More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.14

Awesome: 14.45%
Worth A Look: 9.25%
Average: 9.25%
Pretty Bad: 10.4%
Total Crap56.65%

6 reviews, 137 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Freddy Got Fingered
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Don't just give 'Freddy' the finger, fist the fucker Tom Green."
1 stars

The pastime we call movies has hit an all-time low. I have never, ever seen an atrocity, on-screen or off, under the label of a movie, or without (what else can this be called outside of celluloid shit) as horrible as "Freddy Got Fingered." Never. Out of every movie I have ever seen, this is by far, no questions about it, the worst. And mind you, I stayed the entire time, until the first wave of credits hit the screen, though I wasn't bound to stay for any outtakes --the supposed "meat" was bad enough.

Whatever choice I made, I knew I was screwing myself. Scheduled to screen against each other, I would only be able to see "Freddy" or "Crocodile Dundee 3," and I wasn't very fond of the latter's series. "Freddy" seemed to be what would be the more "popular" choice among audiences, so I thought it would be the more pertinent to see. I was ready to walk out five minutes into "Freddy" when The World's Biggest Stupid-Ass Moron Fucker, formerly known as Tom Green started manually masturbating a horse. This was no animatronic or fake horse either, this was the real thing. You see, "Freddy Got Fingered" is not actually a movie, but rather an assemblage of random acts of stupidity, grotesquery connected only by Green's character Gord --a 28-year-old loser who still lives at home, but wants to be an animator. (He refers to his drawings as "animations.") Things don't work out in Hollywood like he planned, so he returns home to Oregon to further demonstrate pure, concentrate insipidness.

Ranting and giving examples of the shit I sat through would be more in-tune rather than "reviewing" this.

>Some character, or maybe it was his father (Rip Torn) refers to him as a "retard." The definition of slow is very much there, but the intended use of juxtaposing him with someone who is mentally and/or physically disabled is offensive and an injustice to them. Otherwise, that descriptive word would fit very well, but nothing already created or available in our dictionaries would suffice for Green.

>If you strip away the characters names and the little bit of "plot" that was there, you are left with nothing. Nothing, that is, but idiotic stunts he pulls, and gross acts like jerking off the horse. Other things include doing the same to an elephant, although I'm sure the elephant's penis was fake, not just because of the gallons of semen that was ejaculated onto Torn, but because as I researched, an elephant's penis is about four feet. The hose that Green used was closer to 10-15 feet. Additionally, he gets his friend injured, licks his open-fracture would, (hence the title) falsely accuses his father of molesting his 25-year-old brother so as that he is sent to "The Center for Molested Children," delivers a baby, pulling it back and is only prevented from falling by grasping hold to the umbilical cord, biting the cord off, and then swinging the baby around by the cord whilst splattering blood on the wall Pollock-style, whacks his paraplegic girlfriend (Marisa Coughlan) with bamboo for sadomasochistic pleasure (her only other desire was to "suck his cock" every chance she got), slices open a dead deer playing with its insides, and then wearing the skin, and plenty of other such wretched crap.

>The young audience that attended the screening, didn't appear to be thrilled either. I witnessed plenty of walkouts, and as I exited the theater on the way out, heard lots of reactions along "That was [one of] the worst movie[s] I've ever seen.

Green (and Derek Harvie) take credit for writing this, and Green additionally directed. Why is it that it's nearly impossible for African-Americans to have the chance to direct a movie, yet big old 20th Century Fox just lets this asshole numbnuts direct something? Although I don't watch his show, the few times that I have seen pieces here and there, it never bothered me one way or another, and I liked "Road Trip" a whole lot last year, even though I was more indifferent to him. But I have vowed never to watch anything with Tom Green in it again! I don't care what movie it is, or if it has Natalie Portman, Neve Campbell, Christina Ricci, Sarah Polley, David Lynch, John Waters, Tim Burton, or any number of other people I like involved with it. (Not that I think these people that I have mentioned would ever have the thought of working with him cross their mind.) And if such a thing were to happen, I would find a way --say by having someone alert me to the times he was on-screen-- so that I could walk out and avoid his utter tawdry, tasteless inanity.

All this is, is an excuse to pull a lot of repulsive, offensive, tasteless, sordid, empty, reprehensible, gross-out "jokes," and the usage of "fuck" almost every other word and by almost every single "performer." (Gord finally snaps at his father, "Dad, fuck you," only for Torn to pull down his pants, start slapping his ass, and telling Gord to "Fuck me! Fuck me then." There is also some point near the end where someone in a crowd holds up a sign that read, "When is this fucking movie going to end?") Gross-out can be funny, and we've seen that in a multitude of movies like "South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut," "There's Something About Mary," and just about any of John Waters' movie, but the difference is that there is some thought going into those movies. Whether it is the cleverness of the gags, the creativity of achieving the gross status, or je ne sais quoi, there is at least a consciousness of what it's doing. Green has no such sense, and there is nothing clever or thought out in this. Sure, maybe Divine eating dogshit in "Pink Flamingos" was simply for an extreme reaction, but Waters has used much better judgment and discretion in his works of tastelessness. Meantime, I have lost respect for anyone who appeared in this movie --not that there was anybody particularly special-- but that does as well include Drew Barrymore. There are just some things that are not worth doing for money, it this is most definitely one of them.

By far, the worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst, worst (x 1,000,000,000,000,000,000+) excuse for a "movie" I have ever seen. All this may sound repetitive, but none of it can begin to accurately sum up my feelings towards this.

Final Verdict: Z --because an F is too high of a grade for this, and isn't equipped to illustrate how horrid this is.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4713&reviewer=172
originally posted: 04/23/01 13:53:31
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/26/16 Ken For those who like this can fuck off! 1 stars
3/12/14 dr.lao I'm going to be generous and assume they were trying to make the worst movie in history 1 stars
2/21/14 Justin R. This film doesn't make any sense at all! Plus, whoever likes this is a total retard! 1 stars
1/23/14 Quigley One of the worst movies (nay, things) I've ever had the misfortune to witness. 1 stars
1/25/13 MatthewThompsonDalldorf Anti-comedy done right. The closest thing I've seen to a mainstream John Waters flick 4 stars
6/30/11 art Marisa coughlan stold the movie as Handicapped Betty! 3 stars
1/08/10 Crazy Carney This is not a movie its a bowel movement 1 stars
10/11/09 Bethany Cox Awful, like a root canal but without the anaesthetic! 1 stars
7/29/09 The Dead Linda I never laughed so hard. 5 stars
6/27/09 CTT This is why God gave Green cancer 1 stars
4/01/09 belike I love the fact that this movie actually pisses people off. 5 stars
8/28/08 Shaun Wallner Never laughed so hard in my Life!! 5 stars
5/03/07 john I think this is the most underrated film of all time. 5 stars
4/27/07 Total Crap This movie is so bad it's funny.. but what the hell is up with Tom and cheese sandwiches? 3 stars
2/25/06 dupadoit it blows 1 stars
1/21/06 your worst goddamn nightmare "Daddy, would you like some sausage??" 5 stars
1/03/06 Daveman Perhaps the only mainstream comedy to tap into contemporary postpostpostmodern irony 3 stars
12/01/05 bill bohobins i bet all you people who hate this movie are old... to me you have no opinion 5 stars
11/25/05 Movielover This movie is a hilarious and brilliant film-no wait, I was thinking of another movie! 1 stars
11/08/05 Jake I rather give Bill Clinton a blowjob than watch this wrecked piece of DOGSHIT EVER AGAIN!!! 1 stars
8/29/05 Dr. Zoidberg Wretched, but in a strangely fascinating way 2 stars
6/21/05 Manu Ginobli Celtic Pride was better. That's how bad this shit sucks. 1 stars
6/15/05 Jeff Anderson The most retarded, moronic & disgusting "comedy" ever made, but watchable in a strange way! 3 stars
6/11/05 Rock-Steady This is without a doubt,the biggest piece of shit to EVER make it to the big screen.dogshit 5 stars
3/23/05 indrid cold One brain dead vignette after another, some of them are bizarrely hilarious. 3 stars
3/15/05 Andy Endean Some truly hilarious (but bad taste) moments 4 stars
3/14/05 Sven Worst movie EVER made. Bar None. 1 stars
11/17/04 Gooey you're a retard w/ a useless opinion if you rate this higher than 1 star 1 stars
11/07/04 Kyle Misunderstood, people dont "get" Tom and his sense of humour, totally amazing 5 stars
10/20/04 Nicole Isnor The Best Movie ALIVE 5 stars
10/13/04 Daveman An admirable rejection of all things deemed artistically acceptable, a guilty pleasure. 3 stars
8/06/04 ELI Is it bad when you feel nausious after watching a movie? 1 stars
7/22/04 Simon Khalil The Tom Green Show UNCENSORED!! It's freaking hilarious! F all the haters 5 stars
6/01/04 WoAh THIS MOVIE FRIGGIN ROCKS. idc what yall say...DADDY WOULD YOU LIKE SOME SAUSAGE??? =) 5 stars
5/15/04 Hal Galikakick Finally a movie worse than Ski School 1 stars
4/08/04 j-p Its a bunch of random, brainless shit. Greens career will soon be over 2 stars
3/24/04 Ken Stryker After Viewing, I ran down to the local church and became a monk 1 stars
2/02/04 Hey Wat NOw? worst movie ever 1 stars
1/17/04 LIAM JACKSON rip torn's charcter was seriously fucked up and insane 5 stars
12/23/03 Jiz .... I can't believe I even KNOW people who like this. 1 stars
12/17/03 James Quagmire When Tom Green eats the umbilical chord - ss this funny, sick or hilarious? I say hilarious 5 stars
12/06/03 Carly Phair Funniest movie ive seen 5 stars
10/25/03 Samuel Really stupid! The worst movie on the face of the earth!He jerks off a horse and elephant! 1 stars
8/24/03 I Would Will leave you in fits of laughter!!! 4 stars
7/29/03 Collin Tom Green Is An Embarasment To The People Of Canada 1 stars
7/27/03 Monster W. Kung Tries hard to be obnoxious, but the laughs are rare and the cinematography is abysmal. 2 stars
7/17/03 Hey Wat NOw? Best Movie Ever made!! and ive seen alot of fucking movies 5 stars
7/07/03 cinkcool Shitty 1 stars
6/24/03 Freddie's Fucking Finger Fuck Freddie - Tom is a fucking asshole! Wouldn't see this movie even if someone paid me. 1 stars
6/11/03 Jareth Credit is due to the film for Tom Green's determination to defy every movie convention EVER 2 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'Fos!) Not the best directing, or script, but very creative comedy bits. Good soundtrack. 4 stars
4/12/03 Vaughn Ignore those precious reviewers, this is one of the best movies I have ever seen 5 stars
3/11/03 Estevan Lapena I dont know whats worse having your eyes cut out with paper or this. 1 stars
3/03/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik I can't even call this a film. 1 stars
3/02/03 Rastabub Tom Green jerked off a horse. 'Nuff said. 1 stars
2/26/03 GMan Tom Green is Sooooooooooooooo fuckin' funny!! A must see!! (Read: Complete Shit.) 1 stars
2/25/03 y2mckay Tom Green is funny when spontaneous. Too Scripted, but not completely unbearable 2 stars
2/12/03 Joesco Possibly the worst movie I've seen for a year with Marisa Coughlan the only plus 1 stars
2/03/03 Chris Riley great film, so funny, had me in hysterics. ha ha ha 5 stars
1/26/03 Jack Sommersby Agile direction and some good individual moments make this fun. 3 stars
11/10/02 Monster W. Kung ??????????????????? 2 stars
9/14/02 STEVE .................................?!..................?..AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH 1 stars
9/13/02 Mac some funny parts with toms dad, but the rest is just...werid 2 stars
7/27/02 Bastard Child of Mother Teresa You think it's average, Tad? Fuck yourself, and Tom Green! 1 stars
7/19/02 artemishia i loved the tom green show but i never thought he would sell out in his own unfunny movie 1 stars
7/15/02 Kyle Let's kill Tom Green. 1 stars
6/27/02 officer 412/l sORRY BUT I MEANT TO GIVE IT A ONE STAR RATING 1 stars
5/22/02 officer 412/l pretty bad i know,but some parts are so over the top they do make you chuckle. NERVOUSLY 2 stars
5/22/02 Film Person What makes Tom Green think this is actually funny? Definitely not worth seeing EVER! 1 stars
4/23/02 Kat Balue An affront to humanity. Rip Torn must have been drugged off camera 1 stars
4/21/02 af Tom - please kill yourself you unfunny FUCKING ASSHOLE 1 stars
4/14/02 hum dont believe the "ironic" excuse. Its just very very bad 1 stars
4/03/02 Jake "I wanna eat chicken burgers!" Rip Torn throws Drew down into toxic cans. lol 2 stars
3/31/02 Film Guy Freddy can go fuck himself 1 stars
3/27/02 Chris żĄ The Worst Comedy Every Made, it's right next to "Tomcats" on the shitlist. 1 stars
3/19/02 bradgray96 As a connoisseur of bad movies, I find this one offensive and insulting to the genre. 1 stars
3/16/02 Schlitze This film is a brilliant excursion into the surreal, avant-garde world of mental illness. 5 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress I think this shit just replaced "Planet 9" AND "Battlefield Earth" as the worst movie ever 1 stars
2/14/02 Goon the movie is bad on purpose. its ironic and Americans dont get irony. genius. 5 stars
2/12/02 Valerie Cameron 1 purpose - JOE DIRT (out ~ same time) needed something to make it look good by comparison 1 stars
2/09/02 Meredith Harshaw False accusations of child abuse not joking matter (unless you're an elitist movie-maker?!) 2 stars
2/03/02 Clarance Jenkins A few good scenes from tom green saved this pitiful flick 2 stars
1/27/02 Lin Rainey Unequivocally, absolutely, without a doubt, the worst movie I have ever seen..ever! 1 stars
12/22/01 Ryan very good movie give a chance 5 stars
11/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Come on, dudes. It was funny. It was cool. The world just wasn't ready for it. 4 stars
11/24/01 Monday Morning I personally think Tom Green should be taken somewhere and summarily executed. 1 stars
11/15/01 Chris K. Peter Jackson's gross out horror comedy BRAINDEAD (1992; U.S. Title: DEAD ALIVE) is better 1 stars
11/13/01 Anus Goatse.cx is a masterpiece compared to this 1 stars
11/12/01 Jon C. Ericson Given Freddy the Finger. Not even Freddy Kruger Could've saved this. 1 stars
10/26/01 Uncathom I got the movie for the part of my collection labeled worst of all time 1 stars
10/17/01 Andrew Carden Unfunny, Stupid, and Totally Mindless Movie That Goes Nowhere. 1 stars
10/16/01 Jeff Semlow Maybe the worst movie ever made. Garbage 1 stars
10/04/01 Andrew Garver Give it a try, multiple viewings will help you grasp it. Will be a classic in 10 years. 4 stars
10/04/01 jared mckee worst movie ever 1 stars
10/03/01 GreenSuxAss Green sucks ass, and so does this fucking retarded excuse for a "movie" 1 stars
9/10/01 M davids Great movie, love it!! 5 stars
8/25/01 Chris K. But AIRPLANE is better than FREDDY GOT FINGERED for God's sake! 1 stars
8/16/01 Sean Beastiality, cripple jokes, child abuse jokes, violence, can it get any better? Probably. 4 stars
8/09/01 Fish Eye Green accomplished his goal - make the grossest movie ever. But, it's still funny. 2 stars
8/01/01 Vixor the worst movie i have ever seen- period 1 stars
6/14/01 viking If you think this is funny, go see your shrink 1 stars
6/02/01 Jim Tom Green is a stupid fuckin' Canadian!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
5/27/01 siro you people are idiots. my life is shit. that is all. 5 stars
5/26/01 Moblin Vile isn't even the word for this piece of cinematic feces. 1 stars
5/22/01 name's are bad I'm a Tom Green fan. But this movie was just bad. 1 stars
5/22/01 Eric fucked up but funny 3 stars
5/16/01 zeitgeist OK so it's stupid, but tom green didn't make this movie to be nominated for an oscar 3 stars
5/12/01 Monkey A brilliantly funny film. 5 stars
5/07/01 Porkchop I said it before and I'll say it again. This movie SUCKS!!! 1 stars
5/05/01 Hatemonger PEOPLE WHO LIKE THIS FILM ARE THE PROBLEM WITH SOCIETY!!! THE MOVIE FUCKIN SUCKS! 1 stars
5/04/01 8 dollar Hype theft you reap what you sow! your money made this movie! burn it down and walk away! 1 stars
5/03/01 Evil Muffin IT ROCKS ITS FUCKIN FUNNY DONT LISTEN TO THESE BASTARDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/03/01 tinabulator even for green's standards, it was extremely stupid, and just NOT funny. 1 stars
5/02/01 ffdfd It isn't that bad. It is way better than Driven. 4 stars
5/01/01 Zuwadza Hillarious in a Tom Green sort of way 4 stars
4/29/01 Sam One of the worst movies ever made, yet, the intention is to offend, wether funny or not. 1 stars
4/28/01 Jason S. Worst movie ever made!! 1 stars
4/27/01 William Baxter Hay I thought it was actually very entertaining, and confronting... left me smiling :) 5 stars
4/27/01 Brian "GAG! PUKE!" 1 stars
4/26/01 Acadia Obviously it'd be dumb, but recreated a new connotation for stupid. It left me angry. 1 stars
4/25/01 randy the worst film of 2001 1 stars
4/24/01 Chris Myst Aggravatingly stupid! I mean, I was *pissed* after seeing this. SAG/DGA/WGA revoked! 1 stars
4/24/01 Todd Tom Green should be killed. Now. 1 stars
4/24/01 Heather What does Drew Barrymore see in this talentless m/f?????? 1 stars
4/24/01 Thrillhouse what a load of nonsense 1 stars
4/24/01 David Well.... I saw about 3 minutes....(Against all my freind's warnings, I went and saw it anyw 1 stars
4/23/01 SmokeSerpent Very inspiring, an early Oscar favorite 4 stars
4/23/01 billy a complete bag of shit 1 stars
4/23/01 Misty extremely awful movie 1 stars
4/23/01 Eric Makes Battlefield Earth and 3000 Miles to Graceland combined look awesome. 1 stars
4/23/01 Rampage lame movie 1 stars
4/23/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) What fresh hell was this?? 1 stars
4/22/01 criticalmass This movie sucks donkey balls. If you see it, DEMAND your money back! 1 stars
4/22/01 Recently died at the movies Perhaps the worst movie I've ever seen. 1 stars
4/21/01 y2mckay it wasn't THAT bad, but I sure wouldn't call it good. Some laughs, but mediocre at best. 3 stars
4/19/01 Malcontent I'd rather get shot in the face 7 times than have to watch this fuckass fucking movie again 1 stars
4/17/01 Andy Knapp Worst movie I ever saw...tasteless, revolting. Pushing it too far. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Apr-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Jul-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast