More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.46

Awesome24.75%
Worth A Look24.75%
Average24.75%
Pretty Bad: 22.77%
Total Crap: 2.97%

6 reviews, 65 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Rush Hour 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Matt Mulcahey

"Man do I love buddy cop movies"
3 stars

Thatís right, you uppity bastards. I donít care how formulamatic and regurgitated the genre may be, you throw in two enjoyable actors with some chemistry, a couple of good one-liners and some pulse-quickening action scenes and you've get a good time on your hands.

As much as Iíd like to think I have good taste and am a respectful student of film history, Iíve always loved these moronic adventures. When I was 12 my favorite movies in the world were Lethal Weapon, Running Scared and Big Trouble in Little China. Hell, I even liked Tango and Cash and Action Jackson. It's for the same reason I love grade-Z horror schlock like the films of Lucio Fulci: Sometimes, after a long day, I just don't want to have to think too hard about anything.

Buddy cop movies are some of the most mindlessly entertaining films ever, if done right. But if done wrong, you get Collision Course or Turner and Hooch.

The original Rush Hour falls into the former category: A guilty pleasure. But as much fun as it was, the movie still used a well-worn formula and lacked originality.

So how did director Brett Ratner come up with new material for a sequel to a movie that itself was highly derivative? Easy: He didnít. This sequel recycles not only the fish out of water plot line, as Tucker struggles with the language, culture and people of a foreign land just as Chan did in the original, but actually uses many of the same jokes (though they really wonít be all that funny unless youíve seen the original).

Yet somehow Rush Hour 2 manages to be the most entertaining and fun movie of the summer, slightly ahead of the even dumber The Fast and the Furious, an enjoyable homage to bottom-of-a-double-bill drive-in classics like Death Race 2000.

Rush Hour 2 picks up where its predecessor left off, with odd-couple Tucker, an LAPD cop, and Chan, a Hong Kong Inspector, landing in Chan's home turf for a vacation.

But that vacation is short lived as Tucker and Chan soon find themselves investigating a terrorist bombing that claimed the lives of two US Customs workers. This, in turn, leads to a counterfeit money ring and an ill-advised sub-plot involving the death of Chan's father.

As with the first film, the story is slight. But what makes the film work despite being creativity-impaired is how well Tuckerís brand of motor mouth comedy and Chanís legendary action sequences blend together.

Thereís also better villains this time around, as John Lone (playing an older version of his Year of the Dragon gangster) and Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon star Ziyi Zhang battle the heroic duo. Quite an improvement over blonde pansy Ken Leung.

Philip Baker Hall and Tuckerís banter with bomb squad member Elizabeth Pena are missed, with beautiful Secret Service agent Roselyn Sanchez and casino owner Alan King making rather inadequate substitutes.

However, there are a trio of funny cameos from alumns of Ratnerís last film, The Family Man, with Saul Rubinek as a casino worker, Jeremy Piven as a flaming clothing store employee and Don Cheadle in a completely random and excessive kung-fu fight with Chan.

But excess is part of what makes buddy cop movie so fun, with bombs, fistfights and jokes trying to divert attention from weak plots. And when a movie is as fun as Rush Hour 2, itís not hard to be distracted. Hell, the outtakes are a better time that half the crap I've sat through this summer.

Is this movie original? No. Is it a great cinematic feat? Certainly not. Is it fun? Your damn right it is. And if this summerís bland movie season has proved anything itís that making a fun movie ainít that easy.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4712&reviewer=255
originally posted: 08/10/01 17:38:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/14/10 LINDA DOWDY Good "action comedy"! 4 stars
10/13/08 PAUL SHORTT PERFUNCTORY, SOUR AND RACIST 1 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner This movie is so funny! 5 stars
5/06/07 David Risser Another great Jackie Chan action flick! 5 stars
2/03/06 Anthony Feor A funny sequel, but brings down attention just a bit 3 stars
11/14/05 Jackie Tucker GOOD MOSHO 5 stars
11/14/05 J man Brett Ratnerís Choice of actors was out standing no other director could do a better job 5 stars
8/21/05 tony It was so funny. it was very good. 4 stars
7/02/05 Eddie Chan's worst role ever 1 stars
6/08/05 JD On an entertainment level, it delivers! 4 stars
1/24/05 keithers.. Another hollywood entry for Chan... 3 stars
8/30/04 john bale Tucker does Eddie Murphy, Chan does himself - predictable mayhem & kung fu stuff. 3 stars
5/31/04 Nobody about as good as the first...too many racist jokes 3 stars
11/21/03 rony awesome!!! makes me wanna visit hong kong!!! and electrifying Zhang Ziyi=ZZ^_^ 5 stars
11/01/03 Littlepurch Loved it! Haven't even seen the first one!!! 5 stars
10/14/03 Ian Hilarious! 5 stars
10/01/03 estheticaura Same formula. Different Scenery. 2 stars
4/19/03 Gecko Fanfoot Nice outing. Tucker and Chan are a great team. Tucker's a scream! 5 stars
2/03/03 Turtle Nowhere near as good as the original and has a terribly convoluted plot...FUN! 4 stars
12/31/02 John Aster Habig gees who knew jokes could be this dumb even racial humor 2 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Unexpectedly winning and entertaining. 4 stars
10/25/02 Interrog8 Oops, it didn't have the spunk of the first one. 3 stars
10/13/02 Bodine Harris Awesome 5 stars
8/13/02 Justin Better than the first! 5 stars
8/04/02 Ray McCoy John Lone should have had more screen time in this film!!! 3 stars
5/25/02 Film Guy Not funny ,not good 2 stars
3/31/02 Jeremy ACTION thats one of the main things i like 5 stars
3/18/02 Zargo wicked movie, Ziyi is a babe 5 stars
3/13/02 andrew howe its a classic 5 stars
3/06/02 Julia Cox Possibly unprecedented level of original-to-sequel improvement. Tucker almost not obnoxious 5 stars
2/24/02 Andrew Carden Scattershot Sequel Has Minimal Laughs and A Dumb Screenplay. 3 stars
2/20/02 Xaver While funny at times, it isn't as funny as the original. 3 stars
2/08/02 Jennifleur Best Jackie Chan Movie yet. Hope he keeps up the trend 5 stars
2/07/02 Phil M. Afficianado Sti[id film, done well 2 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent Not quite as good as the first one but pretty close 4 stars
1/17/02 Piz I could swear i saw this before, oh yeah, Rush Hour 1, but since the first was funny... 4 stars
12/25/01 Mogwai worth a look 3 stars
12/22/01 Bri funny, action is decent 5 stars
12/19/01 The Bomb 69 great popcorn movie, Infinifilm DVD made it better 5 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 A good time, better, funnier than part 1 4 stars
11/09/01 Christina Boe I think that Rush Hour 2 was a very good movie. I believe this movie was well put together 4 stars
10/16/01 kate This was a wicked film, definitely a film to watch again 5 stars
10/14/01 gus i loved it! it came so close to surpassing the original 5 stars
10/07/01 STEVE DUNN NOT NEARLY AS GOOD AS THE FIRST ONE. OK TO PASS THE TIME 3 stars
10/06/01 Hashbro iam an ultimate rush hour fan and i cant wait for rush hour 3..but i better this again! 5 stars
9/29/01 Jim Renwick Good show 4 stars
9/29/01 Phoenix I laughed all the way through this. Chan and Tucker are great together. 4 stars
9/19/01 cheuk kinda cool watchin it, but when ur out, u realize u jus wen n 2 c jackie chan, not da movie 4 stars
9/16/01 A.J it was the best movie ever its better then rush hour 1 i hope you put rush hour3 5 stars
9/15/01 Palaboy Forget Chris Tucker, Jackie is the real star of this film! 3 stars
9/05/01 elee the best =) cant wait til the next sequel 5 stars
9/03/01 Injew Tries really hard to be funny. I left after 40 minutes of this garbage. 2 stars
8/27/01 B. Merriweather It was a delightful, funny and witty comedy that I truly enjoyed. 4 stars
8/23/01 Baphomet Damn enteeeeeeeeeertainin' n' no pretense. It's fun n' Ziyi iz stunningly beautiful. 4 stars
8/19/01 Mike L Too funny!!! also cant resist Zhang Ziyi!!!!DAMN HOT!!!! 5 stars
8/15/01 Don Slomski loved the 1st one, maybe Tucker / Chan will be together in a film soon, this wasn't it. 3 stars
8/13/01 Roy Smith Not a great movie but Tucker and Chan are a great team! Charisma to spare!! 4 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Tucker handles all situations like some stand-up,but he's veryfunny & Jackie Chan is agile! 4 stars
8/07/01 Kimble Just... great! 5 stars
8/06/01 John Lyons not bad. Chris Tucker getting tired, but Zhang Ziyi is HOT! 4 stars
8/06/01 parkallan Pretty good film, action and comedy done well 4 stars
8/05/01 Y2mckay Same old shit, Tucker still kinda funny, Chan still fights good, Not worth a full review. 3 stars
8/05/01 Jed Complete Crap. Not the least bit funny. 1 stars
8/05/01 Brad this movie was awsome; better than the first 5 stars
8/05/01 Josh Tybur Hit and miss jokes, awesome action. Did they have to do that to Zhang? 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Aug-2001 (PG-13)
  DVD: 22-May-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Sep-2001 (M)


Directed by
  Brett Ratner

Written by
  Jeff Nathanson

Cast
  Jackie Chan
  Chris Tucker
  Wong Fei
  Chris Penn
  Zhang Ziyi
  Alan King



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast