More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.43

Awesome: 26.61%
Worth A Look32.11%
Average: 14.68%
Pretty Bad: 10.7%
Total Crap: 15.9%

12 reviews, 255 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hellboy (2019) by Jay Seaver

Clickbait by Jay Seaver

Her Smell by Peter Sobczynski

Under the Silver Lake by Peter Sobczynski

Chaperone, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Missing Link by Jay Seaver

Master Z: Ip Man Legacy by Jay Seaver

Hail Satan? by Jay Seaver

Diane by Rob Gonsalves

Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


A.I.: Artificial Intelligence
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"The first movie of the summer worthy of serious debate"
4 stars

“A.I.” essentially tells the story of Pinocchio, but takes it one step further. Instead of going from wood to skin and bones to become “real,” this story starts with the familiar human surface, then, throughout the story, tries to find the center of what makes it tick: The soul. And since David, the Pinocchio in question, consists of microchips and wires, that opens up a whole other line of questioning about how we program ourselves to think and how we begin to shape our personality as we grow. In the movie’s eeriest scene, the question comes up, can the deepest and best part of us be packaged and sold for mass production and consumption? With computers taking over some of our personalities, how long will it be before we buy ourselves a programmed little wooden child? And at what point would the love for that child, as well as its love for us, become “real?”

Steven Spielberg’s “A.I.” doesn’t address those questions directly, but rather attempts to be a springboard for discussion once the houselights go up. It mostly succeeds. The story starts out with a scientist, Professor Hobby, (William Hurt) who has successfully engineered a line of androids (also called Mechas) who have served humans simplest needs. Now, he wants to create one that can fulfill a human’s need for love. Several months later, the idea comes to fruition and a lonely young couple, Henry and Monica Swinton (Sam Robards and Frances O’Connor, respectively) adopts him, but not without reservation. The Swinton’s real son, Martin, remains in a coma. When one has all but lost the real love of a child, how can one adjust to a somewhat creepy, vacant packaged boy named David (Haley Joel Osment) that insists on following you wherever you go?

Eventually, the couple takes to David and after reading the instructions from the manual (if only programming my computer were this simple), David feels love and calls his surrogate mother “Mommy.” Monica then gives David one of Martin’s toys, a teddy bear named Teddy that walks and talks, like a cross between Teddy Ruxpin, HAL, and Kit from “Knight Rider.” This character could just as easily have been played for laughs and cutes, but surprisingly, it never once comes close to irritating. In fact, it too faces a bit of a dilemma when the parents’ young son Martin (Jake Thomas) comes out of his coma and back to his parents in leg braces. Who should Teddy go to when both David and Martin command, “Come here Teddy?”

With two sons now battling for the affections of the mother, things get a little complicated as David’s mechanisms become something of a threat to Martin’s well-being, even after she reads “Pinocchio” to them as a bedtime story, per Martin’s suggestion. A poolside accident leads Monica to make the harsh decision to bring David back to his original birthplace, where they will dispose of him. David doesn’t really make it to the front door. Instead, he hides in the woods and meets a band of outcast Mechas, which leads him to meet male gigolo android, Joe, played by Jude Law, who at times seems possessed by the ghost of Gene Kelly. Together, they embark on a search for the Blue Fairy from the Pinocchio story. David wants to find her so he can learn how to become real and gain the acceptance of his mother. Gigolo Joe wants her for other reasons.

“A.I.” ices the cake with stunning visuals. While the movie takes place in the future, it doesn’t really call attention to itself by taking us out of the story. David’s parent’s house has a sterile look to it, not one with a lot of gadgets running around or floating video walls. It could just as easily be your house, only with a tad of neon. On the other hand, we have Flesh Fair, a cyber nightmare world where humans go to watch Mechas be destroyed, not unlike a monster truck rally crossed with Thunderdome, Ozz-fest and Robot Wars. We also see the world as it looks under water, which surprisingly did not make me think of "Waterworld."

It seems as though Spielberg let the ghost Kubrick do some of the set designs as well. After all, the movie does open with the credit, “An Ambin Entertainment/ Stanley Kubrick production.” Take a look at Rouge City. This scenery alone could very well make this Spielberg’s sexiest movie. Let’s just say one of the buildings in this city has a bit of fun with the female anatomy. Kubrick, always something of a prankster, probably would have wanted it that way.

But the real prize of “A.I.” comes from its emotional core and not its eye-candy (though, like I said, it has plenty to spare). We often walk into films like pre-programmed robots, expecting our heroes, their conflicts and the pay-offs, so it shouldn’t be too hard a task to sympathize with a little boy made of microchips. David often questions peculiar actions of humans by asking, “Is it a game?” In the case of David’s quest for acceptance and fulfillment, yes, with his major obstacle being the truth behind his existence. As David searches for the Blue Fairy from a fictional storybook, his story becomes the essence of a true fable. He searches desperately for something we have all questioned and/or searched for and have never found in the flesh or proved beyond a shadow of a doubt, or beyond our own faith: God. With love being David’s God, that which makes him whole, the sight of his love being packaged like a video game makes a startling statement. These days, love has become a game and no wonder we feel David’s sadness. (Don’t believe love has become a game? Pick up one of those issues of Cosmo or Maxim with the headline “How to make a man/woman love you back.”)

Osment, obviously older than his years, gives David a voice worth hearing. Unlike Spielberg’s earlier child stars (Henry Thomas, Drew Barrymore and Christian Bale, to name a few), Osment has already made a name for himself as our best child star. With his spontaneous laughter at the dinner table, his sorrow at the flooded city of New York and his watchful and curious eyes as his mother makes her coffee, Osment carries the movie like a pro and makes David a machine worth crying over. Jude Law has fun with his role as the android with a (thing) of gold. One twitch of his head and he can melt a woman’s resistance with his charm, good looks and whatever romance song he decides to program in the background.

I promise not to give anything away here, but some have complained that the movie has too many endings. True, the movie did have an ending that would have satisfied me and, best of all, surprised me. It would have been a dark and all-but-true statement on man’s constant search for God. But Spielberg reminds us that we have been watching a fairy tale. In its third act, “A.I.” hits a few bumps on the way to its moving conclusion with some stilted and forced dialogue, some of which come from characters we would rather not hear speak. But as the ending wore on, I accepted it. It may not be a “happily ever after,” like Pinocchio, but it does make us wish we could have someone we love and lost back for just one more day. What would you do if you could?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4734&reviewer=233
originally posted: 07/01/01 15:55:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/12/17 morris campbell very good very sad 4 stars
7/25/15 Jim Extremely underrated movie. Not all movies must be short. 5 stars
3/23/15 Anne One of the worst soap operas is better than this! 1 stars
3/10/15 stanley welles an enthralling piece of filmmaking 5 stars
10/09/12 leila wollman human questions without concrete answers, except for the ovtransformational effect of love 5 stars
9/29/11 Joel K. A little too long, and convoluted.... 2 stars
5/10/11 Sam Movie starts off amazing, but the ending is a little stupid... 4 stars
10/29/10 Rolly Hyatt Not a bad movie, but absolutely sad and depressing. As others have said, no happy ending. 4 stars
8/27/10 Bob Sharamatew It is number one on my list as the worst film ever made. Every scene is abysmal. 1 stars
8/23/10 leslie landberg This felt left me feeling angry and cheated. What sentimental tripe. Great premise. 2 stars
7/23/10 Khizer Haley Joel Osment, is the best child actor I have ever seen the movie is best of spilberg 5 stars
6/03/10 User Name Beatifully made, but ultimatlly draining. 4 stars
4/08/10 JBD Mesmerizing film that I keep watching...I'm drawin in every time. 5 stars
12/16/09 John Ko AI is the worst in a long line of simplistic over-wrought melodramas by Spielberg. Awful. 1 stars
9/25/09 george webster I enjoyed the film,but that kid(robot) was so annoying! 4 stars
7/12/09 the dork knight I was pretty pisse that the Teddy Bear didn't even get a "thank you" for all his hard work! 4 stars
5/13/09 Tim So misunderstood. That is no happy ending. Stunning. 5 stars
3/31/09 Nate Amazing movie! very sad, depressing, visually amazing. ending felt added on... but 5 stars
3/06/09 Elaine i liked this film.. but I didn't like the ending! but it worth the watch 3 stars
9/28/08 Samantha Pruitt this was long and boring, but with cool special affects 3 stars
9/04/08 Rachel This movie was so brilliant and so misunderstood. One of my favorite sci-fi films ever. 5 stars
8/31/08 Bored Viewer Dont even bother, I lost two hours of my life 1 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT A FRUSTRATING AND ULTIMATELY BORING EXPERIENCE 1 stars
3/03/08 ladavies I could not get into this movie, maybe I'll try again some day. 2 stars
2/01/08 Bonny S. I thought it was a good movie, maybe alittle slow. 4 stars
12/14/07 Jason The most boring sci-fi movie ever. Watching grass growing would be more entertaining. 1 stars
6/08/07 lockie Ending Sucks, mecha can't be turned off but destroyed instead!!?? 1 stars
4/21/07 om prakash nice 4 stars
4/15/07 VINAYAK RANJAN Its almost 7 year now to seen this movie, helps me lot in AI lecture classes @ MIT, Purnea 5 stars
3/16/07 johnnyfog VERY uncomfortable to watch. 4 stars
1/28/07 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still good 4 stars
1/13/07 Yoda It asks what life is, what love is. Spielberg's finest film. 5 stars
1/03/07 david anthony pretty sad at the very end i cried a lot because it was so sad 5 stars
11/06/06 Chris ok movie not as good as I thought it would be 3 stars
9/27/06 chris f a very good and interesting film i enjoyed it 5 stars
9/24/06 miguel it was pretty good but the at most times depressing 4 stars
9/16/06 ProSneakyD The most unusal but visually astounding sci fi film made, Osments performance was superb. 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Another future wridden techno obsessed popcorn flick thats watchable, like I, Robot. 3 stars
6/11/06 Dave Webber Totally pretentious - Thomas was better than Osment 2 stars
5/20/06 MP Bartley An oddity, but one that gets better with repeated viewings. Ending is actually very dark. 4 stars
12/13/05 jordz byron bangis i think dat this film is really just a piece of shit, to gazzette pipol fuck you 4 using me 1 stars
9/25/05 D Buckley Should have ended when he was looking at the Blue Fairy 2 stars
9/02/05 Zack sucks 2 stars
9/02/05 Eden It pretends to be over, then drags on for another 20 mins. This happens about 5 times. Dull 2 stars
8/04/05 Radmill The best movie - HJOsment is the best actor 5 stars
6/14/05 TheOthersFan this movie is so horrendously bad that it achieves a sort of bogus grandeur. 1 stars
6/01/05 A.I Fan The best I've ever seen 5 stars
5/02/05 Littlepurch About 6 different plots - all crap.WHY did Spielberg & Osmend do this!Bear was only gd bit! 1 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold Odd and failed hybrid. Not cold enough to be 2001 or warm enough to be ET. 4 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig A filme about the sorce and value of human love. 5 stars
2/02/05 ralph a true movie expert 32 yrs old weird film at times it captures you. but by end of the film it comes short on being great 4 stars
1/24/05 Emily David is the enduring symbol and memory of humans. 5 stars
1/04/05 David The ending is very very crappy 2 stars
12/13/04 Nicole I liked it through about the first half. The "concept" in the second half lost me. 4 stars
10/30/04 HL Junk! Can't figure why anyone would like this movie. 2 stars
10/23/04 ODH Don't waste your time on this flick, BORING... 1 stars
9/28/04 Ray The 200 rating 5 stars
8/06/04 bored mom Not a good sign when the toy bear and the gigolo are more interesting than the kid. 1 stars
7/14/04 Daveman The film's weakest moments are when you can sense Spielberg putting his hallmark on it. 4 stars
7/09/04 tatum First half better than second, Spielberg obviously whitewashed Kubrick's ideas 4 stars
6/26/04 M Hate the kid!!!! but loved the movie! 5 stars
6/22/04 Daniel Oh God, just make it stop! 2 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva every time you thought it was going to end it didn't 3 stars
5/29/04 Will the third act was retarded. 4 stars
5/18/04 Jen Dreifort Amazing film. Very well acted 5 stars
5/15/04 Jack Sommersby Pretentious, amorphous Spielberg wank-fest. Law is superb but wasted. 2 stars
5/13/04 Vacha It's an emotional rollercoaster with amazing visuals and storytelling. Suck? NEVER. 5 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser Mankind's inherent evil shown at its best! Really, really fantastic film!!! 5 stars
2/14/04 Y Amazing- very emotional to the point of heartbreak, confusion, terror, and joy. 5 stars
1/08/04 A F Great, Exciting, Astounding! Thats what I would've sad if it didn't suck 2 stars
12/31/03 EDWARD EXTRAORDINARY. AN EMOTIONAL RIDE AND I THINK THE ENDING WAS COOL. 5 stars
12/22/03 Snickerdoodle I would rent this again just to laugh at it. 1 stars
12/14/03 Wladyslaw Madejczyk, programer c++, instructor of japanese m.a. It is one of the best films I've ever seen. It will make your life better. 5 stars
12/13/03 human would you buy a device that can't be stopped once started? 1 stars
12/07/03 john endless stream of never ending boredom with rather superficial themes 1 stars
11/28/03 Joseph The ending wasn't as good as I hoped it would be, but otherwise the film was excellent. 4 stars
10/24/03 Kae Intelligent script, touching movie, HJO great actor! 5 stars
10/19/03 Littlepurch Teddy good. ALL ELSE SHITE!!! Depressing, boring, crap ending. Nothing good to say AT ALL! 1 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee I usually enjoy confusing movies (a.k.a Vanilla Sky) but this only had good special effects 2 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant Two hours too long. Watch for the scene where Osment's face melts from spinach! 1 stars
9/21/03 Darryl The little kid was good, but overall this was a waste of my rental dollar. 2 stars
8/13/03 It's just me I love this movie. Haley Joel Osment is one talented kid. 5 stars
8/11/03 Nicole I had such mixed feelings about this movie. Most was OK, but I detested the entire ending 3 stars
8/08/03 pooface mcgee spielberg is a great director but also a sentimental, pussy old man 3 stars
6/16/03 Daniel i cared more about the teddy bear than about any other character 1 stars
6/14/03 Alice GOD THIS WAS THE WORST MOVIE I EVER SAW.It made me feel sick, seriously ! 1 stars
6/05/03 Erik Van Sant Spielberg has gone off the deep end of being a fucking pussy. This movie sucks ass. 1 stars
5/11/03 WeeZLe A disappointment, given the hype. If it didn't have such expectations, it've been better 3 stars
5/06/03 Dave Very underrated, but still would have been better with Kubrick. Very atmospheric. 5 stars
3/31/03 Jim Gloriously sad saga of a boy and his talking teddy bear and his friend the robotic gigolo 4 stars
3/12/03 GMan Should have ended with him stuck with the blue fairy, waiting for the impossible! 4 stars
2/24/03 Edward Chong Very touching 5 stars
2/24/03 TheOthersFan easily the worst movie ever made. See "minority report" for a GOOD sci-fi film. 1 stars
2/21/03 Lara Tried to watch it again to affirm my opion and it still stands....this one sucks a fat one. 1 stars
1/23/03 Pinkline Jones Jose Luis Osbourne - Who gives a Rat's! 1 stars
1/22/03 alex breathtaking 5 stars
12/31/02 Flick Chick see it twice before you judge 5 stars
12/28/02 KOMUNYSTA Should have ended when he jumps off od building into water. Proof of his humanity. 4 stars
12/09/02 Allen Great looking, but average film. Wierdly dark. 3 stars
12/07/02 Kyle I was disappointed in this one. 3 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Another of Spielberg's Masterpieces! 5 stars
10/20/02 Paul Horrible, I thought it would never end. One of the worst ever 1 stars
10/06/02 TheOthersFan WORST MOVIE OF ALL TIME!!!!! 1 stars
10/02/02 John McNew Oscar-worthy acting, great special effects and a intricate story make it a hit! 5 stars
7/29/02 Captain Midol Jeez, I'd have had a better time at the dentist. 1 stars
7/07/02 mac One of the most misunderstood films ever. A fairyale for the 21st century. 5 stars
7/04/02 KMG I have never detested a movie so much. It was dreary, dreadful, and hope-sucking...AI: FU! 1 stars
6/22/02 Bart Not good. Too many endings. 3 stars
6/11/02 Me Underrated. I thought it was great! The kid, as usual, is sensational 5 stars
5/30/02 JesseL Great effects, nothing else. Triple scoops of sentimentality. Mommy mommy. Whine whine... 1 stars
5/21/02 Shrike A more patient, intelligent Sc-Fi film than most 4 stars
5/20/02 siro The most beautiful picture I have ever seen. 5 stars
4/19/02 Unanon It had me, then it lost me, then it had me again... whoops! Nope, It lost me!! 2 stars
4/16/02 Danielle Ophelia I've seen better in the Spielberg/Kubrik corner, but it works. Somehow it works. 4 stars
4/09/02 Keith Good, until hokey ending. Should've stopped when kid got trapped. 4 stars
4/02/02 El Talboto If only Kubrick had done it himself... the visual effects were great 4 stars
3/31/02 Goldman This movie should be given Oscars in all categories. Then, the world should end. 1 stars
3/30/02 Spyguy2 I had a lump in my throat...one of the deepest and most moving sci-fi pics ever 5 stars
3/30/02 othree sad, futile, clean special effects, loved the gigalos' performance 4 stars
3/24/02 Lana Are you kidding? What the fuck was that? 1 stars
3/15/02 JesseL Moving moments, some great scenes, but lost its focus 4 stars
3/14/02 Scott Easily the best sci-fi flick ever. Far underrated. 5 stars
3/09/02 The Bomb 69 Kubrick would have done better but solid nonetheless 4 stars
3/07/02 Alan Smithee While I'm sure the movie would have worked much better with Kubrick directing, it's solid. 4 stars
3/01/02 Chowie It was very good, but too long............................................................. 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Way too long. This film needed better editing. 3 stars
2/17/02 Mitja Podgajski Crap 1 stars
1/20/02 Andrew Carden The Kid Is Awesome. 5 stars
1/15/02 Murray Castles The great director sets his sights in a new direction and once again shows his class 5 stars
12/12/01 slappy jacks speilberg certainly captured kubrik's style great work spielberg! 5 stars
11/29/01 Christian Best movie of the year. The end is very special. 5 stars
11/12/01 Jon C. Ericson Thank you Spielberg for turning Kubrick's film into a dark "E.T." 2 stars
10/30/01 titsboobyala i just cant find the words to describe how horribly bad this movie is 1 stars
10/26/01 Spock One either loves or hates this picture. I fall into the former category. HJO was awesome. 5 stars
10/23/01 Tony Leave the theatre when you think it has finished. 1 stars
10/23/01 Peter Richardson Excellent 5 stars
10/14/01 gus acting was great - plot,... a little lacking (to say the least) 3 stars
10/13/01 Bevan R. Clark The last half hour is such a cop out! Fuck the blue fairy! 2 stars
10/08/01 James k what a pieceof shit...seeing it was a waste of time 1 stars
10/02/01 Matthew Bartley Thought-provoking.Great to admire, difficult to love 4 stars
9/30/01 Mohammad J. Exploitative piece of garbage. I walked out. 1 stars
9/26/01 Jim Renwick Worth a look but just the once. 4 stars
9/25/01 viking not bad. could have been a lot better. 4 stars
9/25/01 Jual Hmmm not sur ...., still..last night I dreamt Teddy talked dirty to me so ..? 4 stars
9/21/01 bornslippy a film with so many false endings. i find myself standing up and had to sit down again. 2 stars
9/18/01 Christina Asdel What the hell was that? 1 stars
9/18/01 Southern Blues Disturbing and unrelentingly sad. awful ending. 4 stars
9/17/01 Murray Castles Great film. 5 stars
9/17/01 Spankachu it was okay but the ending sucked ass 3 stars
9/17/01 The Horror Powerful and visually stunning film, until Spielberg annaly raped me with the ending. 5 stars
9/16/01 Belinda The first half 9/10 then it dies. Worse than total crap! 1 stars
9/15/01 Donald Kennedy Superb film. Message missed in USA, received in Japan, Europe to follow. 5 stars
9/14/01 Garrett Cain Osment was exciting to watch. The bear...scary! 4 stars
9/14/01 Dani Linnell Aliens! They weren't aliens idiots!! They were Robots it says it then!!!!!! 5 stars
9/14/01 matthew smith one of the most original and exciting films of the year 5 stars
9/08/01 ARC There were no aliens dozy! They were robots!! 4 stars
8/29/01 Ealasaid I thought it was absolutely amazing. Can't wait until the dvd comes out^_^ 5 stars
8/27/01 spaceworm What if it had ended with him wishing to the statue? Killer. 5 stars
8/22/01 Erica It was okay, although the process was a little slow. 3 stars
8/20/01 spankachu aliens? where the hell did they come from? 2 stars
8/18/01 VINAYAK RANJAN A TREND SETTER & DIFFERENT ONE TO WATCH. 4 stars
8/17/01 NEC Loved Osment and Law's acting....The Teddy was great! 5 stars
8/16/01 Dakamus What the fuck was with the aliens? What a fucked up ending. 2 stars
8/13/01 adrienne k loved it - teddy was the best actor (i want one!) 5 stars
8/11/01 auraka the biggest load of treacly crap to come oozing out of hollywood in ages - truly HORRID 1 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Everything was going fine until Chris Rock was shot out of a cannon...I hated this movie. 1 stars
8/04/01 Mortis THIS MOVIE SUCKED SO BAD I MIGHT DIG UP KUBRICK & MAKE HIM WATCH IT!!! 1 stars
8/03/01 Big Peck This movie sucks pecker 1 stars
8/01/01 Vixor I thought it was brilliant. A couple problems- but overall very well made 4 stars
7/31/01 Andrew Domo The film is good emough but i find it inconsistent. It's overly sentimental but it's worth 4 stars
7/31/01 Monster W. Kung Messy plot. Very disturbing at times. It's clear that Kubrick and Spielberg don't mix well. 2 stars
7/30/01 Nicola Noon This film started well but totally lost its way 3 stars
7/30/01 Ro Sho Easily the best movie I have seen in theater this year, Sci-Fi how I like it. 5 stars
7/30/01 Bob jones Lets make a robot who can feel, and then TORTURE it! 2 stars
7/29/01 CDavis Spielberg answers the question: How will his own kids live happy lives after he is gone? 5 stars
7/28/01 Turtle A.I. really does try to be a classic epic, but it fails, although it is pretty good. 4 stars
7/24/01 SJKelley Spent the last half hour shaking my head in frustration. Money, talent and pedigree = blah 2 stars
7/22/01 Willamanthea The Story this movie is based on is much more intriguing than this movie. It was too long 4 stars
7/20/01 Tracie Spielberg’s latest gig starts off with an intriguing storyline, then, it plummets. The fir 3 stars
7/20/01 Lucie B Visually stunning and emotinonally gripping. A very memorable picture! 5 stars
7/19/01 Reto Berna A.I. is the best movie I've seen sooo far! 5 stars
7/16/01 chouck A week later and this movie is still pissing me off 3 stars
7/16/01 Christine Good thought provoking idea about humanity, but way too long and drawn out 3 stars
7/16/01 Kellie Bonnici predictable, unenchanting. This movie did not even remotely draw me in-it needed to.. 1 stars
7/15/01 Bueller It's no Eyes Wide Shut, THANKFULLY! This is a thoughtful, disturbing homage to Mr. Kubrick. 4 stars
7/15/01 siro I've seen it twice. This is one of the most beautiful movies I've ever seen. 5 stars
7/13/01 BrainPan I'm . . . not . . . sure. I'll get back to ya. 4 stars
7/13/01 Hypotheses A Flawed Ambitious Piece, But Great All the Same 4 stars
7/12/01 Nise alltogether a stunning movie, full of insight and wonder 5 stars
7/11/01 Thomas wow! 5 stars
7/10/01 Bud Not for children this film probes all of mans questions about God, humanity, science and lo 4 stars
7/10/01 Anne I've been thinking about it ever since I left the theatre...that has to mean something. 4 stars
7/10/01 sdfk 15 mins too long; narration irritating; heart wrenching otherwise 4 stars
7/10/01 John Roberson Seriously flawed but still better than usual Spielberg 4 stars
7/09/01 Paul Meade If only Kubrick had lived just a while longer, and made this his final film,. 4 stars
7/09/01 Perry Ferrel pretty good,should have ended at the blue fairy =/ 4 stars
7/09/01 Vincent Uhg. Were they writing the script as they went along? 2 stars
7/08/01 Daniel Plainly awesome 5 stars
7/07/01 Doug Jablin Don't pay for it in the theater, wait for it on HBO or better yet, the late late show. 2 stars
7/07/01 bluebeena Laughably bad, cheesy, and slow. The best part was when it was over. 1 stars
7/07/01 Indelusia Spielburg should be taken out back and beaten for wasting my time with this cheese. 1 stars
7/06/01 INCUBATOR You think you know what`s real. Reality doesn`t think so. 5 stars
7/06/01 Darren Shea Those who complain the ending is too sappy are viewing it too literally 5 stars
7/06/01 Fenris Apparently test audiences didn't like the ending, so they tacked on some cheese n' sap 3 stars
7/06/01 Ryan Phillippe gets hit by a car and it rules! Like having sex with a really broke chick satisfying (sort of), but it takes too damn long. 2 stars
7/06/01 Erik North A brilliant movie. If you leave your brains at home, of course, it won't work for you! 5 stars
7/05/01 wintermute Like being raped by Spielberg for 2.5 hours 1 stars
7/05/01 Mongolian Beef I saw this movie bone sober and I hated it. Saw it again drunk and i liked it. 5 stars
7/05/01 gromm It had the potential to be a great movie, but Spielburg used his saccharine touch on it. 3 stars
7/04/01 E Thought provoking and emotionally powerful. Great visual FX. 5 stars
7/04/01 sexx ed Absolutely unforgettable, very Kubrickian. Don't listen to the cynics, the ending was bold 5 stars
7/04/01 dr bernie the words fucking awesome aren't very fitting but it's a great movie. 5 stars
7/04/01 jim dyer required comments is stupid really really 4 stars
7/04/01 Triumph, the Insult Comic The ending kicked ass! you people need to get a clue 5 stars
7/04/01 Rich Cirivilleri It's comforting to know that the L.L. Bean catalog will survive into the future. 4 stars
7/03/01 Ricky Tried too hard with the story, but visuals were top notch. 3 stars
7/03/01 jhodgins I through I have seen everything, but this movie was the worst ever. 1 stars
7/03/01 Elladan An ending that will leave you saying, "What the fuck was Spielberg snorting?!" 3 stars
7/03/01 DisappointmentThy NameIs It should have ended submerged. See it to say you have and decide on your own 3 stars
7/03/01 The Stuff Some great moments but overall average. Effects and acting all great. 3 stars
7/03/01 Chris I could have produced a better ending... 4 stars
7/03/01 Larry McMullen facinating but unfullfilling. 4 stars
7/03/01 Tara ruined my weekend 1 stars
7/03/01 Hotaine The ending was actually Kubrick's idea from the beginning! 5 stars
7/03/01 Stephanie Well acted, make you think movie. Message important. 4 stars
7/03/01 DrLauraIsABitch (doo dah, doo dah) Pinochio meets Clockwork Orange. Worth every penny of admission. 5 stars
7/03/01 Stephanie great performances by the cast 5 stars
7/03/01 ajay when you think it should be over, just leave. 2 stars
7/03/01 puckfreak Lame, had potetial, but the end sucked. 2 stars
7/03/01 Greyjack Great acting, interesting film, almost universally questionable ending keeps it from 5stars 4 stars
7/02/01 Quarath Great movie. Definently recommend it. 4 stars
7/02/01 parkallan Interesting idea, but rather dark depressing, made me want to watch something really funny. 3 stars
7/02/01 Thor-Leo Muddled, incoherent. Spielberg should be exiled. 1 stars
7/02/01 Suzl4 Hmmm, I'm not sure what to say...maybe, ODD!! 3 stars
7/02/01 beast dissapointing 1 stars
7/02/01 Krystal Enjoyed it, very thought-provoking 4 stars
7/02/01 Human Shield Leave at the 2 hour mark and it will be fine. Takes the Misson 2 Mars way out. 3 stars
7/02/01 Dave Sweeney Flawed movie that raises some interesting issues 4 stars
7/01/01 mahone Good. Better than the usual Spielberg crap. 4 stars
7/01/01 Michael Browne Spielberg, won't you please make movies more often? And Haley: brav-fucking-o! Incredible 5 stars
7/01/01 John The best film of the past 5 years, easily... A misunderstood masterpiece! 5 stars
7/01/01 Vance Special, Wonderous & Tear-Jerking. This is destined to be a classic! 5 stars
7/01/01 Matt WORST MOVIE EVER.....just go see it to see what a bad movie really is 1 stars
7/01/01 Roy Smith 3 stories: 1st one - blah, 2nd one - good, 3rd - totally stupid. Ruins the movie 2 stars
7/01/01 tigerlette young bot stalker! 1 stars
7/01/01 MaryAnn I wanted Spielberg and got Kubrick...bad Kubrick. Bad mix of ET, Mad Max & Clockwork Orange 1 stars
7/01/01 Gay Tooth Fairy This was an okay movie. Some of the visuals and effects were fucking crazy. Acting!!! !!! 3 stars
7/01/01 Carly sporadically good, but the schmaltzy ending nearly ruins the rest. law is great. 3 stars
7/01/01 Geebo Is there a 13-year-old who can act better? What's that? There isn't? I thought so. 5 stars
6/30/01 Fuck Hollywood I LOVE YOU A.I. has some good shit in it. But not a great movie. 4 stars
6/30/01 toulouse-laurtrec wonderful, one of the true masterpieces of the last ten years 5 stars
6/30/01 ERIC SHADRACK Un-fucking-believably great 5 stars
6/29/01 jurisenpai One of the most amazing films ever made 5 stars
6/29/01 Mr. Shmegma Not Kubrick, but still brilliant 5 stars
6/14/01 Korey Calmettes Groovy Baby 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Jun-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Sep-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast