More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.74

Awesome: 20%
Worth A Look: 15.63%
Average: 17.5%
Pretty Bad: 11.88%
Total Crap35%

6 reviews, 124 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Raja Natwarlal by Jay Seaver

Search for Weng Weng, The by Jay Seaver

Creep (2014) by Jay Seaver

Kundo: Age of the Rampant by Jay Seaver

Guardian (2014) by Jay Seaver

As Above, So Below by Jay Seaver

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Jason X
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"More entertaining than much of what passes for 'horror flicks' these days."
3 stars

How much you enjoy the more "disposable" forms of entertainment (horror comic books, video games, "Jason" movies) generally depends on how high your expectations are. These pieces of "brain candy" are usually considered somewhat 'lowbrow' affairs, so the key here is not to base your opinions on anything higher than a visceral level. Is Jason X a cleverly-plotted, masterfully-directed and emotionally challenging film? Absolutely not. Does it deliver the gory goods for the loyal fans with a minimum of inadvertant stupidity? Surprisingly, yes. (That's the key in a movie like this: if the 'stupidity' is intentional, much can be forgiven.)

"Jason in space". OK, it's a stupid idea. As someone who's spent a lot of his childhood with uber-slasher Jason Voorhes, I was a bit skeptical about the idea of my favorite stalker being transplanted into an outer-space setting. But with the leaps in logic, sense, and simple good taste we've come to expect from this unending horror series, I suppose the deep-space setting* is not that big a leap. We are, after all, talking about a villain who's been killed a dozen times, hitched a boat-ride to New York City, and even got turned into some slimy alien creature. So if you're going to argue the "logic" of Jason in space, you may be better off skipping Jason X entirely.

The plot reads like a C-grade Alien retread, and that's mainly because it is a C-grade Alien retread. After some slick opening credits, we have a bloody prologue in which a platoon of soldiers is messily dispatched by our favorite boogeyman. After a brief chase, Jason and one of his potential victims are trapped in a bio-chamber and placed in suspended animation.

We flash forward to the distant future, where a massive surveying ship is visiting the decrepit old Earth. A few explorers discover the cryogenically frozen 'corpse' and his quarry. The two newcomers promptly thaw out about the massive spaceship, and the chase is on. Jason has a grand old time slashing his way through youthful scientists, gung-ho soldiers, and officious supervisors. There are a few minor surprises for the fans along the way, the gore is delivered in enjoyably sloppy fashion, and there's an extended Battle Royale between Jason and an alluring female cyborg.

I never said it was Hamlet.

Simply put, Jason X should please fans of low-rent colorful horror movies. Perahps only someone familiar with the non-stop avalanche of obscure straight-to-video "horror flicks" may be able to appreciate the charms of Jason X, but I had a pretty good time with this one. The Friday the 13th formula is adhered to closely enough, while the infusion of various sci-fi elements succeed in most cases. (I got a kick out of Jason being accidentally responsible for destroying a massive space station, thereby upping his lifetime "body count" by an astronomical degree.) It would be a lengthy (and unnecessary) project to list all the movies that Jason X borrows from, yet it still manages to be a bloody good time with a handful of good jolts and a healthy sense of humor. (The humor is self-referential without going overboard, aside from a great sequence near the end involving two cyber-campers borne of Jason's subconscious. Trust me, it's funny.)

To my fellow Friday the 13th fans: This one ranks right in the middle; not as good as The Final Chapter or Jason Lives - but much more fan-friendly than true dreck like A New Beginning or Jason Takes Manhattan.

* The 'horror sequel in outer space' is of course nothing new, as both Leprechaun and Hellraiser have had their own interstellar entries. To that, I'll simply offer Jason X some faint praise indeed: it's a better film than both Hellraiser: Bloodline AND Leprechaun: In Space...for whatever that's worth.

Lest you think it insane that someone could actually recommend a "Jason X", keep two things in mind: 1. Most people reading a Jason X review are horror fans (like myself) who are not expecting great cinema from a silly slasher sequel, and 2. Jason X is infintely more fun to sit through than horror flicks like The Haunting, 13 Ghosts, Urban Legend or those worthless 'Last Summer' movies.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4747&reviewer=128
originally posted: 04/23/02 17:21:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/28/12 Ricky Where is the fucking blood? 1 stars
1/22/10 art BY RIGHTS THEY SHOULD HAVE STOPPED AT PART TWO! 1 stars
11/30/09 art the first FRIDAY and THE SECOND WERE THE BEST,THE REST HOWEVER SUCKED! 1 stars
11/26/08 PAUL SHORTT NEVER MANAGES TO GENERATE A SINGLE THREAT OF SUSPENSE 1 stars
11/05/08 stevieg actually quite fun 4 stars
8/15/08 Shaun Wallner This movie has some great scenes in it. 5 stars
8/05/08 Bnorm It was funny at first then it just got retarded. Skip it 1 stars
8/03/08 Shaun Wallner Great Horror film!! Kept me on the edge of my seat 5 stars
6/12/08 Eric "Whats going on?" "Jason FUCKING VORHEES is what's going on!" 4 stars
4/16/08 art PUT AN X ON THIS MOVIE 1 stars
9/15/07 dude bad beyond belief 1 stars
4/29/07 Austin Wertman Lame.Stupid.Pointless 1 stars
3/21/07 man bad movie 1 stars
2/09/07 MP Bartley Slick. Not scary. Kinda pointless 3 stars
1/28/07 mets1986 Best Friday in awhile..... 5 stars
11/24/06 David Pollastrini good gore. 5 stars
11/02/06 JM Synth Why are people complaining? It's a FT13 movie did they expect it to be smart? 3 stars
9/29/06 Jayson S The Android Terminatrix was awesome!! 4 stars
8/09/06 Doreen I definitely think the Producers were on drugs when making this film. NOT GOOD! 2 stars
7/24/06 Quazar best movie ever made 5 stars
1/17/06 Anthony Feor Jason in space, whats next another sequel 1 stars
11/24/05 cr visual effects good and few cool scenes other than that it stunk 1 stars
10/26/05 tony No Fucking Good! 1 stars
10/14/05 Darren O The Crystal Lake sequence is merely a reminder of how the series has declined. 1 stars
8/31/05 ES Hilarious, no where near scary but pretty cool 4 stars
8/30/05 Tom Burns An entertaining and very funny entry into the "Friday the 13th" series. Loved it! 5 stars
8/23/05 Sugarfoot Who knew the producers saw Leprecaun 4...Hilariously inept 1 stars
7/14/05 Brandy Harrington Awful. 1 stars
5/27/05 tony did they want people to hate these movies or are the producers on drugs??? 1 stars
5/15/05 Indrid Cold Given the ludicrous premise, it's a major acheivement that it doesn't completely suck. 3 stars
3/30/05 Mr. Majestyk Fuck you. I like it. 5 stars
2/24/05 ELI they only impale people. Need more interesting deaths... Oh yeah! the rest is shit. 1 stars
12/04/04 K. Sear It's really time to let it go. 1 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! Truly terrible. 1 stars
7/23/04 American Slasher Goddess The highlight was the robot fighting Jason, other then that, it's total and complete crap. 1 stars
7/21/04 magaafi the sleeping bag scene was its saviour...but it just couldn't b saved 1 stars
7/06/04 Littlepurch Wow this was really funny! That sleeping bag stuff had me in hysterics.Too many deaths tho! 4 stars
7/03/04 Peter Smit this one just plain sucks... it really does 1 stars
6/19/04 J Wow this is CRAP! 1 stars
6/08/04 paul bee awesome 5 stars
6/04/04 Stab Wounds Holy hell, what were the filmmakers thinking??? 1 stars
5/10/04 Croweater yes the sleeping bag scene is very funny...the films highlight. 2 stars
3/30/04 American Slasher Goddess Total and utter crap. 1 stars
3/29/04 true review - correct review everytime terrible movie, worst of the series, worst than jason goes to hell if thats possible 1 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern The worst one out of the entire FRIDAY THE 13TH series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr The rating says it all. 1 stars
2/06/04 c.r It had pretty cool death scenes, not enough fear! 2 stars
2/01/04 mushroom Fuck you Jason Rules! 4 stars
1/24/04 Vinnie The sleeping bag death scene was Hilarious!!! 2 stars
1/06/04 George CRAP CRAP CRAP CRAP CRAP 1 stars
12/31/03 Versin.1 wow 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel I can tolerate to watch it, but its not scary or suspensful..sort of stupid! 3 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess The worst of the series. Ultra-lame. 1 stars
10/20/03 Josh Standlee I first saw this movie at 2:00 in the morning, and it kept me wide awake and entertained! 5 stars
10/16/03 Erik Van Sant A refreshing improvement over the last one. Miss the camp atmosphere, but it was funny. 4 stars
10/08/03 Double G Ya I can rate twice! 1 stars
9/03/03 Charles Tatum Really original, if you've never seen "Aliens" 2 stars
9/02/03 Gray would have taken effort for it to have been any worse 1 stars
8/30/03 Double G not scary, totally funny but I hated it!!!!! 1 stars
8/29/03 DARREN THE SERIES HAS GONE FROM GREAT HEIGHTS TO THIS LOW POINT OF DRIVEL. 2 stars
8/27/03 cosme terrazas i thought that this movie really sucks cock. 1 stars
8/23/03 Bob Dope it suck dog biscits the first jason movie were over 100 times better the this piece of carp 1 stars
8/21/03 chris martinez it was a good movie better than the other ones 4 stars
8/19/03 Jeremy Schultz It was TIGHT 5 stars
8/19/03 Patherat This film was one of the worst I have ever had the misfortune to pay money to watch 1 stars
8/19/03 demon882 tha movie was f**king gay it sucked 1 stars
8/18/03 stephanie scary as hell 5 stars
8/18/03 demon882 I think tha movie sucked it was f***ing gay 1 stars
8/17/03 Ross Mcalpin It was cool 5 stars
8/14/03 victor the movie is the best ever 5 stars
8/12/03 Troy Humphrey kick ass 5 stars
8/11/03 humail4u this is the best and horror movie of my life 5 stars
8/10/03 kayla i love jason he is cute and da bomb and i love horror movies with jason in it 5 stars
8/09/03 paulcorrell it was good and scary 4 stars
8/06/03 REIN I KINDA SUCKED COMPARED 2 THE OTHER MOVIES 2 stars
8/06/03 skydiver20032004 it was good...and the ones who thinks jason is ded...no jason never fu***** dies 5 stars
8/06/03 Erica The movie was somewhat good and dumb. 4 stars
7/29/03 Brian Moudry Best movie ever!!! 5 stars
7/29/03 Brian Moudry The movie kept me on the edge of my seat!!! 5 stars
7/24/03 M R D It was good but the ending sucked hope freedyvsjason is better 5 stars
7/22/03 Double G He finally died, he finally died, HE FINALLY DIED!!! Party at Crystal Lake!!! 1 stars
6/14/03 Jerry ***** 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice Jason X sucked big time 1 stars
6/04/03 Mike This and Jason Goes to Hell are the only good friday movies. 5 stars
5/22/03 Andrew Carden OK Effects, Hodder Is Great...but Overblown and Stupid Overall. 2 stars
5/19/03 Billy In space, no can here you scream 5 stars
5/12/03 Jareth It rips off a scene from what used to be the shittest film in the series. Fuck! That's bad! 1 stars
5/04/03 leon %%0qwe PLEASE MAKE IT STOP! I HOP FREEDY KRUGER ANNIALATES HIM IN JASON V FREEDY 1 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Who in the hell ever called it a "film?" Pretty amusing film. ** 3 stars
4/06/03 Dave The most pathetic of all slasher franchises reaches new lows. 1 stars
3/11/03 Tommy Linds Jason X is a piss poor effort. And to call it a film?? 1 stars
1/02/03 Chowie pppfffttt 2 stars
11/25/02 Jake Let's go in this dark room alone brain dead fools deserve to die 1 stars
11/01/02 klowns This movie ruins the friday the 13th movies. : ( lets pretend Jason X was never evented. 1 stars
10/18/02 Nevz Heeey wanna beeer? 3 stars
10/02/02 Jiz "Where is he?" Check the cameras. "Where'd he go?" Turn on the lights. Fucking retards. 1 stars
8/23/02 Nick If you are stupid, watch this movie. 2 stars
8/16/02 Shaun they must have had too much fun making it 3 stars
8/09/02 Tyner this fucking series has reached an all-time low 1 stars
7/14/02 HA AH this was so stupid, i mean jason in space? 1 stars
6/24/02 Joe This movie was great! I dont care what anyone else says!!! 5 stars
6/18/02 Brandon What a come back!! Jason Lives!! 5 stars
6/13/02 The Vegetarian Cannibal Futuristic vision of male-female relationships is as scary as Jason. What a snotfest! 1 stars
5/11/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) I'm a fan of horror/slasher flicks, but I was infinitely disappointed they put him in space 2 stars
5/10/02 Film Guy I was cursing myself for even paying money for this shit. I would rather watch Halloween 6 1 stars
4/30/02 Banky Edwards Heh, the sleeping bag murder scene was worth my 8 bucks!! Plus I called half of the lines!! 4 stars
4/30/02 Janx Who said this was good? It sucks! More of the same shit, but what I expected 2 stars
4/29/02 Foggy B Not Campy Enough, Not Scary Enough 2 stars
4/29/02 Nick2k stupid/funny ass movie. but i'm buying the dvd when its out just for the 'sleeping bags'... 3 stars
4/29/02 Rampage Don't waste your money on this crap-fest. Jason in space? WTH?!? 1 stars
4/29/02 strider3700 It's a slasher flick people. Go to mock it not be scared and you'll love it 3 stars
4/28/02 Chris This film was absolute crap. They need to hire some writers with talent! 1 stars
4/28/02 Spyguy2 In the mood for a big dumb horror movie that's funny, cheesy, and over-the-top? This is it 4 stars
4/28/02 TimmyTomorrow Fun was had by all!!! 5 stars
4/27/02 esfse Fuck this crap! This shit sucks! 1 stars
4/27/02 Farty Being sodomized by a truck driver would be better than this film 1 stars
4/26/02 James Kick ass! Big improvement over Jason Goes To Hell. 5 stars
4/26/02 Julian Awesome! 5 stars
4/24/02 Roy Smith Remarkably well written/acted - did I say that? Who expected it to be this good?!? 5 stars
4/24/02 masin wolliams hot diggity damn! Jason is back! who needs a plot?!?! 5 stars
4/24/02 Wade Awesome movie!! Great kills and just plain fun. 5 stars
4/23/02 wintermute Holy Shit this movie was bad - I can easily see why it has been on the shelf for 2 years! 1 stars
4/22/02 NeuroManson Found it online a week early, some funny stuff, but don't expect MacBeth either... 3 stars
4/02/02 lauren mccreight the best of the bunch!! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Apr-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Aug-2002


Directed by
  James Isaac

Written by
  Todd Farmer

Cast
  Kane Hodder
  Lexa Doig
  Lisa Ryder
  Jonathon Potts
  Melyssa Ade
  David Cronenberg



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast