More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.48

Awesome: 16.42%
Worth A Look: 13.43%
Average: 4.48%
Pretty Bad32.84%
Total Crap32.84%

4 reviews, 43 user ratings



Left Behind: The Movie
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"The road to mediocrity is paved with good intentions."
2 stars

The people most likely to be upset by a bad review of "Left Behind" are the ones who feel that if a movie is sincerely trying to bring people to Jesus, then it must be a good movie. Unfortunately, all that makes it is a good religious pamphlet. As a movie, it still might suck. Which this does.

"Left Behind: The Movie," based on the best-selling novel about the Bible-predicted end times, is first and foremost a missionary tract for evangelicial Christianity.

Sure, it starts out being more than that. Millions of people -- children, mostly -- have disappeared sans special effects, leaving behind their clothes and loved ones. No one can explain it, except the Bible-believers, who understand that it's the rapture. The righteous have been taken away to heaven, while the rest have been left to endure the rise of the Antichrist and all the bad stuff he has in store for mankind.

News reporter Buck Williams (Kirk Cameron), meanwhile, is putting together clues that will lead him to the aforementioned Evil One. It's a plot that will be familiar to those who already believe a united European currency and the United Nations are insidious; in this case, the U.N. is part of a plot to control the world's food supply.

The ideas are occasionally interesting -- what WOULD it be like if people around you suddenly started vanishing? -- but they are ruined by a heavy-handed religious tone. This is most evident in the story of airline pilot Ray Steele (Brad Johnson), who always made fun of his wife's religious convictions but who isn't laughing now that she's with God and he's stuck with his rebellious daughter (Janaya Stephens) here in mortality. He has an overnight conversion and is soon proselytizing in an embarrassing manner, just like the movie.

I'm in no position to judge the theology of "Left Behind," but I am in a position to judge its quality as a film. And as a film, it's terrible. The direction is strictly movie-of-the-week, and the dialogue is ridiculous and trite. The acting is bland, the characters are lifeless. There is no reason to continue watching the movie, except maybe to find out how the characters are going to deal with realizing the reason they're still here is that they weren't righteous enough.

Using a movie to present your religious views is fine. But having good intentions doesn't excuse you from having to make a quality film. A lot of those people who were left behind had good intentions, too, and look where it got them.

As a missionary tract, "Left Behind" is so-so. As a movie, it's dreadful. Does anyone remember Kirk Cameron being this bad when he was on "Growing Pains"? Is it possible he's gotten worse over the years...?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4703&reviewer=247
originally posted: 02/05/01 14:44:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/03/08 ABE BURROWS Sorry for those who don't get it! 5 stars
4/23/07 Steven Spielberg Fantastic! 5 stars
1/10/07 David Pollastrini could have been good with a big budget 3 stars
11/16/06 David Cohen Only works if you don;t realize that the rapture has no biblical support whatsoever 1 stars
10/09/06 Jeff This is a horrible movie, it sucked balls. 1 stars
1/18/06 DARIJA VAN HOUTEN GREAT MOVIE. MAKE YOU TAKE A GOOD LOOK AT YOU LIFE 5 stars
1/01/06 Tanya makes you think 3 stars
12/21/05 Carolyn Rathburn Intreging, it is worth a look 4 stars
11/29/05 hibbyX Moronic Christian pap...only retards need apply. 1 stars
8/27/05 Michael A good wake up. Lack of ending though. 5 stars
3/01/05 megean this is a great movie a must see for christians 5 stars
2/25/05 jason totally cool it tells the truth about what will happen to the world. 5 stars
5/07/04 france G great movie! 5 stars
4/15/04 leena im 15 n find the film amazing with such hope!..and Kirk IS doing d right thing! 5 stars
1/23/04 Cathy Laws A terriffic movie makes you think 5 stars
1/09/04 Dear Tawyn Budget can't buy a good script or actors (PS the matrix sucked too) 2 stars
1/03/04 Edward B. I tried to read the series but sadly, it sucked as much as this pice of crap film 1 stars
10/21/03 Charles Tatum Hurried and miscast, too cheap to be affective 1 stars
4/18/03 Jack Sommersby Sometimes it's interesting, mostly it's ludicrous. Cameron is classically miscast. 2 stars
2/13/03 Uncle Salty If only I could drown myself... 1 stars
11/05/02 Vicious Quothe the Maynard: "Fuck your god!" 1 stars
2/06/02 EnronWeTrust My copy is still unopened. I'll take a nickel for it. 1 stars
10/14/01 Dan Books are great. Movie was OK but left out too much. 4 stars
6/26/01 Tawyn Loved the books, enjoyed the movie -don't expect a Speilberg!! They don't have his budget. 4 stars
6/16/01 joe I thought the movie and books were great. For ppl who thought it was bad, your loss. 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary This movie is soo boring. I love the books, but the movie is just bad. 2 stars
3/22/01 Del R If I could conjure up a picture of the Anti-Christ, he would be carpathia 4 stars
2/23/01 JDeak97 Best Movie of the Year 4 stars
2/15/01 Steve Burstall Not as good as the series, but worth watching 4 stars
2/13/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi A subtle-as-a-jackhammer "right way is the right way" tripe. 1 stars
2/13/01 SJ Gave me physical pains 1 stars
2/08/01 Nut Not even bad enough for those who look to the loony religious right for voyeuristic fun. 1 stars
2/07/01 Turtle Pretty good on all counts. 3 stars
2/06/01 andrew The opening was good but the cinamitagraghy went down hill from there on 2 stars
2/06/01 Ghost072 You do realize this WAS a Movie of the Week, right? 1 stars
2/06/01 David W. Hillery The movie was great. The religion was simple, for those not up on the Bible. Good message. 4 stars
2/06/01 Anthony Carter It's those who revel in movie fantasy and hedonism that are the real weak-minded fools. 4 stars
2/05/01 keith fundamentalists amuse me - the ones in the theater with me thought this crap was "deep" 1 stars
2/05/01 JDavis Thinly disguised dogma designed to scare weak-minded fools into church 1 stars
2/03/01 Johnny Bravo I don't want to hear about this Christian, Bible propaganda BULLSHIT!!!!!!! 1 stars
2/03/01 Gar Great story carried to the big screen by well-intentioned but not quite convincing actors. 4 stars
2/03/01 HANK DRAKE We're talking Plan 9 From Outer Space BAD> 1 stars
1/31/01 Lee Great Film, must see, keeps you on the edge of your seat! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast