/26/03 Sophia Markis boyfriend and i loved it 5 stars
4/11/03 Jack Bourbon Where can I sign my life away to the Scientologists? 4 stars
3/11/03 GMan ...Had my ass screaming more than any moment where I once thought "Cool" or "Interesting." 2 stars
3/08/03 Ankur movie not understandable 2 stars
3/02/03 Ryan Afflerbaugh A very satisfying movie! 5 stars
2/22/03 Ivan it's a moive which can spin your mind while watching and provide a inspiration after that. 5 stars
2/17/03 s. collins crazy but stunning and beautiful 5 stars
2/01/03 Edward Perry Penelope Cruz is total CRAP 1 stars
1/29/03 G Thang you have to think about the movie in order to appreciate it 4 stars
1/16/03 Gaiia i agree with mondia, abre los ojos is good, vanilla not 3 stars
1/04/03 Jimmy What the F**K was that all about ????? 3 stars
12/30/02 Femme_Fataleaa They couldn't be serious! I thought it was complete garbage. 1 stars
11/24/02 Lucid Dreamer Discover lucid dreaming and get the most out of this incredible film! 5 stars
11/11/02 eskimo an insanely brilliant film! 5 stars
11/06/02 Mondia See Abre los ojos instead, it's better! (the original) 4 stars
10/10/02 Eric I can`t understand why so many people didn`t like this film. It was awesome! 5 stars
10/07/02 Monster W. Kung Feels very artificial, mainly not in the way it was intended. Forced. 3 stars
10/07/02 Jeremy Morrow Best, mentally stimulating, thought provoking movie I’ve seen in quit some time. 5 stars
9/27/02 Pips Great movie. Perfect ending. 5 stars
9/26/02 Phil M. Aficionado Right down there with The Minority Report for gimmickry and confusion; pointless and boring 2 stars
9/25/02 CapitalistPiglet If you can just watch it to the end, you will love it 5 stars
9/02/02 the Grinch WTF? I can't believe this film got panned so much on THIS site of all sites! 5 stars
8/26/02 The Bomb 69 too challenging a film for most, requires multiple viewings 4 stars
8/21/02 rokmelon A movie for deep thinker, excellent film. 5 stars
8/21/02 David Marchand I loved the movie, it was mind-blowing 5 stars
8/17/02 Film Guy So very good 5 stars
8/13/02 Dave A truly wonderful film, if you embrace the subject matter and connect with the character. 5 stars
8/13/02 Ben Druitt Profound 5 stars
8/08/02 Jake Tried hard to be Sixth Sense. Entertaining though. 3 stars
8/06/02 KMG I felt like I watched AI all over again, except pretty boy and his puta was in it 3 stars
8/06/02 Doc Freeman Not purely original, not perfect, but complex and visually stunning 4 stars
8/05/02 Jeremy What a great movie 5 stars
7/28/02 Nathan One of the most beautiful stories ever written. 5 stars
7/24/02 Kojo2 Frustration/Confusion/Hate the first time. Now, I study the film. 5 stars
7/23/02 erick I expected alot, i got alot more, prolyl my fav. movie its amazing 5 stars
7/21/02 Sofia prescisely..."the pleasure of Sofia." 5 stars
7/17/02 BrodieMan Exceeded every expectation. Very entertaining film. 5 stars
7/11/02 Luke Matthews The Best Movie of the Year - Highly original (I haven't seen the Spanish film!) 5 stars
7/11/02 .Choadushouse. A beautiful film. The tie-together's are wonderful and Tom Cruise is amazing. 5 stars
7/09/02 Sean Brinkley disturbing, surreal, evocative & dissonant - theme: unintended consequences 5 stars
7/04/02 AustinBobby78751 This movie will haunt you (in a good way) for days after you see it! I hate Penelope, too. 5 stars
7/03/02 butterfly10954 Reincarnation and cats 4 stars
6/27/02 D.M. Sinkovits This film explores the dichotomy of reality/insanity and life/death. Watch it twice. 4 stars
6/25/02 Law Would of given it 5 stars if that train wreck known as Penelope Cruz hadn't been in it! 4 stars
6/17/02 Del I was thinking Total Recall, Matrix and Halloween. But still good 4 stars
6/16/02 Lacy Kale Really bad! 1 stars
6/15/02 dscott haunting. story of consequences & personal responsibility for men & women. 5 stars
6/15/02 Adrian Great flick despite a few corny lines. Much better than the Spanish original. A+ soundtrack 5 stars
6/12/02 Toby One of Cruise's better performances, excellent soundtrack. Watch it at least twice. 5 stars
6/04/02 Boner Dee freaky, tough-to-figure-out thriller that keeps you wanting to watch 4 stars
6/03/02 georgia 2 thumbs way way up 5 stars
6/03/02 julie oh confusing yet confining 3 stars
6/02/02 Eric M. Jones Complex and beautiful; a great film. 4 stars
6/01/02 sandeep you definitely have to see this a few times to appreciate it 5 stars
6/01/02 Phoenix Loved every second of it, espesially the A+ mindfuck ending. 5 stars
5/28/02 David Watkins another affecting attack by crowe on a culture of "cool".. 4 stars
5/27/02 Jason Cop-put of an ending couldn't save this crapfest- one of the worst movies I've ever seen 1 stars
5/27/02 Mike I really thought it was great. 5 stars
5/27/02 Nicole I usually love twisted, but this went in too many directions to follow. Ending was crappy! 2 stars
5/26/02 Kyle Not bad... if you tell me you predicted the ending, then you go to hell. 4 stars
5/25/02 darkjosh@hotmail.com See the original, not this monstrous committee-constructed piece of Hollywood shit! 1 stars
5/25/02 Butterbean A confusing story concludes with a retard of an ending. Fuck Crowe,Cruise and Cruz! 2 stars
5/22/02 spyguy2 Went in with low expectations and got my head and heart blown away. Awesome. 5 stars
5/18/02 Mitja Podgajski Awesome transhumanistic movie. I just love it. 5 stars
4/17/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Cameron Diaz. I mean Cameron Diaz! 2 stars
4/14/02 Cheryl Jordan Priscilla, do you mean Cameron Diaz or compact disc (or 400)? 2 stars
4/13/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Dreamed I saw it before I actualy saw it. Dream version was much better(CD played nice)! 2 stars
4/12/02 Marcia Lartz Cameron Diaz wasted in poor impersonation of Alex Forrest; Whole plot flaky & muddled! 2 stars
4/11/02 Natalie Stonecipher Gee! MEMENTO is straightforward compared to this! Cameron Diaz is wasted. 2 stars
4/03/02 stryper rocks What reality am I in? Am I alive or dead? Aaaaggggghhhhhh!!!!!!! 4 stars
3/31/02 Film Guy Good Movie. nothing more nothing less 4 stars
3/12/02 KMG Who would've known that the movie's secret is that it SUCKED! 2 stars
3/08/02 Butterbean A promising movie went out with a thud with Cruise's anorexic chihuahua-faced girlfriend. 2 stars
2/21/02 luda hoe sure, it could have been better, but any movie with penelope cruz in it is worth a look 4 stars
2/18/02 Cat Axon Oh dear, wots going on her then! if this film's awesome then im the queen! it's diabolical. 2 stars
2/16/02 Me Concession stand line was more interesting. 1 stars
2/15/02 Kooler Starts strong--ends dumb 2 stars
2/13/02 nidal solder 5 stars
2/12/02 Eduardo Del Valle Mr Crowe gives us one more of his pearls 4 stars
2/07/02 Weeblerelf Great movie! Until it started to SUCK! Fucking holly wood deux e machina endings! 1 stars
2/01/02 E-Funk Holy dog-shit, Batman! Cameron Crowe made a fantastically bad movie! Cruise blows... 1 stars
1/25/02 Dave Draper Entertaining, but some who went to see a mystery might be pissed they got Twighlight Zone. 4 stars
1/22/02 Erin I'm still thinking about it and its been two weeks since I've seen it! 5 stars
1/21/02 peter confused, was it all a dream? 4 stars
1/21/02 Al Fredo Ironically, didn't feel much between Cruise & Cruz, the latter was disappointing. 4 stars
1/19/02 TOO MUCH AWESOME movie that left me wanting more 5 stars
1/13/02 Greyjack Well made & acted, but left me with that "who cares" feeling. Shoulda seen Oceans11 instead 2 stars
1/13/02 Janine Lay, RN I neither loved nor hated it, that's the problem, I left devoid of feelings and disapointed 2 stars
1/12/02 seldom scene too deep,moves well and easy to watch but makes no sense!! 2 stars
1/10/02 Max Lethal Messed up... I loved it, and the twisted ending. Leaves you thinking even after the ending. 5 stars
1/07/02 Nexus6 Cerebral, surprising, and well acted 4 stars
1/06/02 daniboy didn't think I would like it, but strangely I did and very much 5 stars
1/05/02 Shane Johnson Excellent film - plot and message much deeper than the series of events 5 stars
1/05/02 Suzz interesting plot; good acting; good film making 4 stars
1/04/02 Vic Rams Vanilla Sky sucked big time....go see the original "Abre los Ojos" is one of my fav. movies 3 stars
1/04/02 Steve-O Tight...i loved it alot. 5 stars
1/03/02 Nathaniel Ashlock Abre los Ojos was a more tightly knit film that new what it was saying and how to say it. 4 stars
1/03/02 person great movie 5 stars
1/02/02 joey that f'ing sucked. gimmie my money back and the 2 damn hours! 1 stars
1/02/02 thejames Not the best film but better then most out there. Go check it out, Great fucknig soundtrack 4 stars
1/02/02 Roxy This movie took the potential to be amazing and flushed it down the toilet! 1 stars
1/01/02 kasper brody along side memento, this was for me one of the best movies i've seen this year. 5 stars
1/01/02 MB This is the most boring and stupid movie I have seen in a long time. 1 stars
12/30/01 mcc Ponderous w/ dreams/nightmares and flashbacks. Acting fine, but no reason to care about Ds 2 stars
12/29/01 Kara This movie fucked with my mind so much I had to re-evaluate life after seeing it 5 stars
12/29/01 Angie Scholl It was confusing, but the actors make the movie worth while. 4 stars
12/28/01 shirley pardekooper intrigued me, I was not bored 4 stars
12/28/01 Kimberly Best Movie of the year. Cameron--Hot..Tom-Oscar deserving...Penelope-My boyfriend loves hr 5 stars
12/27/01 tnt a full $10.00 worth 5 stars
12/25/01 Angela Murtagh Entertaining at first ...but confusing & pretty weird...did not expect it to be so sci-fi. 3 stars
12/24/01 ajay really really great music. the movie was good too. 4 stars
12/24/01 Flick Chick excellent, quirky sci-fi....if you liked Magnolia, you'll love this one. 4 stars
12/24/01 p.d.riven Abre Los Ojos reduced to a story about another rich guy with issues 3 stars
12/23/01 Jeri This film deals with life extensions and cryonics technology, a nice introduction. 4 stars
12/22/01 Dana Average all the way around, and confusing 3 stars
12/22/01 Gary good visuals, starring performances, somewhat copycat plot, poor supporting cast 3 stars
12/21/01 AARD7ARK tom cruise gets to rake his own soul over the coals 4 stars
12/21/01 puckfreak Don't let your expectations get in the way. 4 stars
12/20/01 Cragus A bit like Crowe meets Kubrick. An odd but compelling combination. 5 stars
12/20/01 Michael S. Browne Thought-provoking. I don't want to oversell it and be obvious, but if you're willing... 5 stars
12/20/01 mike The film had potential, but you leave thinking,"What the hell was THAT all about?" 3 stars
12/19/01 Ingrid if you have a mind of your own and , love thrillers , go and see it. 5 stars
12/19/01 Jeanie The best part of the movie was the close up shots of Kurt Russell's nose hairs. 1 stars
12/19/01 Cassandra I didn't understand this hodge podge, and it looks like Cameron Crowe didn't either. 2 stars
12/19/01 Lisa overused, overblown piece of crap 1 stars
12/18/01 NathanS This film must be seen twice. The directing and depth of writing are astounding. 5 stars
12/18/01 Mel good halfway, then totally weird. 2 stars
12/18/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble I kept waiting for the gay porn stars. None. Just tired old hags! Tom, WE KNOW!!!!! 1 stars
12/18/01 KMG HA!! I just saw Tom in "Vanity Fair"...whoa was that homoerotic! 3 stars
12/18/01 dale pulliam confusing at first. Very thought provoking though. 4 stars
12/18/01 grunter That Bobby Ewing dream season of Dallas seemed shorter and of more substance 1 stars
12/18/01 Visions of I agree with Erika, pop the Evil Dead out of your DVD players and open your mind a bit. 4 stars
12/18/01 erika Just because it is not a linear plot film doesn't mean it is bad! Open your mind! 4 stars
12/18/01 jefftucson The worst film I've seen in at least ten years. 1 stars
12/18/01 G-Man Hey Tom! I'd rather watch Moulin Rouge! 1 stars
12/18/01 Stephanie Am still confused about many parts. Was he dreaming a lot of this? 4 stars
12/17/01 Montserrat One of the best movies ever made. I will see it over the years 5 stars
12/17/01 garnet harry complete waste of film and time 1 stars
12/17/01 Jack Shehab Very entertaining and on my "buy" list when the DVD hits the street. 4 stars
12/17/01 Jim Knodel Terrible movie! 1 stars
12/16/01 Nick I liked it but i wanna know if that was Cruz's voice at the very very end, i think it was. 4 stars
12/16/01 spaceworm What I Learned: Kurt Russell resembeles younger Gene Hackman.n 4 stars
12/16/01 Kevin Sung I thouroughly enjoyed this movie, having never watched the original Open Your Eyes. 5 stars
12/16/01 Seth Christianson A movie that picks you up and spins you around, but the twist leaves you pleased. 4 stars
12/15/01 Richard Jason Lee was the reason i saw this...thought Crowe would do good this time but i was wrong 4 stars
12/15/01 Ally Smith i LOVED it! see it if you like twisted movies! 4 stars
12/15/01 miss texas I feel ROBBED! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Dec-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Dec-2001 (MA)


Directed by
  Cameron Crowe

Written by
  Cameron Crowe

Cast
  Tom Cruise
  Penélope Cruz
  Cameron Diaz
  Jason Lee
  Johnny Galecki
  Kurt Russell



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast