More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.94

Awesome: 25.87%
Worth A Look: 17.41%
Average: 12.44%
Pretty Bad: 12.94%
Total Crap31.34%

9 reviews, 147 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Scary Movie 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Two times (zero) the fun!"
1 stars

To paraphrase Roger Ebert, I think "Scary Movie 2" is twice as good as the original. Of course, you know what two times zero is.

The first "Scary Movie" was certainly one of the most failed attempts at comedy I have ever seen. Scene after scene fell flat on its face without so much as a grimace on my face. You can't spoof a spoof such as "Scream", and in the sequel, it's the awful "Charlie's Angels" that gets lampooned, not in a funny sort, but almost a carbon copy of.

I was watching "Wayne's World" last week, which showed a wonderful sense of playing on classic films, doing the spoofs well and making sure it will be something that will last. In "Scary Movie 2," the spoofs are already dated with references to commercials and movies released in the last 9 months, from a Nike basketball ad to a closet hiding Florida ballots, from last year's US presidental election. This film won't even make sense in two years, as less as it does now.

Pray tell, how funny is it to watch Chris Elliot, hunchbacked with a mangled hand, serve dinner by putting his hands in everything and popping the zit on his face? A few seconds of this may have been enough, but Uber-Director Keenan Ivory Wayans plays this for too long, making sure he grosses out everyone by jamming his hands into meat, pies and vegetables. As much as I like Chris Elliot in his very few acting roles, this will probably destroy whatever career he has. I almost walked out of the theater in this scene but my shuttle ride home wasn't leaving for another hour. (Okay, so maybe my joke wasn't as good as David Spade's "I was going to see this movie, but I was sick that day!" gag, but trust me, I'm funnier than anything in this film.)

So, is there a plot here? Well, not really, it just throws all of the insipid characters from the first film into the second one, starting out with going to a haunted house to study sleeping habits, a'la "The Haunting". Pretty soon, the characters are being terrorized by ghosts and the last half of the film focuses so closely on "Hollow Man" that all I could do was just think about how good the visual effects were in that film.

I haven't even mentioned the opening scene which takes on "The Exorcist," which would have been more interesting had last year's reissue of the film never happened. James Woods, in full Max Von Sydow mode, is one of my favorite actors, and to watch green vomit getting spewed on him, evacuating quite loudly into a toilet, and doing vaginal tongue teasing with the demonized girl, is, well, depressing.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4726&reviewer=350
originally posted: 09/14/04 15:49:23
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/13/17 morris campbell trash one of the worst sequels ever 1 stars
8/22/10 KEITH BELFAST N.IRELAND LOVE THIS FILM FOR YEARS LOOKING DOOR KNOCK ANY HELP PLEASE THANKS 5 stars
5/29/09 jm Really funny despite it being pointless. 4 stars
4/13/09 Dane Youssef "The Exoricst" is priceless. The rest is almost worthless. What a waste! What a bore! 2 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner Never laughed so hard in my Life!! 5 stars
8/22/08 PAUL SHORTT THE WHOLE THING REEKS OF SEQUELITIS, WITH AN EMPHASIS ON THE RUDE AND CRUDE 1 stars
10/22/07 Beau This was a crack-up! hilariously funny! anna faris was born 2 play this role in all sequels 4 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK The only thing this movie has more of is more of a reason to leave. 1 stars
12/31/06 michigan4rosebowl this movie is great, and kathleen robertson is so fuckin hot...esp. showin huge cleavage 5 stars
10/10/06 Alex FUCKING HALARIUS MOVIE AND KATHLEEN ROBERTSON IS FUCKING HOTT 5 stars
10/03/06 Jeremy Davies stupid, far inferior to Scary Movie 1 2 stars
9/12/06 Wes Barrett?wsbrr@aol.com Where can you get a door knocker as in the movie? 4 stars
8/17/06 Jesus Its called a parody you fucking idiot, and this movie is awful. 1 stars
6/15/06 drydock54321 just love these movies that make fun of other movies 5 stars
5/13/06 Matt Sheehan fucking hilarious 5 stars
4/26/06 Anthony Feor Even if it tried, it would not match the first one 1 stars
4/23/06 Kojo It was so funny I shit my self 5 stars
4/02/06 mike Best of the series! The scrotum door knocker was too funny! 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Swing~ and a miss! STIRKE 2!!! 2 stars
3/26/06 chris f way better than scary movie 1 5 stars
12/20/05 tatum It took seven writers to make a movie this unfunny 1 stars
11/28/05 Angus ok 3 stars
11/11/05 J.D. Pittman III Well I'm just the biggest idiot in the world cause it's the best of 3 5 stars
8/18/05 ES The worst sequel of the movie with no sequel. Looking forward to that Prequel too 3 stars
8/04/05 ^podo funny:) but not as good as the first 4 stars
7/20/05 bill its halarios 4 stars
7/16/05 tony WHAT A SLAP IN THE FACE! 1 stars
3/17/05 Alice Colwell allright 3 stars
2/24/05 ELI worst of the 3 scary movies. but I think I laughed a few times. That's good enough! 3 stars
12/26/04 Freddy best of the 3 scary movies 5 stars
11/15/04 Samuel Not as good as the origional, but still pretty entertaining. 4 stars
11/09/04 Da Brother that is 1 boring film and the director should be ashamed 1 stars
9/14/04 Monster W. Kung It doesn't get much worse than this. If you think this is good, you're an idiot. 1 stars
8/22/04 Archanist 101 Not as good as "Scary Movie" 5 stars
8/07/04 jmsynth WorthDVD rental for 1stscene+outtakes= funnier then much of the movie. Blame Miramax 3 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G I thought I told yall niggas before, yall niggas cant fuck with me! 1 stars
5/03/04 Me a great film 5 stars
4/27/04 whitey this is about as good as daniel bennisons mum in bed 1 stars
3/24/04 Ken Stryker SNore 1 stars
1/27/04 Chloe Brody This film sucks arse 1 stars
1/14/04 KHALID HUSSEIN ABSOLUTE CRAP 1 stars
12/29/03 j tg 5 stars
12/10/03 re A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/27/03 he i liked this film better then the first one 5 stars
10/26/03 Christina its was soooo funny 5 stars
10/18/03 Dirk Diggler Flogging a dead horse 1 stars
10/16/03 Mona Little Used to like it but fuck the series now that they've ruined #3 with usurper Latifah! 1 stars
10/01/03 Redpajammas funny 5 stars
9/29/03 jimmy d i think fuck is a good fucking word! fucking fuck! 4 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Part 3 is gonna be better than either of the first two!! 3 stars
9/11/03 Neil Forster Oh my God, this is the worst film I've ever seen! Avoid at all costs! 1 stars
8/16/03 Red funny 5 stars
8/04/03 punjab a pile of steaming dog shit! 1 stars
8/02/03 Stefan Halka The only funny part was when they made fun of the slow motion "Charlie Angels" martial arts 2 stars
7/08/03 Alice This "movie" sucked big time 1 stars
6/04/03 mee better then the first one 5 stars
5/20/03 Joseph Barale This is the best movie ever made 5 stars
3/13/03 me A GREAT FILM 5 stars
3/11/03 kier lawrence a bit over the top but funny 4 stars
3/11/03 me GREAT 5 stars
12/25/02 Matt Thiel The first film was dumb fun, but the second was shit 1 stars
12/17/02 chris if you like this shit please just kill yourself 1 stars
12/07/02 BAM GREAT 5 stars
11/21/02 chris i didn't think it was possible, but worse than the firts 1 stars
10/07/02 Butterbean The first one was better, but the "I can do it myself" cripple had me rolling! 3 stars
9/13/02 Davie Del top notch pure and utter exellence 5 stars
9/04/02 Stev Terrible 1 stars
8/16/02 JesseL This movie is TOO funny. Anna Faris and Shawn Wayans make it happen. Exorcist spoof great! 5 stars
8/06/02 I Can't Swim In hell, people have to watch this for all eternity, or eat shit. So they chow down.. 1 stars
8/05/02 artemishia soooo unfunny. i didnt even smile through the movie, and i liked the 1st one 1 stars
6/01/02 stud OKAY 5 stars
5/26/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi mindless entertainment, but i liked it, not as bad as most of the critics said it was 4 stars
5/24/02 Dark Barøn Ugh. 1 stars
5/15/02 Del Sucked my left nut and made the right one jealous! What a piece of shit! 1 stars
5/15/02 Blake This move was just as good as the first one 5 stars
5/11/02 Jade I thought this movie was hilarious except for the cat fight scene. 5 stars
4/29/02 Malcolm Masiero Shit man, gimmie a break, its the same old jokes, a waste of my money 2 stars
4/19/02 Maxx This movie is horrible. I'm not old. I'm 19 years old. 1 stars
4/03/02 Butterbean Better than the first only because of Chris Elliot 4 stars
3/23/02 Elliot .S ScaryMovie 2 is the shit man if u haven't seen it go rent it cause it funny ass heee. 5 stars
3/23/02 JesseL If this isn't funny, you're too old. 5 stars
3/20/02 Michael Platts Excellent 5 stars
3/15/02 hanson needs some more tits and ass 3 stars
3/14/02 Amanda Stucky this movie was very cool 5 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee A complete disaster from all angles. 1 stars
2/28/02 hanson the caretaker this is the funniest shit i have ever laid eyes on 5 stars
2/26/02 Hewrd Frost The 1st is better, more cum sprouted. 3 stars
2/24/02 hyper child better then the first 5 stars
2/23/02 tana scary movie 2 was stupid i like 1 5 stars
2/23/02 Copper man Kathleen Robertson should show us her boobs!!!!!! YEAHHH DOUBLE FUNN BAGS 1 stars
2/05/02 david why didn't lester'beetlejuice appeared more 4 stars
1/21/02 manuel "steaks" bartolomeo this movie suck cccoooocccckkkk 1 stars
1/17/02 Chris Funny but not as funny as the 1st one 4 stars
1/16/02 David A. Not as good as the first one. 3 stars
1/12/02 joel fuuny ass hell 5 stars
1/10/02 Spyguy2 As bad and unfunny as the first movie was hilarious 1 stars
1/01/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Funny as the 1st one but still with the crude jokes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/31/01 The Bomb 69 rushed and very average, lots of miss and a little hit 3 stars
11/05/01 ^Elendil^ Why did I waste my money?? 1 stars
10/29/01 RodmansGirl First 30 min. awesome 4 stars
10/20/01 Tam Standard toilet humour. Fine as long as you don't take it too seriously. 4 stars
9/18/01 Mr. Hat Even funnier than the first one. 4 stars
8/23/01 A.G. This movie was hilarious 5 stars
8/22/01 Gaya no better that the first 3 stars
8/22/01 JunkMan I would like to have the subtitles for this movie or in English or Portuguese or Spanish 5 stars
8/19/01 justin boswell first ones better i downloaded it of the internet email me at justinwbother@hotmail.com 2 stars
8/18/01 Obi Wan Was pretty good up until the last 20 minutes. What happned?? 3 stars
8/17/01 Dan A Tori Spelling 2 stars
8/16/01 guy that wants to bone the hot chick in it I thought it was pretty good 4 stars
8/14/01 najib c,hg 5 stars
8/13/01 Cait This is a pretty funny movie! 4 stars
8/13/01 Harpey Scary Movie 2 is an excellent film i deffinately recomend it its great! 5 stars
8/08/01 Genetrik I HATE THIS FUCKING MOVIE - the writers should be in jail forerver for this crap 1 stars
8/07/01 Lord Raymos Rarely funny, mostly stupid. Amazingly bad plot and filming. Tori Spelling. 2 stars
8/07/01 Kyala Was Ok when I was sober, really funny when drunk =) 4 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa A lot funnier than the first one. Chris Elliott is too funny!! 4 stars
8/06/01 as kuj what a fucking film u made!!!!!!!!!!! i love it !!!!! 5 stars
8/06/01 badfish Worst piece of dog shit i've ever seen! 1 stars
8/05/01 michael cawthera ha ha mental man 5 stars
8/04/01 Sexey Davey Shortys the man 5 stars
8/03/01 travis inglehart hit this shit 5 stars
8/01/01 WT Funny !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and hilarious! still laughing! 5 stars
8/01/01 C funny as hell 5 stars
8/01/01 Vixor funny at times- but lots of it was not funny at all, Scary Movie 1 was much better 2 stars
7/31/01 LoSt BoY Nice movie 4 stars
7/30/01 John Lyons Good movie for the teens. 3 stars
7/29/01 AlCoholic Jedi Worth renting (maybe) 3 stars
7/29/01 dukefanatic30 i have never laughed so hard in my life 5 stars
7/27/01 King Jackass As good as the first, and as nasty too. 4 stars
7/26/01 Paul Was not worth paying $7.00 for but had 1 or 2 funny parts 2 stars
7/24/01 Mike M. sweet 5 stars
7/23/01 anthony its real funny 5 stars
7/21/01 fdfg Too bad and too fucking short 1 stars
7/19/01 Jim Kidd There were some funny parts to it, but unless you can get in free, i would waste your money 2 stars
7/19/01 Bohb I didn't think a movie could both suck AND blow at the same time. 1 stars
7/19/01 Tired Hard to believe the same people made this shitty sequel. 1 stars
7/19/01 malcolm funny in spots; pretty dumb overall 2 stars
7/15/01 Rampage first Scary Movie was funnier, but hey, at least it beat the crap out of Scream 3 3 stars
7/15/01 Chris Funny moments surrounded by boredom. 3 stars
7/13/01 Rude Half Breed I didnt realized one of Wayans brother was retarded as well as being a scriptwriter 1 stars
7/09/01 James Had only a few elements of a "movie" and none of a film. The first was better. 2 stars
7/08/01 John Lyons Got tired of the lame bathroom humor. been there, done that. 3 stars
7/08/01 vampyre9mm It took seven people to write this movie??? 3 stars
7/06/01 joh Quit Whining! it was really funny! 5 stars
7/06/01 Roy Smith Sperm, shit, vomit, and oiss - in the first 5 minutes - Leave your kids at home!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
7/05/01 Jeff It was aiiiight 4 stars
5/09/01 Mackey I was watching "Scary Movie 2" with my sister,and she fell asleep! Need more...? 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Jul-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Oct-2001




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast