More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.62

Awesome78.81%
Worth A Look: 13.84%
Average: 1.69%
Pretty Bad: 2.26%
Total Crap: 3.39%

18 reviews, 246 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Memento
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"A fantastically creative, mind-boggling film."
5 stars

People who go to film festivals have the advantage of seeing movies without all the hype that can sometimes color our opinions. "Memento" is something I knew nothing about before I entered the screening room. When I came out 2 hours later, I had a new favorite movie of the 2000s.

Mark my words, one of the coolest, most original and all-out best movies of 2001 will be "Memento."

Wrap your mind around this concept: A man named Leonard (Guy Pearce) saw his wife murdered, and he was hurt by the killer, too. As a result of the injury, he now has no short-term memory. He can recall everything from before the incident -- who he is, his married life, his job as an insurance adjustor -- but ever since, his mind can't create new memories. Every 15 minutes or so, his brain erases like an Etch-a-Sketch, and he has to start over.

He's trying to find his wife's murderer -- no small feat when your memory resets every few minutes. To keep a handle on what's going on, he's developed an intricate way of living. He writes a lot of notes to himself, takes Polaroid pictures of everything (so he can remind himself of basic things like what hotel he's staying in), and the really important things, he has tattooed on his body. Chief among those items are facts he has learned about the killer (part of his name being most important), and a reminder, written across his chest -- backwards, so he can read it in the mirror every morning -- that "John G. raped and killed my wife." When he finds John G., he will kill him.

The film opens with a Polaroid picture slowly fading away. Clever, no, as the film is about diminished memories? Yes, but that's not it. The picture isn't fading away at all. Instead, we realize we're watching the scene go backwards: A fully developed photo is slowly un-developing and then being sucked back up into the camera. It's the first indication of the movie's true stroke of genius: It's told in backwards order.

The first scene is of Leonard shooting John G. in the head, having finally reached his goal. The next scene is what happened to Leonard just before that, ending with about the first 15 seconds of the shooting scene. The whole story is told that way, each scene lasting as long as one of Leonard's memory spans, and each scene ending with a few seconds of overlap to show us how it leads into the thing that happens next (which, of course, we've already seen).

Why is this genius? Because it keeps us in the dark almost as much as Leonard. Just like Leonard, we don't know what happened before; we only know what's happening now. We have the advantage, though, because we're able to add all of these scenes together to form a complete story, which Leonard cannot do.

Which is why the film takes such a dark, deliciously creepy turn. Seeing things progress in reverse order, we can see mistakes Leonard made along the way -- mistakes Leonard cannot learn from, as he has no hindsight.

The film plays on the basic human element of trust, both in others and in ourselves. Leonard had trusted a guy named Teddy (Joe Pantoliano), who turns out to be the John G. he shoots in that opening scene. He has written on his photo of Teddy, "Don't believe his lies," and he lives by that motto throughout. He also trusts a bar waitress named Natalie (Carrie-Anne Moss), who has also lost a loved one and will help Leonard out of pity, according to her photo caption.

Ultimately, he's really only trusting himself. When he learns something important -- like not to believe Teddy's lies, for example -- he writes it on the photo. When his memory starts over and he has to look at his notes to figure out what he's doing, all he can do is trust that he knew what he was talking about when he wrote that.

Director Christopher Nolan exhibits an astounding attention to detail, and a watchful viewer is rewarded enormously. Why does Leonard have a scratch on his cheek? Why does Natalie appear to have been beaten up? Leonard often says he's not good on the phone -- he needs to be able to look at people to tell if they're lying to him -- yet in the ongoing scene that is interwoven as a buffer between all the reverse-order scenes, he is on the phone and speaking freely. It all makes sense; I could find no detail that went unexplained. The construction of the film is as close to perfect as anything I've seen.

Do our memories play tricks on us? Do we, at least subconsciously, choose our memories? Would we be better off if we were like Leonard, going only by cold, hard facts and not relying on something so subjective as memory? Fantastically taut, crafty and utterly original, "Memento" answers these questions and asks a thousand more.

It's ironic, given the subject matter, but it's a film you'll remember for a long time.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4848&reviewer=247
originally posted: 01/16/01 19:17:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell cool challenging film 4 stars
8/14/17 Louise Thanks Jack Sommersby - though I was the only one who didn't 'get it'. 2 stars
4/01/16 Aj wales Great. watch once only type of movie. 4 stars
5/22/15 stanley welles a brilliantly told mindbender 5 stars
9/01/12 Sean Harrison Absolutely brilliant, my favorite Nolan film. 5 stars
8/31/10 RLan An amazing piece of film making. A must see!!! 5 stars
8/01/10 Sam Christopher Nolan's best film 5 stars
7/18/10 allan hovland wonderful stuff 4 stars
4/17/10 Omar An amazing film that has to be viewed more than once or twice. 5 stars
8/30/09 CTT Spectacular, fascinating stuff 5 stars
6/15/09 Tram interesting 4 stars
4/02/09 Dane Youssef "Memento" is unforgettable. I know that's a cheap pun, but you've gotta give me that one. 5 stars
3/04/09 Norbert Terrifically original & mind-boggingly complex.A wonder to behold. 5 stars
5/28/08 MP Bartley Much more than a novelty; there's a tragic layer of manipulation that bears repeat viewings 5 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT A BLEAK DIABOLICAL PUZZLE 1 stars
5/07/08 aeneas23 I watched the movie a couple of minutes ago, i alredy wana watch it again... This was great 5 stars
1/04/08 Bozofreak If you ask me, Memento is the most overrated movie, of any genre, ever made. 1 stars
12/02/07 davidbobo20 excellent movie! 5 stars
9/10/07 gamma one of the best you will ever see 5 stars
9/02/07 Double M Original, intelligent, confusing mindf*ck that gets better every time.. Utterly brilliant. 5 stars
3/28/07 fools♫gold I'll say the same for this movie as I did for "The Last of Sheila". 5 stars
1/02/07 Jiz This movie did not suck. 5 stars
11/17/06 J.Pet One of my favorite films. Revolutionary! 5 stars
11/16/06 David Pollastrini great concept 4 stars
11/02/06 Jeff this critic is way off the mark 5 stars
9/22/06 Pritchett Told straightforward, it's a bore. 2 stars
8/17/06 Stanley Thai An original plot and a great movie. 5 stars
6/23/06 Guy Winston Such... Such a good film. 5 stars
3/31/06 kerry Overrated.The plot is nothing much once the backwards gimmick is gone,Suspects is better 1 stars
3/24/06 Dick Requires effort to watch..but refreshing and exciting all around 5 stars
2/25/06 ronald along with usual supects,these 2 are the ultimate mindfucks of all time 5 stars
11/16/05 Adrian Requires patience and understanding, but the outcome is totally worth it. 5 stars
10/10/05 Agent Sands A genuinely brilliant thriller. Truly deserving of its classic status. 5 stars
9/10/05 Taylor Fladgate A classic that set the bar high for future mystery/mind benders. 5 stars
7/27/05 CJ Unbelievable. Most intellegent film i've ever seen 5 stars
6/15/05 CHEESENACHOS thriller/mystery/suspense/drama......this is one hell of a mind-f*ck, go see it right now 5 stars
5/28/05 Indrid Cold Brilliantly disorienting, mind bending, and intriguing. 5 stars
5/27/05 Lord Haw Haw Brilliant. Simply brilliant. 5 stars
5/10/05 kevin r absolute thriller, watch it over and over 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Intelligent and thoughtful film! Every twist keeps you guessing. 5 stars
2/04/05 D.J.O'Keefe A twisted tale that is a straight-up masterpiece 5 stars
1/21/05 das stupid 5 stars
8/01/04 Brad One of my favorites. 5 stars
7/20/04 Ionicera you see, i have this condition... 5 stars
7/10/04 Aaron Excellent movie, finally a movie I can enjoy beyond the previews 5 stars
7/08/04 Spinz BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
7/07/04 karen loved it, we need more movies that make you think 5 stars
6/22/04 Dick Logan Totally original, with an awesome cast. Loved it. 5 stars
6/13/04 Mitch Absolutely among of the best films to come along in twenty years or more. 5 stars
6/10/04 zeitgeist Great, yes, but you'd think that he'd invest in a camcorder or a tape recorder 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho Sharp, intriguing and head-spinning 4 stars
2/13/04 Kai An excellent breath of fresh air when one is suffocating in the stench of most films 5 stars
1/30/04 Benjamin Spicher genius! 5 stars
11/23/03 Mary, Brain Injury Survivor Excellent, oh, wait did I already comment? : ) 5 stars
11/07/03 Capt' Fox If you have a brain, and can think while watching you'll love it! Fantastic! 5 stars
9/20/03 Linda Sullivan This movie is amazing - when it's over, you can't believe what you just saw 5 stars
8/19/03 AD overrated piece of shit 1 stars
7/15/03 snowconehead Watch it with director commentary, Nolan is the most boring human being on earth 5 stars
5/25/03 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng One of the best movies I've ever seen. I love it! I recommend this to everyone! 5 stars
5/14/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!!!) FUCKING BRILLIANT! BRILLIANT, original, and cool. Great directing and writing. 5 stars
5/02/03 Taylor Fladgate You'll be thinking about this film for months afterwards! 5 stars
4/26/03 Scapegoat fun and original 5 stars
4/26/03 The Talking Elbow A truely unique experience at the movies, not perfect but it's ingenious 5 stars
4/24/03 GWB original amazing 5 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Creative and intelligent. 5 stars
3/22/03 Skankin' inThePit took me forever to figure out who killed who i think i got most of it but still confused! 5 stars
3/14/03 Jon A moving piece that'll mess (in a good way) with your mind the first time u see it 5 stars
3/02/03 Rob P S Astonishing 5 stars
2/25/03 WestcoastPunk Holy shit what a great movie. One of the best movies ever made 5 stars
2/17/03 R.W. Welch Inventive, but retro chronology saps momentum & is sometimes hard to track. 4 stars
2/05/03 123 great script, plot and twists, the flashback style makes me as confused as Lenny 5 stars
2/04/03 phiber_optik the best film ive ever seen 5 stars
1/26/03 Lord David Pretty cool & inovative - a minor classic 4 stars
1/21/03 LessThanColleen Awesome, has some confusing twists which is good and i like the whole backwards thing 5 stars
1/20/03 snowconehead original, very very original. 5 stars
1/05/03 Ben Simply the greatest film ever made. 5 stars
1/04/03 Josh One of the greatest films ever made. A dark, backwards and brilliant tale. 5 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby ...and an incisive brain to reject its pretentiousness. 1 stars
12/27/02 Sara A film that requires a brain to watch it. 5 stars
12/16/02 Matt Thiel Hollywood: make good movies like this one. I will pay to see them 5 stars
11/24/02 patrick MAMA MIA! god damn! now there's some fine cinematography 5 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted BEST FILM OF 2001! 5 stars
11/14/02 I'm not telling Mark Adnum is full of crap 5 stars
11/03/02 George Nedelchev One of the best movies since The Usual Suspects and Sling Blade 4 stars
10/31/02 Lenny i cant rember it :/ 5 stars
10/29/02 G. Parker the editing, and script are genious 5 stars
10/27/02 Monic Great movie, makes you think. It''s a cerebral film. 5 stars
10/25/02 Casey Harrison I'm going to be Lenny for Halloween 5 stars
10/22/02 Naomi I thought it was a briliant film, and if you don't think so, you havn't understood it. 5 stars
10/02/02 snowconehead One tattoo short of best movie, needed definiton of his condition, how else would he know? 5 stars
10/01/02 Jason A true film masterpiece 5 stars
9/10/02 Ken Mark Adnum is elitist yet clueless. Loved Showgirls and Van Wilder, hated Memento? 5 stars
8/26/02 SteveG Yet another fantastic Buddhist flick (6th Sense, Fight Club, Seven...) about clinging. 5 stars
8/19/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) See rating. 5 stars
8/14/02 Bryan Brooks An instant classic 4 stars
7/27/02 sdjfsdkjf Brilliant and at long last, ORIGINAL stuff. 5 stars
7/26/02 Fulcrum One of the best movies of all time! A god-damn masterpiece! 5 stars
7/19/02 Kyle What the fuck? "Underrated"? Everybody loves it. Dumbass. 5 stars
7/12/02 snowconehead the most underrated movie of all time 5 stars
6/23/02 steve This film rules ass, period 5 stars
6/22/02 Doc Shock First movie I've seen in a while that made me sit up and pay attention. 5 stars
6/10/02 BrodieMan I can't believe I missed this in the theaters. Shame on me, SHAME ! 5 stars
6/01/02 The Man Mark is a homo. The backwards device is necessary, it wouldn't be suspenseful otherwise. 5 stars
5/31/02 katy lawrence this movie is a piece of art. i still watch it from time to time! 5 stars
5/24/02 Amy Mark must be on crack. This movie and Guy P are great! 5 stars
5/15/02 hbotis@hotmail.com Missed the hype- disappointed. Guess the young ones love it 4 stars
5/11/02 Brian Mark Adnum's a fool. This movie is brilliant! 5 stars
4/13/02 Spam-handler with a vengeance Great fucking movie, I almost fucking loved every fucking moment of the fucking movie 5 stars
4/05/02 Edfink Lombardo Undeniably one of the best movies of the year! Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant 5 stars
4/02/02 El Talboto There were some logic flaws, but eaily made up for by the great method of plot progression 5 stars
3/30/02 Leonard You can be my John G! 5 stars
3/29/02 Nicole Initially confusing as the plot is moving backward, but so awesome once you get the flow 5 stars
3/24/02 Les Suranyi As a neurologist, I've met people exactly like Leonard. 5 stars
3/23/02 Guy Forssman It seems the academic guy's also have only short term memory! Shame Shame 5 stars
3/20/02 Mister Char i agree with rebecca, why does gosford park get any nominations! 5 stars
3/10/02 Rebecca the acamemy must have forgotten about memento, but i didnt 5 stars
3/02/02 Nomargin I know I saw this I just can't remember! 5 stars
3/02/02 Sam Tuthill Most psychologically and cinematically relevant movie ever. 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee Easily one of the most original and entertaining movies that I've ever seen. 5 stars
2/17/02 Leonard Do we really make up our own truth to make our selfs happy? 5 stars
1/31/02 Deanna GUY PEARCE! GUY PEARCE! GUY PEARCE! (you get it, I like Guy Pearce ;) 5 stars
1/18/02 Scottish Kilt u hav to watch it bout 5-6 times to understand it fully, guy pearce is great though. 4 stars
1/14/02 Flick Chick damn good movie - wait, what film did i just see? LMAO 5 stars
1/08/02 Spyguy2 Hands down the top release of 2001, nothing else comes close 5 stars
1/07/02 Kurt Schmidt good for people who have a brain 5 stars
1/03/02 Scream-Mania This is a true masterpiece u MUST-SEE...!! 5 stars
12/21/01 Tom Westinghouse My favorite film of all time... it's that good! 5 stars
12/21/01 Mister Char Amazing to say the least. Be ready for multiple imitators in the future 5 stars
12/21/01 Tinka Amazing. Just .. amazing. 5 stars
12/19/01 Russell Liston Erik, creative little review. 5 stars
12/07/01 Dominik Duprelle a Narrative masterclass. We'll be watching this in 20 years time. 5 stars
12/03/01 Jean Finochetti Makes you question your own memory and what to believe 5 stars
12/01/01 Jeff Wilson Whos rating me? this movie. Oh wait, im rating it. Fucking awesome 5 stars
11/23/01 Farzad Ghods Challenging your memory! 5 stars
11/16/01 John If this film doesn't win best picture, the Academy should disband. 5 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz Gets better with repeated viewing - there's no way to take in everything the 1st time thru. 5 stars
11/12/01 phil m. afficiando Like riding a roller coaster backward without having taken your antidepressant medications. 4 stars
10/18/01 Catherine Schneider I never once got bored!!! 5 stars
10/17/01 Kieran Belshaw Simple yet clever impressively good! 5 stars
10/13/01 Bevan R. Clark The hands down best film of 2001. Guy Pearce is a revelation. Plus he's totally hot! 5 stars
10/12/01 mcj yep 5 stars
10/08/01 Calabro There isnt a movie made in the last year that even compares to this FUCKING MASTERPIECE 5 stars
10/02/01 bobbuttons its really really good 5 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix The best film of 2001. Ingenious and well put together. 5 stars
9/21/01 TLsmooth A movie that challenges the mind in 2001.........Amazing. 5 stars
9/19/01 Brian Go rent this now! Don't just sit there. Go now I say! 5 stars
9/17/01 Kyle Wow... 5 stars
9/11/01 mike tyson gives you something to chew on 5 stars
9/11/01 Monday Morning Thanks for giving us credit for having brains. Hollywood & TV, take note. 5 stars
9/09/01 Jeff and the greatness Almost like a really fucked up mystery, this film simply kicks ass 5 stars
9/06/01 The Bomb 69 astounding, total mindfuck, have to watch it again to truly understand 5 stars
8/28/01 spaceworm Nominate THIS, Academy, not another piece of cringe-inducing dreck. 5 stars
8/25/01 Obi Wan Whoa!!! A complete Mind Fuck!!! Loved it all three times I saw it. DVD out Tuesday 9/4. 5 stars
8/19/01 Roy Smith Bring your brain and a box of rubbers for the best mindfuck this year! 5 stars
8/18/01 Edwin Menguin Fascinating 5 stars
8/03/01 Xalt Gave me the disease just by watching it. Great stuff! Love it when movies provoke thought. 5 stars
8/01/01 Elendil What fun! You will give it your full attention, if just for the guessing games. 4 stars
7/25/01 malcolm even better the second (almost essential) time around 5 stars
7/05/01 Suzz run don't walk to the nearest theater 5 stars
7/04/01 Steve Rowsell An excellent film, the smartest movie I've seen in ages. 5 stars
6/26/01 Gary Best movie I have seen in a while... 5 stars
6/23/01 stranded on the Island Best movie so far of '01. Will make you think and want to see it over and over again! 5 stars
6/23/01 Ian Barr Believe the hype- This is the best thriller of the past decade 5 stars
6/16/01 zeitgeist If you hate having to use your brain, this movie isn't for you. Go see Driven or something. 5 stars
6/09/01 Jeff Tamer My new favorite movie of all time; I can never see it enough! 5 stars
6/09/01 Obi Wan Saw it again last night...the movie's still got it. Still loved it!!! 5 stars
6/08/01 Phillip good not great, but better than crap mystery/independent s like Sling Blade or Fargo. 4 stars
6/07/01 Jake Miles away from ordinary. Falls short of greatness. Overrated. 4 stars
6/06/01 Jason S. Kotz Great movie, a definite must see! 5 stars
6/05/01 Psyko Doug Incredible film- must see. 5 stars
6/02/01 Hanky boy I thoroughly enjoyed this film. Definitely will get your money's worth, which is rare. 4 stars
6/01/01 Mach_5 Going for seconds asap 5 stars
5/30/01 Bud Interesting premise but fails to deliver. A real disappointment. 1 stars
5/29/01 tainted_goose Gritty and damnably intense 5 stars
5/28/01 lezerzan my head's still spinning...who's on 1st? 4 stars
5/27/01 Gizzy Would have to see it a second time to wrap my head around it 4 stars
5/25/01 Will lacked a truly interesting sub-plot. no great insights beyond 'you can't trust your memory' 4 stars
5/25/01 natasha if you love movies, you must see this... 5 stars
5/24/01 Drisc WOW! One really SMART FILM! I Cannot remember the last time I've seen a film this good. 4 stars
5/24/01 bluebeena Best movie I've seen in a looong time... 4 stars
5/24/01 zeitgeist i let my bladder swell to an immense size just so i wouldn't miss 2 minutes of this movie. 5 stars
5/24/01 malcolm kind of confusing at times, better go to the bathroom and get popcorn BEFORE going in 4 stars
5/23/01 viking One of the most innovative and original movies of 2001 5 stars
5/21/01 Superkaty1@aol.com Help me figure this out! 4 stars
5/21/01 skye great premise, good flick 4 stars
5/21/01 davebo one incredible movie, amazing 5 stars
5/21/01 studmaster Comparable to the Usual Suspects -- although not identical. 5 stars
5/20/01 Will sweet merciful crap, that was absolutely amazing. 5 stars
5/19/01 joh Whoa! 5 stars
5/18/01 Bada Bing Crosby It didn't make me as thrilled as most of you, not even close 4 stars
5/17/01 Maso Interesting ideas and great acting 4 stars
5/14/01 Graeme Flanagan Innovative, intriguing, intelligent (my 80 year old mother hated it). 5 stars
5/13/01 Monster W. Kung Impressive and very well thought, although doesn't hold up on the social-political level. 4 stars
5/12/01 ExorciseTheDemons Close your eyes and make the world go away. 5 stars
5/11/01 Finity this movie was fucking great 5 stars
5/09/01 puckfreak Great movie, origional, makes you think 5 stars
5/07/01 TheRock A movie that makes you think. I love it! 5 stars
5/07/01 Suzz this is definitely a do not miss film 5 stars
5/06/01 Bboobo ok 5 stars
5/05/01 Daniel Bradley disconcerting, draws you into a world without memory 5 stars
5/05/01 Richard Rowe Undoubtedly the best film of 2000 (UK), bar none 5 stars
5/04/01 SteveH Excellent review, excellent film. 5 stars
5/03/01 Wendy !see must A 5 stars
5/01/01 Brett Anderson Clever, Thought Prevoking and full of Originality. Best film of the year! 5 stars
4/30/01 Roger the Shrubber A touch disappointed by the ending (beginning), but the rest was genius. 5 stars
4/30/01 rue the whirl !!!!!emosewa gnikcuf 5 stars
4/25/01 Daniel J. Flynn film some awe 5 stars
4/24/01 Pierce Lanson I'll have to see it again to get all the twists-CONCENTRATE, and don't go tired 4 stars
4/23/01 christine excellent 5 stars
4/19/01 Chris Shigihara Unique edginess,Great twist ending(actually beginning),concentration definitely required 5 stars
4/19/01 Laura Absolutely coooool! 5 stars
4/17/01 WOW! interesting, dramatic, very suspensful, has different twist every few minutes 5 stars
4/17/01 brent young this was just incredible...fucking awsome says it all... 5 stars
4/17/01 Peter Rinzler Amazing, somehow larger than itself 5 stars
4/17/01 Louis very good 4 stars
4/14/01 Lauren Definetly better than all the other crap out in theaters and definetly worth owning 5 stars
4/14/01 KEYSER SOZE anyone have all the answers? email me to chat at keyser_98soze@yahoo.com 5 stars
4/14/01 Mistermovie Excellent! See it twice! 5 stars
4/13/01 tom wow! 5 stars
4/13/01 Obi Wan Holy shit!!! Never seen anything like it. Great Great Great!! When's the DVD out? 5 stars
4/11/01 Jessie H. Ahroni Unique 5 stars
4/11/01 Brian May be best noir of the decade; great structure. Sammy Jankins best fiction s.Keyser Soze! 5 stars
4/10/01 Mic Pure brilliance 5 stars
4/10/01 Zaw trying remember what was at the begeining of the movie!@#! Great Suspriseing flick! 5 stars
4/09/01 Krystal Will see this one over and over 5 stars
4/06/01 Brian Saw it while visiting in San Francisco. Was worth the trip out there for this film alone. 5 stars
4/05/01 Christy I absolutely LOVED this movie! I can't get it out of my head; can't wait to see it again 5 stars
4/05/01 Michael If you figure it out at the end, you are brilliant, lying, weren't paying attention. 5 stars
4/04/01 martel finally, a film to challenge our minds 5 stars
4/03/01 Leslie Baker Boston 5 stars
4/03/01 goblinfart mind blowing 5 stars
4/02/01 ianb This one is going to stay with me for a long, long time! I was blown away! 5 stars
4/02/01 Thor-Leo Masterful direction. Great script. Couldn't really figure it out until the end. Brilliant! 5 stars
3/31/01 chemikillgod drove to LA from Phoenix just to see this movie. Worth the $9 and the 6 hour car ride!! 5 stars
3/29/01 Phil SImon Absolutely amazing. Impossible to figure out. You'll want to see it again right after. 5 stars
3/28/01 tnt one of the most interesting films I have ever seen 5 stars
3/24/01 Emile Hurts your memory in an estestical way. 5 stars
3/23/01 JB A great movie. An un optimistic hollywood film. 5 stars
3/17/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) We might be able to salvage 2001 after all... 5 stars
3/16/01 Spetters If you loved the Usuual suspects, youŽll love this too!!!!! 5 stars
3/14/01 Bionic Booger You better have some intelectol or any memory pill to put the puzzle together. 4 stars
3/13/01 judy weiss Brilliant. Can't wait to see it again 5 stars
3/13/01 Paperplate UFO Haven't seen it. Or have I? 5 stars
1/31/01 Jo Wouters It's fantastic, but I'm going to see it a 2nd time 5 stars
1/26/01 sez Fantastic film which has done really well in the UK even though it's hardly been advertised 5 stars
1/24/01 Erik De Vocht Awesome! I can't get it out of my mind... and I've seen it a week ago! Brilliant! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Mar-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Apr-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast