More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.7

Awesome: 8.2%
Worth A Look: 14.75%
Average32.79%
Pretty Bad: 27.87%
Total Crap: 16.39%

4 reviews, 37 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Angel Eyes (2001)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Slow and somber and unexciting."
3 stars

What does the title have to do with the film "Angel Eyes"? Why, nothing! While I admit most of the characters have eyes, not one of them is an angel.

Already I have spoiled something the film's distributors wanted you to believe. The marketing campaign compares the movie to "The Sixth Sense," which is true in the sense that both are flickering lights projected onto a screen, and NOT in the sense of having a twist ending or a main character who is not as alive as you'd think. The title "Angel Eyes" is no doubt intended to make you suspect the mysterious leading man is from the great beyond, when really he's just a weird guy.

So what IS the movie about? It's about a Chicago cop named Sharon (Jennifer Lopez) who, in a prologue, tries to keep a man from dying after a terrible car accident. Now, a year later, she is saved from a gunman by a stranger named Catch (James Caviezel), a lugubrious fellow who stumbles around town moodily, doing good deeds and not shaving. They begin a tentative relationship based on their common moodiness, and since we have seen movies before, we understand he is the man she was saving in that prologue. So who is he, and is he so secretive?

After a very long, this slow-moving film gets around to forming a tenuous parallel. Just as Catch must become reconciled with himself, Sharon must kiss and make up with her abusive father and estranged family. Unfortunately, these parallel themes don't work well together, one being too literal and the other too introspective. One senses there should be some deep meaning in the film, but it's not here.

Jennifer Lopez is sweet and likable, though less than usual because of the dreariness of her surroundings. James Caviezel, so good in last year's "Frequency," manages a hint of warmth under his character's perpetual dark cloud.

But a movie with two main characters who are so dour all the time is bound to make the audience feel the same way.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4744&reviewer=247
originally posted: 06/09/01 06:57:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell IT SUCKS 1 stars
1/28/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
10/03/06 Lisa Craven Entertaining and just okay 3 stars
8/03/06 Nicole Story line was not totally played out, was off a bit 2 stars
4/10/05 Cheryl Mayfield Jeez, will Jennifer Lopez ever be good again like in THE WEDDING SINGER? 2 stars
7/21/04 carmen greene i adore this movie and jim performance 5 stars
3/27/04 Nicole omg you guys are so rude! Ok ediots lets see you act..stupid ediots..i love this movie 5 stars
11/04/03 Roland If you haven't experienced deep emotional pain you probably didn't feel this movie. 4 stars
10/25/03 R.W. Welch Thinly disguised soaper seems slightly off key most of the time. Acting only passable. 2 stars
6/04/03 Charles Tatum What is this? 3 stars
4/10/03 Jay Lowe I really get some crap since Jennifer Lopez chose a name that sounds just like mine. 2 stars
3/12/03 Anna I never seen the movie, but since it has J-HOE in it, it;s GOTTA suck! 1 stars
2/08/03 Jack Sommersby I kinda liked this, too, Charles -- even with the overemployed Lopez in it! 3 stars
11/14/02 MGT Is is j-lows 15 minutes up yet???? Pure fecal matter 1 stars
10/15/02 Cheryl Mayfield Jeez, will Jennifer Lopez ever be good again like in THE WEDDING SINGER? 2 stars
4/03/02 Aimee Dallaire I loved it!! 5 stars
2/04/02 KMG Lopez can't act...plain and simple. And Caviezel...why does he take this shit? 3 stars
12/24/01 Renoluck sentimental and interesting 4 stars
11/29/01 Amy Genuine performance by Lopez. Too honest for the movie going public. 4 stars
11/26/01 Tam Having trouble getting to sleep? Watch this. 2 stars
10/11/01 daniboy I really don't get why they let this woman act. caviezel's second awful movie in a row. 2 stars
9/29/01 R.S.S "Total Crap" doesn't even describe it. Go about 5 levels lower. 1 stars
6/22/01 WOW! suckie suckie, worthless than five dolla! 1 stars
6/15/01 Super Nintendo Chalmers I was dragged to the theater to see this lame, pitiful hogwash. What a waste. 2 stars
6/10/01 J White Terrible move for Lopez, Lopez needs a role and a co-star that synergizes her assets. 1 stars
6/05/01 Psyko Doug You think there is going to be some cool plot twist...but there isn't. Predictable. 3 stars
6/02/01 Jim "J-Lo" WAKE UP PEOPLE SHE CAN'T SING OR ACT!!!fuckin' geesh 1 stars
5/30/01 gloria boring slow moving, waste of time and money. 2 stars
5/30/01 Thrillhouse 5 words for this movie: THIS MOVIE SUCKED MAJOR ASS! BTW, J-Lo gets it! 1 stars
5/28/01 taera lea a plotless romance with overly dramatic undertones 1 stars
5/26/01 Jim JoLo continuing her Selena role. The definition f sucks all ass 1 stars
5/24/01 JB Deep shit, great actors, some cheese, yet very touching. 5 stars
5/24/01 Rampage this was worse than The Cell and Wedding Planner 2 stars
5/23/01 Beebee Sorry, I liked it in spite of the loose ends and weaknesses 3 stars
5/20/01 astrotart Pretty lame movie....but Jim Caviezel kept me awake yearning for more scenes involving him! 3 stars
5/20/01 Gary This movie rocked, JOLO is hottttt 5 stars
5/20/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Memo to J-Lo: You can't dominate the top 10 AND the box office. That's just how it is. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-May-2001 (R)
  DVD: 16-Aug-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Sep-2001




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast