More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.43

Awesome: 26.61%
Worth A Look32.11%
Average: 14.68%
Pretty Bad: 10.7%
Total Crap: 15.9%

12 reviews, 255 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


A.I.: Artificial Intelligence
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"I see mechanical people."
4 stars

"Are Friends Electric?" asked one Gary Numan over twenty years ago. You kinda wonder if he ever read science fiction works such as those of Brian Aldiss. It's Brian's 1969 short story, "Supertoys Last All Summer Long", that A.I. (a.k.a. Artificial Intelligence) is based on.

Two decades in the making, this film was going to be a much-heralded collaboration between eccentric visionary Stanley Kubrick and innovative blockbuster-maker Steven Spielberg. At one point they settled on the duties for each other: Clockwork-guy would produce, and E.T.-dude would direct. While they were busy with their own projects, Steven & Stanley kept in touch about their special project and were planning on finally setting it in motion around the turn of the millennium... until all of a sudden Kubrick died in 1999 in the middle of wrapping up Eyes Wide Shut.

Spielberg pressed on with the project, writing the screenplay and directing the whole thing, and dedicated the finished work to Kubrick. The film premiered in the summer of 2001, but in the wake of Shrek and Legally Blonde, A.I. made only a modest amount of box-office cash. It's easy to see why... the story isn't exactly feel-good family fare, and it gets a bit avant-garde and quite confusing in some places. But aside from a couple of small plot holes, A.I. is quite an interesting, enthralling film to watch, and a fitting tribute to the dearly departed Stanley.

A.I. is unofficially divided into three acts, each with their own distinctive feel to them. The first part kinda rehashes the E.T. storyline of "strange being tries to adapt to suburban family life", as well as sets up the situational environment and the premise of "can we program a machine to love". It's about a century or two into the future, the polar ice caps have completely melted thanks to global warming, and the resulting floods have swallowed up considerable amounts of land, turning coastal cities into underwater ruins and wreaking havoc on the Earth's many inhabitants. Humanoid robots have firmly established themselves in society as able workers and artificial sex counterparts. Population control has been established by strictly licensing pregnancies, leaving millions of couples without a chance to have offspring of their own. Looking to tap into that market is Cybertronics, a robot manufacturer based in what's left of New Jersey. They've set out on a mission to build something never done before: a robot child that can not only mimic the actions of a real child, but have mental circuitry that's advanced enough for it to have real emotions and the ability to actually have real, childlike love for a person, the way real kids love their mommy and daddy.

Professor Allen Hobby (William Hurt) has based his new creation (Haley Joel Osment) on his dearly departed real-life son David, and has likewise bestowed that name on his robot prototype. The recipients of the first robot child, chosen from Cybertronics' employee database, are Henry (Sam Robards) and his wife Monica (Frances O'Connor), whose son Martin has been for years cryogenically frozen in the hopes that a cure for his life-threatening disease would someday be found. Monica is still quite emotionally attached to her little boy, reading stories to him while he lies comatose and unresponsive. So when Henry one day brings David in as a replacement for their child, Monica is initially freaked out that her husband would do such a thing.

At this point, David is emotionless, totally subservient and a perfect angel. Eventually Monica warms up to David and decides to activate the permanent, irreversible imprinting that will turn on the emotional circuitry. Suddenly, David starts calling her "Mommy", generates an emotional bond to her, and starts getting a little mischevious as well. Not long after Monica brings a long-neglected robotic teddy bear (named, of course, Teddy - voice by Jack Angel) out for David to keep him company, she gets a call from her husband... their real son can be cured and is being brought out of freezing! Now a real live boy, bratty behavior and all, is getting David into all kinds of trouble, at one point having his mom read the story of Pinocchio to both of them. And you know how that story goes - at the end, the artificial boy puppet is turned into a real live boy, which is a subtle dig at David, who could never become fully human in the real world.

A near-drowning incident at the swimming pool and a late-night mishap with scissors shed new light on the parents about how dangerous this emotional robot might become. Monica then decides to throw David out with the rest of the robot trash... but abandoning a robot that's emotionally attached to her is going to be way harder than ditching an unattached, unfeeling mechanoid. A scared, screaming David (with Teddy) disappears into Monica's rear view mirror ... and Part One of the story ends there.

From the family setting we go into an action-packed quest. Here we meet Gigolo Joe (Jude Law), a "lover" robot that is suddenly on the lam after being framed for murder. Left to his own devices, David recalls the story of Pinocchio, and reasons that if he was made into a real boy, his "mommy" Monica might love him again and take him back into the household. After escaping a "Flesh Fair" where robots are creatively destroyed to the delight of human audiences, David and Teddy team up with Joe and they set out to find the "Blue Fairy" that can turn David into a real boy. Their journey takes them through Rouge City, basically a futuristic red-light district the size of Manhattan, and all the way to the watery ruins of Manhattan itself, where Cybertronics still operates in one of the waterlogged skyscrapers. David, still pining for Monica and still looking for the Blue Fairy, slips away from Professor Logan's sight and with the help of a police vehicle plunges into the murky depths of the now-submerged Big Apple. You'd think that someone would come looking for him OR the vehicle by now, but no, David finds a Blue Fairy statue in the ruins of Coney Island and gets trapped there for almost an eternity as he pleads to the lifeless fairy statue, until his power runs out, to make him a real boy.

We jump ahead to Part Three (the strangest part of the movie), two thousand years later. Humanity has become extinct, Earth is in another Ice Age, and strange new advanced beings (robotic? alien?) are excavating the remains of the ancient societies and happen upon David, frozen in time but still functional. When they recharge him, he is still wanting the fairy to make him human and he still wants his "mommy" to love him again. Now that Monica and all the other humans are long gone, will the new beings be able to satisfy the emotional yearnings of this peculiar boy-like machine from a bygone era they know very little about?

You can easily point out the places where Spielberg pays homage to Kubrick: stark, sterile-looking environments like the cryogenics ward; a lengthy, continuous walking scene involving Teddy and a Flesh Fair worker; Teddy himself talking to David in a voice and tone that's kinda reminiscient of something else talking to a guy named "Dave"; and an antique mecha-droid that sounds a lot like Sergeant Hartman from Full Metal Jacket, to name a few. And speaking of "voices", Meryl Streep, Chris Rock and Robin Williams among others, lend their voice talents to cameos in the film. Industrial-thrash-metal band Ministry also makes a brief appearance.

It's pretty obvious that the guy behind Jurassic Park, Schindler's List and Saving Private Ryan wasn't going to make a film that would be accessible and easy to digest this time around. Few of Stanley's works were made that way, anyway. For all its few faults, A.I. remains a film that, long after it's over, can leave you wondering about the state of humanity, the framework of our mentality, and what could happen to soulless mechanical beings if they were suddenly endowed with complex human emotions.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4734&reviewer=9
originally posted: 08/14/03 12:33:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/12/17 morris campbell very good very sad 4 stars
7/25/15 Jim Extremely underrated movie. Not all movies must be short. 5 stars
3/23/15 Anne One of the worst soap operas is better than this! 1 stars
3/10/15 stanley welles an enthralling piece of filmmaking 5 stars
10/09/12 leila wollman human questions without concrete answers, except for the ovtransformational effect of love 5 stars
9/29/11 Joel K. A little too long, and convoluted.... 2 stars
5/10/11 Sam Movie starts off amazing, but the ending is a little stupid... 4 stars
10/29/10 Rolly Hyatt Not a bad movie, but absolutely sad and depressing. As others have said, no happy ending. 4 stars
8/27/10 Bob Sharamatew It is number one on my list as the worst film ever made. Every scene is abysmal. 1 stars
8/23/10 leslie landberg This felt left me feeling angry and cheated. What sentimental tripe. Great premise. 2 stars
7/23/10 Khizer Haley Joel Osment, is the best child actor I have ever seen the movie is best of spilberg 5 stars
6/03/10 User Name Beatifully made, but ultimatlly draining. 4 stars
4/08/10 JBD Mesmerizing film that I keep watching...I'm drawin in every time. 5 stars
12/16/09 John Ko AI is the worst in a long line of simplistic over-wrought melodramas by Spielberg. Awful. 1 stars
9/25/09 george webster I enjoyed the film,but that kid(robot) was so annoying! 4 stars
7/12/09 the dork knight I was pretty pisse that the Teddy Bear didn't even get a "thank you" for all his hard work! 4 stars
5/13/09 Tim So misunderstood. That is no happy ending. Stunning. 5 stars
3/31/09 Nate Amazing movie! very sad, depressing, visually amazing. ending felt added on... but 5 stars
3/06/09 Elaine i liked this film.. but I didn't like the ending! but it worth the watch 3 stars
9/28/08 Samantha Pruitt this was long and boring, but with cool special affects 3 stars
9/04/08 Rachel This movie was so brilliant and so misunderstood. One of my favorite sci-fi films ever. 5 stars
8/31/08 Bored Viewer Dont even bother, I lost two hours of my life 1 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT A FRUSTRATING AND ULTIMATELY BORING EXPERIENCE 1 stars
3/03/08 ladavies I could not get into this movie, maybe I'll try again some day. 2 stars
2/01/08 Bonny S. I thought it was a good movie, maybe alittle slow. 4 stars
12/14/07 Jason The most boring sci-fi movie ever. Watching grass growing would be more entertaining. 1 stars
6/08/07 lockie Ending Sucks, mecha can't be turned off but destroyed instead!!?? 1 stars
4/21/07 om prakash nice 4 stars
4/15/07 VINAYAK RANJAN Its almost 7 year now to seen this movie, helps me lot in AI lecture classes @ MIT, Purnea 5 stars
3/16/07 johnnyfog VERY uncomfortable to watch. 4 stars
1/28/07 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still good 4 stars
1/13/07 Yoda It asks what life is, what love is. Spielberg's finest film. 5 stars
1/03/07 david anthony pretty sad at the very end i cried a lot because it was so sad 5 stars
11/06/06 Chris ok movie not as good as I thought it would be 3 stars
9/27/06 chris f a very good and interesting film i enjoyed it 5 stars
9/24/06 miguel it was pretty good but the at most times depressing 4 stars
9/16/06 ProSneakyD The most unusal but visually astounding sci fi film made, Osments performance was superb. 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Another future wridden techno obsessed popcorn flick thats watchable, like I, Robot. 3 stars
6/11/06 Dave Webber Totally pretentious - Thomas was better than Osment 2 stars
5/20/06 MP Bartley An oddity, but one that gets better with repeated viewings. Ending is actually very dark. 4 stars
12/13/05 jordz byron bangis i think dat this film is really just a piece of shit, to gazzette pipol fuck you 4 using me 1 stars
9/25/05 D Buckley Should have ended when he was looking at the Blue Fairy 2 stars
9/02/05 Zack sucks 2 stars
9/02/05 Eden It pretends to be over, then drags on for another 20 mins. This happens about 5 times. Dull 2 stars
8/04/05 Radmill The best movie - HJOsment is the best actor 5 stars
6/14/05 TheOthersFan this movie is so horrendously bad that it achieves a sort of bogus grandeur. 1 stars
6/01/05 A.I Fan The best I've ever seen 5 stars
5/02/05 Littlepurch About 6 different plots - all crap.WHY did Spielberg & Osmend do this!Bear was only gd bit! 1 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold Odd and failed hybrid. Not cold enough to be 2001 or warm enough to be ET. 4 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig A filme about the sorce and value of human love. 5 stars
2/02/05 ralph a true movie expert 32 yrs old weird film at times it captures you. but by end of the film it comes short on being great 4 stars
1/24/05 Emily David is the enduring symbol and memory of humans. 5 stars
1/04/05 David The ending is very very crappy 2 stars
12/13/04 Nicole I liked it through about the first half. The "concept" in the second half lost me. 4 stars
10/30/04 HL Junk! Can't figure why anyone would like this movie. 2 stars
10/23/04 ODH Don't waste your time on this flick, BORING... 1 stars
9/28/04 Ray The 200 rating 5 stars
8/06/04 bored mom Not a good sign when the toy bear and the gigolo are more interesting than the kid. 1 stars
7/14/04 Daveman The film's weakest moments are when you can sense Spielberg putting his hallmark on it. 4 stars
7/09/04 tatum First half better than second, Spielberg obviously whitewashed Kubrick's ideas 4 stars
6/26/04 M Hate the kid!!!! but loved the movie! 5 stars
6/22/04 Daniel Oh God, just make it stop! 2 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva every time you thought it was going to end it didn't 3 stars
5/29/04 Will the third act was retarded. 4 stars
5/18/04 Jen Dreifort Amazing film. Very well acted 5 stars
5/15/04 Jack Sommersby Pretentious, amorphous Spielberg wank-fest. Law is superb but wasted. 2 stars
5/13/04 Vacha It's an emotional rollercoaster with amazing visuals and storytelling. Suck? NEVER. 5 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser Mankind's inherent evil shown at its best! Really, really fantastic film!!! 5 stars
2/14/04 Y Amazing- very emotional to the point of heartbreak, confusion, terror, and joy. 5 stars
1/08/04 A F Great, Exciting, Astounding! Thats what I would've sad if it didn't suck 2 stars
12/31/03 EDWARD EXTRAORDINARY. AN EMOTIONAL RIDE AND I THINK THE ENDING WAS COOL. 5 stars
12/22/03 Snickerdoodle I would rent this again just to laugh at it. 1 stars
12/14/03 Wladyslaw Madejczyk, programer c++, instructor of japanese m.a. It is one of the best films I've ever seen. It will make your life better. 5 stars
12/13/03 human would you buy a device that can't be stopped once started? 1 stars
12/07/03 john endless stream of never ending boredom with rather superficial themes 1 stars
11/28/03 Joseph The ending wasn't as good as I hoped it would be, but otherwise the film was excellent. 4 stars
10/24/03 Kae Intelligent script, touching movie, HJO great actor! 5 stars
10/19/03 Littlepurch Teddy good. ALL ELSE SHITE!!! Depressing, boring, crap ending. Nothing good to say AT ALL! 1 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee I usually enjoy confusing movies (a.k.a Vanilla Sky) but this only had good special effects 2 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant Two hours too long. Watch for the scene where Osment's face melts from spinach! 1 stars
9/21/03 Darryl The little kid was good, but overall this was a waste of my rental dollar. 2 stars
8/13/03 It's just me I love this movie. Haley Joel Osment is one talented kid. 5 stars
8/11/03 Nicole I had such mixed feelings about this movie. Most was OK, but I detested the entire ending 3 stars
8/08/03 pooface mcgee spielberg is a great director but also a sentimental, pussy old man 3 stars
6/16/03 Daniel i cared more about the teddy bear than about any other character 1 stars
6/14/03 Alice GOD THIS WAS THE WORST MOVIE I EVER SAW.It made me feel sick, seriously ! 1 stars
6/05/03 Erik Van Sant Spielberg has gone off the deep end of being a fucking pussy. This movie sucks ass. 1 stars
5/11/03 WeeZLe A disappointment, given the hype. If it didn't have such expectations, it've been better 3 stars
5/06/03 Dave Very underrated, but still would have been better with Kubrick. Very atmospheric. 5 stars
3/31/03 Jim Gloriously sad saga of a boy and his talking teddy bear and his friend the robotic gigolo 4 stars
3/12/03 GMan Should have ended with him stuck with the blue fairy, waiting for the impossible! 4 stars
2/24/03 Edward Chong Very touching 5 stars
2/24/03 TheOthersFan easily the worst movie ever made. See "minority report" for a GOOD sci-fi film. 1 stars
2/21/03 Lara Tried to watch it again to affirm my opion and it still stands....this one sucks a fat one. 1 stars
1/23/03 Pinkline Jones Jose Luis Osbourne - Who gives a Rat's! 1 stars
1/22/03 alex breathtaking 5 stars
12/31/02 Flick Chick see it twice before you judge 5 stars
12/28/02 KOMUNYSTA Should have ended when he jumps off od building into water. Proof of his humanity. 4 stars
12/09/02 Allen Great looking, but average film. Wierdly dark. 3 stars
12/07/02 Kyle I was disappointed in this one. 3 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Another of Spielberg's Masterpieces! 5 stars
10/20/02 Paul Horrible, I thought it would never end. One of the worst ever 1 stars
10/06/02 TheOthersFan WORST MOVIE OF ALL TIME!!!!! 1 stars
10/02/02 John McNew Oscar-worthy acting, great special effects and a intricate story make it a hit! 5 stars
7/29/02 Captain Midol Jeez, I'd have had a better time at the dentist. 1 stars
7/07/02 mac One of the most misunderstood films ever. A fairyale for the 21st century. 5 stars
7/04/02 KMG I have never detested a movie so much. It was dreary, dreadful, and hope-sucking...AI: FU! 1 stars
6/22/02 Bart Not good. Too many endings. 3 stars
6/11/02 Me Underrated. I thought it was great! The kid, as usual, is sensational 5 stars
5/30/02 JesseL Great effects, nothing else. Triple scoops of sentimentality. Mommy mommy. Whine whine... 1 stars
5/21/02 Shrike A more patient, intelligent Sc-Fi film than most 4 stars
5/20/02 siro The most beautiful picture I have ever seen. 5 stars
4/19/02 Unanon It had me, then it lost me, then it had me again... whoops! Nope, It lost me!! 2 stars
4/16/02 Danielle Ophelia I've seen better in the Spielberg/Kubrik corner, but it works. Somehow it works. 4 stars
4/09/02 Keith Good, until hokey ending. Should've stopped when kid got trapped. 4 stars
4/02/02 El Talboto If only Kubrick had done it himself... the visual effects were great 4 stars
3/31/02 Goldman This movie should be given Oscars in all categories. Then, the world should end. 1 stars
3/30/02 Spyguy2 I had a lump in my throat...one of the deepest and most moving sci-fi pics ever 5 stars
3/30/02 othree sad, futile, clean special effects, loved the gigalos' performance 4 stars
3/24/02 Lana Are you kidding? What the fuck was that? 1 stars
3/15/02 JesseL Moving moments, some great scenes, but lost its focus 4 stars
3/14/02 Scott Easily the best sci-fi flick ever. Far underrated. 5 stars
3/09/02 The Bomb 69 Kubrick would have done better but solid nonetheless 4 stars
3/07/02 Alan Smithee While I'm sure the movie would have worked much better with Kubrick directing, it's solid. 4 stars
3/01/02 Chowie It was very good, but too long............................................................. 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Way too long. This film needed better editing. 3 stars
2/17/02 Mitja Podgajski Crap 1 stars
1/20/02 Andrew Carden The Kid Is Awesome. 5 stars
1/15/02 Murray Castles The great director sets his sights in a new direction and once again shows his class 5 stars
12/12/01 slappy jacks speilberg certainly captured kubrik's style great work spielberg! 5 stars
11/29/01 Christian Best movie of the year. The end is very special. 5 stars
11/12/01 Jon C. Ericson Thank you Spielberg for turning Kubrick's film into a dark "E.T." 2 stars
10/30/01 titsboobyala i just cant find the words to describe how horribly bad this movie is 1 stars
10/26/01 Spock One either loves or hates this picture. I fall into the former category. HJO was awesome. 5 stars
10/23/01 Tony Leave the theatre when you think it has finished. 1 stars
10/23/01 Peter Richardson Excellent 5 stars
10/14/01 gus acting was great - plot,... a little lacking (to say the least) 3 stars
10/13/01 Bevan R. Clark The last half hour is such a cop out! Fuck the blue fairy! 2 stars
10/08/01 James k what a pieceof shit...seeing it was a waste of time 1 stars
10/02/01 Matthew Bartley Thought-provoking.Great to admire, difficult to love 4 stars
9/30/01 Mohammad J. Exploitative piece of garbage. I walked out. 1 stars
9/26/01 Jim Renwick Worth a look but just the once. 4 stars
9/25/01 viking not bad. could have been a lot better. 4 stars
9/25/01 Jual Hmmm not sur ...., still..last night I dreamt Teddy talked dirty to me so ..? 4 stars
9/21/01 bornslippy a film with so many false endings. i find myself standing up and had to sit down again. 2 stars
9/18/01 Christina Asdel What the hell was that? 1 stars
9/18/01 Southern Blues Disturbing and unrelentingly sad. awful ending. 4 stars
9/17/01 Murray Castles Great film. 5 stars
9/17/01 Spankachu it was okay but the ending sucked ass 3 stars
9/17/01 The Horror Powerful and visually stunning film, until Spielberg annaly raped me with the ending. 5 stars
9/16/01 Belinda The first half 9/10 then it dies. Worse than total crap! 1 stars
9/15/01 Donald Kennedy Superb film. Message missed in USA, received in Japan, Europe to follow. 5 stars
9/14/01 Garrett Cain Osment was exciting to watch. The bear...scary! 4 stars
9/14/01 Dani Linnell Aliens! They weren't aliens idiots!! They were Robots it says it then!!!!!! 5 stars
9/14/01 matthew smith one of the most original and exciting films of the year 5 stars
9/08/01 ARC There were no aliens dozy! They were robots!! 4 stars
8/29/01 Ealasaid I thought it was absolutely amazing. Can't wait until the dvd comes out^_^ 5 stars
8/27/01 spaceworm What if it had ended with him wishing to the statue? Killer. 5 stars
8/22/01 Erica It was okay, although the process was a little slow. 3 stars
8/20/01 spankachu aliens? where the hell did they come from? 2 stars
8/18/01 VINAYAK RANJAN A TREND SETTER & DIFFERENT ONE TO WATCH. 4 stars
8/17/01 NEC Loved Osment and Law's acting....The Teddy was great! 5 stars
8/16/01 Dakamus What the fuck was with the aliens? What a fucked up ending. 2 stars
8/13/01 adrienne k loved it - teddy was the best actor (i want one!) 5 stars
8/11/01 auraka the biggest load of treacly crap to come oozing out of hollywood in ages - truly HORRID 1 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Everything was going fine until Chris Rock was shot out of a cannon...I hated this movie. 1 stars
8/04/01 Mortis THIS MOVIE SUCKED SO BAD I MIGHT DIG UP KUBRICK & MAKE HIM WATCH IT!!! 1 stars
8/03/01 Big Peck This movie sucks pecker 1 stars
8/01/01 Vixor I thought it was brilliant. A couple problems- but overall very well made 4 stars
7/31/01 Andrew Domo The film is good emough but i find it inconsistent. It's overly sentimental but it's worth 4 stars
7/31/01 Monster W. Kung Messy plot. Very disturbing at times. It's clear that Kubrick and Spielberg don't mix well. 2 stars
7/30/01 Nicola Noon This film started well but totally lost its way 3 stars
7/30/01 Ro Sho Easily the best movie I have seen in theater this year, Sci-Fi how I like it. 5 stars
7/30/01 Bob jones Lets make a robot who can feel, and then TORTURE it! 2 stars
7/29/01 CDavis Spielberg answers the question: How will his own kids live happy lives after he is gone? 5 stars
7/28/01 Turtle A.I. really does try to be a classic epic, but it fails, although it is pretty good. 4 stars
7/24/01 SJKelley Spent the last half hour shaking my head in frustration. Money, talent and pedigree = blah 2 stars
7/22/01 Willamanthea The Story this movie is based on is much more intriguing than this movie. It was too long 4 stars
7/20/01 Tracie Spielberg’s latest gig starts off with an intriguing storyline, then, it plummets. The fir 3 stars
7/20/01 Lucie B Visually stunning and emotinonally gripping. A very memorable picture! 5 stars
7/19/01 Reto Berna A.I. is the best movie I've seen sooo far! 5 stars
7/16/01 chouck A week later and this movie is still pissing me off 3 stars
7/16/01 Christine Good thought provoking idea about humanity, but way too long and drawn out 3 stars
7/16/01 Kellie Bonnici predictable, unenchanting. This movie did not even remotely draw me in-it needed to.. 1 stars
7/15/01 Bueller It's no Eyes Wide Shut, THANKFULLY! This is a thoughtful, disturbing homage to Mr. Kubrick. 4 stars
7/15/01 siro I've seen it twice. This is one of the most beautiful movies I've ever seen. 5 stars
7/13/01 BrainPan I'm . . . not . . . sure. I'll get back to ya. 4 stars
7/13/01 Hypotheses A Flawed Ambitious Piece, But Great All the Same 4 stars
7/12/01 Nise alltogether a stunning movie, full of insight and wonder 5 stars
7/11/01 Thomas wow! 5 stars
7/10/01 Bud Not for children this film probes all of mans questions about God, humanity, science and lo 4 stars
7/10/01 Anne I've been thinking about it ever since I left the theatre...that has to mean something. 4 stars
7/10/01 sdfk 15 mins too long; narration irritating; heart wrenching otherwise 4 stars
7/10/01 John Roberson Seriously flawed but still better than usual Spielberg 4 stars
7/09/01 Paul Meade If only Kubrick had lived just a while longer, and made this his final film,. 4 stars
7/09/01 Perry Ferrel pretty good,should have ended at the blue fairy =/ 4 stars
7/09/01 Vincent Uhg. Were they writing the script as they went along? 2 stars
7/08/01 Daniel Plainly awesome 5 stars
7/07/01 Doug Jablin Don't pay for it in the theater, wait for it on HBO or better yet, the late late show. 2 stars
7/07/01 bluebeena Laughably bad, cheesy, and slow. The best part was when it was over. 1 stars
7/07/01 Indelusia Spielburg should be taken out back and beaten for wasting my time with this cheese. 1 stars
7/06/01 INCUBATOR You think you know what`s real. Reality doesn`t think so. 5 stars
7/06/01 Darren Shea Those who complain the ending is too sappy are viewing it too literally 5 stars
7/06/01 Fenris Apparently test audiences didn't like the ending, so they tacked on some cheese n' sap 3 stars
7/06/01 Ryan Phillippe gets hit by a car and it rules! Like having sex with a really broke chick satisfying (sort of), but it takes too damn long. 2 stars
7/06/01 Erik North A brilliant movie. If you leave your brains at home, of course, it won't work for you! 5 stars
7/05/01 wintermute Like being raped by Spielberg for 2.5 hours 1 stars
7/05/01 Mongolian Beef I saw this movie bone sober and I hated it. Saw it again drunk and i liked it. 5 stars
7/05/01 gromm It had the potential to be a great movie, but Spielburg used his saccharine touch on it. 3 stars
7/04/01 E Thought provoking and emotionally powerful. Great visual FX. 5 stars
7/04/01 sexx ed Absolutely unforgettable, very Kubrickian. Don't listen to the cynics, the ending was bold 5 stars
7/04/01 dr bernie the words fucking awesome aren't very fitting but it's a great movie. 5 stars
7/04/01 jim dyer required comments is stupid really really 4 stars
7/04/01 Triumph, the Insult Comic The ending kicked ass! you people need to get a clue 5 stars
7/04/01 Rich Cirivilleri It's comforting to know that the L.L. Bean catalog will survive into the future. 4 stars
7/03/01 Ricky Tried too hard with the story, but visuals were top notch. 3 stars
7/03/01 jhodgins I through I have seen everything, but this movie was the worst ever. 1 stars
7/03/01 Elladan An ending that will leave you saying, "What the fuck was Spielberg snorting?!" 3 stars
7/03/01 DisappointmentThy NameIs It should have ended submerged. See it to say you have and decide on your own 3 stars
7/03/01 The Stuff Some great moments but overall average. Effects and acting all great. 3 stars
7/03/01 Chris I could have produced a better ending... 4 stars
7/03/01 Larry McMullen facinating but unfullfilling. 4 stars
7/03/01 Tara ruined my weekend 1 stars
7/03/01 Hotaine The ending was actually Kubrick's idea from the beginning! 5 stars
7/03/01 Stephanie Well acted, make you think movie. Message important. 4 stars
7/03/01 DrLauraIsABitch (doo dah, doo dah) Pinochio meets Clockwork Orange. Worth every penny of admission. 5 stars
7/03/01 Stephanie great performances by the cast 5 stars
7/03/01 ajay when you think it should be over, just leave. 2 stars
7/03/01 puckfreak Lame, had potetial, but the end sucked. 2 stars
7/03/01 Greyjack Great acting, interesting film, almost universally questionable ending keeps it from 5stars 4 stars
7/02/01 Quarath Great movie. Definently recommend it. 4 stars
7/02/01 parkallan Interesting idea, but rather dark depressing, made me want to watch something really funny. 3 stars
7/02/01 Thor-Leo Muddled, incoherent. Spielberg should be exiled. 1 stars
7/02/01 Suzl4 Hmmm, I'm not sure what to say...maybe, ODD!! 3 stars
7/02/01 beast dissapointing 1 stars
7/02/01 Krystal Enjoyed it, very thought-provoking 4 stars
7/02/01 Human Shield Leave at the 2 hour mark and it will be fine. Takes the Misson 2 Mars way out. 3 stars
7/02/01 Dave Sweeney Flawed movie that raises some interesting issues 4 stars
7/01/01 mahone Good. Better than the usual Spielberg crap. 4 stars
7/01/01 Michael Browne Spielberg, won't you please make movies more often? And Haley: brav-fucking-o! Incredible 5 stars
7/01/01 John The best film of the past 5 years, easily... A misunderstood masterpiece! 5 stars
7/01/01 Vance Special, Wonderous & Tear-Jerking. This is destined to be a classic! 5 stars
7/01/01 Matt WORST MOVIE EVER.....just go see it to see what a bad movie really is 1 stars
7/01/01 Roy Smith 3 stories: 1st one - blah, 2nd one - good, 3rd - totally stupid. Ruins the movie 2 stars
7/01/01 tigerlette young bot stalker! 1 stars
7/01/01 MaryAnn I wanted Spielberg and got Kubrick...bad Kubrick. Bad mix of ET, Mad Max & Clockwork Orange 1 stars
7/01/01 Gay Tooth Fairy This was an okay movie. Some of the visuals and effects were fucking crazy. Acting!!! !!! 3 stars
7/01/01 Carly sporadically good, but the schmaltzy ending nearly ruins the rest. law is great. 3 stars
7/01/01 Geebo Is there a 13-year-old who can act better? What's that? There isn't? I thought so. 5 stars
6/30/01 Fuck Hollywood I LOVE YOU A.I. has some good shit in it. But not a great movie. 4 stars
6/30/01 toulouse-laurtrec wonderful, one of the true masterpieces of the last ten years 5 stars
6/30/01 ERIC SHADRACK Un-fucking-believably great 5 stars
6/29/01 jurisenpai One of the most amazing films ever made 5 stars
6/29/01 Mr. Shmegma Not Kubrick, but still brilliant 5 stars
6/14/01 Korey Calmettes Groovy Baby 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Jun-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Sep-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast