More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.03

Awesome: 14.06%
Worth A Look: 18.75%
Average37.5%
Pretty Bad: 15.63%
Total Crap: 14.06%

5 reviews, 34 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Made
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"'Made' for shit."
1 stars

“Made”: here’s evidence for the other side of debate — why certain actors, who should barely be allowed to act in the first place, should not be allowed to write or direct.

Jennifer Jason Leigh and Alan Cumming (and all of their buddies) were proof of the positive. Maybe not a sturdy example of filmmaking, but a decent act of entertaining moviemaking. Jon Favreau should be one of those not allowed to even think of directing again. The most surprising thing about his unalloyed effort is not how terrible it is, but that it was shot by Wong Kar-wai usual, Christopher Doyle, and how horrible it looked. (Hand-held style, jumpy for the whole affair. It might have been DV — it looked bad enough to be, but since Artisan decided this wasn’t important enough to send out press notes for, I can’t tell you for sure.) The 15-page script is diluted and bloated out to a 90-minute excursion by interpolating “fuckin’ this” and “fuckin’ that” as every other word — sometimes even “fuckin’ fuck.” Favreau and his buddy/co-star Vince Vaughn say it more times than they breathe, and that’s no exaggeration. Favreau is annoying enough all alone, when you toss in his sidekick Vaughn, whose cocksure, smug and deformed sense of overacting is like Ben Affleck’s showboatiness intensified to the hundredth power, it becomes absolutely unbearable; for 5-minutes or 50-minutes, it’s far too much torture for any period of time. Some actors should never be given cinematic liberties at all.

With Famke Janssen, Sean “Puff Daddy” Combs and a cameo by Dustin “Screech” Diamond.

Final Verdict: F.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4721&reviewer=172
originally posted: 07/28/01 07:43:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/07/11 Josie Cotton is a goddess Eh, it's alright 3 stars
8/27/05 ES Vince Vaughn unbelievably does this movie in as a guy so stupid its impossible to fathom 2 stars
1/20/05 Jeff Anderson A WORTHY & BRILLIANT FOLLOWUP TO SWINGERS! Vaughn and Favreau are pure gold together again! 5 stars
8/12/04 psycho dwarf Favreau gives too much latitude in his direction and script. This is a lazy mess. 2 stars
9/25/03 G$ Almost as good as Swingers. Definitely grows on you. Vaughan is hilarious 5 stars
7/12/03 Alice Thought it was very funny 4 stars
5/10/03 rue the whirl watch it. wait 6 months. watch it again. you'll love it. 5 stars
4/05/03 Jack Sommersby Very grating, but it JUST manages to get by. Combs is sensational. 3 stars
12/28/02 spacecowboy-00x nice cinematography and photography, and very entertaining 4 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 Having Vince/Favreau reunite is great, but the cameo by Screetch takes the cake...awesome! 5 stars
8/26/02 WestcoastPunk Hard to fallow up after Swingers. But a solid movie still 3 stars
7/28/02 Adam Voorhees Cool flick but suffers in the glory of Swingers. Enjoy it for what it is, a good time. 5 stars
4/08/02 stoolie-bird as good as Swingers 4 stars
2/17/02 Clarance Fun,Entertaining, and Favreau + Vaughn = lots of laughs 4 stars
1/27/02 Adam Voorhees It ain't Swingers but its 20 times better than that toilet humour we have everywhere now. 4 stars
1/05/02 specialK shit 1 stars
12/29/01 Josh Leiber A MESS! Really Really awful movie for too many reasons to list here. 1 stars
12/04/01 Andrew Carden Vince Is The Greatest Actor Alive!!!! 5 stars
12/02/01 The Bomb 69 all over the place, some funny some annoying 3 stars
11/28/01 seldom scene this is no swingers this is stinkers!!!!!! 1 stars
10/11/01 Garrett Cain Annoyed me so much that I had to laugh. 4 stars
10/11/01 Catherine Schneider Better Than Swingers 4 stars
10/11/01 Katie witty and hilarious 4 stars
10/08/01 Mark Davidson A complete mess and total disappointment -- especially after the greatness of Swingers! 2 stars
10/08/01 Jonathan Peters the character acting was to die for 5 stars
9/03/01 KCobain I can't wait to see it again. It sort of grows on you. 5 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Vaughn's big mouth and big forehead made the movie. 4 stars
8/20/01 Michael A. Not a home run, but a solid double. V V dominated,I enjoyed the milieu and support players. 4 stars
8/20/01 Rob Never saw Swingers, but thought this was hilarious! 4 stars
8/19/01 Boomshanka Favreau is a one trick pony. And a bad actor. 2 stars
8/15/01 FrayLo i loved swingers. I wanted to hit vince vaughn with a crowbar. Still a decent movie. 4 stars
8/15/01 Jake Loved it. Vaughn was hilarious. 5 stars
8/10/01 malcolm i wanted to whack Vaugh myself after about 20 mins. Puffy was OK, surprisingly 3 stars
7/28/01 Suzz Easily one half of this film is completely boring and uninvolving. I began looking at my 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Jul-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  28-Feb-2002 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast