More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.79

Awesome: 25%
Worth A Look56.25%
Average: 1.79%
Pretty Bad: 7.14%
Total Crap: 9.82%

10 reviews, 52 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Spy Kids
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Justin Helmer

"It's more fun that most kids movies..."
4 stars

I must admit I was somewhat unsure of what to think when I heard that Robert Rodriguez had made a family film. This was the man who had given us El Mariachi, and the brilliant violence as ballet in its twin Desperado. The blood- and whiskey- soaked director who got together with Tarantino and gave second birth to the exploitation horror comedy in From Dusk til Dawn. How in the name of all things holy was this guy gonna pull of a kids’ movie?

Handily, it turns out. Spy Kids is a fun movie that won’t bore your kids, or you either. It seems Rodriguez remembers how much fun kids’ fare can be when there is some darkness to balance the sickly-sweet.

It all starts from the old saw about the kids who imagine their parent’s lives are boring and humdrum then finding out they are actually dangerous and fun. Most of us grow up with the idea that our parents are superheroes of some sort.

Most striking of all of the good parts of what’s offered here is how much fun everyone seems to be having. It really is infectious. The cast plays with spy clichés and kid movie standards, and even cultural stereotypes in a breezy and light- hearted way.

When their super-spy parents are taken prisoner, Carmen and Juni Cortez are determined to go to the rescue. Along the way, they fight the bad guys-- and each other. Aside from the always popular ‘kids saving the world’ plot device (nothing is more empowering than a grown up as helpless as you feel) the majority of the movie is a about accepting yourself and your family. Being at peace with who you are may not be an overly original concept, but fortunately, this message comes with a healthy amount of kid-friendly action.

Rodriguez manages to wrap a strong family unity message around a solid chunk of his trademark exuberant violence. Nothing here even remotely approaches the intensity of his other work, but since most kids aren’t really all that into gloriously complicated carnage, it’s fitting that the action owes more to the Keystone Cops than to John Woo.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4708&reviewer=315
originally posted: 07/12/03 11:39:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

5/27/08 PAUL SHORTT NOT ONLY TERRIFICALLY ENTERTAINING, BUT HAS A GREAT MESSAGE, AS WELL 4 stars
1/10/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
4/01/06 Rose Marie the director is crud, the movie is crap!the cast is all wrong and horibble! 1 stars
3/31/06 Anthony Feor A great kid flick 4 stars
3/26/06 Quigley whoa, people, explain the high ratings. it is crap. even antonio banderas didn't save it! 1 stars
9/14/05 Jonathon Holmes great fun 4 stars
8/06/05 Zack What was Robert Rodriguez thinking?!? 1 stars
6/14/05 Agent Sands An overlooked gem. 4 stars
12/10/04 Kristina Williams not a bad kids flick. I can sit through it without howling 4 stars
10/07/04 tatum Big loud fun 4 stars
8/31/04 aussieemmy hey this movie stars Cheech, so any one dissing this movie sucks! 5 stars
8/04/04 Katie This movie is great! The cast is awesome and the story is fun. 5 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Very fakey, somewhat boring, not very funny. 2 stars
12/03/03 Mr. Hat (previously Joe Zappa) It, as well as 2 & 3, are much better than the average kids' movie!! 5 stars
8/30/03 DEVON look, daryl is hot,smart, and turkish, you have a big mouth, you sorry jerk!!! 5 stars
7/26/03 Christian Harding Ideotic humor+some (as in 1 or 2) interesting scenes+weird characters=Spy Kids 3 stars
7/18/03 Chris Entertaing but not without flaws. Still it's style was unseen before. My family enjoyed it. 4 stars
6/20/03 jim movie sucks totall ass, unless ur a 6 year old, be ashamed of urself for liking this movie 1 stars
6/15/03 josh love to see an x-rated virsin 5 stars
6/10/03 Jareth Much better than the last 10 Bonds films 4 stars
2/21/03 scott SHUT UP ALEX THIS MOVIE ROCKS 5 stars
1/27/03 alex why do pussy like andrew patrick watch fuckin kid movies like spy kids, man up u littlegil 1 stars
12/17/02 Laura *Mrs. Floop* This movie is my favourite movie of all time. It is fantasticly made and Floop is gorgeous! 5 stars
8/25/02 Turkish blew total ass poo, jus rent the goonies instead, and andrew patricks a pussy 1 stars
8/17/02 Andrew Patrick Spy Kids Is Probably The Best Spy Movie Ever 5 stars
8/17/02 AJ Go in openminded and knowing its a kid's movie.. Overall it rocks 5 stars
8/16/02 scott great but spy kids 2 is better 4 stars
8/11/02 J I use to love it but after that lame "re-release" and better sequel I'm lowering my rating. 4 stars
7/28/02 spencer stupid shit that would never happen no plot 1 stars
6/11/02 qtpie Antonia Banderas was hot in those working glasses 5 stars
3/11/02 Emilia The bad guy is the weirdest..fits the whole movie 4 stars
1/20/02 Andrew Carden Uncomfortable and Uneven Kiddie Flick. 2 stars
12/26/01 Phil M. Afficianado Very cool. An eyefull of color and activity and imagination. Good spirited, too. Fun. 5 stars
10/16/01 Mr. Hat Some of the stuff is so cool, it makes me jealous because I don't have it. 5 stars
9/25/01 INCUBATOR Not funny, no nothing.....real piece of crap 1 stars
8/10/01 Jessel GREAT flick for the kids who will love it. Banderas is excellent, disliked only by skanks 4 stars
7/17/01 cheryl hated spy kids HATED antonio banderas - a greasy wetback with a lisp. 1 stars
6/22/01 sumair adfd 4 stars
5/20/01 Billy Blah at best 1 stars
5/10/01 Annie Tangalin It's alot funnier than any comedy show I've seen!!! 5 stars
4/21/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Funnier than 8-out-of-10 gross-out comedies you'll see this year...I'm serious... 4 stars
4/20/01 Stephen Booth Appeals on many levels, not to saccerine but sweet enough not to scare the kids. 4 stars
4/17/01 gloria fantastic movie for adults and kids. 5 stars
4/17/01 JustJeff I liked "Play It to the Bone" better - too bad Antonio did whup on the brats in this flick. 1 stars
4/16/01 Rampage perfect for the entire family, Banderas was great 5 stars
4/09/01 The Bomb 69 very entertaining, kids, parents, and grandparents will all love it 5 stars
4/02/01 Danny Del Rossi Not since 'The Princess Bride' have I seen a movie with such multi-generational appeal. 5 stars
4/02/01 orpy Excellent, better than Crouching Tiger! 5 stars
4/01/01 Kevin Neece This film was funny 5 stars
3/31/01 B Monday Most entertaining blast of the past several years! Alexa Vega was terrific in her 1st role 5 stars
3/27/01 film fan Fun! 5 stars
3/25/01 JF Great movie with awesome special effects and characters! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Mar-2001 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Sep-2001 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast