More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.26

Awesome: 7.92%
Worth A Look: 8.91%
Average: 18.81%
Pretty Bad: 29.7%
Total Crap34.65%

7 reviews, 59 user ratings



Dracula 2000
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Is it too easy to say this movie sucks? Too bad: This movie sucks."
2 stars

Why did the world need another vampire movie? Trick question: It didn't. And yet, here is one. It even has the name of a talented man attached to it. Alas.

The official title of this thing is "Wes Craven Presents Dracula 2000," a bit of gimmickry designed to fool us into thinking the man who directed "A Nightmare on Elm Street" and the "Scream" movies was responsible for this one, too. Surely the combined forces of the modern master of horror and one of the most terrifying creatures in all of literature should result in some big-time fright.

But like a reflection-less vampire, "Dracula 2000" has no soul. Wes Craven, it turns out, is merely executive producer -- one of five people credited with that title. (Why not call it "Harvey Weinstein Presents Dracula 2000"? At least that wouldn't give audiences any false impressions.) "Dracula 2000" was directed by Patrick Lussier, Craven's favorite film editor taking his first legitimate stab at directing.

The directing, actually, is one of the better points in this foolish little piece of Goth trash. There are no obvious signs of incompetence, and it's even a little stylish in places. Were it not for the script, which breaks standard vampire rules and even makes up a few new ones (which it also breaks), you'd think this was actually a pretty good movie.

Mysterious, vaguely European Dr. Van Helsing (Christopher Plummer) is an antiques collector in London with a strange fascination for things vampiric. One night a group of bumbling crooks, led by one of Van Helsing's employees, Solina (Jennifer Esposito), busts into his safe and steals the only artifact they can find: a coffin.

While en route to the Cayman Islands, the coffin is opened by one of the stooges and is revealed to contain ... nothing. Kidding. It contains Dracula (Gerard Butler), a handsome fellow with stylish hair and a come-hither smile who proceeds to vampirize everyone on the plane, which crashes in a swamp near New Orleans.

Meanwhile, Van Helsing, flanked by his do-gooder assistant Simon (Jonny Lee Miller), has come to New Orleans as well, looking for his estranged daughter Mary (Justine Waddell). Mary hasn't seen Dad in years and doesn't know about his fondness for vampires, but she's been having dreams about Dracula lately and is mighty freaked out by them.

Van Helsing, it turns out, is actually a very old man, having captured Dracula in 1897 only to find that he's some kind of Uber-vampire who can't be killed, even by traditional vampire-killing methods. (He doesn't seem to have tried cutting of his head, which it seems to me would kill pretty much anyone, or at least make it hard for them to suck people's blood.) He's vowed to stay alive as long as Dracula, in order to protect the world from him, and has been injecting himself with Dracula's blood (filtered through leeches, don't ask me why) to gain this immortality.

Unfortunately, having Dracula's blood running through his veins has resulted in his daughter having a psychic connection to the blood-sucker. And now Dracula believes it is his destiny to hook up with Mary.

Strip away the Dracula plot, and this is essentially just a stupid slasher movie. Characters walk into dark rooms alone, and no one ever behaves rationally or logically. Several things just don't make any sense at all, like the fact that the only people on the scene at the plane crash are one local news crew -- no emergency personnel, no other news teams, nothing.

Lussier has fun making things happen suddenly, forcing us to jump when the film doesn't really deserve that kind of reaction. There's very little to be scared by here -- except maybe the ludicrous explanation near the end of who Dracula really is. If you're not frightened by the fact that someone actually thought this was a good idea for the movie, then you're impervious to horror.

A nice-looking film, to be sure, and it's rarely boring. But you'd have to look far and wide to find a more ludicrous ending or a less menacing vampire.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4658&reviewer=247
originally posted: 01/16/01 19:09:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell passable better than dracula 1992 3 stars
12/21/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess BLAH! 3 stars
9/26/08 Shaun Wallner Great Action!! 5 stars
4/29/08 art THE BEST STORY ABOUT DRACULA AND THE SECRET BEHIND HIS BLOODSUCKING 5 stars
3/30/06 Dethbyhashi Such Horrible Hollywood Christian Shit!!!! 1 stars
8/12/05 ES best explanation for Dracula and his weaknesses I've yet seen= very cool 4 stars
7/19/05 Brandy Harrington It sux. 1 stars
1/29/05 Mmmm...Blood Stupid! I hate Hollywood! 1 stars
6/11/04 Nikolai I found the biblical connection intriguing, and the visuals leading there are polished 4 stars
5/01/04 Vicious Hyde from that 70's show deserves better 2 stars
1/13/04 American Slasher Goddess A vampire Scream clone, but passable. 3 stars
11/25/03 Thiago average movie. starts off well but ends pretty bad. Gerard is really cool though. 3 stars
10/12/03 rodekat Gerry is a verry good actor and 'the more i watch the movie the better it getsGerry WAAAW , 5 stars
10/01/03 Samuel Justus One of the worst Vampire movies ever!!! 3 stars
8/19/03 Anastasia Beaverhausen Nice direction and casting, I have seen worse 4 stars
3/04/03 sophie i normally dont like vampire films, but this was good, and plus gerard butler is fuckable. 5 stars
2/24/03 judasfan not nearly as bad as people say - the origin alone was genius. good stuff, mate. 4 stars
2/19/03 Robert Ortiz If you 4 stars
2/06/03 blearg blamen yes jeri ryan sucks bib star bad Attitude i bet 5 stars
2/06/03 123 the beginnings are cool and creepy, but it lost its touch after a while 4 stars
2/05/03 Jack Sommersby About as entertaining as donating plasma. 1 stars
6/12/02 Jim Not bad, but don't watch it more than once or the stupidity really starts to shine thru. 3 stars
4/08/02 Chris totally stinks. 1 stars
1/28/02 Andrew Carden Shadow Of The Vampire Was Better Then This. 1 stars
1/17/02 Pimp Makus It blew except for the way they made the main dude Judas. 2 stars
11/03/01 Jim You were expecting Shakespeare? Snappy vampire action, nice twist at the end. 4 stars
10/28/01 Bizzotch McQueen Fuck Fucking stupid & boring and crummy looking. Why Vitamin C's boobies and not Jeri Ryan's??!! 1 stars
9/24/01 otto The source of his power! He was an apostle! Once you know how, you never forget. 3 stars
9/17/01 Bri Dumb, needs more boobs. Vitamine what? 2 stars
8/29/01 Amy An absolute waste of usually good actors 2 stars
8/21/01 JesseL One of the worst Dracula movies ever. First one since Blackula that I did NOT like 1 stars
7/19/01 Roy Smith If you hate creativity you won't like this movie. 4 stars
7/06/01 othree visually interesting at times, suck story, liked the spin on Judas thou. 3 stars
6/22/01 WOW! My god, how can you rate this piece of donkey shit as good?! Too much fucking sex! 1 stars
5/04/01 Rachel Ross it is the best movies ever and anyone that think other wise sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 5 stars
3/28/01 viking Not another remake !!!! 2 stars
3/01/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Stupid Bloodsuckers...GET OUT OF MY WALLET!!! 2 stars
2/22/01 Cris Hello Dracula! 5 stars
2/05/01 brownsuga23 As a women who saw the film I have to say, Butler was carismatic, cute & utterly inviting 3 stars
2/03/01 Bill Tambor Should go straight to garbage not video 1 stars
1/28/01 christmas28 Excellent and well-done...creative and inventive. 4 stars
1/19/01 Ground Zero Don't waste your money on this crap-on-a-crut 2 stars
1/19/01 malcolm good try, interesting twist on the myth 3 stars
1/17/01 Anthony Typical Wes Craven Crap- Do something different!! 2 stars
1/16/01 Aurora Well, at least they put a new spin on where Dracula came from. 3 stars
1/13/01 Wafer The twizzlers I ate and and the nap I took were the best parts of this movie(No Shit) 1 stars
1/11/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble My autistic cousin loved this movie. 2 stars
1/09/01 Jules Why do almost all vampire movies have to suck? 1 stars
1/08/01 Dracula 1981 Dude! Where are Jeri Ryan's boobies? Even Jonny Lee Miller sucked =^( 1 stars
1/05/01 Stuntman whoa... I'm shocked that the producers made a travesty out of a legend 2 stars
1/04/01 shogun Dracula is supposed to be a legend, not a B horror flick. And don't explain shit 10 times. 2 stars
1/02/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble Oh Dracuala, are you going to bite me now? ZZZZZZZZZZ 1 stars
12/30/00 Emily at the risk of sounding like a thug, i have to say, this movie was wack. not cool at all. 1 stars
12/27/00 LoudChris Why did this movie try to be serouis? The pain.... The sweet pain of a vampire movie... 3 stars
12/26/00 Jeff I paid for homoeroticism and got Jerri Ryan in a nightie. More naked Drac, please! 1 stars
12/25/00 Gia Wow. I'm speechless. This movie sucked even more than I thought it would. 2 stars
12/25/00 MovieFreak Nothing terrible, but no oscars here either. Just go not expecting much and have fun. 3 stars
12/23/00 Bob shomb Can you say CRAP THAT CAME OUTTA THE TOILET? 1 stars
12/19/00 Joe Cool 3 qualities 1- BusTiTing out Vamp babes 2- ugly Vamp Dude 3-Scantilly clad Vamp Babes 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Dec-2000 (R)
  DVD: 12-Apr-2011

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Mar-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast