More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.07

Awesome: 6.56%
Worth A Look40.16%
Average: 23.77%
Pretty Bad: 12.3%
Total Crap: 17.21%

8 reviews, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Northern Borders by Jay Seaver

Arbor, The by Charles Tatum

Oculus by Jay Seaver

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Evolution
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"A comedy that can't walk erect."
3 stars

“Evolution” feels like a movie ready to take off at any moment, but feels content to just stay at the starting line. It has the energy, it has the right actors, even the right director. It has the right take on the story. We know because we’ve seen the story before. It has the good sense to not take itself too seriously. It basically has the right elements for a good fun summer comedy. So, what happened? Why didn’t I laugh that much? Perhaps the director, Ivan Reitman, thought this would be one of those comedies where improv from the actors would compensate for the somewhat dry material. It didn’t happen.

It has happened before where a script comes in, it looks like a good vehicle for the right comedic actors and nobody touches it because, well, the directors figure ‘a lot of the humor will happen as we film.’ The filmmakers think they’ll catch lightning in a bottle. Strange, this time around since two of the main actors, David Duchuvny and Julianne Moore, come from drama. Both look like they had a good time making this movie acting alongside Orlando Jones (best known for his “Make 7 Up Yours” commercials) and Seann William Scott, from “American Pie” and “Road Trip.” All four actors seem like they should be working together on something that has its wit pre-written.

The exposition seems like a frame-for-frame remake of Reitman’s masterpiece “Ghostbusters,” where a character going about his business suddenly has the bejeezus scared out of him by an unknown life form. Cut to the school where the heroes apply their scientific trade learning about the encounter and setting out, as amateurs, to investigate it.

Actually, I could just say “Ghostbusters” meets “Men In Black” and you really wouldn’t need a synopses. You tell me. If I tell you that a meteorite lands in Arizona in front of fireman-wannabe Wayne (Seann William Scott) and Dr. Ira Krane (Duchuvny) and Harry Block (Jones), professors at a community college in Arizona, go out to investigate it, would you need more? (Well, no, especially since I said that in the previous paragraph). Alright, how about if they discover an ooze leaking from the meteor and discover it multiplying and evolving at a rapid rate? Still need more?

Okay, how about if a General (Ted Levine) and a lovely epidemiologist named Allison (Moore) try to keep the situation under wraps? How about if Krane falls in love with Allison? And then Krane and Block enlist the help Wayne and two junior college flunkies to fight the growing alien life-forms without military approval? What if they save the day, but not without having a scene of the cast dancing to “Play That Funky Music, White Boy” in a jeep?

You get the idea. “Evolution” had such a great trailer and a funky poster, it left audiences, myself included, a bit baffled, but in a good way. It seemed to have a lot going for it, even though no one could tell what it would really be about, except it had something to do with aliens. And Julianne Morre signing on to do it had to be a good sign, right?

I’ve been wanting to see Julianne Moore do a comedy for quite some time. Her cameo in “Ladies Man” didn’t do much for me but wonder, ‘What was she thinking?’ Reitman has a way of luring serious actresses into his featherweight comedies. But unlike Sigourney Weaver and Emma Thompson (“Junior”), she doesn’t act as the straight person. Instead, she trips over stair steps and bumps into glass doors. Suddenly, the movie turns into “Ally McBeal.” Reitman, of all people, should know better.

Duchuvny seems to want to get as far away from his “X-Files” persona as possible. Here, as in “Return To Me,” he shows signs of life. He does smile, he does laugh, he does show excitement and, yes, he does look like he had a good time. Actually, Duchuvny had some great comedic moments on “X-Files” and he seems like a natural for this kind of part. But, again, he hasn’t been given much to work with. Since when did mooning someone become funny again?

Orlando Jones shows great promise. His pitch-perfect reaction to Wayne singing in the shopping mall microphone (don’t ask) made me laugh the most. Actually, his fate at the end—the ass end, that is—had me laughing as well. Oh, yeah, and the part where the alien gets under his skin and only a rectal probing will get it out. That all made me laugh, but I can’t remember much else. Again, I should stress that these three actors (I eliminated Scott, because he hasn’t really shown himself to be much of an actor yet) really should be working on something together with a director who feels like taking chances. Please, Reitman, evolve already.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4710&reviewer=233
originally posted: 06/21/01 23:19:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/10/09 Chris Tanner My Favourite Movie of All Time 5 stars
11/04/09 Jeff Wilder Very funny sci-fi comedy. Better than Mars Attacks or Men In Black II. 4 stars
5/19/09 Rhys Hughes Crackin' fun film. There's always time for lubricant! 4 stars
6/09/08 PAUL SHORTT FEELS LIKE THE SCRIPT WAS CRANKED OUT TO MEET A DEADLINE 1 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK It looks like a de''Evolution'' in Film making (pardon the pun.) 2 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega 'Ghostbusters' meet 'Aliens'. 4 stars
9/23/06 Charles Tatum Rejected Ghostbusters sequel without the laughs 2 stars
8/27/05 R.W. Welch Slapstick sci-fi. Okay premise devolves into FX for the sake of FX. 2 stars
6/12/05 Gecko Fanfoot A total waste of time and film 1 stars
3/22/05 Jeff Anderson Owes a great deal to director Reitman's GHOSTBUSTERS, but occasionally witty & cast is fun. 3 stars
6/05/04 john bale Another SF spoof in the MIB mold, mildy amusing thanks to a good cast and SFX. 3 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot This film is dog shit.i rarely say that about any film. 1 stars
1/16/04 Gecko Fanfoot A God-awful piece of shit AND a complete waste of time to boot! 1 stars
12/30/03 Littlepurch Funny, clever and enjoyable. Easily as good as Ghostbusters. 5 stars
6/30/03 francis Surely a film must make at least a little sense. This is plain silly. 2 stars
6/23/03 John Aster Habig Sucks like Joe Dirt and Eight Crazy Nights 1 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Hilariously awful. How can so many good actors suck so bad at one time? 1 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby A few good moments, but this is second-rate, lazy stuff. 2 stars
4/11/03 Jack Bourbon Great chemistry between Duchovny and Jones. 4 stars
2/11/03 Ubu the Ripper A complete waste of celluloid. Duchovny should be ostracized for being associated with this 1 stars
10/22/02 Jiz Fun flick, but nothing special. 4 stars
9/30/02 Butterbean The slapstick was stupid instead of funny. 2 stars
7/23/02 Bada Bing Crosby Not just unworthy of Julianne Moore, but all thinking human beings 1 stars
5/11/02 Keith unworthy of Julianne Moore's talents. 3 stars
4/16/02 Danielle Ophelia The cast was an effective compensation for its shortcomings. 4 stars
3/11/02 Jim Amusing and forgettable 4 stars
3/05/02 Alan Smithee The movie's okay, but Ms. Moore as always does a great job. 3 stars
2/27/02 J I'm pretty much with Greg, Y2 & both Eriks on this one. Good movie. 4 stars
2/25/02 Mitja Podgajski Not too bad:). 3 stars
2/10/02 Dawn Someone with "Some High School Chem" could prove their 'scientific' theories wrong! 1 stars
1/30/02 Monday Morning Very disappointing given its cast, director and EFX. 2 stars
1/21/02 The Bomb 69 should have been better, took too many shortcuts 3 stars
1/11/02 max zhang after I took the girl to this movie, she refused to have sex with me. 1 stars
1/03/02 Dave Gonyea This was sooooo bad, it hurt! 1 stars
12/07/01 Dominik Duprelle Terminal, desparate dreck-STINKS OUT THE SWAMP. 1 stars
12/06/01 KMG It was good....scott thinks it's retarded 2 stars
11/15/01 Marlene Steinberg I really enjoyed it. Took my whole family and found it to be very entertaining. 4 stars
11/15/01 Anita McNab As a X Files Fan, I knew that David Duchovny was Funny, and This Movie proves that he is. 5 stars
11/09/01 Mark "Let's shampoo us some aliens!" With quotes like that, how can you not see this movie? 5 stars
10/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Orlando Jones and Dan Aykroyd are the best HUMAN characters. 3 stars
10/26/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! one of my all-time favourite films!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/13/01 Bevan R. Clark A derivative piece of shit. 1 stars
9/11/01 cameron it was very very funny. 5 stars
7/28/01 Turtle It's basically just Ghostbusters mixed in with Men in Black. Who said that was a bad thing? 4 stars
7/24/01 Gizzy Fun, despite a silly final 15 minutes 4 stars
7/11/01 Katherine Perry enjoyable and funny though at moments unneccessarily sophomoric. 4 stars
7/10/01 Anne Major cheese, but I had fun anyhow. 3 stars
7/03/01 Matthew Bartley Very funny 4 stars
6/27/01 russrickee Some parts funny, was expecting it to go somewhere, but it didn't 3 stars
6/23/01 Nightraven It did rehash some existing plots, but was still a good way to have fun for a little while/ 4 stars
6/22/01 brent young funny. used the ghostbuster formula. the shampoo part was hilarious. though not all got it 4 stars
6/22/01 ArtiGrafiche Was it a product commercial, or a movie? 2 stars
6/18/01 bobbuttons nothing too serious...a good time: oh yeah, DONKEY LIPS from Salute your Shorts is in this 4 stars
6/17/01 Thor-Leo Slow, flat, predictable, phoned-in performances. Bilked out of $7.50!!! 2 stars
6/16/01 LdyArdRhi Formulaic, scrape off ghosts and put in aliens and you have Evolution...but FUNNY. 4 stars
6/15/01 mc iedh very flat,unfunny,rushed,predictable; meant to be fun and giddy but ended just plain bad 1 stars
6/15/01 BrainPan expected some jokes. I wanted to like this, but no gut-busters. Duchovny still rocks. 3 stars
6/15/01 Rampage at least it beat Starship Troopers and MIB, I think Duchovny was good 4 stars
6/15/01 Brandon Glenn Rogers just saw this film the other day, loved it. 5 stars
6/14/01 JB Poor attempt to revist Ghostbusters. Rent Ghostbusters. Yet the hairy monster was cool. 2 stars
6/14/01 fishie definately worth going to see, orlando jones is hilarous. 4 stars
6/13/01 Jim Kidd I loved it, but it seemed like something was missing from the whole movie 4 stars
6/13/01 bats If Reitman wanted to make a Ghostbusters ripoff, why not "GB II"? Lame. 2 stars
6/13/01 Darren Shea a fun, dumb comedy with good chemistry between the leads. 4 stars
6/13/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Perfect summer fare...Duchovny has amazing comedic timing...Moore's good, too... 4 stars
6/12/01 Biz McNatch Easygoing and affable. Orlando finally has a real performance. Dave should always do comedy 5 stars
6/12/01 TheFirkin It's not Ghostbusters but it was great! 4 stars
6/12/01 Mike TERRIBLE 1 stars
6/11/01 BKrymsin Constant laughs; but ended with a sputter. 4 stars
6/11/01 ArtiGrafiche A piece of product marketing crapola! 2 stars
6/10/01 Benjamin Lesbian What a load of horseshit! Very pedestrian ripoff of Ghostbusters! 2 stars
6/10/01 Turtle Ghostbusters meets Men in Black. What a wonderful experience. 4 stars
6/10/01 Jim Kidd I laughed throughout the whole movie, but I felt that it was also missing something 3 stars
6/09/01 AgentDS I went to see David, nothing more! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Jun-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Jul-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast