More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.94

Awesome: 25.87%
Worth A Look: 17.41%
Average: 12.44%
Pretty Bad: 12.94%
Total Crap31.34%

9 reviews, 147 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Scary Movie 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"There are 7 writers credited for this movie. That's 2 writers per laugh."
2 stars

You should know that I enjoyed the first “Scary Movie” as an outrageous, fast-paced parody — a MAD Magazine movie satire, but filthier. The sequel is not nearly as gross (but please don’t take that to mean it’s not still very, very crude), but also not nearly as pointed, funny or entertaining.

It’s a fact that the movie was still being filmed a few weeks before its release, and it frankly reeks of a hurried schedule. It’s sloppily edited, but worse, the jokes are rushed. This is the rough draft of a good movie, where the professor would say, “Here’s a good set-up here, just add some jokes,” or, “This scene is going nowhere, please cut it,” or, “Do you realize this will be the one-millionth movie to feature a toilet-related joke?”

The basic plot parodies “The Haunting,” with characters from the first movie (including some who died, as I recall) and a few new ones spending the weekend in a spooky house. It’s part of an “experiment” conducted by a loathsome college professor named, um, “Professor.” (I’m looking at the press notes right now, and that’s his name. This is a major character, too, I might add.) He’s played by Tim Curry. Everyone else is played by people like Anna Faris, Tori Spelling and a lot of Wayans brothers.

The first sequence is an “Exorcist” parody, which would surely have been quite topical in 1974. It’s funny enough, as these things go, and it’s not long before everyone present is awash in vomit, the priest (James Woods) is swearing, and the other priest (Andy Richter) is getting his lips stuck to a crucifix.

It gets no better than that. One horribly misguided scene has the group eating dinner at the haunted house, served by the deformed caretaker Mr. Hanson (Chris Elliott). The joke is that his hand is gross and nasty, and yet he keeps touching the food. And they keep making that SAME JOKE for about five minutes. It’s exactly the sort of scene that would have been trimmed if they’d had more time to work on the film (and if it weren’t only 82 minutes long as it is).

Those who were not fans of “Scary Movie” will despise this one even more. But even those who liked it are liable to be disappointed this time. It lacks the anarchic wit and wicked humor that made us laugh in spite of ourselves before. Now, instead of laughing, we moan: “Is that ANOTHER male organ joke? Oy.”

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4726&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/06/01 07:02:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/13/17 morris campbell trash one of the worst sequels ever 1 stars
8/22/10 KEITH BELFAST N.IRELAND LOVE THIS FILM FOR YEARS LOOKING DOOR KNOCK ANY HELP PLEASE THANKS 5 stars
5/29/09 jm Really funny despite it being pointless. 4 stars
4/13/09 Dane Youssef "The Exoricst" is priceless. The rest is almost worthless. What a waste! What a bore! 2 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner Never laughed so hard in my Life!! 5 stars
8/22/08 PAUL SHORTT THE WHOLE THING REEKS OF SEQUELITIS, WITH AN EMPHASIS ON THE RUDE AND CRUDE 1 stars
10/22/07 Beau This was a crack-up! hilariously funny! anna faris was born 2 play this role in all sequels 4 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK The only thing this movie has more of is more of a reason to leave. 1 stars
12/31/06 michigan4rosebowl this movie is great, and kathleen robertson is so fuckin hot...esp. showin huge cleavage 5 stars
10/10/06 Alex FUCKING HALARIUS MOVIE AND KATHLEEN ROBERTSON IS FUCKING HOTT 5 stars
10/03/06 Jeremy Davies stupid, far inferior to Scary Movie 1 2 stars
9/12/06 Wes Barrett?wsbrr@aol.com Where can you get a door knocker as in the movie? 4 stars
8/17/06 Jesus Its called a parody you fucking idiot, and this movie is awful. 1 stars
6/15/06 drydock54321 just love these movies that make fun of other movies 5 stars
5/13/06 Matt Sheehan fucking hilarious 5 stars
4/26/06 Anthony Feor Even if it tried, it would not match the first one 1 stars
4/23/06 Kojo It was so funny I shit my self 5 stars
4/02/06 mike Best of the series! The scrotum door knocker was too funny! 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Swing~ and a miss! STIRKE 2!!! 2 stars
3/26/06 chris f way better than scary movie 1 5 stars
12/20/05 tatum It took seven writers to make a movie this unfunny 1 stars
11/28/05 Angus ok 3 stars
11/11/05 J.D. Pittman III Well I'm just the biggest idiot in the world cause it's the best of 3 5 stars
8/18/05 ES The worst sequel of the movie with no sequel. Looking forward to that Prequel too 3 stars
8/04/05 ^podo funny:) but not as good as the first 4 stars
7/20/05 bill its halarios 4 stars
7/16/05 tony WHAT A SLAP IN THE FACE! 1 stars
3/17/05 Alice Colwell allright 3 stars
2/24/05 ELI worst of the 3 scary movies. but I think I laughed a few times. That's good enough! 3 stars
12/26/04 Freddy best of the 3 scary movies 5 stars
11/15/04 Samuel Not as good as the origional, but still pretty entertaining. 4 stars
11/09/04 Da Brother that is 1 boring film and the director should be ashamed 1 stars
9/14/04 Monster W. Kung It doesn't get much worse than this. If you think this is good, you're an idiot. 1 stars
8/22/04 Archanist 101 Not as good as "Scary Movie" 5 stars
8/07/04 jmsynth WorthDVD rental for 1stscene+outtakes= funnier then much of the movie. Blame Miramax 3 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G I thought I told yall niggas before, yall niggas cant fuck with me! 1 stars
5/03/04 Me a great film 5 stars
4/27/04 whitey this is about as good as daniel bennisons mum in bed 1 stars
3/24/04 Ken Stryker SNore 1 stars
1/27/04 Chloe Brody This film sucks arse 1 stars
1/14/04 KHALID HUSSEIN ABSOLUTE CRAP 1 stars
12/29/03 j tg 5 stars
12/10/03 re A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/27/03 he i liked this film better then the first one 5 stars
10/26/03 Christina its was soooo funny 5 stars
10/18/03 Dirk Diggler Flogging a dead horse 1 stars
10/16/03 Mona Little Used to like it but fuck the series now that they've ruined #3 with usurper Latifah! 1 stars
10/01/03 Redpajammas funny 5 stars
9/29/03 jimmy d i think fuck is a good fucking word! fucking fuck! 4 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Part 3 is gonna be better than either of the first two!! 3 stars
9/11/03 Neil Forster Oh my God, this is the worst film I've ever seen! Avoid at all costs! 1 stars
8/16/03 Red funny 5 stars
8/04/03 punjab a pile of steaming dog shit! 1 stars
8/02/03 Stefan Halka The only funny part was when they made fun of the slow motion "Charlie Angels" martial arts 2 stars
7/08/03 Alice This "movie" sucked big time 1 stars
6/04/03 mee better then the first one 5 stars
5/20/03 Joseph Barale This is the best movie ever made 5 stars
3/13/03 me A GREAT FILM 5 stars
3/11/03 kier lawrence a bit over the top but funny 4 stars
3/11/03 me GREAT 5 stars
12/25/02 Matt Thiel The first film was dumb fun, but the second was shit 1 stars
12/17/02 chris if you like this shit please just kill yourself 1 stars
12/07/02 BAM GREAT 5 stars
11/21/02 chris i didn't think it was possible, but worse than the firts 1 stars
10/07/02 Butterbean The first one was better, but the "I can do it myself" cripple had me rolling! 3 stars
9/13/02 Davie Del top notch pure and utter exellence 5 stars
9/04/02 Stev Terrible 1 stars
8/16/02 JesseL This movie is TOO funny. Anna Faris and Shawn Wayans make it happen. Exorcist spoof great! 5 stars
8/06/02 I Can't Swim In hell, people have to watch this for all eternity, or eat shit. So they chow down.. 1 stars
8/05/02 artemishia soooo unfunny. i didnt even smile through the movie, and i liked the 1st one 1 stars
6/01/02 stud OKAY 5 stars
5/26/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi mindless entertainment, but i liked it, not as bad as most of the critics said it was 4 stars
5/24/02 Dark Barøn Ugh. 1 stars
5/15/02 Del Sucked my left nut and made the right one jealous! What a piece of shit! 1 stars
5/15/02 Blake This move was just as good as the first one 5 stars
5/11/02 Jade I thought this movie was hilarious except for the cat fight scene. 5 stars
4/29/02 Malcolm Masiero Shit man, gimmie a break, its the same old jokes, a waste of my money 2 stars
4/19/02 Maxx This movie is horrible. I'm not old. I'm 19 years old. 1 stars
4/03/02 Butterbean Better than the first only because of Chris Elliot 4 stars
3/23/02 Elliot .S ScaryMovie 2 is the shit man if u haven't seen it go rent it cause it funny ass heee. 5 stars
3/23/02 JesseL If this isn't funny, you're too old. 5 stars
3/20/02 Michael Platts Excellent 5 stars
3/15/02 hanson needs some more tits and ass 3 stars
3/14/02 Amanda Stucky this movie was very cool 5 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee A complete disaster from all angles. 1 stars
2/28/02 hanson the caretaker this is the funniest shit i have ever laid eyes on 5 stars
2/26/02 Hewrd Frost The 1st is better, more cum sprouted. 3 stars
2/24/02 hyper child better then the first 5 stars
2/23/02 tana scary movie 2 was stupid i like 1 5 stars
2/23/02 Copper man Kathleen Robertson should show us her boobs!!!!!! YEAHHH DOUBLE FUNN BAGS 1 stars
2/05/02 david why didn't lester'beetlejuice appeared more 4 stars
1/21/02 manuel "steaks" bartolomeo this movie suck cccoooocccckkkk 1 stars
1/17/02 Chris Funny but not as funny as the 1st one 4 stars
1/16/02 David A. Not as good as the first one. 3 stars
1/12/02 joel fuuny ass hell 5 stars
1/10/02 Spyguy2 As bad and unfunny as the first movie was hilarious 1 stars
1/01/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Funny as the 1st one but still with the crude jokes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/31/01 The Bomb 69 rushed and very average, lots of miss and a little hit 3 stars
11/05/01 ^Elendil^ Why did I waste my money?? 1 stars
10/29/01 RodmansGirl First 30 min. awesome 4 stars
10/20/01 Tam Standard toilet humour. Fine as long as you don't take it too seriously. 4 stars
9/18/01 Mr. Hat Even funnier than the first one. 4 stars
8/23/01 A.G. This movie was hilarious 5 stars
8/22/01 Gaya no better that the first 3 stars
8/22/01 JunkMan I would like to have the subtitles for this movie or in English or Portuguese or Spanish 5 stars
8/19/01 justin boswell first ones better i downloaded it of the internet email me at justinwbother@hotmail.com 2 stars
8/18/01 Obi Wan Was pretty good up until the last 20 minutes. What happned?? 3 stars
8/17/01 Dan A Tori Spelling 2 stars
8/16/01 guy that wants to bone the hot chick in it I thought it was pretty good 4 stars
8/14/01 najib c,hg 5 stars
8/13/01 Cait This is a pretty funny movie! 4 stars
8/13/01 Harpey Scary Movie 2 is an excellent film i deffinately recomend it its great! 5 stars
8/08/01 Genetrik I HATE THIS FUCKING MOVIE - the writers should be in jail forerver for this crap 1 stars
8/07/01 Lord Raymos Rarely funny, mostly stupid. Amazingly bad plot and filming. Tori Spelling. 2 stars
8/07/01 Kyala Was Ok when I was sober, really funny when drunk =) 4 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa A lot funnier than the first one. Chris Elliott is too funny!! 4 stars
8/06/01 as kuj what a fucking film u made!!!!!!!!!!! i love it !!!!! 5 stars
8/06/01 badfish Worst piece of dog shit i've ever seen! 1 stars
8/05/01 michael cawthera ha ha mental man 5 stars
8/04/01 Sexey Davey Shortys the man 5 stars
8/03/01 travis inglehart hit this shit 5 stars
8/01/01 WT Funny !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and hilarious! still laughing! 5 stars
8/01/01 C funny as hell 5 stars
8/01/01 Vixor funny at times- but lots of it was not funny at all, Scary Movie 1 was much better 2 stars
7/31/01 LoSt BoY Nice movie 4 stars
7/30/01 John Lyons Good movie for the teens. 3 stars
7/29/01 AlCoholic Jedi Worth renting (maybe) 3 stars
7/29/01 dukefanatic30 i have never laughed so hard in my life 5 stars
7/27/01 King Jackass As good as the first, and as nasty too. 4 stars
7/26/01 Paul Was not worth paying $7.00 for but had 1 or 2 funny parts 2 stars
7/24/01 Mike M. sweet 5 stars
7/23/01 anthony its real funny 5 stars
7/21/01 fdfg Too bad and too fucking short 1 stars
7/19/01 Jim Kidd There were some funny parts to it, but unless you can get in free, i would waste your money 2 stars
7/19/01 Bohb I didn't think a movie could both suck AND blow at the same time. 1 stars
7/19/01 Tired Hard to believe the same people made this shitty sequel. 1 stars
7/19/01 malcolm funny in spots; pretty dumb overall 2 stars
7/15/01 Rampage first Scary Movie was funnier, but hey, at least it beat the crap out of Scream 3 3 stars
7/15/01 Chris Funny moments surrounded by boredom. 3 stars
7/13/01 Rude Half Breed I didnt realized one of Wayans brother was retarded as well as being a scriptwriter 1 stars
7/09/01 James Had only a few elements of a "movie" and none of a film. The first was better. 2 stars
7/08/01 John Lyons Got tired of the lame bathroom humor. been there, done that. 3 stars
7/08/01 vampyre9mm It took seven people to write this movie??? 3 stars
7/06/01 joh Quit Whining! it was really funny! 5 stars
7/06/01 Roy Smith Sperm, shit, vomit, and oiss - in the first 5 minutes - Leave your kids at home!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
7/05/01 Jeff It was aiiiight 4 stars
5/09/01 Mackey I was watching "Scary Movie 2" with my sister,and she fell asleep! Need more...? 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Jul-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Oct-2001




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast