More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.21

Awesome: 5.26%
Worth A Look: 15.79%
Average: 13.16%
Pretty Bad: 26.32%
Total Crap39.47%

2 reviews, 26 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Bean
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by rotten f. milk

"'...' That's what Bean shoulda said"
1 stars

This was disappointing. Very disappointing.

Bean the TV show: funny. Bean the movie: repetitive.

Now, a point I often tell people is that one of the funnier points of Mr. Bean is the fact he never talks. He's like a mime. And hell, mime's are funny. In the movie, he talks. Now what did I just say again, folks? MIME'S ARE FUNNY. Not to say that Mr. Bean should talk, but elongated speech and sprawling dialogue for the Beanster just isn't his forte.

This basically brought me to the decision that Bean shouldn't have been made. Sure it was a wildly popular TV show, but like I said, Bean survives on lack of dialogue. Actions, not words. Movies, however need words. They need words to convey the plot and whatnot, whereas Mr. Bean doesn't rely on a big plot. Sure, he undertakes some deeds that gets him into a predicament here and there, but he just can't survive in a big, hour long plot.

Quite frankly, there was nothing new to laugh at in BEAN. All the
gags were all taken from the TV show.

Like I said, it was disappointing. It's a shame Mr. Bean left on such a low point.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=470&reviewer=3
originally posted: 09/09/98 05:27:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

5/06/09 Dane Youssef They finally brought Bean to the big screen! But the domestic family stuff is handled badly 3 stars
1/15/07 Sepi53 bullshit!! Is this funny? 1 stars
9/12/05 Total Crap The Carnival ride scene cracked me up. And the Painting AHAHAHAHA!!! 4 stars
6/19/05 Angel Wu the episodes and movie suck!!! 1 stars
12/05/04 Okay..ok..give me another look at the painting..OH G-D, OH GEEZ... HL 4 stars
12/30/03 Littlepurch Pretty good. That scene where he burned the painting was CRINGING... but it a good way. 4 stars
11/22/03 ross hendrick Stick to shorts Rowan aAkinson 3 stars
8/07/03 Marc Ian Very funny ! (5 stars) :) 5 stars
2/11/03 Ubu the Ripper The Black Adder this ain't. Maybe he'll come back from the dead and kill Bean. Yeah! 1 stars
11/20/02 Ionicera unimaginably bad 1 stars
7/01/02 R.W. Welch Somewhat uneven but has a number of funny bits. 3 stars
5/18/02 Dark Barøn The same gimmicks over and over. Been there, done that. 2 stars
3/05/02 Marcia Lartz Has moments but even farce can be TOO silly. TMC ii, what's wrong with algebra for hours? 4 stars
2/14/02 Edmund Blackadder It's alright, but is badly flawed by the regular dialogue unfaithful to Bean tradition. 3 stars
11/24/01 Andrew Carden Bean Is So Underrated, It's So Funny. 5 stars
10/25/01 Henry Ginsberg very funny 4 stars
9/09/01 Gary Mr. Bean was never good enough to warrant a film. 1 stars
9/08/00 Richard Wright Atkinson is unable to transfer funny TV series to film: its O.K in parts I guess. 2 stars
9/30/99 the Grinch A. Bad idea to make it a movie B. Dumbed down 4 American audiences/badwriting.watchtheshow. 1 stars
9/02/99 Jason Kinsey I thought it was pretty funny, even if they did make him talk. 4 stars
4/20/99 Tim Gilles This movie is horrible. It was so bad I stopped watching it in the middle 1 stars
1/26/99 discerning_viewer horribly annoying, like "Dr." Bean but strangely appealing 2 stars
1/23/99 C Dub Unfunny, unclever, unbearable. 1 stars
1/17/99 Jon If you know what's coming every moment - well, then, its not funny. 1 stars
10/05/98 Negative Creep This Proves American films suck. 2 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Doesn't translate well from TV to big screen. Moderately funny. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Nov-1997 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Mel Smith

Written by
  Richard Curtis
  Robin Driscoll

Cast
  Rowan Atkinson
  Peter Egan
  John Mills
  Peter Capaldi
  June Brown
  Peter James



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast