More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.34

Awesome: 17.19%
Worth A Look29.69%
Average: 26.56%
Pretty Bad: 23.44%
Total Crap: 3.13%

6 reviews, 28 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

Almost Coming, Almost Dying by Jay Seaver

Blade Runner 2049 by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Life Less Ordinary, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Put down the bong, Mr. Boyle."
2 stars

Whoever made this movie dropped enouch acid to make the walls rotate before he sat down to write it.

And I know this because the movie starts out simple, familiar, and obviously the mainstrem debut of a classic indie filmmaker. But he just can't let go easily because he adds such randomness at various points that make no senseand are just plain confusing.

I was happy with the plot set up: two angels are sent by God to put two people together, because he's unhappy with the divorce rate. The chosen two are your classic opposites sides of the tracks people. Cameron Diaz is a rich little spoiled brat, and Ewan McGregor just got fired by her dad. In an attempt to...I dunno, liek revenge or something, he storms the boss's apartment when she happens to be there. Chaos ensues, and with her help, they eventually escape, she as his hostage. Then, the classic kidnapper-kidnappee love story with humor and role reversals follows.

The angels are distracting enough, with over the top, weird, nonsensical performances by Holly Hunter and Delroy Lindo. but at one point, they begin dancing on a barroom table, but seconds later it's as if it never happened, as with a scene in which we clearly see Cameron dead but it was only a premonition, or some shite...

So basically, I don't know what he was thinking. He could have made a really good film, so he pissed me off and I'm only giving him 2 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=473&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/06/98 11:02:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/25/16 Clint McGregors & Diaz's chemistry fits this black comedy perfectly. Hilarious 5 stars
1/17/10 Patrick it may not be to eveyone's tastes, but, its quirky, well written and i love it. 5 stars
5/06/07 fools♫gold A bit average for my taste. 2/5 or 3/5. 3 stars
4/15/06 Sol Hey, I liked it--and McGregor is indeed better than 2 baboons screwing in the zoo. 4 stars
6/05/05 Alyson Aww Ewan is such a sweetie pie! A hilarious movie over all. 5 stars
5/09/03 tom Fun and harmless, and strikingly different 4 stars
12/08/02 Adam I enjoyed the film. I thought it was funny and quite entertaining. That is the point 4 stars
9/21/02 R.W. Welch Could have been pretty good but they didn't know when to quit. 3 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean aimless shit. 1 stars
8/10/01 Mindy Ross my favorite movie ever because it's cracked-out and hilarious, but still interesting 5 stars
3/23/01 George Beautifully put together movie 5 stars
11/03/00 spunky A "Wild at Heart" for Idiots, ie- the mainstream. 1 stars
3/01/00 Ionicera A flaky, fun little movie. Not all it could have been. 3 stars
2/19/00 perverted pixie NOT the stinking turkey it's made out to be. Holly Hunter particually kicks arse! 4 stars
2/19/00 Paul Great 5 stars
2/15/00 Neil Austin er...what went wrong guys 3 stars
9/29/99 Bozo I am addicted to this movie 5 stars
9/20/99 Glitter Berry Why does everyone think it sucks? It was hilarious! 5 stars
9/05/99 Weird Andy Lifeless. Ordinary. 2 stars
8/26/99 mara ewan mcgregor is so funny...full of sublte jokes...generally a GOOD movie 4 stars
8/18/99 Matthew Bartley Bizzare...but good 4 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Certainly not as bad as some of you lot are making it out to be. 3 stars
4/16/99 bizzy i really liked it 4 stars
3/08/99 CanadianChica One of the best, well thought out movies i ahve ever seen. Unique and awesome casting. 5 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink Brilliant demented fun! 5 stars
9/29/98 Johny Interesting, but a huge mess 2 stars
9/24/98 Nate Dogg Sorry...I fuckin' dug it....a lot... 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Put a knife in my gut. Then do same to Diaz. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Oct-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Danny Boyle

Written by
  John Hodge

Cast
  Ewan McGregor
  Cameron Diaz
  Holly Hunter
  Delroy Lindo
  Dan Hedaya
  Stanley Tucci



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast