More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.51

Awesome69.76%
Worth A Look: 19.51%
Average: 6.34%
Pretty Bad: 0.98%
Total Crap: 3.41%

9 reviews, 151 user ratings



Monsters, Inc.
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Beware, below."
4 stars

Imaginative treat for the kiddies and adults alike, about a group of computer animated monsters who provide “scream juice” from children by scaring them (under the bed, in the closet, etc.).

In actuality, it is these monsters who are truly afraid of the children — for germ purposes — but when a kid sneaks into their realm via travelling portal doors, the two protagonists (in a race to collect more of this scream-power) must hide the accident-waiting-to-happen. The three-dimensionality of the monsters adds a little more beyond the traditional flat, hand-drawn animation, and the palatable storyline jumps right out of a James Howe children’s book. Most importantly, the movie has a great sense of humor for all ages regardless if your mentality is far past this stage.

With the voices of John Goodman, Billy Crystal and Steve Buscemi.

[Worth-seeing.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4754&reviewer=172
originally posted: 09/07/02 19:05:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/08/12 Susan Smith great movie funny and great to look at 5 stars
3/30/11 Rjckun I love this movie ! (: 5 stars
3/13/09 Dominic Released after MULAN,TARZAN,TITAN A.E and THE EMPEROR'S NEW GROOVE. 5 stars
10/13/08 Shaun Wallner This film is hilarious!! 5 stars
8/04/08 Raffy He didnt mix the companies up Jonny, he sed Dreamworks made Shrek n shud be up w.Pixar lol 5 stars
6/07/08 Jonny Stop mixing the companies up. Pixar did not make shrek. 5 stars
5/22/08 The Flush Whoever says this movie sucks seriously has problems. 5 stars
5/21/08 PAUL SHORTT THE BALANCE TILTS TOWARDS ACTION AND GAGS, AND DOES THEM WELL 3 stars
4/19/08 Amanda Very good movie! loved it very much, not flawless but close enough.. 5 stars
3/21/08 chienne John Goodman can come and scare the tits off me anytime!! Loved it! 5 stars
1/26/08 Pamela White One to cure the kids fear of monsters 5 stars
11/08/07 Robert i hate this movie because i hate little kids 1 stars
6/06/07 Peter It sucked 1 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Take the kids to see the movie, eat the happy meal and play the game before tucking them in 3 stars
3/24/07 Qutt!e Disney Pixar put to much effort into such a bad film 1 stars
3/04/07 Sam This is the greatest movie ever! 5 stars
2/23/07 Meaghan I LOVED this movie so much... whoever came on to diss needs to get a life!!!! 5 stars
12/15/06 shaza.b haha cute [boo] 5 stars
10/02/06 nate dogg this movie fucking sucks!!! 1 stars
9/27/06 AngeLsCaLLin cUte fiLm. ^_^ i Lyk bOo! (hakhak very cuTe!) 4 stars
9/24/06 ProSneakyD Funniest Pixar movie of all time, whoever hates this movie should be bannished forever. 5 stars
8/25/06 araya I like boo verry much(lovery) 3 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist A cute, well concepted kid flick. 4 stars
7/13/06 David Cohen Not Pixar's best, but a hell of a lot better than "Shark Tales" 4 stars
5/17/06 Poopy pops I liked it. Has it's moments but even heavier going than the Incredibles. 7.1 / 10 4 stars
5/11/06 chienne Oh, Eric, you don't think Mike was annoying???? 5 stars
3/02/06 Taleia It's an awsome movie for kids, and family. 5 stars
12/07/05 Quigley the stunning visuals, billy crystal and the adbominable snowman totally redeem this film. 5 stars
11/02/05 Cindy This movie was a sort of coooool! 5 stars
10/19/05 sarah this movie was awsome 5 stars
9/03/05 ES If you have a soul you will be delighted, clearly an amazing film 5 stars
8/14/05 Nicole Great - probably my favorite Pixar movie 5 stars
7/01/05 enetertainer emma it made my and my freind cry while ben was lookin 4 a tv 5 stars
3/04/05 Katie White meh, it's actually pretty good! 5 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams so sweet and cute, but I stared at Sully's hair the whole time. Nice job Pixar! 5 stars
8/19/04 Zombies Eat People Couldn't understand why everybody liked this 2 stars
6/03/04 Daveman It's no Toy Story and not even as good as Finding Nemo, but doesn't need to live up to that 4 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Fun family film from Pixar. 5 stars
5/17/04 DM Lots of fun, but no "Shrek" 4 stars
4/25/04 Alex Disney Pixar did a good work 5 stars
3/30/04 Alyssa Johnson This movie is funny, cracks me up! 5 stars
3/23/04 Waleed Very funny 5 stars
2/29/04 Littlepurch Enjoyable but suffers by comparison with the other Disney/Pixar greats. 3 stars
12/08/03 john cute but no animation masterpiece in my opinion 4 stars
11/26/03 Gi Gi Wazowski is the man...monster....cyclopse thingy 5 stars
10/21/03 Goofy Maxwell Had me howlin'. My favorite Pixar production so far. 5 stars
9/21/03 CAT BLUES very cute an instant classic for all ages 5 stars
7/21/03 Udoka Very cute. Good fun for the whole family! 5 stars
6/25/03 miss moviez k well this is THE movie to watch...mike is tight and its a movie u just gotta LOVE! 5 stars
6/24/03 Lush not as good as Tiy Story 2 or Shrek, but still well worth watching. 4 stars
6/01/03 Persephone Incredible animation, story, characters. Pixar rocks. 5 stars
4/06/03 Cadillac Kid Im 22 years old and i LOVE this flick! 5 stars
4/03/03 Chris Disney at it's very best. A masterpiece comparble to Bambi, and alot more fun too. 5 stars
3/12/03 GBFH the cutest and most endearing film I've ever seen!!! 5 stars
2/07/03 Turtle A wonderful movie that's better than Shrek, but not by much. 5 stars
12/31/02 John Aster Habig yet just another so-so Disney movie 3 stars
12/30/02 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Wonderful. 5 stars
12/12/02 Gruther Not bad, not great, Shrek was far better 3 stars
11/04/02 Massive Johnson more sloppy than artful 3 stars
10/30/02 jessica mudd best movie ever 5 stars
10/09/02 qtpie Cuuuute Movie! 5 stars
10/08/02 Keith Way better than Shrek. Plus, no songs! 5 stars
10/07/02 Jeremy Pixar is king 5 stars
9/30/02 Zefram Mann A solid family movie that will make you laugh and give you a case of the "wam and fuzzies". 4 stars
9/26/02 snowconehead good stuff, I need another fix 5 stars
9/18/02 palaboy101 Score another one for Pixar and Disney! 4 stars
9/08/02 Nazi Superman What a wonderful movie. All smiles and tremendous filmmaking 5 stars
8/12/02 .Choadushouse. I was super impressed! I laughed alot and felt all the hearty warmth in this excellent film 5 stars
7/20/02 ! Disney strikes back! 4 stars
6/19/02 Valerie Cameron Typical of what Disney has become - sound&fury signifying PC & little else. 2 stars
6/02/02 Chris Where Shrek has laughs Monsters inc. has heart. One of the years best films. 5 stars
4/26/02 Charles Tatum Ten times better than "Shrek" 5 stars
4/06/02 VixenJ This is under my comment is quite and strictly are for those with high levels of tolerance! 3 stars
4/03/02 Butterbean Gary, you sick bastard! Hehe. This was a lot better than Shrek. 4 stars
3/21/02 Mitch I watched it and Ifelt 5 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand Very funny and for the whole family! 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Cute. Fun. Take the kids and see it. 4 stars
1/28/02 shanus Fuck Shrek2 !!!!! Make MONSTERS. INC 2 !!!!! 5 stars
1/26/02 vessejoigt kinda dissapointing if you're over 13 3 stars
1/20/02 Brooke Boo is such a cutie 5 stars
1/19/02 Adam Voorhees The Pixar legacy continues with another really fun flick, go see it NOW! 5 stars
1/10/02 daniboy far better than Shrek 5 stars
1/06/02 ian sims the best disney movie for some years 10/10 5 stars
1/05/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is another disney movie that really... RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/05/02 Butterbean Way better than that shitty Shrek. And it didn't have a song from The Monkees on it. 4 stars
1/02/02 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Really funny. It's just as awesome as the other Pixar computer-animated movies. 5 stars
12/26/01 Mary it was great! i thot it'd suck but it was awesome 5 stars
12/26/01 stubbe76 This movie was the best I have seen in a long time. Boo was the cutest. 5 stars
12/24/01 charlotte This movie is great, it made me laugh so much and boo was so adorable i nearly cried!!! 5 stars
12/19/01 Andrea I loved this movie. Although I am 17 y/o I thought it was absolutely adorable. 5 stars
12/16/01 Sum One Boo is sooooooooooooo cute 5 stars
12/14/01 PJ Fraggle If you can't enjoy this movie, you're seriously fucked in the head. It's beautiful & joyous 5 stars
12/12/01 Brian Leslie Boo is soooo cute!! 5 stars
12/09/01 Butterbean Movie sucked when Boo wasn't around 3 stars
12/08/01 Jade I loved it! :) And I'm 31. 5 stars
12/05/01 Mic Funny and adorable 5 stars
12/04/01 Andrew Carden I Can't Handle These Clay Movies Anymore. All Of My Family Agreed This Was Terrible. 1 stars
12/02/01 crix boo is sooo cute! u'll definitely love her! 5 stars
12/01/01 Missy Leman i loved this movie. i am 18 years old and it was the best movie ever. sully and boo rock! 5 stars
11/30/01 Denz better than Shrek 4 stars
11/29/01 jen belmonte awesome movie!!! see it 5 stars
11/27/01 Nyartholep Lots of fun. 5 stars
11/27/01 sgates TERRIFIC 5 stars
11/27/01 damon_dee brill 5 stars
11/26/01 Kelly Kasper Loved it!!!!!! The little girl was adorable 5 stars
11/23/01 Sean One of the best in 2001 5 stars
11/21/01 Koe When I first saw the preview for this movie, I thought 'Oh shit not another pixar movie!' 3 stars
11/21/01 Mortis Possibly the biggest piece of crap since...the last PIXAR movie. 1 stars
11/20/01 frosty Much cuter than Shrek. 5 stars
11/19/01 Billy Two-feathers Pretty darn silly movie... Disney makes me puke, regularly 1 stars
11/19/01 ajay good good good stuff. 5 stars
11/18/01 E great stuff 5 stars
11/18/01 brent once again, another quality film from Pixar! 5 stars
11/17/01 Leon Trotsky Soooo promising, but too conventional at heart. Ehh. 3 stars
11/15/01 Girl 9 visually amazing 4 stars
11/14/01 The Bomb 69 not bad, but no Toy Story, just seemed to be waiting for something more 3 stars
11/14/01 spaceworm Even better than the Happy Meal toys. 5 stars
11/13/01 Da Shit best pixar film so far but certainly nothing all that original beyond the stellar animation 4 stars
11/12/01 Lord Raymos Best Pixax feature film so far, good family movie. 4 stars
11/12/01 Janine Lay, RN So heartwarming, the little girl stole my heart, and it's funny, too! Loved it! 5 stars
11/12/01 Matthew Peters Great film for kids, not bad for adults. It's not Toy Story 1&2, but still awesome 5 stars
11/10/01 Roy Smith Just this once: Believe the Hype! It's that good! 5 stars
11/09/01 CoffeeVixen this movie is so fucking incredible! great for adults as well as the kiddies! 5 stars
11/09/01 Neo This movie was great ,its very funny 5 stars
11/08/01 groovekitten absolutely heartwarming, dazzling, beautiful, side-splittingly funny 5 stars
11/07/01 John Even my three year old shut up and watched it. 5 stars
11/07/01 The Abominable Cliff Interesting ending, going for a subtle sense of reconciliation. Beautiful movie. Loved Boo 5 stars
11/07/01 Brian The best Pixar yet! 5 stars
11/06/01 Jim More cute than funny. Best gag: the poor schlub monster who keeps getting disinfected 4 stars
11/06/01 s7s Two Middle Fingers Up! Fucking Awesome 5 stars
11/06/01 Laura Bossom Not "just another kid's movie" This one is AWESEOME 5 stars
11/06/01 Dada Another great Pixar movie - not the best of theirs, mind you, but great nonetheless. 5 stars
11/06/01 BBReBozo Heartwarming and beautiful, and that's just the story. It also looks amazing as well! 5 stars
11/06/01 SuzyK Wonderful Movie! Kids and Adults both will love it. 5 stars
11/06/01 RazorDog Looks good, but not much else. Shrek and Final Fantasy were much better. 4 stars
11/05/01 Katsat Funny and poignant. For anyone who has kids, Boo is PERFECTLY portrayed. Thank-you, Pixar 5 stars
11/05/01 Dex "Muviman" If you don't enjoy this movie, you need help. 5 stars
11/04/01 CDavis The guys who made Final Fantasy should watch and learn. 5 stars
11/04/01 Daelic Absolutely mesmerizing from start to finish 5 stars
11/04/01 Chris Kleman An absolutely gorgeous movies, pixar has done it yet again. Mixing child humor with Adult 5 stars
11/04/01 legweak Easily the best movie this 39 year old has ever seen, NO SHIT. 5 stars
11/04/01 JJ Terrific...great...Awesome...among other things 5 stars
11/03/01 J Personally I think this is better than Shrek. Call me what you want but hey. 5 stars
11/03/01 Fact-checker manque Pixar didn't make Shrek 5 stars
11/03/01 frank amazing 5 stars
11/02/01 Mary Jane Powell ***** 5 stars
11/02/01 Cory Great Movie! Hilarious! Everyone will LOVE this movie 5 stars
10/31/01 Grunty the Fox Why is it only Pixar has the patience and skills to make a great film EVERY time? 5 stars
10/31/01 Scott C I loved this movie. It was sweet and the sight gags were worthy of an old WB cartoon. 5 stars
10/31/01 LeaLea between fucking awesome and worth a look. Good for Mom and Dad too - good laughs 4 stars
10/31/01 FrayLo not as funny as Shrek, yet still a great movie... 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Nov-2001 (G)
  DVD: 17-Sep-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-2001




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast