More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.73

Awesome: 19.88%
Worth A Look: 15.53%
Average: 17.39%
Pretty Bad: 11.8%
Total Crap35.4%

6 reviews, 125 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Citizenfour by Greg Ursic

Women Who Flirt by Jay Seaver

Snowpiercer by Rob Gonsalves

Rosewater by Jay Seaver

World of Kanako, The by Jay Seaver

Tommy (2014) by Jay Seaver

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Jason X
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"Jason 'X' just misses the mark - but at least there's a few laughs."
2 stars

Although I never saw any of the films between III and IX in the bloated "Friday the 13th" series, "Jason X" doesn't exactly have me running to the video store to play catchup. It's basically the same dumb teen horror shit that we saw in the first movie, only the violence is more pointless, the nudity more sparse, and the suspense is nil. Only a few good killshots, a few funny one-liners, and one hilarious scene that pokes fun at the entire franchise make it watchable.

The whole thing plays out like an Aliens/Terminator/Hannibal hybrid rip-off. It begins in the near-future with Jason strapped in at a research facility ala Anthony Hopkins on the dolly in "Silence of the Lambs". Apparently he has some mysterious ability to regenerate tissue, making him unkillable, so they have decided to cryogenically imprison him instead. Naturally he escapes, killing everyone except one young woman who lures him into a stasis chamber, freezing both him and herself in the process.

450 years later, a group of students on a field trip from outer space find the two and take them back to their ship to thaw them out. The young woman awakes to warn them how dangerous Jason is, but before she can convince them to chuck him out of the nearest airlock, Jason wakes up and the pointless and mostly dull carnage begins. That's really all you need to know, plot wise.

Like it's predecessors, Jason X is mostly laughable. What these kids are students of is never exactly clear. We are led to believe that they are capable of running both a spaceship and a high-tech medical lab, despite the fact that they look like they shouldn't be allowed to operate anything more complicated than a bong. Besides an annoyingly stupid stoner kid, a token black kid, and a Doogie-Howseresque whiz kid, the cast is mostly generic young hotties running around in belly shirts and showing off lots of cleavage (always appropriate for working in a lab environment). Oh, and there's a few adults thrown into the mix as well, although they prove to be even less intelligent and more perishable than the teens. The only halfway memorable performance comes from cute redhead Lisa Ryder as the ass-kicking android "KM", who could have just as appropriately been named "K-Y" since she serves as the whiz kid's sex toy when not beating up on the guy in the hockey mask. But even her acting is so bad that her performance is mostly memorable for it's high cheese factor.

"Jason X" wears out its welcome fast, and unlike its early predecessors, it makes no attempt to be at all scary. Nobody even jumps out for a cheap "Boo". Jason just walks around openly slaughtering anyone stupid enough to cross his path (which is pretty much everyone). A few of the kills are creative and amusing, and there is one Hilarious scene toward the end, featuring Jason and a couple of giggling bimbos in sleeping bags, that almost makes sitting through the rest of the film worthwhile.

I suppose that there will be a Jason XI, simply because there will always be a market for dumb teen horror schlock. But in case you were wondering if "Jason X" brings anything new or interesting to the franchise, consider me the traffic cop at the scene of the accident who says "Move along, folks. There's nothing here to see."

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4747&reviewer=258
originally posted: 04/29/02 06:34:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/02/14 Doug Alien if it were written by a moron 1 stars
11/28/12 Ricky Where is the fucking blood? 1 stars
1/22/10 art BY RIGHTS THEY SHOULD HAVE STOPPED AT PART TWO! 1 stars
11/30/09 art the first FRIDAY and THE SECOND WERE THE BEST,THE REST HOWEVER SUCKED! 1 stars
11/26/08 PAUL SHORTT NEVER MANAGES TO GENERATE A SINGLE THREAT OF SUSPENSE 1 stars
11/05/08 stevieg actually quite fun 4 stars
8/15/08 Shaun Wallner This movie has some great scenes in it. 5 stars
8/05/08 Bnorm It was funny at first then it just got retarded. Skip it 1 stars
8/03/08 Shaun Wallner Great Horror film!! Kept me on the edge of my seat 5 stars
6/12/08 Eric "Whats going on?" "Jason FUCKING VORHEES is what's going on!" 4 stars
4/16/08 art PUT AN X ON THIS MOVIE 1 stars
9/15/07 dude bad beyond belief 1 stars
4/29/07 Austin Wertman Lame.Stupid.Pointless 1 stars
3/21/07 man bad movie 1 stars
2/09/07 MP Bartley Slick. Not scary. Kinda pointless 3 stars
1/28/07 mets1986 Best Friday in awhile..... 5 stars
11/24/06 David Pollastrini good gore. 5 stars
11/02/06 JM Synth Why are people complaining? It's a FT13 movie did they expect it to be smart? 3 stars
9/29/06 Jayson S The Android Terminatrix was awesome!! 4 stars
8/09/06 Doreen I definitely think the Producers were on drugs when making this film. NOT GOOD! 2 stars
7/24/06 Quazar best movie ever made 5 stars
1/17/06 Anthony Feor Jason in space, whats next another sequel 1 stars
11/24/05 cr visual effects good and few cool scenes other than that it stunk 1 stars
10/26/05 tony No Fucking Good! 1 stars
10/14/05 Darren O The Crystal Lake sequence is merely a reminder of how the series has declined. 1 stars
8/31/05 ES Hilarious, no where near scary but pretty cool 4 stars
8/30/05 Tom Burns An entertaining and very funny entry into the "Friday the 13th" series. Loved it! 5 stars
8/23/05 Sugarfoot Who knew the producers saw Leprecaun 4...Hilariously inept 1 stars
7/14/05 Brandy Harrington Awful. 1 stars
5/27/05 tony did they want people to hate these movies or are the producers on drugs??? 1 stars
5/15/05 Indrid Cold Given the ludicrous premise, it's a major acheivement that it doesn't completely suck. 3 stars
3/30/05 Mr. Majestyk Fuck you. I like it. 5 stars
2/24/05 ELI they only impale people. Need more interesting deaths... Oh yeah! the rest is shit. 1 stars
12/04/04 K. Sear It's really time to let it go. 1 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! Truly terrible. 1 stars
7/23/04 American Slasher Goddess The highlight was the robot fighting Jason, other then that, it's total and complete crap. 1 stars
7/21/04 magaafi the sleeping bag scene was its saviour...but it just couldn't b saved 1 stars
7/06/04 Littlepurch Wow this was really funny! That sleeping bag stuff had me in hysterics.Too many deaths tho! 4 stars
7/03/04 Peter Smit this one just plain sucks... it really does 1 stars
6/19/04 J Wow this is CRAP! 1 stars
6/08/04 paul bee awesome 5 stars
6/04/04 Stab Wounds Holy hell, what were the filmmakers thinking??? 1 stars
5/10/04 Croweater yes the sleeping bag scene is very funny...the films highlight. 2 stars
3/30/04 American Slasher Goddess Total and utter crap. 1 stars
3/29/04 true review - correct review everytime terrible movie, worst of the series, worst than jason goes to hell if thats possible 1 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern The worst one out of the entire FRIDAY THE 13TH series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr The rating says it all. 1 stars
2/06/04 c.r It had pretty cool death scenes, not enough fear! 2 stars
2/01/04 mushroom Fuck you Jason Rules! 4 stars
1/24/04 Vinnie The sleeping bag death scene was Hilarious!!! 2 stars
1/06/04 George CRAP CRAP CRAP CRAP CRAP 1 stars
12/31/03 Versin.1 wow 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel I can tolerate to watch it, but its not scary or suspensful..sort of stupid! 3 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess The worst of the series. Ultra-lame. 1 stars
10/20/03 Josh Standlee I first saw this movie at 2:00 in the morning, and it kept me wide awake and entertained! 5 stars
10/16/03 Erik Van Sant A refreshing improvement over the last one. Miss the camp atmosphere, but it was funny. 4 stars
10/08/03 Double G Ya I can rate twice! 1 stars
9/03/03 Charles Tatum Really original, if you've never seen "Aliens" 2 stars
9/02/03 Gray would have taken effort for it to have been any worse 1 stars
8/30/03 Double G not scary, totally funny but I hated it!!!!! 1 stars
8/29/03 DARREN THE SERIES HAS GONE FROM GREAT HEIGHTS TO THIS LOW POINT OF DRIVEL. 2 stars
8/27/03 cosme terrazas i thought that this movie really sucks cock. 1 stars
8/23/03 Bob Dope it suck dog biscits the first jason movie were over 100 times better the this piece of carp 1 stars
8/21/03 chris martinez it was a good movie better than the other ones 4 stars
8/19/03 Jeremy Schultz It was TIGHT 5 stars
8/19/03 Patherat This film was one of the worst I have ever had the misfortune to pay money to watch 1 stars
8/19/03 demon882 tha movie was f**king gay it sucked 1 stars
8/18/03 stephanie scary as hell 5 stars
8/18/03 demon882 I think tha movie sucked it was f***ing gay 1 stars
8/17/03 Ross Mcalpin It was cool 5 stars
8/14/03 victor the movie is the best ever 5 stars
8/12/03 Troy Humphrey kick ass 5 stars
8/11/03 humail4u this is the best and horror movie of my life 5 stars
8/10/03 kayla i love jason he is cute and da bomb and i love horror movies with jason in it 5 stars
8/09/03 paulcorrell it was good and scary 4 stars
8/06/03 REIN I KINDA SUCKED COMPARED 2 THE OTHER MOVIES 2 stars
8/06/03 skydiver20032004 it was good...and the ones who thinks jason is ded...no jason never fu***** dies 5 stars
8/06/03 Erica The movie was somewhat good and dumb. 4 stars
7/29/03 Brian Moudry Best movie ever!!! 5 stars
7/29/03 Brian Moudry The movie kept me on the edge of my seat!!! 5 stars
7/24/03 M R D It was good but the ending sucked hope freedyvsjason is better 5 stars
7/22/03 Double G He finally died, he finally died, HE FINALLY DIED!!! Party at Crystal Lake!!! 1 stars
6/14/03 Jerry ***** 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice Jason X sucked big time 1 stars
6/04/03 Mike This and Jason Goes to Hell are the only good friday movies. 5 stars
5/22/03 Andrew Carden OK Effects, Hodder Is Great...but Overblown and Stupid Overall. 2 stars
5/19/03 Billy In space, no can here you scream 5 stars
5/12/03 Jareth It rips off a scene from what used to be the shittest film in the series. Fuck! That's bad! 1 stars
5/04/03 leon %%0qwe PLEASE MAKE IT STOP! I HOP FREEDY KRUGER ANNIALATES HIM IN JASON V FREEDY 1 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Who in the hell ever called it a "film?" Pretty amusing film. ** 3 stars
4/06/03 Dave The most pathetic of all slasher franchises reaches new lows. 1 stars
3/11/03 Tommy Linds Jason X is a piss poor effort. And to call it a film?? 1 stars
1/02/03 Chowie pppfffttt 2 stars
11/25/02 Jake Let's go in this dark room alone brain dead fools deserve to die 1 stars
11/01/02 klowns This movie ruins the friday the 13th movies. : ( lets pretend Jason X was never evented. 1 stars
10/18/02 Nevz Heeey wanna beeer? 3 stars
10/02/02 Jiz "Where is he?" Check the cameras. "Where'd he go?" Turn on the lights. Fucking retards. 1 stars
8/23/02 Nick If you are stupid, watch this movie. 2 stars
8/16/02 Shaun they must have had too much fun making it 3 stars
8/09/02 Tyner this fucking series has reached an all-time low 1 stars
7/14/02 HA AH this was so stupid, i mean jason in space? 1 stars
6/24/02 Joe This movie was great! I dont care what anyone else says!!! 5 stars
6/18/02 Brandon What a come back!! Jason Lives!! 5 stars
6/13/02 The Vegetarian Cannibal Futuristic vision of male-female relationships is as scary as Jason. What a snotfest! 1 stars
5/11/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) I'm a fan of horror/slasher flicks, but I was infinitely disappointed they put him in space 2 stars
5/10/02 Film Guy I was cursing myself for even paying money for this shit. I would rather watch Halloween 6 1 stars
4/30/02 Banky Edwards Heh, the sleeping bag murder scene was worth my 8 bucks!! Plus I called half of the lines!! 4 stars
4/30/02 Janx Who said this was good? It sucks! More of the same shit, but what I expected 2 stars
4/29/02 Foggy B Not Campy Enough, Not Scary Enough 2 stars
4/29/02 Nick2k stupid/funny ass movie. but i'm buying the dvd when its out just for the 'sleeping bags'... 3 stars
4/29/02 Rampage Don't waste your money on this crap-fest. Jason in space? WTH?!? 1 stars
4/29/02 strider3700 It's a slasher flick people. Go to mock it not be scared and you'll love it 3 stars
4/28/02 Chris This film was absolute crap. They need to hire some writers with talent! 1 stars
4/28/02 Spyguy2 In the mood for a big dumb horror movie that's funny, cheesy, and over-the-top? This is it 4 stars
4/28/02 TimmyTomorrow Fun was had by all!!! 5 stars
4/27/02 esfse Fuck this crap! This shit sucks! 1 stars
4/27/02 Farty Being sodomized by a truck driver would be better than this film 1 stars
4/26/02 James Kick ass! Big improvement over Jason Goes To Hell. 5 stars
4/26/02 Julian Awesome! 5 stars
4/24/02 Roy Smith Remarkably well written/acted - did I say that? Who expected it to be this good?!? 5 stars
4/24/02 masin wolliams hot diggity damn! Jason is back! who needs a plot?!?! 5 stars
4/24/02 Wade Awesome movie!! Great kills and just plain fun. 5 stars
4/23/02 wintermute Holy Shit this movie was bad - I can easily see why it has been on the shelf for 2 years! 1 stars
4/22/02 NeuroManson Found it online a week early, some funny stuff, but don't expect MacBeth either... 3 stars
4/02/02 lauren mccreight the best of the bunch!! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Apr-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Aug-2002


Directed by
  James Isaac

Written by
  Todd Farmer

Cast
  Kane Hodder
  Lexa Doig
  Lisa Ryder
  Jonathon Potts
  Melyssa Ade
  David Cronenberg



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast