More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.3

Awesome: 14.97%
Worth A Look: 11.56%
Average: 10.88%
Pretty Bad: 13.61%
Total Crap48.98%

6 reviews, 111 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Scooby-Doo
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Justin Helmer

"Damn you Raja Gosnell. Damn you to hell."
1 stars

Ya know, in retrospect, I wish I had paid somebody the ticket price to kick my father in the balls for eighty-seven minutes. It couldn’t have been a much more painful sight to see. If there’s any justice in the universe at all, Freddie Prinze Jr’s dick will someday soon be turning black and falling off.

I have a hard time going back over it in my head; my brain kept trying to trick me into swallowing my tongue just to make it stop. And at some point I seriously considered setting fire to the person behind me, just to have something stimulating to look at. It could not have been worse. At least I can’t imagine how it could have been, I’m sure they will find a way to fuck it up more before the sequel is set loose upon the world.

The plot, such as it is, is as follows;
1. The Scooby Gang fights.
2. The Scooby Gang separate.
3. The Scooby Gang reunites.
4. The Scooby Gang kick monster ass.

There ya go. I suppose I should have known to expect bad things from a movie that features not one but TWO inept chase scenes. But I did, at one point, have fond memories of being a little kid watching the cartoons. I know the source material was no great shakes either but somehow I don’t remember it being that shitty.

More than anything else I want to know who handed the money to Raja Gosnell, blaming actors is a wasted effort. Sure I’d like to see Mr. Prinze Jr. and Mr. Lillard clubbed to death by an angry movie-going public. But I’m afraid it would be like spanking a puppy a half hour after they made the mess. Add to that the fact that I don’t think the cast of Six Feet Under could have done a better job with the material in question. No, I reserve my real anger for the no-good sonofabitch studio suit that said “Hey let’s get the guy who directed BIG MOMMA’S HOUSE!”

While I’m on the subject of inarticulate rage…Mr. Rowan Atkinson, please, please flog you agent publicly and then fire them. You are too good a comic actor to been seen in the likes of this. I have this horrible picture of some mouth-breathing couple at the video store renting a Black Adder tape based on what they saw of you in this movie. No doubt they would return it the next day still mumbling about not being able to ‘get’ British humor.

I have never in my life wished so fervently for the ability to kill via telekinesis. Everything that is offered up to us here is just flat out abysmal. I wanted to have fun with this one, I really did. However there is only so much room in my heart for overlooking rampant hackery in the name of a good time. And the worst of it was the alarming number of people in the theatre who were no in the least bit outraged. Fuck…fuck…fuck…FUCK. I hate the movie-going public.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4824&reviewer=315
originally posted: 01/06/03 19:27:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

4/14/17 Susan Denise Nymm The Scooby Movie didn't break me. Having Scrappy be evil broke me. Some of us like him! 1 stars
10/30/09 wow im high this movie is aweful when your high... why is scrappy doo evil?? i mean i hate em. 1 stars
10/20/09 Barker What happened to Velmas Breasts?!?! That was Sarah M Geller?!?!?! Horrible acting/script/pr 2 stars
8/13/09 Jeff Wilder Scooby Doo run run away from this awful movie! 1 stars
12/05/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 5 stars
10/15/08 PAUL SHORTT COMPLETE LACK OF ORIGINALITY, CLEVERNESS OR EVEN VISIBLE EFFORT 1 stars
9/11/07 Steph Loved It!!! Dudes don't be jealous that your not on tv 5 stars
6/18/07 ian strange I absolutely hated it. 1 stars
4/13/07 David Pollastrini Never was a big scooby fan 3 stars
2/10/07 Joe Matthew Lillard's got Shaggy pretty much nailed, but that's the only bright spot here. 1 stars
10/01/06 zaid-ur-rahman rahman 1 stars
7/12/06 David Cohen At least they acknowledged that Scrappy Doo is evil 2 stars
6/20/06 George It was okay 4 stars
4/02/06 JM Synth It's not like the original was THAT good, anyway 3 stars
12/21/05 miss patience 5 it is ok =) =( 4 stars
11/26/05 hunt the movie was dorky and nasty but kinden fun 1 stars
11/26/05 cr This movie mess up the mystery inc. and acting was pretty good, story alright, crappy 2 stars
8/30/05 ES Didn't like scooby-do as a kid, like it even less an an adult 1 stars
8/25/05 Eden Why set it on an island? Why have real monsters? Why have Scrappy Doo? 2 stars
8/04/05 ^podo i used to love this movie.... 3 stars
7/22/05 tony This moivie drives me nuts! 1 stars
6/20/05 darick Makes the cartoon look riveting in more ways than one (CGI, acting, plot, etc.) 1 stars
3/12/05 crandall101 I like this one 4 stars
2/20/05 Jeff Anderson MATTHEW LILLARD & ESPECIALLY LINDA CARDELLINI'S PERFORMANCES SAVE THIS! A BAD FILM VERSION! 1 stars
9/18/04 American Slasher Goddess A medicore cartoon padded out into a crapfest live action remake. 1 stars
8/25/04 jan horrible. loved the tv series, but this? they stole me 90 minutes of my life. smg=just bad 1 stars
8/22/04 Anthony G Fuck, thelma is so fucking hot, I love me a nerdy bitch! 3 stars
7/07/04 WestJay Scooby at his best! Great graphics! I loved it!! 5 stars
7/05/04 kelsey lehmann freddie prinze jr. is sexy 5 stars
7/05/04 spritely Forget the plot; see it for Matt Lillard and the humor 5 stars
7/05/04 Brian C0urtney Silly but hilarious 5 stars
4/29/04 Jamie A very good movie. 5 stars
4/10/04 Coco Chanelle My favourite movie, and i cant wait to see the next one 5 stars
4/03/04 da hood what the fuck are they thinking? i had to get shitfaced immediatly after i saw this shit!!! 1 stars
4/02/04 Jeff A disaster pure and simple. Hollywood needs to stop with the damn cartoon/TV remakes. 1 stars
3/31/04 re It was grear 5 stars
3/22/04 Littlepurch So bad it was good. Hate that saying but it applies here. Atkinson was good. 4 stars
3/01/04 ME THIS FILM ROCKS 5 stars
2/06/04 tatum Idiotic fluff, why did you people plunk down $ to see this?? 1 stars
11/15/03 KR Who knew Velma could be so hot in real life? The movie still licked balls, though. 1 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant Such a neat concept: animating human shit and watching it try to entertain. 1 stars
10/07/03 neasa Its my fav movie so shut-up 5 stars
10/03/03 Samuel Justus Ebert & Roeper say everything suck, so i dont even listen to critics anymore! 4 stars
9/28/03 snowconehead I admit velma has everything to do with my rating 5 stars
5/31/03 mee AWESOME 5 stars
5/20/03 Jack Sommersby It's at least more spirited than the ultra-lame "Spider-Man". 2 stars
5/17/03 olivia great 5 stars
3/01/03 ME THIS FILM ROCKS 5 stars
2/07/03 123 bad acting, bad plot, bad humour 1 stars
2/04/03 Turtle It did what it was supposed to, and did it pretty well. I'd gladly see it again! 4 stars
1/09/03 Movie-Going Public ... And we hate you too, schism. Also Linda is uber hot. Pleez take off ur clothes thx. 4 stars
12/07/02 BAM NOT AS BAD AS THE PEOPLE SAY 5 stars
11/12/02 Andrew sucks like that attack of the craps this summer 1 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano The screenwriters didn't emerge from the haze of marijuana smoke to see the original. 2 stars
10/21/02 Bruce Hollendonner Like a cartoon turd hawking perfume at 8 bucks a ticket. 1 stars
10/19/02 Ken Lillard born to play Shaggy. A bad cartoon makes a terrible movie. 1 stars
10/17/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite 'Neath lotsa ornate window dressing, it's just another girls-don't-fart fantasy. 3 stars
10/15/02 Joana It could be SOOO much better!!! 2 stars
10/14/02 palaboy101 GOOD IDEA marred by a RIDICULOUS script (Scrappy-Doo planned world domination thru aliens!) 2 stars
10/14/02 STEVE NOT THAT BAD NEITHER IS IT GOOD THOUGH...LOVED THE GCI SCOBBY 3 stars
10/12/02 qtpie YOU ALL SUCK THIS MOVIE ROCKS 5 stars
10/12/02 C Anderson It sucks!!!!!!!! 1 stars
10/07/02 Russ. OZ, 3 Stars!? WHY, Ah hell, we all get drunk and do something stupid everyone and awhile. 1 stars
9/16/02 blakers The best movie ever 5 stars
9/01/02 J I believe I'm going to go with OZ on this one of sorts. 3 stars
9/01/02 Jessie I really liked this movie! I thought it was really good!! 5 stars
8/28/02 viking an embarrassment to the Aussie film industry. 1 stars
8/25/02 Turkish gay as shit, jus like everyone that gave this movie a good rating 1 stars
8/24/02 Helen Freddie Prinze Jr. cannot act and the plot was so stupid 1 stars
8/17/02 AJ Very disappointing 2 stars
8/17/02 Andrew Patrick This Might Be The Best Worst Movie I seen 3 stars
8/13/02 What a bleeding, pus-filled, infected hemorrhoid! Gellar is fuckable. Cannibus 1 stars
8/12/02 Max No way this movie should be taken seriously. As such is hilarious 4 stars
8/11/02 Michael Carruthers Great fun, some jokes aren't that funny, but still worth a look. Lots of fun! 4 stars
8/08/02 Bobmer00 i concur, the movie sucks ass 1 stars
7/29/02 Jon Spitting on the cartoon's grave. Since when did scooby doo have real ghosts in? grr... 2 stars
7/28/02 Kino I liked it... probably just because I was stoned off my ass. 4 stars
7/24/02 Titus Shaggy and Scooby stole the show. Not great, but fun. 4 stars
7/18/02 Rod Williams I laughed at the trailers & more in the movie. Scooby & Matthew = hilarious. Movie sucked. 2 stars
7/14/02 Phoenix I kept looking at Sarah Michelle Gellar's breats, could barly watch the movie though. 2 stars
7/13/02 ! nice movie! 4 stars
7/12/02 bob leather jacket Mis-casting and poor script 1 stars
7/12/02 Veronica Foxx I could make a better movie with puppets, cardboard sets and a friggin' kaleidoscope. 1 stars
7/09/02 iambubby Ruh, ro! What a piece of rhit! 1 stars
7/09/02 Linda Cardellini Why oh why did I agree to do a movie with Prinze Jr. 1 stars
7/05/02 Joe Bacon Where's the Odorama Card when you REALLY need it???? 1 stars
7/05/02 RIC B JUST PURE KIDDIE CRAP 1 stars
7/02/02 KMG I didn't see it but wanted to just lower the score even more! 1 stars
7/01/02 J. I'm with tad on this; the movie sucks! 1 stars
6/28/02 K its supposed to be fun... it is 5 stars
6/27/02 J I've somewhat changed my mind, this is a decent at best movie. 3 stars
6/26/02 bullit17 Where is the "0 Star" rating on HBS when you really need it? 1 stars
6/25/02 Rhesus Any one who gave this above a 1 STAR should get a kick in the nuts(or the cunt; it may be.) 1 stars
6/24/02 Gary Vidmar's Illegitimate Daughter, Gladys I've always hated the cartoon, but with the addition of Prinze Jr., this is 10x worse. Bad! 2 stars
6/22/02 Law great kids flick 4 stars
6/22/02 gunter simple retarded fun 4 stars
6/20/02 Chris Oh, Come on. It's more annoying than the TV show and it's crappy and old. 1 stars
6/19/02 Mr Math Unbelievably bad. Are film fans really so easy to please? For crying out loud, people! 1 stars
6/19/02 Ken Kopin Roaring great fun, with and ending you have to admit you did NOT see coming. 5 stars
6/18/02 Roy Smith Linda and Sarah....rowr! Actually not too bad, stupid but fun. 4 stars
6/18/02 Angry Black Man Has anyone noticed that its the cast of "Scream" repackaged? 1 stars
6/18/02 Brian Great fun for fans. Everyone else, go away. 5 stars
6/18/02 Nessus Not as bad as I was expecting. Some good in jokes. Mostly retarded. 3 stars
6/17/02 Lexy Z Not nearly as bad as it could've been with Mr. Prinze Jr. I actually was quite entertained 4 stars
6/16/02 MyztiQ i loved it 4 stars
6/16/02 Flick Chick boring/dumb for adults,scary for little kids, brats ages 8-10 will like it 2 stars
6/16/02 Rampage WTH was that! And worse than the movie trailer! 1 stars
6/15/02 MArijuana Dogg What were the directors smoking? This was terrible! 1 stars
6/15/02 William Hanna My God, here's the proof that the Anti-Christ is alive and well. 1 stars
6/14/02 The Chronic Mastubator For the mere fact that they used a bunch of teenybopper faves to get the twerpy teen dollar 1 stars
6/09/02 Scooby DON'T! Saw a preview screening, worst movie since Rollerball 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Jun-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Jun-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast