More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.53

Awesome70.27%
Worth A Look: 18.92%
Average: 6.76%
Pretty Bad: 1.35%
Total Crap: 2.7%

2 reviews, 62 user ratings



Enter the Dragon
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by the Grinch

"It ain't 'Last Hurrah for Chivalry' but good fun none-the-less"
4 stars

Guess what era this movie's from. Afros, clothing that only Ru McClennahan would wear, and a soundtrack that's reminiscent of Phillip Glass duking it out with The Ohio Players in an opium den. Super-impose the blueprints for an unrealized Bond flick, add some KungFu cliches like bad dubbing and a blood oath, and maybe you don't need to see this flick. But what fun is that?

Ya know what? I kind of enjoyed Enter the Dragon. If anything, it's alot of fun watching these dorky shaolin guys running around with 'Hawkwind' haircuts. Doubly funny is watching John Saxon trying to pull off round house kicks without pulling a groin muscle or throwing his back out. I really found it hard to believe that Johnny Anglo could whup up on a steroid pumped Asian guy whose pects were so big he could've snatched John's toupe off with one nipple flinch. But hey, I'll take any opportunity to exercise my suspension-of-disbelief gladly.

Bruce Lee and Saxon are pretty much the saving graces in this one. Enter the Dragon seems like a half-assed attempt by the 70's American film industry to make a no holds barred martial arts movie. Maybe I saw the edited version? The plot itself is almost a rip-off of the James Bond formula. British Intelligence (no, that's not an oxymoron) wants Lee to infiltrate a crime boss's island hideaway and gather evidence of his drug operation. Luckily, the crimeboss conveniently holds a huge 'kumate' style fight every 3 years, in which martial artists from the world over can compete on said crimeboss's ultra secret island hideaway-AND WITH NO BACKGROUND CHECKS WHATSOEVER! And because no guns are allowed on the island, this naturally means more slo-mo kill scenes, naft jumpsuits, and ass whooping for everyone! It was a bit odd, however, watching this big climactic battle scene between two armies with no guns or explosions.

It's no CHINESE CONNECTION or GAME OF DEATH, but it does have Bruce Lee waxin Jeet Kun Do, not to mention a beefed up heavy named Bolo who reminds one of an asian Peter North. I don't know why, he just does.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=467&reviewer=156
originally posted: 11/13/99 11:17:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2013 New York Asian Film Festival For more in the 2013 New York Asian Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

3/06/15 stanley welles a grotesque masculine fantasy 1 stars
9/25/13 David Hollingsworth Bruce Lee's finest hour 5 stars
7/21/13 Ronin That movie made history 5 stars
7/10/11 Ron Estes The Grinch is certainly that. He's also a moron. This is a classic 70's style Kung Fu epic. 5 stars
2/20/10 PAUL SHORTT MINDBOGGLING KUNG FU ACTIONER 3 stars
6/29/09 budo The best of its kind 5 stars
5/16/09 action movie fan well made with great fight secens but characters are somewhat thin 3 stars
12/21/06 Arjan Bruce lee is a really legend... 5 stars
12/13/06 Hapaboy For those who didn't like it, you have offended my family and the shaolin temple 5 stars
6/22/06 Arty Do it again! 2 stars
5/21/06 mr.mike super cool bruce 5 stars
4/28/06 Sugarfoot How can you not love this Bruce Lee classic? 5 stars
9/23/05 VMANIC1 Don't think, feel, it's like a finger pointing the way to the moon 5 stars
8/17/05 ES Brutal, efficient and bloody = best of Bruce Lee 4 stars
3/15/05 Ronin it's after this movie that martial arts become popular in America and Europe. 5 stars
2/21/05 miamivice wood can't return the punch 5 stars
1/05/05 magaafi your enemy is an image.an illusion. break the image, break the enemy 5 stars
8/07/04 sridhar ilango greatest of all movies 5 stars
5/05/04 dead next door great fight scenes. 3 stars
2/05/04 victor Greatest fighter of all time. Greatest martial arts film ever. What more can you ask for? 5 stars
11/29/03 john the one Karate movie that is everythingpeople say it is -Lee becomes an icon with this film 5 stars
10/21/03 Alan Vies with Donovan's Reef as the stupidist movie I love. Great fun. 5 stars
8/23/03 I Would Sloppily paced and full of plotholes. Worth watching only for Bruce Lee's best role. 4 stars
8/04/03 God Best of the best 5 stars
7/06/03 Jazz X - Bond fan Great fights, great music and a villain with artificial hands AND a white cat! 5 stars
3/18/03 Redbeard Bruce Lee is surprisingly convincing in this film as well as a great fighter. 4 stars
11/26/02 Charles Tatum Lee certainly entertained 4 stars
9/02/02 King Richard Everybody was kung-fu fighting. Dadadadadadadadada 5 stars
7/25/02 murat this movie is bad.Scream bruce lee! 1 stars
7/08/02 NEAL PATEL YES PLEASE I LOVE EM 5 stars
3/02/02 R.W. Welch Formulistic plot but peerless Kung-Fuer Lee is great fun to watch. 4 stars
2/10/02 Neal Junior the best martial art film of its' time 5 stars
2/01/02 Andrew Carden It Was OK...Not As Amusing As Other Asian-Fight-Flicks. 3 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent Best martial arts movie of all time 5 stars
11/13/01 The Little Dragon Bruce. Lee. Forever... 5 stars
9/29/01 Phoenix This is the best martial arts movie ever made. Bruce Lee will be a legend forever. 5 stars
9/18/01 Butterbean Jet Li and Jackie Chan needs to take note and make more "Wahhhh!" noises. 5 stars
9/03/01 My Name My Comments 5 stars
7/28/01 Rick Ochoa I own it you should too!!! Bruce Lee at his best!!! 5 stars
6/15/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe Ode to an icon; duplicated dozens of times, never topped 5 stars
4/23/01 Luke Brucey's da shit! his legend will live on! 5 stars
3/03/01 Bruce gotta love it 5 stars
12/09/00 Cristopher Revilla one of the best martial arts flicks ever 5 stars
11/10/00 bruno really really kool movie 5 stars
10/21/00 sifurod enter the dragon is the bomb for it blows all other Gung Fu flicks to bits 5 stars
5/28/00 Lynn McCallum Bruce Lee faster thean lightening!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/26/00 Ghost@Shell it is sacrilege even to mention BruceLee next to to VanDamme so shut up plz people. 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
6/15/99 Dylan One of the best movie of all time. Despit the almost complete lack of plot! 5 stars
1/24/99 Meepos. Set the tone for action films to come. Is that a good thing? 4 stars
12/29/98 Schizofrenic Bruce Lee's the man! Screw Van Damage, Bruce Lee forever! 5 stars
12/28/98 AnimeVision The Greatest!! Bruce Lee can kick eveyone's ass,I mean everyone dammit!! He's the man!! 5 stars
12/15/98 Binky Hardcore action fun. Bruce was intense. 5 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider BETTER THAN MORTAL KOMBAT AND STREET FIGHTER! NOW THAT'S WHAT I CALL A GREAT MOVIE! 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob The 'Citizen Kane' of Kung-Fu flicks. (See the DVD version, if possible!) 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Van Damme could not hold a candle to Bruce at his best. And this is Bruce at his best. 5 stars
10/01/98 {{{OZ}}} Awesome. After sitting through Van Damme, this will make you feel good again. Top notch. 5 stars
10/01/98 Paul Over-rated, it's ok, but Bruce Lee's got nothing on Michelle Yeoh. 3 stars
9/28/98 Brandon B. Jackie Chan? Wha? Van Dame? Wha? This is the epitome of martial arts. 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball We'll never see another Lee. Well, we did, but we won't see *another* another Lee. 4 stars
8/23/98 James McCauley The best martial arts film of all time. Hands down. 5 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Vintage Lee. Ya gotta miss the man. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Nov-1975 (R)
  DVD: 18-May-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1976


Directed by
  Robert Clouse

Written by
  Michael Allin

Cast
  Bruce Lee
  John Saxon
  Jim Kelly
  Ahna Capri
  Kien Shih
  Robert Wall



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast