More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.94

Awesome: 15.09%
Worth A Look: 22.64%
Average25.47%
Pretty Bad: 15.09%
Total Crap: 21.7%

8 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Saving Silverman
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"Ironically, this film CAN'T be saved."
1 stars

I'm detecting a pattern here.

It seems like in order to get your basic adult-oriented comedy greenlighted in the mainstream studio world these days, the film has to have:

1. Men who are clueless - usually about women and romance.

2. Women who are three times smarter than the men, and they have to be shallow, anorexically thin and either nothing but bitchy or alternately nice and bitchy.

3. A plotline ridden with really tired cliches, such as men who are afraid of commitment, and try to keep their friends from getting married or making similar romantic commitments. And don't forget the classic "Wait, honey, I can explain" scene where a woman catches her boyfriend in a compromising position with another woman.

4. Plenty of gags involving bodily functions.

5. A vapid chase scene.

6. A vapid fight scene.

7. A guest appearance by a cheesy celebrity who had his or her moment of fame in the seventies or eighties.

8. Finally, the film's climax has to involve the main man and woman kissing in front of a cheering crowd of some sort.

Sometimes the formula will work, as it barely does in "The Wedding Singer" starring Adam Sandler and Billy Idol. But 95% of the time, the films that seem to fall into this formula - and there have been a lot of them lately - are total stinkbombs. "Saving Silverman" is indeed one of them.

The clueless men are Jason Biggs (he's Silverman), Steve Zahn and Jack Black. The smarter women are Amanda Peet and Amanda Detmer. The cheesy celebrity is Neil Diamond. There's also an appearance by R. Lee "What's Your Name, Scumbag" Ermey as a football coach.

The sorry excuse for a plot: Silverman is getting married to the wrong girl, and his friends are trying to stop him, along with a former love interest. As for what else happens, you can review numbers 1 through 8.

We might have another two or three years of movies using the aforementioned formula. Unless a distinctively different comedy becomes a major $200-million hit, the studios are just gonna keep churning out crap like this, and the frat boys and teenagers will eat it up. Lord save us all.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4700&reviewer=9
originally posted: 12/13/02 12:15:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/28/10 wman sheer genius; hysterical 5 stars
5/24/10 Ben You apologize way too much for liking this awesome movie. 5 stars
6/04/09 art FOOLISH! 1 stars
12/22/08 Juice Palomino Horrible movie, absoloutly horrible. But I can't take my eyes away... 2 stars
10/03/08 Lenny Zane Spottily hilarious, but AmandaPeet as villainous fits about like PeeWeeHerman as JamesBond. 4 stars
8/30/08 Shaun Wallner This movie is so funny! 5 stars
6/16/08 PAUL SHORTT A SHAPELESS, WITLESS MESS AND ABOUT AS CONVINCING AS A CARTOON 1 stars
5/07/08 Matt Utterly silly but raises a surprising number of laughs. Better than average fare. 4 stars
3/15/08 mousehunter absolutely horrible, but in a funny and enjoyable way 3 stars
10/16/06 Sugarfoot I never laugh at recent comedies but I tell you truly, I was giggling through out. 4 stars
10/06/05 Clubber lang Should be complete garbage, but somehow works way better than it should. 4 stars
8/12/05 ES I've actually had that nacho conversation (pre-movie)= ok 3 stars
7/22/05 tony Nothing too new. So it is a bad one 2 stars
7/02/05 Eddie Just another PG-13 comedy 3 stars
6/10/05 Rock-Steady Fa sho, this is about as funny as a kick in the nigger. what? 5 stars
2/02/05 Jeff Anderson A mean spirited, but absolutely hilarious comedy. Steve Zahn & Jack Black are a riot. 4 stars
9/23/04 Joe Hall Personally, I love this movie. Every time I see it I just get happier! 5 stars
6/13/04 Kayla wasn't the best. wasn't the worst. 3 stars
2/10/04 Whatevr I HATE THIS MOVE! I HATE IT! I BUTTF*CKING HATE IT! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARGH! 1 stars
10/23/03 Roscoe THIS MOVIE IS HILARIOUS, WHY ARE PEOPLE BASHING IT 5 stars
10/19/03 cinkcool alright 4 stars
6/26/03 Chiend Abominable. Everyone involved with this rancid shit-fest deserves censure. 1 stars
4/14/03 Jack Sommersby Pretty decent. Some failed gags, but the majority of it is amusing. 3 stars
3/23/03 Renee Keener Awesome. Jason Biggs should've won best actor! 5 stars
3/17/03 Cameron Slick Worst Movie Ever. 1 stars
1/04/03 John Aster Habig steve zahn and jack black save the film 4 stars
12/14/02 Jimmy Jamez the hand of god couldnt save this film 1 stars
8/14/02 Bryan Brooks Surprisingly amusing. 3 stars
8/13/02 P.Rodriguez I must admit kinda like it. Biggs is great 4 stars
7/15/02 darth brett this is shite in the extreme 1 stars
6/25/02 Tom Kelley I don't get these Reviews, I loved this movie, Steve Zahn and Jack Black are the funniest! 5 stars
4/16/02 Film Guy Biggs-American Pie, Black- Orange County Zahn- Joy Ride. Much Better than this 1 stars
3/29/02 Renay I loved it, Steve Zahn is the best 5 stars
3/29/02 Renee Keener Awesome. Jason Biggs should've won best actor! 5 stars
3/17/02 Some guy The person who reviewed this has no sense of humor. 5 stars
3/08/02 Diamonds in the Rust, baby! Neil Diamond friggin rocks, man!!!! 4 stars
2/20/02 Cherie I think Neil Diamond is too sophisticated for your review and this movie is just plain fun! 4 stars
2/18/02 Butterbean Not as bad as critics say. The coach and Jack Black saved this one. 3 stars
2/15/02 Carmen Crowe Jason Biggs for best actor! (More worthy than Renee Zellweger for best actress!) 5 stars
1/30/02 Jeremy funny as hell 5 stars
1/25/02 Carolyn (big Neil Diamond fan) Groovy, although coach shitting in yard is over the top 4 stars
1/17/02 FrEaKsO BaBe! it's so funny! although script wasnt so deep..but overall its good! 4 stars
1/11/02 Jenna Its best watched with a sense of humour 4 stars
1/08/02 Spyguy2 Had no expectations going in...funnier than I expected with some big laughs 4 stars
12/10/01 Andrew Carden Jason Biggs Really Failed With This One. 1 stars
9/28/01 HM3 Makes Dude, Where's My Car? look like Gone With the Wind. 1 stars
9/17/01 Bri wacky, and fun 4 stars
9/16/01 chris it was ok... better if amanda peet took it all off 3 stars
9/07/01 Monday Morning Sophomoric humor, but great sophomoric humor. Very funny. 4 stars
8/10/01 chouck very silly 4 stars
5/23/01 Lohsandt Pretty Damn Funny 5 stars
5/13/01 samira good 5 stars
3/21/01 Brandi Terry Sophomoric Comedy 2 stars
2/13/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi But I saw this immediately after "O Brother...", so I was rather jaded... 3 stars
2/11/01 TimmyToday Everyone should see this crap today!!! 5 stars
2/11/01 miyax What the hell...? 1 stars
2/10/01 frankko i thought Black was pretty stupid. he was so much better in HIGH FIDELITY. 2 stars
2/05/01 TDlove Jack Black is awesome, if you like Tenacious D, you will love this movie 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Feb-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Dec-2001 (M)


Directed by
  Dennis Dugan

Written by
  Hank Nelken
  Greg DePaul

Cast
  Jason Biggs
  Steve Zahn
  Jack Black
  Amanda Peet
  Amanda Detmer
  Neil Diamond



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast