More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.94

Awesome: 25.87%
Worth A Look: 17.41%
Average: 12.44%
Pretty Bad: 12.94%
Total Crap31.34%

9 reviews, 147 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Scary Movie 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"A carbon copy hardly ever has the quality of the source of origin."
3 stars

Yeah, yeah, yeah, we all know that the Wayans Brothers’ tag line for “Scary Movie” was “No mercy. No shame. No sequel,” but since their sleeper hit became the surprising highest grossing movie in all of Miramax’s history, there was no way the Weinstein Brothers were going to pass up another guaranteed cash crop. And if the Wayans Brothers hadn’t agreed to do the sequel, the Weinsteins would have found someone else. As much as I am disappointed with “Scary Movie 2,” I still like it — there were a number of times I was laughing like I was in the first, albeit not as hard and not as often, but enough to get some enjoyment and entertainment out of it. While it doesn’t hold up like its predecessor, I still feel comfortable enough to recommend it.

“Scary Movie” focused on the ripping apart of teen horror movies, while often enough crossing over into other territory for the rest of its material. The premise of “Scary Movie 2” falsely gives the notion that it will be parodying the root of the horror genre, that automatically calls up Mel Brooks’ classic “Young Frankenstein” to mind. To approach the classic horror films with the same satirical skill that Brooks used seemed impossible for the Wayans to do, and while they do good spoofs as well, a lot of the draw is in the dirty humor. I don’t know how likely it would have meshed to maul the perverted nature of “Scary Movie” along with movies like “Frankenstein,” “The Bride of Frankenstein,” “The Mummy,” “The Wolf Man,” etc. But when “Scary Movie 2” opens, it drips in anticipation of “The Exorcist” (read: split-pea soup). Following the premiere set of gags between James Woods, Natasha Lyonne and Andy Richter, we’re kept in the forefront of paranormal. (For a hilarious spoof on “The Exorcist” alone, I highly recommend “Repossessed” with Leslie Nielson!)

With no explanation on their repossession, or why it happens to be this particular four, the Wayans duo (Marlon and Shawn, obviously because they’re the writers) — as Shorty and Ray — and Anna Faris (as Cindy Campbell) and Regina Hall (as Brenda) are now attending college away from home. Using the ossature from the 1999 effects/horror movie “The Haunting” (the Jan de Bont one), those four, along with four other classmates, are sequestered away to a spooky house under a false motive of researching insomnia. Naturally, harping on “Poltergeist”/ “The Haunting”/ “The House on Haunted Hill,” there’s a ghost and a creepy caretaker with a knarley, mutilated mini-hand. Highjinks and explicities follow.

Marlon and Shawn, the only two writers of the first, return to script this, while assembling five others (Alyson Fouse, Greg Grabianski, Dave Polsky, Michael Anthony Snowden and Craig Wayans), and Keenen Ivory returns to direct (no cameo appearance this time). Other movies that get spoofed are “Save the Last Dance,” “Charlie’s Angels,” “Mission: Impossible II,” “Dude, Where’s My Car?,” “Hollow Man,” “Hannibal” and “What Lies Beneath,” along with an assortment of commercial spoofs and other pop-culture references (“You’re the weakest link,” or fight moves to match “Crouching tiger, hidden dragon, mad cow, crazy monkey, camel’s toe”). Miramax/Dimension, the movie’s distributor and production company, not wanting to miss a beat, gave the team but only a year turnaround to put out this sequel. The biggest flaw with “Scary Movie 2” is that it all feels very rushed and thrown together. The elaboration of the framework used to host the rest of the gags and spoofs are so much weaker and undeveloped, allowing less details and specifics to poke fun at. But because of the rushed turnaround and minimal time in the interim, the writers are forced to stick with a strict formula of the first; there’s a parody of a commercial, the same sex jokes, the same physical gags, etc. I mean, maybe that was the way they intended it — if it worked that well the first time, using the same things will be infallible. But it was the unexpectedness that won it so much support. So when we see another penis gag with Ray, or see Cindy hosed down with semen again, sure it will cause us to laugh, but they’ve done it already, and they’ve done it funnier. It just doesn’t get the same reaction. If the team would have been given an extra year in between, there would have been far more time for them to develop their parody, find a good older movie to host the spoof and then combine and mix it with others. But because of the lack of new material, and the rushed production (rumor has it they still were shooting up until a month ago, and that they only attained a rating over the past week or two), it comes off feeling as though most of the gags were tacked on here and pasted there. (The running time only comes in at about 80-minutes.)

Another major fault in the writers’ choices is in the material that they deemed appropriate enough to lampoon. “The Haunting” is hardly a good enough or renowned landmark to have serve as your main frame of reference and shape. It lacks the popularity and cult status that “Scream” has attained, and therefore “The Haunting” is but a loose-fit as opposed to the snugness “Scream” provided. It tries too hard to be too much like its forerunner and isn’t given ample opportunity to go anywhere new with it. “The Exorcist” and “Poltergeist” are well-recognized, but their contribution is a shallow offering compared to the rest. It does its damage to those movies and then moves on. They probably would have had a better chance if they had used “The Exorcist” is its archetype. At this point, I wonder how much funnier it could have been if they used the classic horror films jointly with the modern, perverted attitude.

The new additions to the cast aren’t as good or weird as the first were either. Buddy is just Bobby all over again (there’s the similarity in names, as well as down to the physical similarity between Jon Abrahams and Chris Masterson), Alex (Tori Spelling) is a ridiculously stupid character that has no place in the movie, Theo (Kathleen Robertson, a favorite of mine) has no good function, etc. Even the returning characters don’t have the rapport that they did with each other the first go-round. Here they’re merely set up as pawns for the next gag, whereas at least in the first they were given some quirky and stupid personalities to go along with it. The best of the newbies are Natasha Lyonne, James Woods and Andy Richter in their early cameos, but they’re gone as soon as the “plot” commences. “Scary Movie 2” just isn’t the same without Cheri Oteri, Shannon Elizabeth and the others. This doesn’t have the energy nor the skillfulness that fleshed the previous one out so well. It ends up being too tinny, too hollow for match the dexterity and cleverness of “Scary Movie.”

I had a prolepsis that I wasn’t going to be too thrilled with the sequel last fall when I heard they were green-lighting it, but over the past few months my anticipation has grown in hopes of something that would match the original. I was let-down and disappointed, but it was still funny, still entertaining, and still better than some of the other junk that we’ve been subjected to so far this year. I still wish they could take this back and give us a new, better one next summer, but that isn’t going to happen. Though, if this does nearly as well as the first, don’t be surprised if there is another one, stapled and glued together for the summer of 2002. (Notice that none of the characters are killed this time, except for Spelling, who I think just disappears after awhile.) I still will go see this at least one more time in the theaters, to see how it holds up on the multiple viewings, as I did with the first, and then go from there. “Scary Movie 2” certainly is no “Scary Movie” and it certainly isn’t a “Young Frankenstein” either. I hope, at least, that Anna Faris will be appearing in something else not too far into the future.

With Tim Curry, David Cross, Chris Elliott, Richard Moll and Lester “Beetlejuice” Green.

“Scary Movie 2” PostScript: I went and saw it again this past Monday (after “Jump Tomorrow” in the morning and before “Final Fantasy” at night), exactly one week after I saw it the first time around. My sentiments were mostly the same — the writing and conceptualization was far too rushed, the repeated gags had a lesser effect, the characters lacked cohesion and the way the production was concatenated was too pastiche. It made me yearn much more for Cheri Oteri and Dave Sheridan and wonder why the hell Tori Spelling was in this at all. It also showed that the paranormal oriented movies are hardly as conducive to spoof as were the teen horror movies; the Wayan Brothers did such a good job the first time around, they hardly had the resources left to create an equivalent. I went with a group of friends, the same ones who I saw the first one with on July 7th of last year, and the most astonishing thing was not their reaction to the movie (which pretty much seemed to echo my thoughts), but rather the $6.50 we had to lay out for the matinee prices. Sometimes I forget how much the general public is getting gouged. Chances are I will by the DVD if for nothing more than the pleasure of owning something with Anna Faris, and for the scenes that the prudish MPAA forced the Wayanses to cut. As the fait accompli I referred to in my original review of “Scary Movie 2,” it didn’t get any better, but it didn’t get any worse either. We’ll just leave it at that.

Final Verdict: B.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4726&reviewer=172
originally posted: 07/05/01 14:31:31
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/13/17 morris campbell trash one of the worst sequels ever 1 stars
8/22/10 KEITH BELFAST N.IRELAND LOVE THIS FILM FOR YEARS LOOKING DOOR KNOCK ANY HELP PLEASE THANKS 5 stars
5/29/09 jm Really funny despite it being pointless. 4 stars
4/13/09 Dane Youssef "The Exoricst" is priceless. The rest is almost worthless. What a waste! What a bore! 2 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner Never laughed so hard in my Life!! 5 stars
8/22/08 PAUL SHORTT THE WHOLE THING REEKS OF SEQUELITIS, WITH AN EMPHASIS ON THE RUDE AND CRUDE 1 stars
10/22/07 Beau This was a crack-up! hilariously funny! anna faris was born 2 play this role in all sequels 4 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK The only thing this movie has more of is more of a reason to leave. 1 stars
12/31/06 michigan4rosebowl this movie is great, and kathleen robertson is so fuckin hot...esp. showin huge cleavage 5 stars
10/10/06 Alex FUCKING HALARIUS MOVIE AND KATHLEEN ROBERTSON IS FUCKING HOTT 5 stars
10/03/06 Jeremy Davies stupid, far inferior to Scary Movie 1 2 stars
9/12/06 Wes Barrett?wsbrr@aol.com Where can you get a door knocker as in the movie? 4 stars
8/17/06 Jesus Its called a parody you fucking idiot, and this movie is awful. 1 stars
6/15/06 drydock54321 just love these movies that make fun of other movies 5 stars
5/13/06 Matt Sheehan fucking hilarious 5 stars
4/26/06 Anthony Feor Even if it tried, it would not match the first one 1 stars
4/23/06 Kojo It was so funny I shit my self 5 stars
4/02/06 mike Best of the series! The scrotum door knocker was too funny! 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Swing~ and a miss! STIRKE 2!!! 2 stars
3/26/06 chris f way better than scary movie 1 5 stars
12/20/05 tatum It took seven writers to make a movie this unfunny 1 stars
11/28/05 Angus ok 3 stars
11/11/05 J.D. Pittman III Well I'm just the biggest idiot in the world cause it's the best of 3 5 stars
8/18/05 ES The worst sequel of the movie with no sequel. Looking forward to that Prequel too 3 stars
8/04/05 ^podo funny:) but not as good as the first 4 stars
7/20/05 bill its halarios 4 stars
7/16/05 tony WHAT A SLAP IN THE FACE! 1 stars
3/17/05 Alice Colwell allright 3 stars
2/24/05 ELI worst of the 3 scary movies. but I think I laughed a few times. That's good enough! 3 stars
12/26/04 Freddy best of the 3 scary movies 5 stars
11/15/04 Samuel Not as good as the origional, but still pretty entertaining. 4 stars
11/09/04 Da Brother that is 1 boring film and the director should be ashamed 1 stars
9/14/04 Monster W. Kung It doesn't get much worse than this. If you think this is good, you're an idiot. 1 stars
8/22/04 Archanist 101 Not as good as "Scary Movie" 5 stars
8/07/04 jmsynth WorthDVD rental for 1stscene+outtakes= funnier then much of the movie. Blame Miramax 3 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G I thought I told yall niggas before, yall niggas cant fuck with me! 1 stars
5/03/04 Me a great film 5 stars
4/27/04 whitey this is about as good as daniel bennisons mum in bed 1 stars
3/24/04 Ken Stryker SNore 1 stars
1/27/04 Chloe Brody This film sucks arse 1 stars
1/14/04 KHALID HUSSEIN ABSOLUTE CRAP 1 stars
12/29/03 j tg 5 stars
12/10/03 re A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/27/03 he i liked this film better then the first one 5 stars
10/26/03 Christina its was soooo funny 5 stars
10/18/03 Dirk Diggler Flogging a dead horse 1 stars
10/16/03 Mona Little Used to like it but fuck the series now that they've ruined #3 with usurper Latifah! 1 stars
10/01/03 Redpajammas funny 5 stars
9/29/03 jimmy d i think fuck is a good fucking word! fucking fuck! 4 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Part 3 is gonna be better than either of the first two!! 3 stars
9/11/03 Neil Forster Oh my God, this is the worst film I've ever seen! Avoid at all costs! 1 stars
8/16/03 Red funny 5 stars
8/04/03 punjab a pile of steaming dog shit! 1 stars
8/02/03 Stefan Halka The only funny part was when they made fun of the slow motion "Charlie Angels" martial arts 2 stars
7/08/03 Alice This "movie" sucked big time 1 stars
6/04/03 mee better then the first one 5 stars
5/20/03 Joseph Barale This is the best movie ever made 5 stars
3/13/03 me A GREAT FILM 5 stars
3/11/03 kier lawrence a bit over the top but funny 4 stars
3/11/03 me GREAT 5 stars
12/25/02 Matt Thiel The first film was dumb fun, but the second was shit 1 stars
12/17/02 chris if you like this shit please just kill yourself 1 stars
12/07/02 BAM GREAT 5 stars
11/21/02 chris i didn't think it was possible, but worse than the firts 1 stars
10/07/02 Butterbean The first one was better, but the "I can do it myself" cripple had me rolling! 3 stars
9/13/02 Davie Del top notch pure and utter exellence 5 stars
9/04/02 Stev Terrible 1 stars
8/16/02 JesseL This movie is TOO funny. Anna Faris and Shawn Wayans make it happen. Exorcist spoof great! 5 stars
8/06/02 I Can't Swim In hell, people have to watch this for all eternity, or eat shit. So they chow down.. 1 stars
8/05/02 artemishia soooo unfunny. i didnt even smile through the movie, and i liked the 1st one 1 stars
6/01/02 stud OKAY 5 stars
5/26/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi mindless entertainment, but i liked it, not as bad as most of the critics said it was 4 stars
5/24/02 Dark Barøn Ugh. 1 stars
5/15/02 Del Sucked my left nut and made the right one jealous! What a piece of shit! 1 stars
5/15/02 Blake This move was just as good as the first one 5 stars
5/11/02 Jade I thought this movie was hilarious except for the cat fight scene. 5 stars
4/29/02 Malcolm Masiero Shit man, gimmie a break, its the same old jokes, a waste of my money 2 stars
4/19/02 Maxx This movie is horrible. I'm not old. I'm 19 years old. 1 stars
4/03/02 Butterbean Better than the first only because of Chris Elliot 4 stars
3/23/02 Elliot .S ScaryMovie 2 is the shit man if u haven't seen it go rent it cause it funny ass heee. 5 stars
3/23/02 JesseL If this isn't funny, you're too old. 5 stars
3/20/02 Michael Platts Excellent 5 stars
3/15/02 hanson needs some more tits and ass 3 stars
3/14/02 Amanda Stucky this movie was very cool 5 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee A complete disaster from all angles. 1 stars
2/28/02 hanson the caretaker this is the funniest shit i have ever laid eyes on 5 stars
2/26/02 Hewrd Frost The 1st is better, more cum sprouted. 3 stars
2/24/02 hyper child better then the first 5 stars
2/23/02 tana scary movie 2 was stupid i like 1 5 stars
2/23/02 Copper man Kathleen Robertson should show us her boobs!!!!!! YEAHHH DOUBLE FUNN BAGS 1 stars
2/05/02 david why didn't lester'beetlejuice appeared more 4 stars
1/21/02 manuel "steaks" bartolomeo this movie suck cccoooocccckkkk 1 stars
1/17/02 Chris Funny but not as funny as the 1st one 4 stars
1/16/02 David A. Not as good as the first one. 3 stars
1/12/02 joel fuuny ass hell 5 stars
1/10/02 Spyguy2 As bad and unfunny as the first movie was hilarious 1 stars
1/01/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Funny as the 1st one but still with the crude jokes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/31/01 The Bomb 69 rushed and very average, lots of miss and a little hit 3 stars
11/05/01 ^Elendil^ Why did I waste my money?? 1 stars
10/29/01 RodmansGirl First 30 min. awesome 4 stars
10/20/01 Tam Standard toilet humour. Fine as long as you don't take it too seriously. 4 stars
9/18/01 Mr. Hat Even funnier than the first one. 4 stars
8/23/01 A.G. This movie was hilarious 5 stars
8/22/01 Gaya no better that the first 3 stars
8/22/01 JunkMan I would like to have the subtitles for this movie or in English or Portuguese or Spanish 5 stars
8/19/01 justin boswell first ones better i downloaded it of the internet email me at justinwbother@hotmail.com 2 stars
8/18/01 Obi Wan Was pretty good up until the last 20 minutes. What happned?? 3 stars
8/17/01 Dan A Tori Spelling 2 stars
8/16/01 guy that wants to bone the hot chick in it I thought it was pretty good 4 stars
8/14/01 najib c,hg 5 stars
8/13/01 Cait This is a pretty funny movie! 4 stars
8/13/01 Harpey Scary Movie 2 is an excellent film i deffinately recomend it its great! 5 stars
8/08/01 Genetrik I HATE THIS FUCKING MOVIE - the writers should be in jail forerver for this crap 1 stars
8/07/01 Lord Raymos Rarely funny, mostly stupid. Amazingly bad plot and filming. Tori Spelling. 2 stars
8/07/01 Kyala Was Ok when I was sober, really funny when drunk =) 4 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa A lot funnier than the first one. Chris Elliott is too funny!! 4 stars
8/06/01 as kuj what a fucking film u made!!!!!!!!!!! i love it !!!!! 5 stars
8/06/01 badfish Worst piece of dog shit i've ever seen! 1 stars
8/05/01 michael cawthera ha ha mental man 5 stars
8/04/01 Sexey Davey Shortys the man 5 stars
8/03/01 travis inglehart hit this shit 5 stars
8/01/01 WT Funny !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and hilarious! still laughing! 5 stars
8/01/01 C funny as hell 5 stars
8/01/01 Vixor funny at times- but lots of it was not funny at all, Scary Movie 1 was much better 2 stars
7/31/01 LoSt BoY Nice movie 4 stars
7/30/01 John Lyons Good movie for the teens. 3 stars
7/29/01 AlCoholic Jedi Worth renting (maybe) 3 stars
7/29/01 dukefanatic30 i have never laughed so hard in my life 5 stars
7/27/01 King Jackass As good as the first, and as nasty too. 4 stars
7/26/01 Paul Was not worth paying $7.00 for but had 1 or 2 funny parts 2 stars
7/24/01 Mike M. sweet 5 stars
7/23/01 anthony its real funny 5 stars
7/21/01 fdfg Too bad and too fucking short 1 stars
7/19/01 Jim Kidd There were some funny parts to it, but unless you can get in free, i would waste your money 2 stars
7/19/01 Bohb I didn't think a movie could both suck AND blow at the same time. 1 stars
7/19/01 Tired Hard to believe the same people made this shitty sequel. 1 stars
7/19/01 malcolm funny in spots; pretty dumb overall 2 stars
7/15/01 Rampage first Scary Movie was funnier, but hey, at least it beat the crap out of Scream 3 3 stars
7/15/01 Chris Funny moments surrounded by boredom. 3 stars
7/13/01 Rude Half Breed I didnt realized one of Wayans brother was retarded as well as being a scriptwriter 1 stars
7/09/01 James Had only a few elements of a "movie" and none of a film. The first was better. 2 stars
7/08/01 John Lyons Got tired of the lame bathroom humor. been there, done that. 3 stars
7/08/01 vampyre9mm It took seven people to write this movie??? 3 stars
7/06/01 joh Quit Whining! it was really funny! 5 stars
7/06/01 Roy Smith Sperm, shit, vomit, and oiss - in the first 5 minutes - Leave your kids at home!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
7/05/01 Jeff It was aiiiight 4 stars
5/09/01 Mackey I was watching "Scary Movie 2" with my sister,and she fell asleep! Need more...? 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Jul-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Oct-2001




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast