More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.71

Awesome: 20.41%
Worth A Look: 20.41%
Average: 6.12%
Pretty Bad: 16.33%
Total Crap36.73%

3 reviews, 31 user ratings



Man Who Knew Too Little, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"It's a Warner Brothers movie, it's bound to be good, right?"
1 stars

No no no no no no no no no no no no no no.

No.

Don't, under any circumstances, see this film. None. Got a free rental at the local video store? Pick up a good porno. Coming up on your pirated HBO in ten minutes? Repent! Yank that cable out of your wall, sinner. In fact, if you do go to hell, this may very well be the film that's playing on a neverending loop in purgatory.

I want to stress something for you. Bill Murray can be - and is - Funny.

This movie is not.

Bill's a hapless tourist who goes to London to visit his brother (Peter Gallagher), who buys him a "Theater Of Life" experience for his birthday. Bill picks up the phone at the wrong time and gets tangled up in a REAL spy situation. All sorts of wackiness is supposed to follow.

It doesn't.

It's 95 minutes of cringe-worthy cinema. You'll be begging for a merciful end to it, and wondering just what the hell Bill Murray was thinking. I know I was.

Bill Murray, I feel so sad for you.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=465&reviewer=7
originally posted: 11/10/98 03:02:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/07/15 PAUL SHORTT PLEASANT BUT CURIOUSLY FLAT 2 stars
1/22/09 Skyler I peed myself multiple times. 5 stars
4/13/06 ES Oh yeah, it was funny 4 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer The logical successor to the Pink Panther legacy. 5 stars
7/29/05 Nobody Oh come on admit it, this movie sucks but it's FUNNY 4 stars
5/27/05 Heidi My favorite movie...as a kid, and now. I quote it all the time! 5 stars
5/22/05 Cham Underrated. 3 stars
4/10/05 judith anderson Slapstick fun. Reminds me of pink panther movies. 5 stars
3/23/04 Lord Haw Haw Yuck. Incredibly unfunny. 1 stars
1/16/04 Clément BERNADAC damn Jack Som... man you're far from the subject you're supposed to know... awesome movie! 5 stars
12/11/03 Helen Bradley Best fun film of the decade 5 stars
12/10/03 Samuel I thought it was sort of funny.. 3 stars
8/16/03 snowconehead Buckets of fun 4 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon I liked how Murray treated the little British tramp like the 'ho she was. 4 stars
5/09/03 mr. Pink Hugely dissapointing. even Murray can't salvage this. 1 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Godawful. Not a laugh in site. Murray's worst film. 1 stars
8/28/02 Nevz I thought that this was hilarious! 4 stars
7/04/02 gary vidmar A very respectable comedy that got little hype. 4 stars
4/27/02 Valerie Cameron Underrated jewel of zany farce! Murray is in top form. 5 stars
3/04/02 Marcia Lartz Not realism of course, but loads of fun, I don't care what "critics" say. 5 stars
10/16/01 Andrew Carden Not One Of Bill's Best, but I Love The 3-Inches Away Gun Shooting Part. 3 stars
8/10/01 E-Funk Though inb the middle of Murray's slump...it was creative and damn funny at parts. 4 stars
5/05/01 The Chosen One funny as fuck, instant classic 5 stars
2/04/01 Turtle Hilarious and an original plot (I like that in a movie). 4 stars
10/22/00 Fishsticks Funny, funny stuff. 4 stars
9/06/99 the Grinch You Guys are on Crack! It was funny, Bill's best since GroundhogDay. The Book's better! 4 stars
2/07/99 Minority It was a good movie, damnit! 5 stars
11/16/98 Lord Of The Dunce A seriously moronic movie. Murray doesn't read his own scripts. 1 stars
9/15/98 Chip Taylor AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein The title describes anyone who paid to see this crud. Me included. 1 stars
8/29/98 Miss Stress it's a good thing i wasn't near any sharpe objects. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Nov-1997 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast