More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.43

Awesome: 26.61%
Worth A Look32.11%
Average: 14.68%
Pretty Bad: 10.7%
Total Crap: 15.9%

12 reviews, 255 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


A.I.: Artificial Intelligence
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"HALeybot 2001: a simulation."
3 stars

I have a huge admiration for both Stanley Kubrick and Steven Spielberg. They are two of the most ambitious and celebrated directors of more than three decades. Both have an equal amount of critics, but Kubrick’s career was/has been more challenging, more risk-taking. And maybe that is an avenue that Spielberg is trying to gain more ground on with A.I.: Artificial Intelligence, a long-publicized project that Kubrick had been developing and suggested for Spielberg to helm. The result is neither Kubrickian nor Spielbergian, but is a little too much of something.

Adjusted to the not-so-distant future by the accompaniment of an explanatory voiceover (serving the same “spoken” purpose as in David Lynch’s Dune, but surely without the same criticism since Spielberg is a more favored filmmaker), we come to except the science fiction motif and witness how the polar icecaps melted and flooded much of the United States. (The Planet of the Apes/Statue of Liberty shot was in cheesy, not campy taste.) Further explanation expounds on the creation of artificial intelligence, robots more like humans in every way with each modification. But we are never properly given any justification for why these artificial humanoids were made on such a grand-scale level, or why people aren’t having as many babies, or what has happened to the rest of the world.

Now, the only “human” element missing from one of these robots is the ability to love. Love, as we are explained in a lecture by a cybertronic Geppetto manufacturer, not in the sense of sex or pleasure, but in the emotion of love that a child would return to its mother. An employee of that company has had his ill child cryogenically frozen until something can be done, and his wife hasn’t given up hope. Given the opportunity to test the premiere version of one of these robots with the ability to love, we are introduced to David (Haley Joel Osment). He displays affections in all the ways any other real child would. He has developed or adapted to any wide range of emotions, and even once the family’s real son (Jake Thomas) has recovered and returned, David learns competition and jealousy. Introduced to a fairy tale that parallels David’s struggle — Pinocchio (“David will love it”) — he yearns as well to become real.

Complications arise between the two pre-pubescents — nothing terribly harmful, but a full-fledged rivalry for the mother’s affection. David is expendable, the toy, so rather than taking him to be destroyed, his mother abandons him where his “type” roam free. Imprinted with the undying love for his mother, compounded with a certain Freudian complex, it is a programmed indomitability that cannot be shut off. David befriends Joe (Jude Law), a kind of male prostitute machine, and they are forced to escape destruction by a demolition circus called Flesh Fair (the humans must “maintain numerical superiority”) and Joe convinces David that the quest is worthwhile. (“She loves what you do for her, like the way my customers love what I do [sex] for them”)

The introduction to Joe is something of a rushed and chance encounter, making his first appearance only briefly before so as to push him into the action. And the camaraderie that the two ‘bots develop is hard to go for either. David’s attachment is as sudden as his act of grabbing Joe’s hand.

So far, while Spielberg has opted for the Kubrick pacing (à la Eyes Wide Shut, Barry Lyndon, 2001), which is not necessarily a disagreeable choice, the screen time, too, has amassed quite a bit without a resolution in sight. Being a work of sci-fi, Spielberg (writing his first script since Close Encounters of the Third Kind, but also recalling, by name and initial, his other major contribution to the genre, E.T.: Extraterrestrial) takes certain liberties with the genre, but as he proved not all of them are wise choices. The lucid allusion to Pinocchio sets the movie back several steps in merits of originality. It is so common today for movies to be a modernization of some work of the past, which by itself is not a bad thing, but when it’s a product jointly coming from the Kubrick homefront and Spielberg, there’s a tougher expectation and standard awaiting. I have never read the story that this was inspired by, Brian Aldiss’ “Super-Toys Last All Summer Long,” so I don’t know if the Pinocchioan resemblance was brought about there, or somewhere in between Kubrick and Spielberg’s clandestine faxes. And while it is an interesting and amiable choice of material to do a futuristic spin on, it still felt like there were missing elements.

I would hardly call Kubrick’s career a perfect, spotless one, but his tinkerability was a strong quality throughout his work. Spielberg’s is a whole different type of style. He works faster, makes films on totally different subjects for totally different objectives. A.I. was completed far too fast for it to be within the realm of quality for a Kubrick film. Granted, that was one of Kubrick’s set-backs with the project, but even with Spielberg helming the movie, his two months working on the script and the short amount of time it took to get this on-screen is not enough. The visual effects are actually very impressive — it seems rare enough that Stan Winston disappoints in his well-recognized forte, but the screenplay lacks so much polishing. The speed at which some things are done can often sound impressive (e.g., Kevin Williamson’s claim of writing Scream in one night — but then again, that doesn’t account for the revisions, editing, re-writes, etc., that inevitably take place), but what I’m looking for is quality, not velocity. I honestly feel that Spielberg didn’t spend near enough time behind his computer, typewriter, pad of paper or what-have-you.

Before you know it, and this is when A.I. really began losing steam, was in the approaching end and closure of the movie. High off of his own work (Close Encounters is still just as much of a residuum in Spielberg’s literate mind, particularly being his last writing assignment), we’re skipping two-thousand years into the future with CGI versions of the same type of aliens. It continues digressing further and further into a dot-to-dot exposition, so far out from everything that proceeds it. The weightiness of the science fiction created for the majority of the movie is swung and displaced so off center that the concentration of s-f is far greater and way off-base by the conclusion. The two pieces don’t fit together, and it is not simply a poor dismount from an excellent performance on the parallel beams, but it is a ruination that sends a negative reverberation back through the rest of the movie. A.I. had enough awkward moments by itself, but this ending and epilogue comes from a completely different source. My suggestion would be to leave the theater once David is submerged and frozen next to the Blue Fairy, and create your own alternative ending. The option you choose has a much better potential for a competent ending, more so than the mistake that Spielberg inserts. I can easily recommend most of A.I. up and until that point, though I still have my criticisms within that blocked off section, but nowhere near the issues that this denouncement causes.

To address my concerns with the main hunk of movie at hand — the part that I got most of my enjoyment and entertainment out of — it seems an unfair trick, an unplanned surprise, and scratch mark amidst a followable story, all to have it crashing down at the preferred “ending point” as nothing more than an experiment. The idea that all along it was planned that he would go to that family and then at one point be left for abandonment to see how far he would go to return and reciprocate the love, seems no more an effort than to pull the wool over the audiences’ eyes. Trial and error would definitely be a part of creating an artificially intelligent robot like David, but by telling us that it was all a test that was in a controllable situation for the entire time (except for one brief little encounter) removes so much of the danger and excitement that it would have rendered if the whole thing was a “real” experience. By having it as an obstacle course, a readymade hurdle that we find out about only when David is informed, feels as though, as an audience, we were taken advantage of. It still is somewhat of a worthy trick — there’s really no way we could have known — and it still is an interesting and roundabout way of Geppetto testing his boy out, but it takes away so much of the inner-story for the artificial boy to be in an artificial situation.

Osment, everyone’s favorite child actor, again brings a talent that many his age do not possess. His curiosity reaches out beyond the screen and his naïveté matches that of a child who would have been learning all that he was from a younger age. Unfortunately, the serious nature of the movies he has taken part in (The Sixth Sense, Pay It Forward), have not allowed audiences to be impressed with his other skills that were so accessible and welcomed on sitcoms like “Thunder Alley” or “The Jeff Foxworthy Show.” However, I was surprised how upstaged he was by the younger Thomas. Thomas’ personality jumps right off the screen and his uninhibited nature and comfort on-screen are such a refreshing welcome. You can regularly see more of the same on the Disney channel’s comedy show, “Lizzie McGuire.” The show is easily recommendable if for nothing more than him. Law, with an extravagant artificial visage, brings far more personality than a robot even could — no matter how well it was programmed. Don’t take that as a negative, because I can’t picture anyone better than Spielberg’s choice of him in the role. Even though his character is not given much dimension or definition, Law is a positive to have around.

With Frances O’Conner, Sam Robards, William Hurt, Brendan Gleeson and the voices of Jack Angel (as the Teddy “Ruxspin”-like bear) and Robin Williams (uncredited as Dr. Know).

[Redeemable.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4734&reviewer=172
originally posted: 07/02/01 15:36:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/12/17 morris campbell very good very sad 4 stars
7/25/15 Jim Extremely underrated movie. Not all movies must be short. 5 stars
3/23/15 Anne One of the worst soap operas is better than this! 1 stars
3/10/15 stanley welles an enthralling piece of filmmaking 5 stars
10/09/12 leila wollman human questions without concrete answers, except for the ovtransformational effect of love 5 stars
9/29/11 Joel K. A little too long, and convoluted.... 2 stars
5/10/11 Sam Movie starts off amazing, but the ending is a little stupid... 4 stars
10/29/10 Rolly Hyatt Not a bad movie, but absolutely sad and depressing. As others have said, no happy ending. 4 stars
8/27/10 Bob Sharamatew It is number one on my list as the worst film ever made. Every scene is abysmal. 1 stars
8/23/10 leslie landberg This felt left me feeling angry and cheated. What sentimental tripe. Great premise. 2 stars
7/23/10 Khizer Haley Joel Osment, is the best child actor I have ever seen the movie is best of spilberg 5 stars
6/03/10 User Name Beatifully made, but ultimatlly draining. 4 stars
4/08/10 JBD Mesmerizing film that I keep watching...I'm drawin in every time. 5 stars
12/16/09 John Ko AI is the worst in a long line of simplistic over-wrought melodramas by Spielberg. Awful. 1 stars
9/25/09 george webster I enjoyed the film,but that kid(robot) was so annoying! 4 stars
7/12/09 the dork knight I was pretty pisse that the Teddy Bear didn't even get a "thank you" for all his hard work! 4 stars
5/13/09 Tim So misunderstood. That is no happy ending. Stunning. 5 stars
3/31/09 Nate Amazing movie! very sad, depressing, visually amazing. ending felt added on... but 5 stars
3/06/09 Elaine i liked this film.. but I didn't like the ending! but it worth the watch 3 stars
9/28/08 Samantha Pruitt this was long and boring, but with cool special affects 3 stars
9/04/08 Rachel This movie was so brilliant and so misunderstood. One of my favorite sci-fi films ever. 5 stars
8/31/08 Bored Viewer Dont even bother, I lost two hours of my life 1 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT A FRUSTRATING AND ULTIMATELY BORING EXPERIENCE 1 stars
3/03/08 ladavies I could not get into this movie, maybe I'll try again some day. 2 stars
2/01/08 Bonny S. I thought it was a good movie, maybe alittle slow. 4 stars
12/14/07 Jason The most boring sci-fi movie ever. Watching grass growing would be more entertaining. 1 stars
6/08/07 lockie Ending Sucks, mecha can't be turned off but destroyed instead!!?? 1 stars
4/21/07 om prakash nice 4 stars
4/15/07 VINAYAK RANJAN Its almost 7 year now to seen this movie, helps me lot in AI lecture classes @ MIT, Purnea 5 stars
3/16/07 johnnyfog VERY uncomfortable to watch. 4 stars
1/28/07 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still good 4 stars
1/13/07 Yoda It asks what life is, what love is. Spielberg's finest film. 5 stars
1/03/07 david anthony pretty sad at the very end i cried a lot because it was so sad 5 stars
11/06/06 Chris ok movie not as good as I thought it would be 3 stars
9/27/06 chris f a very good and interesting film i enjoyed it 5 stars
9/24/06 miguel it was pretty good but the at most times depressing 4 stars
9/16/06 ProSneakyD The most unusal but visually astounding sci fi film made, Osments performance was superb. 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Another future wridden techno obsessed popcorn flick thats watchable, like I, Robot. 3 stars
6/11/06 Dave Webber Totally pretentious - Thomas was better than Osment 2 stars
5/20/06 MP Bartley An oddity, but one that gets better with repeated viewings. Ending is actually very dark. 4 stars
12/13/05 jordz byron bangis i think dat this film is really just a piece of shit, to gazzette pipol fuck you 4 using me 1 stars
9/25/05 D Buckley Should have ended when he was looking at the Blue Fairy 2 stars
9/02/05 Zack sucks 2 stars
9/02/05 Eden It pretends to be over, then drags on for another 20 mins. This happens about 5 times. Dull 2 stars
8/04/05 Radmill The best movie - HJOsment is the best actor 5 stars
6/14/05 TheOthersFan this movie is so horrendously bad that it achieves a sort of bogus grandeur. 1 stars
6/01/05 A.I Fan The best I've ever seen 5 stars
5/02/05 Littlepurch About 6 different plots - all crap.WHY did Spielberg & Osmend do this!Bear was only gd bit! 1 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold Odd and failed hybrid. Not cold enough to be 2001 or warm enough to be ET. 4 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig A filme about the sorce and value of human love. 5 stars
2/02/05 ralph a true movie expert 32 yrs old weird film at times it captures you. but by end of the film it comes short on being great 4 stars
1/24/05 Emily David is the enduring symbol and memory of humans. 5 stars
1/04/05 David The ending is very very crappy 2 stars
12/13/04 Nicole I liked it through about the first half. The "concept" in the second half lost me. 4 stars
10/30/04 HL Junk! Can't figure why anyone would like this movie. 2 stars
10/23/04 ODH Don't waste your time on this flick, BORING... 1 stars
9/28/04 Ray The 200 rating 5 stars
8/06/04 bored mom Not a good sign when the toy bear and the gigolo are more interesting than the kid. 1 stars
7/14/04 Daveman The film's weakest moments are when you can sense Spielberg putting his hallmark on it. 4 stars
7/09/04 tatum First half better than second, Spielberg obviously whitewashed Kubrick's ideas 4 stars
6/26/04 M Hate the kid!!!! but loved the movie! 5 stars
6/22/04 Daniel Oh God, just make it stop! 2 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva every time you thought it was going to end it didn't 3 stars
5/29/04 Will the third act was retarded. 4 stars
5/18/04 Jen Dreifort Amazing film. Very well acted 5 stars
5/15/04 Jack Sommersby Pretentious, amorphous Spielberg wank-fest. Law is superb but wasted. 2 stars
5/13/04 Vacha It's an emotional rollercoaster with amazing visuals and storytelling. Suck? NEVER. 5 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser Mankind's inherent evil shown at its best! Really, really fantastic film!!! 5 stars
2/14/04 Y Amazing- very emotional to the point of heartbreak, confusion, terror, and joy. 5 stars
1/08/04 A F Great, Exciting, Astounding! Thats what I would've sad if it didn't suck 2 stars
12/31/03 EDWARD EXTRAORDINARY. AN EMOTIONAL RIDE AND I THINK THE ENDING WAS COOL. 5 stars
12/22/03 Snickerdoodle I would rent this again just to laugh at it. 1 stars
12/14/03 Wladyslaw Madejczyk, programer c++, instructor of japanese m.a. It is one of the best films I've ever seen. It will make your life better. 5 stars
12/13/03 human would you buy a device that can't be stopped once started? 1 stars
12/07/03 john endless stream of never ending boredom with rather superficial themes 1 stars
11/28/03 Joseph The ending wasn't as good as I hoped it would be, but otherwise the film was excellent. 4 stars
10/24/03 Kae Intelligent script, touching movie, HJO great actor! 5 stars
10/19/03 Littlepurch Teddy good. ALL ELSE SHITE!!! Depressing, boring, crap ending. Nothing good to say AT ALL! 1 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee I usually enjoy confusing movies (a.k.a Vanilla Sky) but this only had good special effects 2 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant Two hours too long. Watch for the scene where Osment's face melts from spinach! 1 stars
9/21/03 Darryl The little kid was good, but overall this was a waste of my rental dollar. 2 stars
8/13/03 It's just me I love this movie. Haley Joel Osment is one talented kid. 5 stars
8/11/03 Nicole I had such mixed feelings about this movie. Most was OK, but I detested the entire ending 3 stars
8/08/03 pooface mcgee spielberg is a great director but also a sentimental, pussy old man 3 stars
6/16/03 Daniel i cared more about the teddy bear than about any other character 1 stars
6/14/03 Alice GOD THIS WAS THE WORST MOVIE I EVER SAW.It made me feel sick, seriously ! 1 stars
6/05/03 Erik Van Sant Spielberg has gone off the deep end of being a fucking pussy. This movie sucks ass. 1 stars
5/11/03 WeeZLe A disappointment, given the hype. If it didn't have such expectations, it've been better 3 stars
5/06/03 Dave Very underrated, but still would have been better with Kubrick. Very atmospheric. 5 stars
3/31/03 Jim Gloriously sad saga of a boy and his talking teddy bear and his friend the robotic gigolo 4 stars
3/12/03 GMan Should have ended with him stuck with the blue fairy, waiting for the impossible! 4 stars
2/24/03 Edward Chong Very touching 5 stars
2/24/03 TheOthersFan easily the worst movie ever made. See "minority report" for a GOOD sci-fi film. 1 stars
2/21/03 Lara Tried to watch it again to affirm my opion and it still stands....this one sucks a fat one. 1 stars
1/23/03 Pinkline Jones Jose Luis Osbourne - Who gives a Rat's! 1 stars
1/22/03 alex breathtaking 5 stars
12/31/02 Flick Chick see it twice before you judge 5 stars
12/28/02 KOMUNYSTA Should have ended when he jumps off od building into water. Proof of his humanity. 4 stars
12/09/02 Allen Great looking, but average film. Wierdly dark. 3 stars
12/07/02 Kyle I was disappointed in this one. 3 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Another of Spielberg's Masterpieces! 5 stars
10/20/02 Paul Horrible, I thought it would never end. One of the worst ever 1 stars
10/06/02 TheOthersFan WORST MOVIE OF ALL TIME!!!!! 1 stars
10/02/02 John McNew Oscar-worthy acting, great special effects and a intricate story make it a hit! 5 stars
7/29/02 Captain Midol Jeez, I'd have had a better time at the dentist. 1 stars
7/07/02 mac One of the most misunderstood films ever. A fairyale for the 21st century. 5 stars
7/04/02 KMG I have never detested a movie so much. It was dreary, dreadful, and hope-sucking...AI: FU! 1 stars
6/22/02 Bart Not good. Too many endings. 3 stars
6/11/02 Me Underrated. I thought it was great! The kid, as usual, is sensational 5 stars
5/30/02 JesseL Great effects, nothing else. Triple scoops of sentimentality. Mommy mommy. Whine whine... 1 stars
5/21/02 Shrike A more patient, intelligent Sc-Fi film than most 4 stars
5/20/02 siro The most beautiful picture I have ever seen. 5 stars
4/19/02 Unanon It had me, then it lost me, then it had me again... whoops! Nope, It lost me!! 2 stars
4/16/02 Danielle Ophelia I've seen better in the Spielberg/Kubrik corner, but it works. Somehow it works. 4 stars
4/09/02 Keith Good, until hokey ending. Should've stopped when kid got trapped. 4 stars
4/02/02 El Talboto If only Kubrick had done it himself... the visual effects were great 4 stars
3/31/02 Goldman This movie should be given Oscars in all categories. Then, the world should end. 1 stars
3/30/02 Spyguy2 I had a lump in my throat...one of the deepest and most moving sci-fi pics ever 5 stars
3/30/02 othree sad, futile, clean special effects, loved the gigalos' performance 4 stars
3/24/02 Lana Are you kidding? What the fuck was that? 1 stars
3/15/02 JesseL Moving moments, some great scenes, but lost its focus 4 stars
3/14/02 Scott Easily the best sci-fi flick ever. Far underrated. 5 stars
3/09/02 The Bomb 69 Kubrick would have done better but solid nonetheless 4 stars
3/07/02 Alan Smithee While I'm sure the movie would have worked much better with Kubrick directing, it's solid. 4 stars
3/01/02 Chowie It was very good, but too long............................................................. 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Way too long. This film needed better editing. 3 stars
2/17/02 Mitja Podgajski Crap 1 stars
1/20/02 Andrew Carden The Kid Is Awesome. 5 stars
1/15/02 Murray Castles The great director sets his sights in a new direction and once again shows his class 5 stars
12/12/01 slappy jacks speilberg certainly captured kubrik's style great work spielberg! 5 stars
11/29/01 Christian Best movie of the year. The end is very special. 5 stars
11/12/01 Jon C. Ericson Thank you Spielberg for turning Kubrick's film into a dark "E.T." 2 stars
10/30/01 titsboobyala i just cant find the words to describe how horribly bad this movie is 1 stars
10/26/01 Spock One either loves or hates this picture. I fall into the former category. HJO was awesome. 5 stars
10/23/01 Tony Leave the theatre when you think it has finished. 1 stars
10/23/01 Peter Richardson Excellent 5 stars
10/14/01 gus acting was great - plot,... a little lacking (to say the least) 3 stars
10/13/01 Bevan R. Clark The last half hour is such a cop out! Fuck the blue fairy! 2 stars
10/08/01 James k what a pieceof shit...seeing it was a waste of time 1 stars
10/02/01 Matthew Bartley Thought-provoking.Great to admire, difficult to love 4 stars
9/30/01 Mohammad J. Exploitative piece of garbage. I walked out. 1 stars
9/26/01 Jim Renwick Worth a look but just the once. 4 stars
9/25/01 viking not bad. could have been a lot better. 4 stars
9/25/01 Jual Hmmm not sur ...., still..last night I dreamt Teddy talked dirty to me so ..? 4 stars
9/21/01 bornslippy a film with so many false endings. i find myself standing up and had to sit down again. 2 stars
9/18/01 Christina Asdel What the hell was that? 1 stars
9/18/01 Southern Blues Disturbing and unrelentingly sad. awful ending. 4 stars
9/17/01 Murray Castles Great film. 5 stars
9/17/01 Spankachu it was okay but the ending sucked ass 3 stars
9/17/01 The Horror Powerful and visually stunning film, until Spielberg annaly raped me with the ending. 5 stars
9/16/01 Belinda The first half 9/10 then it dies. Worse than total crap! 1 stars
9/15/01 Donald Kennedy Superb film. Message missed in USA, received in Japan, Europe to follow. 5 stars
9/14/01 Garrett Cain Osment was exciting to watch. The bear...scary! 4 stars
9/14/01 Dani Linnell Aliens! They weren't aliens idiots!! They were Robots it says it then!!!!!! 5 stars
9/14/01 matthew smith one of the most original and exciting films of the year 5 stars
9/08/01 ARC There were no aliens dozy! They were robots!! 4 stars
8/29/01 Ealasaid I thought it was absolutely amazing. Can't wait until the dvd comes out^_^ 5 stars
8/27/01 spaceworm What if it had ended with him wishing to the statue? Killer. 5 stars
8/22/01 Erica It was okay, although the process was a little slow. 3 stars
8/20/01 spankachu aliens? where the hell did they come from? 2 stars
8/18/01 VINAYAK RANJAN A TREND SETTER & DIFFERENT ONE TO WATCH. 4 stars
8/17/01 NEC Loved Osment and Law's acting....The Teddy was great! 5 stars
8/16/01 Dakamus What the fuck was with the aliens? What a fucked up ending. 2 stars
8/13/01 adrienne k loved it - teddy was the best actor (i want one!) 5 stars
8/11/01 auraka the biggest load of treacly crap to come oozing out of hollywood in ages - truly HORRID 1 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Everything was going fine until Chris Rock was shot out of a cannon...I hated this movie. 1 stars
8/04/01 Mortis THIS MOVIE SUCKED SO BAD I MIGHT DIG UP KUBRICK & MAKE HIM WATCH IT!!! 1 stars
8/03/01 Big Peck This movie sucks pecker 1 stars
8/01/01 Vixor I thought it was brilliant. A couple problems- but overall very well made 4 stars
7/31/01 Andrew Domo The film is good emough but i find it inconsistent. It's overly sentimental but it's worth 4 stars
7/31/01 Monster W. Kung Messy plot. Very disturbing at times. It's clear that Kubrick and Spielberg don't mix well. 2 stars
7/30/01 Nicola Noon This film started well but totally lost its way 3 stars
7/30/01 Ro Sho Easily the best movie I have seen in theater this year, Sci-Fi how I like it. 5 stars
7/30/01 Bob jones Lets make a robot who can feel, and then TORTURE it! 2 stars
7/29/01 CDavis Spielberg answers the question: How will his own kids live happy lives after he is gone? 5 stars
7/28/01 Turtle A.I. really does try to be a classic epic, but it fails, although it is pretty good. 4 stars
7/24/01 SJKelley Spent the last half hour shaking my head in frustration. Money, talent and pedigree = blah 2 stars
7/22/01 Willamanthea The Story this movie is based on is much more intriguing than this movie. It was too long 4 stars
7/20/01 Tracie Spielberg’s latest gig starts off with an intriguing storyline, then, it plummets. The fir 3 stars
7/20/01 Lucie B Visually stunning and emotinonally gripping. A very memorable picture! 5 stars
7/19/01 Reto Berna A.I. is the best movie I've seen sooo far! 5 stars
7/16/01 chouck A week later and this movie is still pissing me off 3 stars
7/16/01 Christine Good thought provoking idea about humanity, but way too long and drawn out 3 stars
7/16/01 Kellie Bonnici predictable, unenchanting. This movie did not even remotely draw me in-it needed to.. 1 stars
7/15/01 Bueller It's no Eyes Wide Shut, THANKFULLY! This is a thoughtful, disturbing homage to Mr. Kubrick. 4 stars
7/15/01 siro I've seen it twice. This is one of the most beautiful movies I've ever seen. 5 stars
7/13/01 BrainPan I'm . . . not . . . sure. I'll get back to ya. 4 stars
7/13/01 Hypotheses A Flawed Ambitious Piece, But Great All the Same 4 stars
7/12/01 Nise alltogether a stunning movie, full of insight and wonder 5 stars
7/11/01 Thomas wow! 5 stars
7/10/01 Bud Not for children this film probes all of mans questions about God, humanity, science and lo 4 stars
7/10/01 Anne I've been thinking about it ever since I left the theatre...that has to mean something. 4 stars
7/10/01 sdfk 15 mins too long; narration irritating; heart wrenching otherwise 4 stars
7/10/01 John Roberson Seriously flawed but still better than usual Spielberg 4 stars
7/09/01 Paul Meade If only Kubrick had lived just a while longer, and made this his final film,. 4 stars
7/09/01 Perry Ferrel pretty good,should have ended at the blue fairy =/ 4 stars
7/09/01 Vincent Uhg. Were they writing the script as they went along? 2 stars
7/08/01 Daniel Plainly awesome 5 stars
7/07/01 Doug Jablin Don't pay for it in the theater, wait for it on HBO or better yet, the late late show. 2 stars
7/07/01 bluebeena Laughably bad, cheesy, and slow. The best part was when it was over. 1 stars
7/07/01 Indelusia Spielburg should be taken out back and beaten for wasting my time with this cheese. 1 stars
7/06/01 INCUBATOR You think you know what`s real. Reality doesn`t think so. 5 stars
7/06/01 Darren Shea Those who complain the ending is too sappy are viewing it too literally 5 stars
7/06/01 Fenris Apparently test audiences didn't like the ending, so they tacked on some cheese n' sap 3 stars
7/06/01 Ryan Phillippe gets hit by a car and it rules! Like having sex with a really broke chick satisfying (sort of), but it takes too damn long. 2 stars
7/06/01 Erik North A brilliant movie. If you leave your brains at home, of course, it won't work for you! 5 stars
7/05/01 wintermute Like being raped by Spielberg for 2.5 hours 1 stars
7/05/01 Mongolian Beef I saw this movie bone sober and I hated it. Saw it again drunk and i liked it. 5 stars
7/05/01 gromm It had the potential to be a great movie, but Spielburg used his saccharine touch on it. 3 stars
7/04/01 E Thought provoking and emotionally powerful. Great visual FX. 5 stars
7/04/01 sexx ed Absolutely unforgettable, very Kubrickian. Don't listen to the cynics, the ending was bold 5 stars
7/04/01 dr bernie the words fucking awesome aren't very fitting but it's a great movie. 5 stars
7/04/01 jim dyer required comments is stupid really really 4 stars
7/04/01 Triumph, the Insult Comic The ending kicked ass! you people need to get a clue 5 stars
7/04/01 Rich Cirivilleri It's comforting to know that the L.L. Bean catalog will survive into the future. 4 stars
7/03/01 Ricky Tried too hard with the story, but visuals were top notch. 3 stars
7/03/01 jhodgins I through I have seen everything, but this movie was the worst ever. 1 stars
7/03/01 Elladan An ending that will leave you saying, "What the fuck was Spielberg snorting?!" 3 stars
7/03/01 DisappointmentThy NameIs It should have ended submerged. See it to say you have and decide on your own 3 stars
7/03/01 The Stuff Some great moments but overall average. Effects and acting all great. 3 stars
7/03/01 Chris I could have produced a better ending... 4 stars
7/03/01 Larry McMullen facinating but unfullfilling. 4 stars
7/03/01 Tara ruined my weekend 1 stars
7/03/01 Hotaine The ending was actually Kubrick's idea from the beginning! 5 stars
7/03/01 Stephanie Well acted, make you think movie. Message important. 4 stars
7/03/01 DrLauraIsABitch (doo dah, doo dah) Pinochio meets Clockwork Orange. Worth every penny of admission. 5 stars
7/03/01 Stephanie great performances by the cast 5 stars
7/03/01 ajay when you think it should be over, just leave. 2 stars
7/03/01 puckfreak Lame, had potetial, but the end sucked. 2 stars
7/03/01 Greyjack Great acting, interesting film, almost universally questionable ending keeps it from 5stars 4 stars
7/02/01 Quarath Great movie. Definently recommend it. 4 stars
7/02/01 parkallan Interesting idea, but rather dark depressing, made me want to watch something really funny. 3 stars
7/02/01 Thor-Leo Muddled, incoherent. Spielberg should be exiled. 1 stars
7/02/01 Suzl4 Hmmm, I'm not sure what to say...maybe, ODD!! 3 stars
7/02/01 beast dissapointing 1 stars
7/02/01 Krystal Enjoyed it, very thought-provoking 4 stars
7/02/01 Human Shield Leave at the 2 hour mark and it will be fine. Takes the Misson 2 Mars way out. 3 stars
7/02/01 Dave Sweeney Flawed movie that raises some interesting issues 4 stars
7/01/01 mahone Good. Better than the usual Spielberg crap. 4 stars
7/01/01 Michael Browne Spielberg, won't you please make movies more often? And Haley: brav-fucking-o! Incredible 5 stars
7/01/01 John The best film of the past 5 years, easily... A misunderstood masterpiece! 5 stars
7/01/01 Vance Special, Wonderous & Tear-Jerking. This is destined to be a classic! 5 stars
7/01/01 Matt WORST MOVIE EVER.....just go see it to see what a bad movie really is 1 stars
7/01/01 Roy Smith 3 stories: 1st one - blah, 2nd one - good, 3rd - totally stupid. Ruins the movie 2 stars
7/01/01 tigerlette young bot stalker! 1 stars
7/01/01 MaryAnn I wanted Spielberg and got Kubrick...bad Kubrick. Bad mix of ET, Mad Max & Clockwork Orange 1 stars
7/01/01 Gay Tooth Fairy This was an okay movie. Some of the visuals and effects were fucking crazy. Acting!!! !!! 3 stars
7/01/01 Carly sporadically good, but the schmaltzy ending nearly ruins the rest. law is great. 3 stars
7/01/01 Geebo Is there a 13-year-old who can act better? What's that? There isn't? I thought so. 5 stars
6/30/01 Fuck Hollywood I LOVE YOU A.I. has some good shit in it. But not a great movie. 4 stars
6/30/01 toulouse-laurtrec wonderful, one of the true masterpieces of the last ten years 5 stars
6/30/01 ERIC SHADRACK Un-fucking-believably great 5 stars
6/29/01 jurisenpai One of the most amazing films ever made 5 stars
6/29/01 Mr. Shmegma Not Kubrick, but still brilliant 5 stars
6/14/01 Korey Calmettes Groovy Baby 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Jun-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Sep-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast